$99 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 2, 2015 Check-out: Jan 3, 2015

Residence Inn by Marriott Alexandria at Carlyle

3 stars
2345 Mill Road, 2345 Mill Rd, Alexandria, VA 22314
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
47 reviews
Excellent temporary lodging

I stayed here while relocating to Alexandria. I enjoyed my stay. A maid did walk in on me right... See full review

  • Avg Joe in DC
  • May 14, 2014
Great experience

This was a great hotel in a safe part of Alexandria, VA. The entire hotel was spotless, the suite... See full review

  • Basp
  • Aug 27, 2013
The Residence Inn Old Town Alexandria So. at Carlyle is an all-suite property w/ full kitchen and offers free hot breakfast buffet daily, buffet dinner from Monday through Thursday with 2 glasses of wine, beer or soft drinks. Stay connected with our free high speed internet and stay fit in our 24 hour accessible fitness center. The hotel is 3 blks from the Yellow line Metro and 6 blks the King St Metro (Blue line) where one may take the free trolley to go up & down King St. Old Town Alexandria, VA as well as be in DC within 30 minutes. Enjoy numerous dining, shopping, entertainment and places of interest - all within walking distance. The hotel also offers complimentary local shuttle service within a 2 mile radius. Located 2 blocks from the US Patent & Trade & US Federal Courthouse, 5 minutes from National Harbor and Tanger's Outlet Mall accross Wilson Bridge, it is perfect for both business and pleasure visits.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Residence Inn by Marriott Alexandria at Carlyle also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Game room
Tennis
Water skiing
Horseback riding
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Gift shop
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Telephone
Kitchen
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Torpedo Factory Arts Center: 0.9 mi
  • Athenaeum: 1.4 mi
  • Carlyle House: 1.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (47)

Ratings and reviews for Residence Inn by Marriott Alexandria at Carlyle

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
47 out of 47
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Alexandria at Carlyle

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bay Trader
Business
Norfolk, VA
Nov 6, 2012

Redskins Football & Old Towne Alexandria Weekend

My wife and I came in for a Redskin football game and a day to shop and dine in Old Town Alexandria. The hotel was excellent, offering a huge room that is a mini one room apartment. Whether one is booking a room for the weekend or extended stay, this is an great value for the money. There is a very secure parking garage that you do have to pay for, but I felt it was way better than the Hilton parking garage that I also had to pay for at a steeper price. This is the hotel I will stay at every time I am in the DC area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Alexandria at Carlyle

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mikey 3
Business
Virginia
Feb 19, 2013

Great

This hotel was great, the room was beautiful and comfortable, the staff was great. Other than the $18 a day parking, this by far was top 3 of any hotel I've ever stayed in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Alexandria at Carlyle

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gene3579
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
May 13, 2013

What a wonderful surprise! STAY HERE!

I booked this trip at the last minute and was traveling on a tight budget, so I really was not expecting much...WHAT A GREAT SURPRISE! The staff was super friendly, the location was really great (very SAFE area), the room had ALL the amenities I could have hoped for, and I was EXTREMELY impressed with how SQUEAKY CLEAN the place is! The Continental Breakfast was better than many I have had in much more expensive hotels, with a great selection and freshly cooked food. The Shuttle Bus to the Metro and to Old Town Alexandria took less than a minute to arrive and even the driver was very friendly and knowledgeable about the area's history. Parking (I chose the off-site parking) was very close and inexpensive. I can't say enough about how much my stay here impressed me. Assistant General Manager Meaghan Couch runs a tight ship and is to be commended for her accomplishments. The fact that the whole staff seemed genuinely HAPPY to be there is testimony to her effectiveness. I want to give a special 'thanks' to Jose Reyes at the front desk...he was a pleasure to deal with and knowing how good help is so hard to find I can tell you he is a gem for this hotel. I WOULD DEFINITELY STAY HERE AGAIN - AND LOOK FORWARD TO IT.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The off-site parking is the ticket folks. less than a 2 block walk and saves a good bit of money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Alexandria at Carlyle

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
EQUINOX 2
Business
CINCINNATI
May 29, 2013

THE COMFORTER OF HOME

WE REALLY ENJOYED OUR STAY. WE ONLY WISH THEY HAD A POOL TO HELP RELAX, AFTER OUR LONG DAYS OF TOURING AND SIGHTSEEING.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Alexandria at Carlyle

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
old Brewers Fan
Business
Raleigh, NC
Jul 5, 2013

Excellent Experience

Staff was helpful and pleasant. Room was cleaned daily. All of the promised amenities were present. Nice large workout room had sufficient equipment for a hard workout, towels, multiple tv's. Complementary breakfast was better than expected. Much more than fruit, muffins and coffee. An unexpected treat was the evening appetizer. Very nice and enjoyable. Our walk to the Metro station took about 5 minutes, but the hotel shuttle was usually available for a quick ride over, if desired. The hotel is located in a safe area of town and we felt comfortable walking from the Metro station to the hotel at night (after midnight on one occasion). Forty minutes and $6.30 per person roundtrip to ride the Metro from Eisenhower Ave station to Nationals Park. Compare that to the cost of at least $25 to park anywhere near the Nats Park. Metro is the bomb.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel parking garage is $18 per night. There is a public parking garage less than a block away for $7.50 per night. If you're using the Metro like we did, you can just leave your vehicle parked in the garage for the duration of your visit. Savings can add up.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Alexandria at Carlyle

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Basp
Business
Charlottesville
Aug 27, 2013

Great experience

This was a great hotel in a safe part of Alexandria, VA. The entire hotel was spotless, the suite was very comfortable, and the breakfast was fresh and contained a variety of foods. The hot foods were hot, a nice change from other places. I asked for a late checkout- no problem. The staff all seemed very helpful. This area has many restaurants, is close to two Metros and is accessible to 495 and 95. Would stay gain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the restaurants down the hill by the AMC theater. Out of the way, but nice choices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Alexandria at Carlyle

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Richmond, VA
Dec 14, 2009

A great value

We were in DC to attend a fund-raiser and then just have a get-away weekend. We were in our hotel very little as we spent the majority of our time doing things in the city. The location was great; especially nice since it was so close to 2 Metro stops; having the hotel van to transport us was helpful because of the cold temps. The expanded continental breakfasts were also helpful since we could grab either a small or large breakfast before heading out for the day. And when we returned, chilled to the bone, the hot cider was most appreciated! Our room was very nice. We especially enjoyed the kitchen altho we didn't use it as much as we had anticipated since we weren't ever there at mealtime. There were also several restaurants close to the hotel but we didn't try any of them because we were always in the city at mealtime. The staff was very pleasant and efficient. Our only complaint was that you had to pay for parking. Since our daughter lives about 8-9 blocks away, we parked our car there but it made for a cold trek going to/ from the car. We would definitely stay there again and are considering it as a possible location for out of town guests at our daughter's upcoming wedding.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Alexandria at Carlyle

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
boston, ma
Nov 3, 2009

very nice hotel

we stayed four days in this hotel visiting relatives and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean, very nice. they have a very good selection in the breakfast buffet. overall the hotel is very nice and location was great and we will definitely stay in this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

national harbor is only a short drive from this hotel and very close to the main highways. you can take a sightseeing tour from the national harbor to the tourist attractions.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Alexandria at Carlyle

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Alexandria, VA
Jun 20, 2009

A Home Away From Home

Our one night stay was absolutely sublime. Although the location is right next to the metro you could NOT hear the train. It was cool to see the cars fly by in complete silence. The room (studio) was large and equipped with everything you would need for a comfortable stay. Large flat screen tv, luxurious bedding, and stainless steel appliances. Truly a class act. Will return very soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Movie theatres and restaurants are just short walk away along with the metro.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Alexandria at Carlyle

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RoldanTravelers
Business
Aurora, CO
Nov 17, 2009

Great place to stay for touring

Great, accommodating staff. We got in late on a Thursday night and the two well-dressed gentlemen behind the counter were very helpful. The entire property was immaculate. The location was perfect. It was close to all of the major tourist sites (i.e. monuments, capitol, white house, Arlington Natl Cemetery, etc.). It was also an easy drive to FedEx Stadium, with the primary reason for our trip being to come watch our Denver Broncos play the Redskins (and lose, unfortunately).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Check out Joe Theisman's and The Wharf. Great places to eat. And it looks like King Street is where all the action's at in this area (boutique shopping, lots of restaurants and The New York Deli, that stays open until 2 AM every night of the week!).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top