$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 7, 2014 Check-out: Aug 9, 2014

Residence Inn by Marriott Alexandria at Carlyle

3 stars
2345 Mill Road, 2345 Mill Rd, Alexandria, VA 22314
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
67 reviews
Excellent temporary lodging

I stayed here while relocating to Alexandria. I enjoyed my stay. A maid did walk in on me right... See full review

  • Avg Joe in DC
  • May 14, 2014
Great experience

This was a great hotel in a safe part of Alexandria, VA. The entire hotel was spotless, the suite... See full review

  • Basp
  • Aug 27, 2013
The Residence Inn Old Town Alexandria So. at Carlyle is an all-suite property w/ full kitchen and offers free hot breakfast buffet daily, buffet dinner from Monday through Thursday with 2 glasses of wine, beer or soft drinks. Stay connected with our free high speed internet and stay fit in our 24 hour accessible fitness center. The hotel is 3 blks from the Yellow line Metro and 6 blks the King St Metro (Blue line) where one may take the free trolley to go up & down King St. Old Town Alexandria, VA as well as be in DC within 30 minutes. Enjoy numerous dining, shopping, entertainment and places of interest - all within walking distance. The hotel also offers complimentary local shuttle service within a 2 mile radius. Located 2 blocks from the US Patent & Trade & US Federal Courthouse, 5 minutes from National Harbor and Tanger's Outlet Mall accross Wilson Bridge, it is perfect for both business and pleasure visits.

Hotel Map

38.8028 -77.0677
Area served
Alexandria
Nearby airports
Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport, (DCA), 5.00, MI, SW; Washington Dulles International Airport, (IAD), 30.00, MI, SE; Baltimore/Washington International Thurgood Marshall Airport, (BWI), 48.00, MI, NE;
Area description
Suburban, Location Type: Suburban

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Residence Inn by Marriott Alexandria at Carlyle also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Game room
Tennis
Water skiing
Horseback riding
Dining
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Gift shop
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Telephone
Kitchen
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Torpedo Factory Arts Center: 0.9 mi
  • Athenaeum: 1.4 mi
  • Carlyle House: 1.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (67)

Ratings and reviews for Residence Inn by Marriott Alexandria at Carlyle

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
67 out of 67
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.6

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Alexandria at Carlyle

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dandez
Sacramento,Ca.
Jun 1, 2010

Very convenient location

Conveniently located to metro line into D.C.or walking distance to old town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Alexandria at Carlyle

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Snowdreamer
Boston,Ma.
Apr 27, 2010

Great Value With A Great Price

Stayed two nights there while sightseeing in DC.Arrived late in the day, took a very easy shuttle provided by the hotel to "Old Towne" for dinner.Walked a very easy and safe three blocks to the Metro to go into DC,came back and went to an Imax film that was also about three blocks from the hotel.Painless check in[...].Over all, a nice experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Can parkfor much less at a garage three blocks away if don't mind the inconvience of walkingto and from it. Buy an all day Metro pass, can get on and off all day and night.

Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Alexandria at Carlyle

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bay Trader
Norfolk, VA
Nov 6, 2012

Redskins Football & Old Towne Alexandria Weekend

My wife and I came in for a Redskin football game and a day to shop and dine in Old Town Alexandria. The hotel was excellent, offering a huge room that is a mini one room apartment. Whether one is booking a room for the weekend or extended stay, this is an great value for the money. There is a very secure parking garage that you do have to pay for, but I felt it was way better than the Hilton parking garage that I also had to pay for at a steeper price. This is the hotel I will stay at every time I am in the DC area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Alexandria at Carlyle

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
rallygirl
chicago
Oct 30, 2010

great room, great people

Staff was helpful and friendly, knew the area well. Room was very pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Alexandria at Carlyle

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Basp
Charlottesville
Aug 27, 2013

Great experience

This was a great hotel in a safe part of Alexandria, VA. The entire hotel was spotless, the suite was very comfortable, and the breakfast was fresh and contained a variety of foods. The hot foods were hot, a nice change from other places. I asked for a late checkout- no problem. The staff all seemed very helpful. This area has many restaurants, is close to two Metros and is accessible to 495 and 95. Would stay gain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the restaurants down the hill by the AMC theater. Out of the way, but nice choices.

Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Alexandria at Carlyle

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
adbabs
san diego, ca
Nov 6, 2010

location..blocks from metro..

excellent stay...close to metro, easy ride to DC...helpful staff....excellent free breakfast....spacious clean room...good value..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Alexandria at Carlyle

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Cliffside Park NJ
Feb 22, 2010

Great Stay at Resident Inn in Alexandria

The stay was exceptional. I found the rooms to be very nice, warm and inviting. The style was contempary with all amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Great value. Wonderful hotel which is on the blue line so, while the hotel is located 5 miles or less outside of Washington DC, you can take the rail in, if you'd like. The hotel is very easy to access from the highway. There are a number of good restuarants in the area. I highly recommend staying there. If you don't truly have to be "in D.C." or plan to take in sites in the wash/VA/Maryland area.

Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Alexandria at Carlyle

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Cliffside Park NJ
Feb 22, 2010

Great Stay at Resident Inn in Alexandria

The stay was exceptional. I found the rooms to be very nice, warm and inviting. The style was contempary with all amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Great value. Wonderful hotel which is on the blue line so, while the hotel is located 5 miles or less outside of Washington DC, you can take the rail in, if you'd like. The hotel is very easy to access from the highway. There are a number of good restuarants in the area. I highly recommend staying there. If you don't truly have to be "in D.C." or plan to take in sites in the wash/VA/Maryland area.

Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Alexandria at Carlyle

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
HeartGirl
California
Apr 25, 2010

Residence Inn Alexandria at Carlyle

We spent 3 days sightseeing in DC. I couldn't be any happier with my stay at the Residence Inn! Our room was clean, quiet, and very comfortable. All of the staff that we encountered during our stay were very friendly and helpful. The only thing I thought the hotel was missing was a pool. The full breakfast was a great start to each day. It was then really nice to come "home" after a long day in the city to a small dinner. We arrived right at closing time for the dinner the first night but the gentleman that was working in the dining room did not rush us and made sure we got all we wanted before he put everything away. He even helped us with our bags once we finished eating. The hotel's shuttle service to the Metro was never more then a phone call away so we were able to get into and out of DC easily each day. The hotel is about a 30 minute ride on the Metro into DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

The full breakfast is served everyday and the small dinner is served Mon-Thurs nights at the hotel and they were quite good. We didn't spend much money on restaurants while we were there.

Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Alexandria at Carlyle

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver
Feb 26, 2011

Best hotel ever!

For the price I paid I was expecting basic accommodations and nothing more. When I got to my room I was blown away by the decor and by the fact that I had a fully operational kitchen. In the lobby restaurant they were serving free burgers and hot dogs and complimentary wine. In the morning I went to the exercise room, which is the finest I have experienced. It was like being at an actual gym. The equipment is first rate. They also served a wonderful FULL breakfast. I will definitely be back! The only downfall was the $18 parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top