$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 5, 2014 Check-out: Sep 8, 2014

Residence Inn by Marriott Alexandria at Carlyle

3 stars
2345 Mill Road, 2345 Mill Rd, Alexandria, VA 22314
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
44 reviews
Excellent temporary lodging

I stayed here while relocating to Alexandria. I enjoyed my stay. A maid did walk in on me right... See full review

  • Avg Joe in DC
  • May 14, 2014
Great experience

This was a great hotel in a safe part of Alexandria, VA. The entire hotel was spotless, the suite... See full review

  • Basp
  • Aug 27, 2013
The Residence Inn Old Town Alexandria So. at Carlyle is an all-suite property w/ full kitchen and offers free hot breakfast buffet daily, buffet dinner from Monday through Thursday with 2 glasses of wine, beer or soft drinks. Stay connected with our free high speed internet and stay fit in our 24 hour accessible fitness center. The hotel is 3 blks from the Yellow line Metro and 6 blks the King St Metro (Blue line) where one may take the free trolley to go up & down King St. Old Town Alexandria, VA as well as be in DC within 30 minutes. Enjoy numerous dining, shopping, entertainment and places of interest - all within walking distance. The hotel also offers complimentary local shuttle service within a 2 mile radius. Located 2 blocks from the US Patent & Trade & US Federal Courthouse, 5 minutes from National Harbor and Tanger's Outlet Mall accross Wilson Bridge, it is perfect for both business and pleasure visits.

Hotel Map

38.8028 -77.0677
Area served
Alexandria
Nearby airports
Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport, (DCA), 5.00, MI, SW; Washington Dulles International Airport, (IAD), 30.00, MI, SE; Baltimore/Washington International Thurgood Marshall Airport, (BWI), 48.00, MI, NE;
Area description
Suburban, Location Type: Suburban

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Residence Inn by Marriott Alexandria at Carlyle also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Game room
Tennis
Water skiing
Horseback riding
Dining
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Gift shop
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Telephone
Kitchen
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Torpedo Factory Arts Center: 0.9 mi
  • Athenaeum: 1.4 mi
  • Carlyle House: 1.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (44)

Ratings and reviews for Residence Inn by Marriott Alexandria at Carlyle

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
44 out of 44
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.5

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Alexandria at Carlyle

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mikey 3
Virginia
Feb 19, 2013

Great

This hotel was great, the room was beautiful and comfortable, the staff was great. Other than the $18 a day parking, this by far was top 3 of any hotel I've ever stayed in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Alexandria at Carlyle

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
john mamur
newyork ny
Jan 21, 2013

over rated

It was ok but not very exciting.there was absolutely no activities in the neighborhood other than a restaurant and a movie theater. Which was not too close.hotel was surrounded with all corporate buildings n I think its good for corp stay not for family

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Just dont expect too much

Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Alexandria at Carlyle

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ir26
Indiana
Jan 2, 2013

disappointing

Very disappointing. Housekeeping did a POOR job cleaning room -- changed linen on 4th night only, no vacuum entire 5 night stay, did not clean bathroom & vanity w/cleaning products just wiped w/towel, did not remove trash from kitchen as needed, did not replace specific handclothes once removed

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Wharf--excellent seafood restaurant

Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Alexandria at Carlyle

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bay Trader
Norfolk, VA
Nov 6, 2012

Redskins Football & Old Towne Alexandria Weekend

My wife and I came in for a Redskin football game and a day to shop and dine in Old Town Alexandria. The hotel was excellent, offering a huge room that is a mini one room apartment. Whether one is booking a room for the weekend or extended stay, this is an great value for the money. There is a very secure parking garage that you do have to pay for, but I felt it was way better than the Hilton parking garage that I also had to pay for at a steeper price. This is the hotel I will stay at every time I am in the DC area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Alexandria at Carlyle

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Michiko
Colorado
Oct 9, 2012

Suiper accomodations for our anniversary!

The accomadations were emaculate, the room was great, the beds were super comfortable, the perks were great, and the staff superb! We'd go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walking distance to the Metro to get into Washington DC for touring. Also close to a free trolley service to explore charming Old Town Alexandria.

Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Alexandria at Carlyle

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dex Mom
CHAPEL HILL
Sep 24, 2012

Weekend in Washington

Great weekend. Alexandria was great . The hotel could not have been nicer and the staff was wonderful. The room was a good size. The bed was comfortable and the whole place was immaculate. Breakfast was good with a nice selection. The hotel staff was very professional and at tentative. Would gladly stay there again in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the King Street Trolley (free) to the waterfront and then take the boat tour to Georgetown and back. Very informative and fun.

Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Alexandria at Carlyle

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ash23
NC
Sep 17, 2012

Great Stay

I recently stayed at this hotel and it was a wonderful room. Had a kitchen so I could make dinner, but there was no oven :-(. I made due with what I had, and everything was fine. The downside to the hotel is that you have to pay $18 per night per car. In the future I would park elsewhere because it is a hassle to park in the parking garage. I would park on the street next time. It is a very nice area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Alexandria at Carlyle

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cathy the Organizer
Raleigh, NC
Aug 12, 2012

Family gathering

The hotel was great. The surrounding area was comforting and calming. The amenities was very good, but we have noticed in our past travels, we have to ask for extra blankets. Even though the weather outside is usually hot; in order to all in the room to reach a comfort level with air conditioning, it would be nice to have an extra blanket for the pull-out sofa as well as the bedroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The quaintness of the surrounding area appealed to us as older adults.

Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Alexandria at Carlyle

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Borna
USA
Aug 7, 2012

Great trip

Great Workout facility Breakfasts were exceptional Evening Snack Dinners such a good idea Met a number of friendly people Easy to get back to peace and quiet after a day touring all of the sites in DC, showing it to a young man from Croatia who is studying in the US and who has fallen in love with this nation. He had wanted to see Washington for some time so we made it happen, yet staying close but far enough to get out of the hords of tourists in the Capital. Back to the Inn we could rest and watch the Olympics in the evening.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Joe Theisman's Restaurant. We had dinner with friends their from Arlington who recommended it. Great meal and great visit.

Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Alexandria at Carlyle

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BobbyandaTJfan
Charlottesville, Virginia
May 7, 2012

Convenient and clean family getaway

The hotel room we had was equipped with a full kitchen and automatic dishwasher, which turned out to be convenient as we were serving birthday cake. The hotel was an easy walk from a Metro station and was staffed by nice, friendly and helpful employees.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

An easy walk to an Alexandria Metro station made travel into Washington a breeze.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search