$89 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 26, 2014 Check-out: Dec 28, 2014

Residence Inn by Marriott Alexandria at Carlyle

3 stars
2345 Mill Road, 2345 Mill Rd, Alexandria, VA 22314
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
47 reviews
Excellent temporary lodging

I stayed here while relocating to Alexandria. I enjoyed my stay. A maid did walk in on me right... See full review

  • Avg Joe in DC
  • May 14, 2014
Great experience

This was a great hotel in a safe part of Alexandria, VA. The entire hotel was spotless, the suite... See full review

  • Basp
  • Aug 27, 2013
The Residence Inn Old Town Alexandria So. at Carlyle is an all-suite property w/ full kitchen and offers free hot breakfast buffet daily, buffet dinner from Monday through Thursday with 2 glasses of wine, beer or soft drinks. Stay connected with our free high speed internet and stay fit in our 24 hour accessible fitness center. The hotel is 3 blks from the Yellow line Metro and 6 blks the King St Metro (Blue line) where one may take the free trolley to go up & down King St. Old Town Alexandria, VA as well as be in DC within 30 minutes. Enjoy numerous dining, shopping, entertainment and places of interest - all within walking distance. The hotel also offers complimentary local shuttle service within a 2 mile radius. Located 2 blocks from the US Patent & Trade & US Federal Courthouse, 5 minutes from National Harbor and Tanger's Outlet Mall accross Wilson Bridge, it is perfect for both business and pleasure visits.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Residence Inn by Marriott Alexandria at Carlyle also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Game room
Tennis
Water skiing
Horseback riding
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Gift shop
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Telephone
Kitchen
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Torpedo Factory Arts Center: 0.9 mi
  • Athenaeum: 1.4 mi
  • Carlyle House: 1.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (47)

Ratings and reviews for Residence Inn by Marriott Alexandria at Carlyle

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
47 out of 47
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Alexandria at Carlyle

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
EQUINOX 2
Business
CINCINNATI
May 29, 2013

THE COMFORTER OF HOME

WE REALLY ENJOYED OUR STAY. WE ONLY WISH THEY HAD A POOL TO HELP RELAX, AFTER OUR LONG DAYS OF TOURING AND SIGHTSEEING.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Alexandria at Carlyle

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mom Noss
Business
St. Louis, MO
May 27, 2013

Good hotel for the price

THe Hotel was nice and near the King Metro Station for easy access to D.C. There were no ice machines on any floors and the shuttle on the weekends ends earlier than during the week. Found that kind of odd and on Saturday night we had to walk back to the hotel from the Metro. We were too late for the service. It ended at 8:45 PM. Room was smaller than what appeared on the pictures. Was clean and comfy though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Alexandria at Carlyle

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gene3579
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
May 13, 2013

What a wonderful surprise! STAY HERE!

I booked this trip at the last minute and was traveling on a tight budget, so I really was not expecting much...WHAT A GREAT SURPRISE! The staff was super friendly, the location was really great (very SAFE area), the room had ALL the amenities I could have hoped for, and I was EXTREMELY impressed with how SQUEAKY CLEAN the place is! The Continental Breakfast was better than many I have had in much more expensive hotels, with a great selection and freshly cooked food. The Shuttle Bus to the Metro and to Old Town Alexandria took less than a minute to arrive and even the driver was very friendly and knowledgeable about the area's history. Parking (I chose the off-site parking) was very close and inexpensive. I can't say enough about how much my stay here impressed me. Assistant General Manager Meaghan Couch runs a tight ship and is to be commended for her accomplishments. The fact that the whole staff seemed genuinely HAPPY to be there is testimony to her effectiveness. I want to give a special 'thanks' to Jose Reyes at the front desk...he was a pleasure to deal with and knowing how good help is so hard to find I can tell you he is a gem for this hotel. I WOULD DEFINITELY STAY HERE AGAIN - AND LOOK FORWARD TO IT.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The off-site parking is the ticket folks. less than a 2 block walk and saves a good bit of money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Alexandria at Carlyle

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mikey 3
Business
Virginia
Feb 19, 2013

Great

This hotel was great, the room was beautiful and comfortable, the staff was great. Other than the $18 a day parking, this by far was top 3 of any hotel I've ever stayed in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Alexandria at Carlyle

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
john mamur
Business
newyork ny
Jan 21, 2013

over rated

It was ok but not very exciting.there was absolutely no activities in the neighborhood other than a restaurant and a movie theater. Which was not too close.hotel was surrounded with all corporate buildings n I think its good for corp stay not for family

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Just dont expect too much

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Alexandria at Carlyle

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ir26
Business
Indiana
Jan 2, 2013

disappointing

Very disappointing. Housekeeping did a POOR job cleaning room -- changed linen on 4th night only, no vacuum entire 5 night stay, did not clean bathroom & vanity w/cleaning products just wiped w/towel, did not remove trash from kitchen as needed, did not replace specific handclothes once removed

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Wharf--excellent seafood restaurant

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Alexandria at Carlyle

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bay Trader
Business
Norfolk, VA
Nov 6, 2012

Redskins Football & Old Towne Alexandria Weekend

My wife and I came in for a Redskin football game and a day to shop and dine in Old Town Alexandria. The hotel was excellent, offering a huge room that is a mini one room apartment. Whether one is booking a room for the weekend or extended stay, this is an great value for the money. There is a very secure parking garage that you do have to pay for, but I felt it was way better than the Hilton parking garage that I also had to pay for at a steeper price. This is the hotel I will stay at every time I am in the DC area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Alexandria at Carlyle

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Michiko
Business
Colorado
Oct 9, 2012

Suiper accomodations for our anniversary!

The accomadations were emaculate, the room was great, the beds were super comfortable, the perks were great, and the staff superb! We'd go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walking distance to the Metro to get into Washington DC for touring. Also close to a free trolley service to explore charming Old Town Alexandria.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Alexandria at Carlyle

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dex Mom
Business
CHAPEL HILL
Sep 24, 2012

Weekend in Washington

Great weekend. Alexandria was great . The hotel could not have been nicer and the staff was wonderful. The room was a good size. The bed was comfortable and the whole place was immaculate. Breakfast was good with a nice selection. The hotel staff was very professional and at tentative. Would gladly stay there again in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the King Street Trolley (free) to the waterfront and then take the boat tour to Georgetown and back. Very informative and fun.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Alexandria at Carlyle

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ash23
Business
NC
Sep 17, 2012

Great Stay

I recently stayed at this hotel and it was a wonderful room. Had a kitchen so I could make dinner, but there was no oven :-(. I made due with what I had, and everything was fine. The downside to the hotel is that you have to pay $18 per night per car. In the future I would park elsewhere because it is a hassle to park in the parking garage. I would park on the street next time. It is a very nice area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top