$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 8, 2014 Check-out: Aug 9, 2014

Residence Inn by Marriott Alexandria at Carlyle

3 stars
2345 Mill Road, 2345 Mill Rd, Alexandria, VA 22314
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
67 reviews
Excellent temporary lodging

I stayed here while relocating to Alexandria. I enjoyed my stay. A maid did walk in on me right... See full review

  • Avg Joe in DC
  • May 14, 2014
Great experience

This was a great hotel in a safe part of Alexandria, VA. The entire hotel was spotless, the suite... See full review

  • Basp
  • Aug 27, 2013
The Residence Inn Old Town Alexandria So. at Carlyle is an all-suite property w/ full kitchen and offers free hot breakfast buffet daily, buffet dinner from Monday through Thursday with 2 glasses of wine, beer or soft drinks. Stay connected with our free high speed internet and stay fit in our 24 hour accessible fitness center. The hotel is 3 blks from the Yellow line Metro and 6 blks the King St Metro (Blue line) where one may take the free trolley to go up & down King St. Old Town Alexandria, VA as well as be in DC within 30 minutes. Enjoy numerous dining, shopping, entertainment and places of interest - all within walking distance. The hotel also offers complimentary local shuttle service within a 2 mile radius. Located 2 blocks from the US Patent & Trade & US Federal Courthouse, 5 minutes from National Harbor and Tanger's Outlet Mall accross Wilson Bridge, it is perfect for both business and pleasure visits.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Game room
Tennis
Water skiing
Horseback riding
Dining
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Gift shop
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Telephone
Kitchen
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Residence Inn by Marriott Alexandria at Carlyle also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

38.8028 -77.0677
Area served
Alexandria
Nearby airports
Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport, (DCA), 5.00, MI, SW; Washington Dulles International Airport, (IAD), 30.00, MI, SE; Baltimore/Washington International Thurgood Marshall Airport, (BWI), 48.00, MI, NE;
Area description
Suburban, Location Type: Suburban

Nearby points of interest

  • Torpedo Factory Arts Center: 0.9 mi
  • Athenaeum: 1.4 mi
  • Carlyle House: 1.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (67)

Ratings and reviews for Residence Inn by Marriott Alexandria at Carlyle

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
67 out of 67
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.6

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Alexandria at Carlyle

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
G Mack
Baltimore Co Maryland
Jun 23, 2014

Weekend Stay Cation

All the amenities you need for even extended stay. Nice location with plenty to do and see in the local town and surrounding area. Friendly staff and good breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Just a few minutes from the National Harbor and the outlets. The cost for the stay was a great value compared to the hotels at the harbor.

Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Alexandria at Carlyle

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Avg Joe in DC
DC area
May 14, 2014

Excellent temporary lodging

I stayed here while relocating to Alexandria. I enjoyed my stay. A maid did walk in on me right after I got out of the shower but its a good thing I at least had my underwear on. She seemed genuinely embarrassed and sorry- she'll probably knock first always. Offsetting that blunder was the fact that the staff allowed me to check in SUPER early- 10:00. My flight got in at 8:00 and i was so exhausted. That gift of early check in set the tone for a very enjoyable stay. Thinking about staying here? Think No more- book your stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Alexandria at Carlyle

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
emtjkt
va
May 5, 2014

Marriott at Carlyle

The hotel was great, staff very nice & accomadating

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Alexandria at Carlyle

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DTruth
New York
Jan 4, 2014

New Years Eve Getaway

At check- in, we were rushed through and charged twice for the room. Once discovered, Guest services(Pam) went the extra mile to rectify the situation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Alexandria at Carlyle

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ganderschmaltz
Business
Bluffton, SC
Dec 13, 2013

A very nice hotel in Alexandria

Excellent hotel, van service was great and a terrific complimentary breakfast. very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Alexandria at Carlyle

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Basp
Charlottesville
Aug 27, 2013

Great experience

This was a great hotel in a safe part of Alexandria, VA. The entire hotel was spotless, the suite was very comfortable, and the breakfast was fresh and contained a variety of foods. The hot foods were hot, a nice change from other places. I asked for a late checkout- no problem. The staff all seemed very helpful. This area has many restaurants, is close to two Metros and is accessible to 495 and 95. Would stay gain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the restaurants down the hill by the AMC theater. Out of the way, but nice choices.

Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Alexandria at Carlyle

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
old Brewers Fan
Raleigh, NC
Jul 5, 2013

Excellent Experience

Staff was helpful and pleasant. Room was cleaned daily. All of the promised amenities were present. Nice large workout room had sufficient equipment for a hard workout, towels, multiple tv's. Complementary breakfast was better than expected. Much more than fruit, muffins and coffee. An unexpected treat was the evening appetizer. Very nice and enjoyable. Our walk to the Metro station took about 5 minutes, but the hotel shuttle was usually available for a quick ride over, if desired. The hotel is located in a safe area of town and we felt comfortable walking from the Metro station to the hotel at night (after midnight on one occasion). Forty minutes and $6.30 per person roundtrip to ride the Metro from Eisenhower Ave station to Nationals Park. Compare that to the cost of at least $25 to park anywhere near the Nats Park. Metro is the bomb.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel parking garage is $18 per night. There is a public parking garage less than a block away for $7.50 per night. If you're using the Metro like we did, you can just leave your vehicle parked in the garage for the duration of your visit. Savings can add up.

Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Alexandria at Carlyle

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
EQUINOX 2
CINCINNATI
May 29, 2013

THE COMFORTER OF HOME

WE REALLY ENJOYED OUR STAY. WE ONLY WISH THEY HAD A POOL TO HELP RELAX, AFTER OUR LONG DAYS OF TOURING AND SIGHTSEEING.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Alexandria at Carlyle

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mom Noss
St. Louis, MO
May 27, 2013

Good hotel for the price

THe Hotel was nice and near the King Metro Station for easy access to D.C. There were no ice machines on any floors and the shuttle on the weekends ends earlier than during the week. Found that kind of odd and on Saturday night we had to walk back to the hotel from the Metro. We were too late for the service. It ended at 8:45 PM. Room was smaller than what appeared on the pictures. Was clean and comfy though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Alexandria at Carlyle

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gene3579
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
May 13, 2013

What a wonderful surprise! STAY HERE!

I booked this trip at the last minute and was traveling on a tight budget, so I really was not expecting much...WHAT A GREAT SURPRISE! The staff was super friendly, the location was really great (very SAFE area), the room had ALL the amenities I could have hoped for, and I was EXTREMELY impressed with how SQUEAKY CLEAN the place is! The Continental Breakfast was better than many I have had in much more expensive hotels, with a great selection and freshly cooked food. The Shuttle Bus to the Metro and to Old Town Alexandria took less than a minute to arrive and even the driver was very friendly and knowledgeable about the area's history. Parking (I chose the off-site parking) was very close and inexpensive. I can't say enough about how much my stay here impressed me. Assistant General Manager Meaghan Couch runs a tight ship and is to be commended for her accomplishments. The fact that the whole staff seemed genuinely HAPPY to be there is testimony to her effectiveness. I want to give a special 'thanks' to Jose Reyes at the front desk...he was a pleasure to deal with and knowing how good help is so hard to find I can tell you he is a gem for this hotel. I WOULD DEFINITELY STAY HERE AGAIN - AND LOOK FORWARD TO IT.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The off-site parking is the ticket folks. less than a 2 block walk and saves a good bit of money.

Back to menu Return to top