$82 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 24, 2014 Check-out: Dec 27, 2014

Residence Inn by Marriott Alexandria- Old Town

3 stars
1456, Duke Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
45 reviews
Twice is a charm.

We enjoyed our stay earlier this year at the Residence Inn By Marriott so much that we decided to... See full review

  • pschaik
  • Nov 17, 2014
Great Hotel in cental area

Great stay. Located in central area of Alexandria. This is a big plus, but also makes for heavy... See full review

  • Phil 31
  • Dec 21, 2013
The Residence Inn Old Town/Duke Street Alexandria, VA Hotel is situated in historic Old Town Alexandria, near a variety of shopping, dining, and entertainment options. Guests will love our location, just a short walk from the King Street DC Metro Station, providing easy access to Washington DC, the Arlington National Cemetery and Mt. Vernon. Our Alexandria extended stay hotel was designed for guests to stretch out and relax in suites that offer separate sleeping, living, and dining areas. Full kitchens, pullout sofa beds, and work desks with high-speed Internet access provide the comforts of home. Start your day off in our Alexandria extended stay hotel with a delicious complimentary breakfast, and end it at our nightly social hours Monday through Thursday. We offer 5 meeting rooms to accommodate any social event or business meeting in the Old Town Alexandria area. Start planning your stay today at our Alexandria Old Town hotel and allow us to help you make the most of every travel experience.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Residence Inn by Marriott Alexandria- Old Town also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Children's activities
Tennis
Horseback riding
Dining
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Laundry/Valet services
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
Telephone
Kitchen
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Torpedo Factory Arts Center: 0.4 mi
  • Carlyle House: 0.8 mi
  • Athenaeum: 0.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (45)

Ratings and reviews for Residence Inn by Marriott Alexandria- Old Town

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
16 out of 45
Amenities:
4.6
Room cleanliness:
4.9
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.7

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Alexandria- Old Town

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
pschaik
Business
Montville, NJ
Nov 17, 2014

Twice is a charm.

We enjoyed our stay earlier this year at the Residence Inn By Marriott so much that we decided to stay again. Not only was the room spotless like no one had ever stayed in it before, and the staff friendly and helpful, but having a wonderful breakfast included and knowing we were only a several easy block walk from the Metro and restaurants made it a "no brainer" to choose it again. Thanks for allowing us to have such a pleasant stay as we look forward to staying with you in the future!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Alexandria- Old Town

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sarah and Aaron
Business
Honolulu, HI
May 13, 2014

Great experience!

We were hesitant with its 3-star review but we were thrilled with our actual experience. The hotel is in an incredible location - a block away from Whole Foods, an easy 5 minute walk to the Metro, and a short walk to King Street with great shops & restaurants. The hotel itself is kept very clean. It also offers complimentary breakfast and complimentary happy hour (on certain days). The room was huge and very clean. Couldn't be happier. Will definitely stay here again if/when we go back to DC. Thanks for everything!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Do not pay for the shuttle from the airport (Reagan). There is a metro stop at the airport, and the walk from the metro stop near the hotel (King St) is so short, you'll save a lot of money (pending you don't have too much luggage you can't carry/roll yourself).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Alexandria- Old Town

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Budgetman
Business
Lincoln, Nebraska
Jul 8, 2013

July Get Away

My wife and I took a short trip to DC for the long weekend and went on line to check for reasonable room rates. After some extensive research we felt the Residence Inn By Marriott Alexandria-Old Town would be our choice. Boy what a great decision. The room was a suite with kitchen and large living room area plus the king bed and full bathroom . Each morning a full breakfast buffet was included in the deal and this meal compared to $20.00 buffets at other locations. We were told they supplied snack items in the afternoon (monday-thursday) that could substitute for a lite lunch. Location near the Metro and Old Town made the need for a car much less necessary. Parking at hotel was $18.00/day so not having a car was not deal breaker.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Alexandria- Old Town

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jjjjlll
Business
hoboken, nj
Apr 30, 2013

great place to stay

the place was wonderful; the only one thing i would change is that there should be a choice for king size bad

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

king street is short two blocks and metro there is free trolley for the entire duration of king street, 2 stops metro from wash dc

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Alexandria- Old Town

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DoraRich
Business
Keyport, NJ
Mar 30, 2013

Great Value

In the middle of everything, great value for the price. clean, roomy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Alexandria- Old Town

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RTBacon
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Feb 2, 2013

Very Enjoyable Stay

We arrived at the hotel a couple of hours prior to our check in time. The staff was extremely accommodating in getting us into a room. We were traveling with other family members and the hotel arranged so that the four rooms we occupied were all very close together even though all of us checked in at different times. My compliments to the staff as they were all very pleasant to us. The hotel is a very short walk to the King Street Metro and just 2 short blocks away from King Street and the multiple restaurants and shoppes. I would not hesitate to stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If you want to see Old Town and stay in a nice hotel this is the place.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Alexandria- Old Town

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PA Travel Couple
Business
Alexandria, VA
Dec 10, 2012

Wonderful getaway weekend!!

This hotel was very nice. The service was great. We had a great time touring the city and we even took a short trip to visit Mt. Vernon! We had a great time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

All types of food within very short walking distance!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Alexandria- Old Town

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SuperKatMom
Business
NE Ohio
Aug 6, 2012

VALUE DELIVERED

just where we wanted to stay, tho' I didn't care for the bed (I prefer soft), a nice place, personable staff. no real criticisms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Alexandria- Old Town

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jaydog33
Business
Weymouth Ma
Jun 4, 2012

Great Location & Value

Just spent the weekend in Alexandria and was very impressed with the Residence Inn in Old Town, It is a short walk to King St on to all the Old Town shop and dining establishments. Is is also only 3 blocks from the Metro and Amtrak stations. You can see all see most of what you need to see without a car. The staff is ver helpful and the rooms are comfortable and clean. There is an excellent free breakfast every morning. They also have a shuttle that can take you anywhere within a mile of the hotel. The only negatives is that there is a $18 a night charge to park your car and one of the cars in the room was a little worn. Would come back in a second if I come back to the DC area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Alexandria- Old Town

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lynchburg, va
Nov 1, 2010

Great

It was amazing! My husband and I of 2 & 1/2 years went for a romantic weekend! We were able to get around with no problem! The hostess even helped up with driving directions to a club we went to in d.c. For Halloween! Nothing was missing, the contential breakfast was great too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

If you like bars and karaoke the night life in Alexandria is great! The clubs In dc was only 20 mins away!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top