$82 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 28, 2014 Check-out: Dec 31, 2014

Residence Inn by Marriott Alexandria- Old Town

3 stars
1456, Duke Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
45 reviews
Twice is a charm.

We enjoyed our stay earlier this year at the Residence Inn By Marriott so much that we decided to... See full review

  • pschaik
  • Nov 17, 2014
Great Hotel in cental area

Great stay. Located in central area of Alexandria. This is a big plus, but also makes for heavy... See full review

  • Phil 31
  • Dec 21, 2013
The Residence Inn Old Town/Duke Street Alexandria, VA Hotel is situated in historic Old Town Alexandria, near a variety of shopping, dining, and entertainment options. Guests will love our location, just a short walk from the King Street DC Metro Station, providing easy access to Washington DC, the Arlington National Cemetery and Mt. Vernon. Our Alexandria extended stay hotel was designed for guests to stretch out and relax in suites that offer separate sleeping, living, and dining areas. Full kitchens, pullout sofa beds, and work desks with high-speed Internet access provide the comforts of home. Start your day off in our Alexandria extended stay hotel with a delicious complimentary breakfast, and end it at our nightly social hours Monday through Thursday. We offer 5 meeting rooms to accommodate any social event or business meeting in the Old Town Alexandria area. Start planning your stay today at our Alexandria Old Town hotel and allow us to help you make the most of every travel experience.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Residence Inn by Marriott Alexandria- Old Town also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Children's activities
Tennis
Horseback riding
Dining
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Laundry/Valet services
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
Telephone
Kitchen
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Torpedo Factory Arts Center: 0.4 mi
  • Carlyle House: 0.8 mi
  • Athenaeum: 0.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (45)

Ratings and reviews for Residence Inn by Marriott Alexandria- Old Town

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
45 out of 45
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.5

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Alexandria- Old Town

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
DGB51
Business
New York, NY
Apr 15, 2014

Avoid

This was probably the worst of Marriott Residence Inns that I have stayed in across the country. I was in Alexandria for a wedding, and after a very long drive in from NYC, I found the lack of efficiency and hospitality at the front desk to be very disappointing. To be sure, there are some excellent suites at this hotel, but the layout is very inconsistent. Suite 546 was beautiful and spacious, but ours, Suite 621 was easily the worst designed layout for a bedroom and kitchen efficiency that I have ever seen. Parking garage was exorbitant ($18) and poorly designed, breakfast was terrible, but at least free (you get what you pay for), but location was superb. Overall, a very mediocre Marriott. If you stay here, I strongly advise the larger suites, and don't be reluctant to insist on an upgrade. I wish we had.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Avoid "Notting Hill" on a Sunday evening. Very poor wait staff, although the portions were surprisingly generous.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Alexandria- Old Town

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mr RSB Sr
Business
Philadelphia
Aug 26, 2013

Very comfortable

The hotel staff was extremely professional and hospitable. Comfortable stay, not a lot of bells and whistles, but just what we were looking for at the time of our stay. Conveniently located near the metro and other restaurants in the area. Easy access to the main travel arteries. I would recommend acquiring a greater supply of the newspaper subscriptions for the guest. The papers were gone on Sunday morning we I attempted to retrieve it by 9am. Expanding the pool hours would be helpful as well. It was not an extravagant stay; however, it supplied the necessary comforts. The staff engineer was very helpful. He installed a television connector so my son would be able to play his video system. He was very cordial and made us feel welcomed. We will revisit this location for a future stay. P.S. Please put a pair of nut crackers in the kitchen drawer, it would have been very helpful while cracking open all of those crabs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The metro is about 2 blocks away that will provide access to any location. Your not far from Crystal City shopping.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Alexandria- Old Town

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
picky guest
Business
Orange County, CA
Jul 24, 2009

decent enough little place, with a kitch

Well, it wasn't quite up to all the glowing reviews I had read. Overall, it wasn't bad. We loved having a kitchen and a Whole Foods 1 block away. We like the separate bedroom and the queen bed was very comfy. It was a good place to plop after a day of trekking all over D.C. and with the windows closed, the room was quiet enough. Here's what you should know: It is a 2-3 block walk from the Metro and King St., but they do offer a shuttle van (it's in the back.) Duke St. is a fairly busy street during the day and we also heard lots of sirens (our room was right up front.) There is currently some underground construction happening in front of the hotel, it only kept us up one night when they were working all night long! Othewise, it wasn't an issue, but work is ongoing. In addition to the Whole Foods, there is a lovely little restaurant next door called Il Porto (I think.) Very nice food, live jazz. As for the hotel itself, my main issues were that breakfast ends at 9am, 9:30 on the weekends, and it's clearly geared for business types. Our family likes to sleep in so we stocked up on bagels and cereal in our room as we never got downstairs in time. The a/c, vent system in the halls is kind of nutty, they have 3 big vents to heat the hallways and one of them was blasting arctic cold air at our door 24/7, enough so that we had to block the cold air with a towel and a jacket hanging on the door handle. Also, the windows require 2 people to open them, which is absolutely silly. The "market" only carries convenience foods and drinks, so it's a bit limited. But those are about my only complaints. Staff was all right, though it was pretty clear this a.m. our request for a cab to the airport didn't get followed up on and we had to call for a cab this a.m. Fortuneatly, no traffic to speak of so we made our flight with time to spare. Oh, and my son said the sleeper sofa was hard as a rock -- it's your typical sleeper bed and it was a thin mattress, but he's 9 and he'll live!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Alexandria- Old Town

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gern B
Business
East Haddam, CT
Jun 19, 2012

Pleasant Surprise

We chose at Residence Inn for the suite style room to help us accomodate our five year old daughter and her early bedtime, and to give mom and dad some privacy ;). The room price was competitive, and at first glance, the hotel looked rather plain, but almost immediately, the staff began to shine. There was an issue with the a/c in our first room, which was dealt with immediately and with an impressive amount of politeness from both the maintenance staff and the folks at the front desk. In minutes we were happily settled into another room. The hotel was clean and quiet (really quiet!) and in a convenient location. Short walks away were the D.C. metro station and King Street, with its shops and restaurants. What a beautiful neighborhood! Had we not wanted to walk, the hotel offered a free local shuttle van-you tell them where you want to go, then call for your ride back. The indoor pool was a little small, but my daughter didn't mind. The gym was one of the best I've seen in a hotel, and the breakfast buffet (included in the room charge) had a wide variety of choices, from oatmeal to waffles. Resisting temptation was the only issue here! Having the kitchenette in the room was convenient as well, with provisions available just a few doors away on Duke Street at the Whole Foods Market. With each day we became more comfortable at the Residence Inn, which really does live up to its name. We'll be staying again on our next trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Water taxis available on the waterfront at the end of King Street that takes you to Georgetown, Mount Vernon or National Harbor, MD. What a beautiful, relaxing way to travel. Take the hotel shuttle to save time.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Alexandria- Old Town

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SuperKatMom
Business
NE Ohio
Aug 6, 2012

VALUE DELIVERED

just where we wanted to stay, tho' I didn't care for the bed (I prefer soft), a nice place, personable staff. no real criticisms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Alexandria- Old Town

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PA Travel Couple
Business
Alexandria, VA
Dec 10, 2012

Wonderful getaway weekend!!

This hotel was very nice. The service was great. We had a great time touring the city and we even took a short trip to visit Mt. Vernon! We had a great time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

All types of food within very short walking distance!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Alexandria- Old Town

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rural wanderer
Business
Nacogdoches, Texas, USA
Jan 4, 2013

great lauchpad

Three of us came to visit a friend who had just moved to the area and decided to stay here. It is a great location to access the King Street metro to go into DC and nearby Whole Food market for essentials. The bed was a bit hard and I couldn't get the TV to change sources so I could watch video from my iPad, but the room configuration was excellent, especially since the vanity was outside the bathroom, making it easy for all of us to get ready in the morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Whole Foods Market is just two blocks away. We woke up to late for the free hotel breakfast, but they were still serving. Also, it's a good place to get food to make use of the room's refrigerator and kitchenette area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Alexandria- Old Town

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RTBacon
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Feb 2, 2013

Very Enjoyable Stay

We arrived at the hotel a couple of hours prior to our check in time. The staff was extremely accommodating in getting us into a room. We were traveling with other family members and the hotel arranged so that the four rooms we occupied were all very close together even though all of us checked in at different times. My compliments to the staff as they were all very pleasant to us. The hotel is a very short walk to the King Street Metro and just 2 short blocks away from King Street and the multiple restaurants and shoppes. I would not hesitate to stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If you want to see Old Town and stay in a nice hotel this is the place.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Alexandria- Old Town

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GearGuy
Business
Wichita KS
Mar 25, 2013

Sometimes expensive, but always good.

This is my favorite place to stay. Nice staff. Nice people. Big, clean rooms with kitcenette.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The Hilton is closer to the King St. Metro, but the Residence Inn is closer to the Whole Foods.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Alexandria- Old Town

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SAHB
Business
North Carolina
Apr 2, 2013

Great for visiting Washington DC

Convenient! Walk 2 short blocks to DC Metro King St station. 2 stops from Reagan National airport (less than 5 min.). On blue and yellow Metro lines so great access to DC Capitol and all Mall attractions. I would not even bother with a car if you can fly (parking fee $18/day). Old Town Alexandria is a great walking destination in itself. Great restaurants. Hotel was super clean, beds comfy, very friendly and helpful staff. Quick to respond to our only repair needed. Excellent, complete hot breakfast PLUS a light dinner M-Thurs is included. Only problem was that it advertised "complete" kitchen, but did not have an oven. 2-burner stovetop, micro, refrig, dishwasher, and stocked with service for 4, pots, pans, utensils. Excellent value overall!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top