$79 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 11, 2014 Check-out: Dec 14, 2014

Residence Inn by Marriott Alexandria- Old Town

3 stars
1456, Duke Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
45 reviews
Twice is a charm.

We enjoyed our stay earlier this year at the Residence Inn By Marriott so much that we decided to... See full review

  • pschaik
  • Nov 17, 2014
Great Hotel in cental area

Great stay. Located in central area of Alexandria. This is a big plus, but also makes for heavy... See full review

  • Phil 31
  • Dec 21, 2013
The Residence Inn Old Town/Duke Street Alexandria, VA Hotel is situated in historic Old Town Alexandria, near a variety of shopping, dining, and entertainment options. Guests will love our location, just a short walk from the King Street DC Metro Station, providing easy access to Washington DC, the Arlington National Cemetery and Mt. Vernon. Our Alexandria extended stay hotel was designed for guests to stretch out and relax in suites that offer separate sleeping, living, and dining areas. Full kitchens, pullout sofa beds, and work desks with high-speed Internet access provide the comforts of home. Start your day off in our Alexandria extended stay hotel with a delicious complimentary breakfast, and end it at our nightly social hours Monday through Thursday. We offer 5 meeting rooms to accommodate any social event or business meeting in the Old Town Alexandria area. Start planning your stay today at our Alexandria Old Town hotel and allow us to help you make the most of every travel experience.

Hotel Map

38.8037 -77.0575
Area served
Old Town Alexandria
Nearby airports
Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport, (DCA), 4.00, MI, S; Washington Dulles International Airport, (IAD), 24.00, MI, SE; Baltimore/Washington International Thurgood Marshall Airport, (BWI), 40.00, MI, NE;
Area description
Suburban, Location Type: Suburban

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Residence Inn by Marriott Alexandria- Old Town also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Children's activities
Tennis
Horseback riding
Dining
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Laundry/Valet services
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
Telephone
Kitchen
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Torpedo Factory Arts Center: 0.4 mi
  • Carlyle House: 0.8 mi
  • Athenaeum: 0.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (45)

Ratings and reviews for Residence Inn by Marriott Alexandria- Old Town

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
45 out of 45
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.5

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Alexandria- Old Town

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gern B
Business
East Haddam, CT
Jun 19, 2012

Pleasant Surprise

We chose at Residence Inn for the suite style room to help us accomodate our five year old daughter and her early bedtime, and to give mom and dad some privacy ;). The room price was competitive, and at first glance, the hotel looked rather plain, but almost immediately, the staff began to shine. There was an issue with the a/c in our first room, which was dealt with immediately and with an impressive amount of politeness from both the maintenance staff and the folks at the front desk. In minutes we were happily settled into another room. The hotel was clean and quiet (really quiet!) and in a convenient location. Short walks away were the D.C. metro station and King Street, with its shops and restaurants. What a beautiful neighborhood! Had we not wanted to walk, the hotel offered a free local shuttle van-you tell them where you want to go, then call for your ride back. The indoor pool was a little small, but my daughter didn't mind. The gym was one of the best I've seen in a hotel, and the breakfast buffet (included in the room charge) had a wide variety of choices, from oatmeal to waffles. Resisting temptation was the only issue here! Having the kitchenette in the room was convenient as well, with provisions available just a few doors away on Duke Street at the Whole Foods Market. With each day we became more comfortable at the Residence Inn, which really does live up to its name. We'll be staying again on our next trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Water taxis available on the waterfront at the end of King Street that takes you to Georgetown, Mount Vernon or National Harbor, MD. What a beautiful, relaxing way to travel. Take the hotel shuttle to save time.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Alexandria- Old Town

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jaydog33
Business
Weymouth Ma
Jun 4, 2012

Great Location & Value

Just spent the weekend in Alexandria and was very impressed with the Residence Inn in Old Town, It is a short walk to King St on to all the Old Town shop and dining establishments. Is is also only 3 blocks from the Metro and Amtrak stations. You can see all see most of what you need to see without a car. The staff is ver helpful and the rooms are comfortable and clean. There is an excellent free breakfast every morning. They also have a shuttle that can take you anywhere within a mile of the hotel. The only negatives is that there is a $18 a night charge to park your car and one of the cars in the room was a little worn. Would come back in a second if I come back to the DC area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Alexandria- Old Town

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
CINCINNATI
May 15, 2011

great hotel! just love it

I went to DC for traveling. I read many reviews before I picked this hotel. It was right. The staffs were friendly. Hotel room was comfortable,and nice. It is closed from the airport and 2 blocks away from railmetro. Just loved it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Alexandria- Old Town

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Casual Travelers
Business
New Jersey
Apr 24, 2011

Great Value

Great location and great value. Stayed in a 1-bedroom suite with our 2 young children for 2 nights. Plenty of room and the kitchen was a good feature. We mostly ate out but it was nice to be able to take back the leftovers. It's not a 5-star luxury hotel (lobby is not impressive, and the pool was just okay) but then again it's not priced that way either. And the breakfast buffet - which was included in the price - was very good. We've been to other hotels where we paid a lot for a breakfast buffet that didn't include everything we had here. Overall: no problems, very good deal, and very convenient to the heart of the old town area (King Street).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

My cousin recommended a restaurant on King Street. On the walk there, we caught the smokey aroma of steaks/burgers/chili/etc - we didn't know where it was coming from but me, my wife and our girls were determined to find out. We tracked it down to Hard Times Cafe, also on King. So we went in and ate there. They provided a free sample of 4 different types of chili. We ordered the Terlingua Red chili, a burger, grilled chicken over salad and kids stuff. I'd like to make another trip just to try one of the charbroiled steaks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Alexandria- Old Town

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
CT
Dec 4, 2010

Classic and Beautiful

Location was fantastic - right in Old Town Alexandria.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Alexandria- Old Town

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Nov 1, 2010

This hotel is an excellent value!

We were visiting DC for an event and stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. The metro is 2 blocks away so getting into DC was a breeze. Also just a few block away from all the excellent restaurants in Old Town. The rooms were spacious and clean and the staff very professional and friendly. We arrived early in the morning from a red-eye flight and the rooms were still being cleaned. The lady at check in stored our bags, took my phone number, suggested we get breakfast in the hotel or at one of the cafes close by and called a few hours later to tell me the room was ready! I would highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Alexandria- Old Town

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lynchburg, va
Nov 1, 2010

Great

It was amazing! My husband and I of 2 & 1/2 years went for a romantic weekend! We were able to get around with no problem! The hostess even helped up with driving directions to a club we went to in d.c. For Halloween! Nothing was missing, the contential breakfast was great too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

If you like bars and karaoke the night life in Alexandria is great! The clubs In dc was only 20 mins away!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Alexandria- Old Town

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new jersey
Nov 1, 2010

Great time

We mostly were there to visit are son in Washington DC area. All the hotels in the DC area where sold out for a Rally so this was a last minute choice but it turned out to be a great stay we would go back.Very close to the metro system.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

It was very close to metro. we mostly went into Washington DC area it was very easy and clean.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Alexandria- Old Town

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mary Fran
Business
Naperville, IL
Oct 13, 2010

Old Town Charm

Hotel Staff were beyond helpful and courteous at all times. The rooms were very clean. The location to downtown "Old Town" Alexandria was fantastic and the shuttle service a major plus. Not too far from the District which was the purpose of our trip. So fun. I would definately stay there again next time we head to DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

We were in Alexandria for sightseeing in DC mainly. We took our 11 year old daughter and my parents. We rented a car. Directions and good maps are KEY or of course, GPS which we did not have. The roads in DC are confusing at first. GET a comprehensive map before your trip if you plan to drive and study it! We were able to see more of DC on our "detours" to our destinations, but it worked out and we saw so many things that way spontaneously. Also, parking in DC totally stinks and the meters are 25 cents for 7 minutes!!! If you can take public transportation, that is the way to go. DC in the Fall was spectacular. Next time I would plan to spend more time in Old Town Alexandria as well. I loved it, but feel I missed out.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Alexandria- Old Town

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Sep 28, 2010

Upper Scale

The hotel staff were amazing, makeing sure our ever need was met and also taking a personal interest that our trip be great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top