$149 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 7, 2015 Check-out: May 10, 2015

Residence Inn by Marriott Alexandria- Old Town

3 stars
View map of 1456, Duke Street, Alexandria, VA 22314

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Residence Inn by Marriott Alexandria- Old Town

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
48 out of 48
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.5

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Alexandria- Old Town

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mr RSB Sr
Business
Philadelphia
Aug 26, 2013

Very comfortable

The hotel staff was extremely professional and hospitable. Comfortable stay, not a lot of bells and whistles, but just what we were looking for at the time of our stay. Conveniently located near the metro and other restaurants in the area. Easy access to the main travel arteries. I would recommend acquiring a greater supply of the newspaper subscriptions for the guest. The papers were gone on Sunday morning we I attempted to retrieve it by 9am. Expanding the pool hours would be helpful as well. It was not an extravagant stay; however, it supplied the necessary comforts. The staff engineer was very helpful. He installed a television connector so my son would be able to play his video system. He was very cordial and made us feel welcomed. We will revisit this location for a future stay. P.S. Please put a pair of nut crackers in the kitchen drawer, it would have been very helpful while cracking open all of those crabs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The metro is about 2 blocks away that will provide access to any location. Your not far from Crystal City shopping.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Alexandria- Old Town

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RCW2
Business
Minneapolis
Aug 22, 2013

Great location

Great location in Old Town area and access to Metro.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Alexandria- Old Town

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Budgetman
Business
Lincoln, Nebraska
Jul 8, 2013

July Get Away

My wife and I took a short trip to DC for the long weekend and went on line to check for reasonable room rates. After some extensive research we felt the Residence Inn By Marriott Alexandria-Old Town would be our choice. Boy what a great decision. The room was a suite with kitchen and large living room area plus the king bed and full bathroom . Each morning a full breakfast buffet was included in the deal and this meal compared to $20.00 buffets at other locations. We were told they supplied snack items in the afternoon (monday-thursday) that could substitute for a lite lunch. Location near the Metro and Old Town made the need for a car much less necessary. Parking at hotel was $18.00/day so not having a car was not deal breaker.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Alexandria- Old Town

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jjjjlll
Business
hoboken, nj
Apr 30, 2013

great place to stay

the place was wonderful; the only one thing i would change is that there should be a choice for king size bad

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

king street is short two blocks and metro there is free trolley for the entire duration of king street, 2 stops metro from wash dc

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Alexandria- Old Town

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SAHB
Business
North Carolina
Apr 2, 2013

Great for visiting Washington DC

Convenient! Walk 2 short blocks to DC Metro King St station. 2 stops from Reagan National airport (less than 5 min.). On blue and yellow Metro lines so great access to DC Capitol and all Mall attractions. I would not even bother with a car if you can fly (parking fee $18/day). Old Town Alexandria is a great walking destination in itself. Great restaurants. Hotel was super clean, beds comfy, very friendly and helpful staff. Quick to respond to our only repair needed. Excellent, complete hot breakfast PLUS a light dinner M-Thurs is included. Only problem was that it advertised "complete" kitchen, but did not have an oven. 2-burner stovetop, micro, refrig, dishwasher, and stocked with service for 4, pots, pans, utensils. Excellent value overall!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Alexandria- Old Town

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DoraRich
Business
Keyport, NJ
Mar 30, 2013

Great Value

In the middle of everything, great value for the price. clean, roomy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Alexandria- Old Town

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GearGuy
Business
Wichita KS
Mar 25, 2013

Sometimes expensive, but always good.

This is my favorite place to stay. Nice staff. Nice people. Big, clean rooms with kitcenette.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The Hilton is closer to the King St. Metro, but the Residence Inn is closer to the Whole Foods.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Alexandria- Old Town

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RTBacon
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Feb 2, 2013

Very Enjoyable Stay

We arrived at the hotel a couple of hours prior to our check in time. The staff was extremely accommodating in getting us into a room. We were traveling with other family members and the hotel arranged so that the four rooms we occupied were all very close together even though all of us checked in at different times. My compliments to the staff as they were all very pleasant to us. The hotel is a very short walk to the King Street Metro and just 2 short blocks away from King Street and the multiple restaurants and shoppes. I would not hesitate to stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If you want to see Old Town and stay in a nice hotel this is the place.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Alexandria- Old Town

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rural wanderer
Business
Nacogdoches, Texas, USA
Jan 4, 2013

great lauchpad

Three of us came to visit a friend who had just moved to the area and decided to stay here. It is a great location to access the King Street metro to go into DC and nearby Whole Food market for essentials. The bed was a bit hard and I couldn't get the TV to change sources so I could watch video from my iPad, but the room configuration was excellent, especially since the vanity was outside the bathroom, making it easy for all of us to get ready in the morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Whole Foods Market is just two blocks away. We woke up to late for the free hotel breakfast, but they were still serving. Also, it's a good place to get food to make use of the room's refrigerator and kitchenette area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Alexandria- Old Town

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PA Travel Couple
Business
Alexandria, VA
Dec 10, 2012

Wonderful getaway weekend!!

This hotel was very nice. The service was great. We had a great time touring the city and we even took a short trip to visit Mt. Vernon! We had a great time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

All types of food within very short walking distance!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top