$149 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Mar 27, 2015 Check-out: Mar 29, 2015

Residence Inn by Marriott Alexandria- Old Town

3 stars
View map of 1456, Duke Street, Alexandria, VA 22314

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
48 reviews
Wonderful place to stay

We always enjoy coming back to this hotel clean rooms friendly staff great location to get to where... See full review

  • pschaik
  • Jan 25, 2015
Great Experience`

Went to Alexandria for a party. The location was perfect. The hotel was excellent. The room was... See full review

  • Barbara F.
  • Dec 29, 2014
The Residence Inn Old Town/Duke Street Alexandria, VA Hotel is situated in historic Old Town Alexandria, near a variety of shopping, dining, and entertainment options. Guests will love our location, just a short walk from the King Street DC Metro Station, providing easy access to Washington DC, the Arlington National Cemetery and Mt. Vernon. Our Alexandria extended stay hotel was designed for guests to stretch out and relax in suites that offer separate sleeping, living, and dining areas. Full kitchens, pullout sofa beds, and work desks with high-speed Internet access provide the comforts of home. Start your day off in our Alexandria extended stay hotel with a delicious complimentary breakfast, and end it at our nightly social hours Monday through Wednesday. We offer 3 meeting rooms to accommodate any social event or business meeting in the Old Town Alexandria area. Start planning your stay today at our Alexandria Old Town hotel and allow us to help you make the most of every travel experience.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Residence Inn by Marriott Alexandria- Old Town also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Children's activities
Tennis
Horseback riding
Dining
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Laundry/Valet services
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
Telephone
Kitchen
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Torpedo Factory Arts Center: 0.4 mi
  • Carlyle House: 0.8 mi
  • Athenaeum: 0.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Residence Inn by Marriott Alexandria- Old Town

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
48 out of 48
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.5

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Alexandria- Old Town

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
pschaik
Business
Montville
Jan 25, 2015

Wonderful place to stay

We always enjoy coming back to this hotel clean rooms friendly staff great location to get to where you need to be with the metro within a couple blocks

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Alexandria- Old Town

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Barbara F.
Business
N/A
Dec 29, 2014

Great Experience`

Went to Alexandria for a party. The location was perfect. The hotel was excellent. The room was especially comfortable. So clean and well stocked. Loved it would stay anytime!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Alexandria- Old Town

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
pschaik
Business
Montville, NJ
Nov 17, 2014

Twice is a charm.

We enjoyed our stay earlier this year at the Residence Inn By Marriott so much that we decided to stay again. Not only was the room spotless like no one had ever stayed in it before, and the staff friendly and helpful, but having a wonderful breakfast included and knowing we were only a several easy block walk from the Metro and restaurants made it a "no brainer" to choose it again. Thanks for allowing us to have such a pleasant stay as we look forward to staying with you in the future!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Alexandria- Old Town

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pschaik
Business
Montville, NJ
May 19, 2014

Great Location, Really nice room

We stayed at the Residence this year after having stayed at the Hilton Last year. Both hotels in a great location only minutes away from all the action on King Street where you'll find plenty to do including Galleries, Restaurants, Boutiques, Antiques and Clothing stores. Within a short walk of the Metro. The Residence has an edge because they serve an American breakfast and free shuttle service within a one mile radius. I'm not sure if the Hilton does have that service too. Our Room was positively spotless. We'd stay here again in a heartbeat. Thanks Marriott!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Alexandria- Old Town

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sarah and Aaron
Business
Honolulu, HI
May 13, 2014

Great experience!

We were hesitant with its 3-star review but we were thrilled with our actual experience. The hotel is in an incredible location - a block away from Whole Foods, an easy 5 minute walk to the Metro, and a short walk to King Street with great shops & restaurants. The hotel itself is kept very clean. It also offers complimentary breakfast and complimentary happy hour (on certain days). The room was huge and very clean. Couldn't be happier. Will definitely stay here again if/when we go back to DC. Thanks for everything!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Do not pay for the shuttle from the airport (Reagan). There is a metro stop at the airport, and the walk from the metro stop near the hotel (King St) is so short, you'll save a lot of money (pending you don't have too much luggage you can't carry/roll yourself).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Alexandria- Old Town

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Northwest Executive
Business
Seattle, WA
May 9, 2014

Great location for business or play

With the Metro and free trolley only a couple blocks away, this is a great way to see Alexandria and DC area. I took trolley to water taxi and got where I needed inexpensively and with an enjoyable boat trip. Staff were kind and hard-working and I enjoyed my 5 days there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Taverna Cretekou is excellent Greek restaurant on King, only few blocks away. It felt like really being in Greece and outstanding combo plate for undecided or new to Greek food. Landini's farther down toward water was great Italian place that accommodated a party of 17 and had outstanding calimari!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Alexandria- Old Town

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
HerrBrightKY
Business
Lexington, KY
Apr 21, 2014

Close to DC

Staff was exceedingly helpful during and after our stay. Breakfast was nice. Local restaurant recommendations were solid. Only minor issues with local transport shuttle and local offered transport to a from the airport (not really hotel's problem). Small pool but it was safe with a lifeguard on duty!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Metro to and from hotel is easy option rather than driving into and out of DC and the airport.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Alexandria- Old Town

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
DGB51
Business
New York, NY
Apr 15, 2014

Avoid

This was probably the worst of Marriott Residence Inns that I have stayed in across the country. I was in Alexandria for a wedding, and after a very long drive in from NYC, I found the lack of efficiency and hospitality at the front desk to be very disappointing. To be sure, there are some excellent suites at this hotel, but the layout is very inconsistent. Suite 546 was beautiful and spacious, but ours, Suite 621 was easily the worst designed layout for a bedroom and kitchen efficiency that I have ever seen. Parking garage was exorbitant ($18) and poorly designed, breakfast was terrible, but at least free (you get what you pay for), but location was superb. Overall, a very mediocre Marriott. If you stay here, I strongly advise the larger suites, and don't be reluctant to insist on an upgrade. I wish we had.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Avoid "Notting Hill" on a Sunday evening. Very poor wait staff, although the portions were surprisingly generous.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Alexandria- Old Town

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Phil 31
Business
Warner Robins, GA
Dec 21, 2013

Great Hotel in cental area

Great stay. Located in central area of Alexandria. This is a big plus, but also makes for heavy traffic and parking charges. The hotel is an excellent Residence Inn, which is one of my favorite chains. I will definitely stay there again, but if I didn't need a car, I would recommend using the Metro (only 2 blocks), the shuttle van for Alexandria and skip the rental car.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Alexandria- Old Town

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TP Myers
Business
Raleigh, NC
Oct 1, 2013

Great for local conferences

A very nice place to stay if you have local business or a conference in Alexandria. Their shuttle service is definitely a plus! I didn't have to move my car or deal with traffic. A very comfortable and clean room with lots of space to spread out. The staff I interacted with were cordial and helpful. The breakfast was good and had a wide varied selection each morning. The only drawback I have is price of room and parking but, it is the DC area so expect to pay more. Definitely would recommend it and would come back to stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

King St. metro station is only a about 2 or 3 blocks away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top