$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
View map of 480 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
91 out of 91
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St Louis, MO
Aug 26, 2010

Beautiful Hotel with wonderful service.

A wonderful hotel - would definitely stay there whenever we are in Alexandria again. Wonderful staff. We remarked that the first room was very far from the elevator, and they immediately moved us to a much nicer/larger room across from the elevator without question. I hope I am able to stay at a Kimpton Hotel on future trips.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
THE Netherlands
Jul 24, 2010

Enjoyable stay at hotel Monaco

Great location and lots of restaurants nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk to the waterfront and have dinner at the Chart House.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sweet 60
Business
Rochester, NY
Jul 13, 2010

Very pleasant

I was surprised to learn that there was a separate charge for parking, but I probably didn't read the description fully. It was valet parking only. The room air conditioner was wonderfully cold, but quite noisy. However, it was sort of white noise because we didn't hear the street sounds. Requested additional bath towels; no problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Madison Wisconsin
Jul 12, 2010

Not up to Kimpton standards

I have stayed at Kimpton hotels often and this is the only one that did not make the grade. Many other Alexandria hotels are by far superior! This property is a former Holiday Inn and it still unfortunately felt like it. I will stay at other hotels when I get back to Alexandria and will not consider this one. This is so far below the standards of the DuPont Circle Palomar that I was shocked. Unfortunately This will probably lead me to not consider other Kimpton hotels I have not seen before I stay at them. The hotel was way way overpriced for what it is. The chain needs to fix this one because it brings down the entire Kimpton reputation. They have a great King Street location but that is all. The hotel did not even offer free newspapers--inexcusable for the price. I left after one night and spent the next four nights in a nearby hotel that was everything this one was not--and I paid $100 a night less. This is a very poor excuse for a boutique hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NY, NY
Jul 8, 2010

Nice Hotel Quaint Area

only one night stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Souderton, PA
May 24, 2010

Great hotel in a teriffic location, but.

The hotel overall was great, but just after 10PM I could smell a strong odor of weed (I cant use the actual name of the drug that was buring, since it appears that the comment program does not allow the word to be used, I guess the truth is not acceptable) coming from the hallway. I went out of my room and the hall was smokey. I reported this to the front desk, and they investigated it, but told me there was nothing they could do since they couldn't tell which room it was coming from. I had to stuff a towel under my door to try and keep the smell out, and it would have been nice if they would have atleast did something to vent the air in the hallway. Other then this incident, it is a beautiful hotel in a prime location. I just expected to actually enjoy my room for the money that I spent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Westchester, NY
May 20, 2010

Nice but disapointed

It was very nice but the room [...] were not happy about the parking our only option was valet, there was no street parking unless you drove around searching and then u have to pay for the meter anyway. [...] Overall the hotel was nice but the bed was not what we were excpecting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Teacher in need of a vacation
Business
Leesburg, Va
May 16, 2010

Perfect spot!

This was a fun, chic hotel in the perfect location for a night out on the Old Town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fresno, Ca
Apr 30, 2010

great place to stay

We took the metro to Washington DC almost every day to take in the sites. We spent our down time wandering around "old town" and had a great time. We took the ferry to Mt Vernon for a day. I have never seen so much red brick or green countryside in any one place before being from Fresno, California. The hotel staff was very, very helpful everyday during our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Desk staff made a reservation for us at "The Chart House" for dinner and we were treated like VIP's and the food was fantastic!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Mar 29, 2010

Recent stay @ Hotel Monaco, Old Town, al

Love the new morning coffe 7 evening wine served in the lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top