$148 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 2, 2014 Check-out: Nov 3, 2014

Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
480 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
89 reviews
Amazing weekend getaway

This is my second time staying at this hotel and my sister and I love it. We have come to... See full review

  • happy camper 2014
  • Jun 9, 2014
Wonderful family holiday

Exceptional location. Luxurious hotel, Near shops and restaurants, easy transport with free rides... See full review

  • Nanoy
  • Apr 18, 2014
Old Town Alexandria hotel combines tradition and whimsy
Situated in the heart of historic Old Town Alexandria, the Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel draws from its surroundings to create a one-of-a-kind blend of American tradition and imaginative artistry. Jackson 20 restaurant serves pork chops and pot roast alongside a selection of craft beers. Guest rooms are dressed in bright, bold colors that make the Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel pleasantly unforgettable. National treasures such as The White House and National Mall are a short Metro ride away.
Highlights

  • Complimentary morning coffee and tea service
  • Hosted wine reception in the lobby every evening
  • Pets welcome at no additional charge
  • Indoor swimming pool, fitness center

Rooms

Vibrant combinations of color and pattern make guest rooms at the Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel come to life. Both whimsical and sophisticated, 241 rooms and suites set mocha-colored, leaf-patterned chaise lounges beside sunset-and-cream beds crowned with a playful sunburst mirror and decorative canopy.

 

These spirited spaces also feature 37-inch flat-panel TVs, large work spaces, iHome docking stations, Aveda bath amenities and animal print robes. Pets are always welcome at no additional charge. And if Fido is back at home, contact the front desk to request a goldfish companion.
Features
Make sure to hit the pool on Saturdays, when guests kick back on inflatable pool furniture and watch a movie at Dive-in Movie Night. The 24-hour fitness center at the Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel features Precor equipment including stair climbers, treadmills and a recumbent bike, as well as free weights, balance balls, hula hoops and yoga mats.
Dining
Adjacent to Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, Jackson 20 is an Old Town favorite. Try traditional tavern fare like chicken and dumplings with a craft beer or choose something from the impressive wine list.
Transportation

  • King Street Metro Station (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport (3.1 mi/5 km)
  • Washington Dulles International Airport (24 mi/38.6 km)
  • Complimentary shuttle service to Reagan National Airport (limited hours)

Attractions

  • Market Square (Across the street)
  • Arlington National Cemetery (4.8 mi/7.7 km)
  • National Mall (5.9 mi/9.5 km)
  • Walter E. Washington Convention Center (6.9 mi/11.2 km)

Business

  • 24-hour business center
  • 8,565 square feet of function space
  • Paris Ballroom accommodates up to 250 guests
  • Catering available
  • State-of-the-art audiovisual equipment

Hotel Map

38.8046 -77.0442
Nearby airports
Washington National Airport, (DCA), 2.00, MI, N; Washington Dulles International Airport, (IAD), 35.00, MI, NW; Baltimore/Washington International Airport, (BWI), 40.00, MI, NE;
Area description
Suburban

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

Accessible King Deluxe Room
Accessible King Deluxe Room 405 sq ft communication features avail iHome
Majestic Suite
1600 sq ft non-smoking parlor room can connect to one or two bedrooms Living and dining area
King Premier Room
King Premier Room with 1 king bed 430 sq ft oversized bathroom iHome flat panel TV
Accessible King Deluxe Roll-In
Accessible King Deluxe Room with Roll-In 405 sq ft communication features avail iHome
Accbl. Mediterranean Spa Suite
Accessible Mediterranean Spa Suite 800sqft 1 kng sep living room Fuji soak tub sofa bed
Queen Deluxe Room
Queen Deluxe Room with 1 Queen Bed 300 sq ft with oversized bath iHome
Double Double Deluxe Room
Double Double Deluxe Room with 2 double beds 420 sq ft with overszed bath iHome
King Deluxe Room
King Deluxe Room 405 sq ft oversized bath iHome docking station flat panel TV
Monte Carlo Terrace Room
Monte Carlo Terrace Room with 1 King Bed 405 sq ft outdoor balcony iHome docking station
Mediterranean Spa Suite
Mediterranean Spa Suite with 1 King Bed 800sqft separate living room Fuji soaking tub sofa bed
Monaco Loft Suite
Monaco Loft Suite 750 sq ft 2-level suite with king bed Fuji soaking tub separate living room

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
FAX
Conference facilities
Copy service
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
Turndown service
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Carlyle House: 0.1 mi
  • Athenaeum: 0.1 mi
  • Torpedo Factory Arts Center: 0.5 mi

Dining

Jackson 20 Restaurant
Named for President Andrew Jackson and his visage on the 20 dollar bill Jackson 20 honors its namesake by providing affordable and inspired food and drink in a uniquely hospitable setting.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (89)

Ratings and reviews for Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
89 out of 89
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
UNCCasey
Business
Durham, NC
Nov 21, 2012

Awesome location!!!

Near shops and excellent restaurants. Staff is super friendly and helpful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't valet. There is a parking garage right next to the hotel and it is much cheaper.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
FEB2013DCvisitor
Business
Central Missouri
Mar 2, 2013

Easily could have been better

I booked through this third-party site, paid extra for a room with a balcony & made a notation in the "notes" section that we'd like a roll-away bed for a child if it was available (the website said they were available on a first-come basis). When I arrived, without warning, the bellhop led us to a standard double room (the cheapest type, with no balcony). I explained to him that we'd reserved a room w/ a balcony, he called the front desk and they told him none was available. He handed the phone to me & I asked the girl on the other end if I could speak to a manager. He was rude, did not apologize for the situation, & flatly told me that because I had booked through a certain third-party reservation site, there was nothing he could do about the error. He eventually clarified that since I had booked a room with one bed (albeit a King), but had asked for a second bed, they simply changed the reservation to a double room. He said there was no way to notify me of this, because the third-party reservation company does not supply the names or phone numbers of people who make reservations. He had no explanation for how the hotel front-desk staff had been able to match my name & ID to a reservation. Anyway, he refused to refund the difference in the price of the room. He offered to put us in a room with a balcony the next day. He told me to start calling them the next day at about noon to see if one would be available. One eventually did come available the next day at 5 p.m. & we took it. It was too dark to even see the balcony (half the point of a balcony room was to have the extra sunlight). I complained about it long enough that an hour later, someone showed up with a free bottle of wine & an apology letter for the "miscommunication", but there was never a refund of the difference in the price of the rooms, & the bad customer service made the trip a little worse than it needed to be. Our first room on the 6th (top) floor had too little water pressure to take a good shower. Other than that, the hotel itself was perfectly nice. Hopefully the manager moves on. I may try it again next time I'm in the area, but I would not recommend booking this hotel through a discount hotel website.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SGPC
Business
Park City, UT
Jan 28, 2013

great hotel!

I enjoyed my stay. The decor was beautiful, the staff was friendly, and the wine hour was really nice!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jackie CRNA
Business
Vallejo, CA
Jan 24, 2013

A few surprises!

dogs in lobby and dry rotted tearing linen on bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Must eat at "The Wharf". Make sure to make reservations. Our hotel personel made our reservation, but when we arrived at the appointed time the hotel said they had never heard of us. so double check that you actually have a properly booked reservation.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mister B 5700
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Dec 2, 2012

A memorable visit

This is a very nice hotel. It was quiet and comfortable. Althought old and well worn our room was comfortable. What made our stay memorable was the unfailing warmth, courtesy and consideration of the staff. We felt welcomed and cared for our entire stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
UNCCasey
Business
Durham, NC
Nov 21, 2012

Awesome location!!!

Near shops and excellent restaurants. Staff is super friendly and helpful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't valet. There is a parking garage right next to the hotel and it is much cheaper.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gazingcrystalball
Business
North Carolina
Oct 15, 2012

Great Stay...Again

We stayed at the Hotel Monaco this Saturday to attend a game at FedEx Field. This was our second time staying with the hotel and it was just as good as I remembered from two years ago. Unfortunately this stay much much shorter:(. We arrived just about when complementary wine hour began. Had just enough time to get to our room, freshen up and have a couple of glasses of vino. I enjoyed the merlot while my DH have the white (didn't notice what kind). The red was wonderful! Our room was nice and very clean. The only issue was the mini bar fridge wasn't working. After notifying the front desk, they sent someone right on it while we were out for dinner. Morning coffee is excellent, however I wish coffee was in the room for better convenience. Thank goodness I had someone willing to go downstairs and get some to bring back to the room. While staying, there were two weddings going on and lots of people dressed in suits and so on... I felt a little intimidated only because we weren't dressed to the nines. While sitting in wine hour, the lobby got very crowded and loud with the wedding parties but we were able to score a spot, find a place for dinner and do a little yuppie watching. All in all, this place is great! The location can't be beat and it's not too pretentious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Avoid valet parking charges by parking on the street or a garage close by ($7).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PTO visitor
Business
New York
Oct 12, 2012

Nice stay

I only stayed there a night, but found everything to be very comfortable. I am not completely sold on the "discovering your wild side" theme. I prefer white robes over robes with animal prints. But after I got over the animal print, I found the robe very comforatable. I enjoyed my moring walk to the USPTO down King Street, which took me about 15 (fast NY walking) minutes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TamaraS
Business
Detroit, MI
Aug 10, 2012

Heart of the Action in Alexandria

Posh Hotel right in the heart of the action in Alexandria, VA! We loved our stay at the Monaco on King Street, just steps from everything. While we were in town for business, this place made us feel as comfortable as a resort property. Evening wine receptions, morning coffee in the cozy but posh lobby appointed like a large living room. Business folks, families and dogs all mingling like invited guests at a party. It was wonderful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
capslock
Business
Toronto, Canada
Jul 15, 2012

Close to the water

I had a great time. The room was beautiful and the staff was courteous and attentive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great pizzeria just a block down from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MJLM
Business
White Plains, New York
Jul 14, 2012

Great Vacation

When describing this hotel, one can not ignore the staff. Everyone was very helpful and pleasant while helping with directions, recommendations, etc. What a great "Kid-Friendly" place. If visiting, be sure to ask for a goldfish. One is delivered to your room and becomes part of the family for your stay. You can't get a better location: local shops and restaurants within walking distance with a sort walk to the metro station. We plan a return stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Quick 12 block walk to the Metro Station, the quickest way to travel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top