$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
View map of 480 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
91 out of 91
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
UNCCasey
Business
Durham, NC
Nov 21, 2012

Awesome location!!!

Near shops and excellent restaurants. Staff is super friendly and helpful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't valet. There is a parking garage right next to the hotel and it is much cheaper.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Zoe's Mom
Business
Oakland, NJ, USA
Mar 14, 2013

GReat stay and great location

Beautiful Hotel - cozy room, nicely appointed and clean. Love the wine happy hour! Great location and friendly staff. Will definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jennifer1229
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Mar 5, 2013

Awesome

Great experience. Will definitely stay here again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
FEB2013DCvisitor
Business
Central Missouri
Mar 2, 2013

Easily could have been better

I booked through this third-party site, paid extra for a room with a balcony & made a notation in the "notes" section that we'd like a roll-away bed for a child if it was available (the website said they were available on a first-come basis). When I arrived, without warning, the bellhop led us to a standard double room (the cheapest type, with no balcony). I explained to him that we'd reserved a room w/ a balcony, he called the front desk and they told him none was available. He handed the phone to me & I asked the girl on the other end if I could speak to a manager. He was rude, did not apologize for the situation, & flatly told me that because I had booked through a certain third-party reservation site, there was nothing he could do about the error. He eventually clarified that since I had booked a room with one bed (albeit a King), but had asked for a second bed, they simply changed the reservation to a double room. He said there was no way to notify me of this, because the third-party reservation company does not supply the names or phone numbers of people who make reservations. He had no explanation for how the hotel front-desk staff had been able to match my name & ID to a reservation. Anyway, he refused to refund the difference in the price of the room. He offered to put us in a room with a balcony the next day. He told me to start calling them the next day at about noon to see if one would be available. One eventually did come available the next day at 5 p.m. & we took it. It was too dark to even see the balcony (half the point of a balcony room was to have the extra sunlight). I complained about it long enough that an hour later, someone showed up with a free bottle of wine & an apology letter for the "miscommunication", but there was never a refund of the difference in the price of the rooms, & the bad customer service made the trip a little worse than it needed to be. Our first room on the 6th (top) floor had too little water pressure to take a good shower. Other than that, the hotel itself was perfectly nice. Hopefully the manager moves on. I may try it again next time I'm in the area, but I would not recommend booking this hotel through a discount hotel website.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SGPC
Business
Park City, UT
Jan 28, 2013

great hotel!

I enjoyed my stay. The decor was beautiful, the staff was friendly, and the wine hour was really nice!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jackie CRNA
Business
Vallejo, CA
Jan 24, 2013

A few surprises!

dogs in lobby and dry rotted tearing linen on bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Must eat at "The Wharf". Make sure to make reservations. Our hotel personel made our reservation, but when we arrived at the appointed time the hotel said they had never heard of us. so double check that you actually have a properly booked reservation.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mister B 5700
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Dec 2, 2012

A memorable visit

This is a very nice hotel. It was quiet and comfortable. Althought old and well worn our room was comfortable. What made our stay memorable was the unfailing warmth, courtesy and consideration of the staff. We felt welcomed and cared for our entire stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
UNCCasey
Business
Durham, NC
Nov 21, 2012

Awesome location!!!

Near shops and excellent restaurants. Staff is super friendly and helpful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't valet. There is a parking garage right next to the hotel and it is much cheaper.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gazingcrystalball
Business
North Carolina
Oct 15, 2012

Great Stay...Again

We stayed at the Hotel Monaco this Saturday to attend a game at FedEx Field. This was our second time staying with the hotel and it was just as good as I remembered from two years ago. Unfortunately this stay much much shorter:(. We arrived just about when complementary wine hour began. Had just enough time to get to our room, freshen up and have a couple of glasses of vino. I enjoyed the merlot while my DH have the white (didn't notice what kind). The red was wonderful! Our room was nice and very clean. The only issue was the mini bar fridge wasn't working. After notifying the front desk, they sent someone right on it while we were out for dinner. Morning coffee is excellent, however I wish coffee was in the room for better convenience. Thank goodness I had someone willing to go downstairs and get some to bring back to the room. While staying, there were two weddings going on and lots of people dressed in suits and so on... I felt a little intimidated only because we weren't dressed to the nines. While sitting in wine hour, the lobby got very crowded and loud with the wedding parties but we were able to score a spot, find a place for dinner and do a little yuppie watching. All in all, this place is great! The location can't be beat and it's not too pretentious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Avoid valet parking charges by parking on the street or a garage close by ($7).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PTO visitor
Business
New York
Oct 12, 2012

Nice stay

I only stayed there a night, but found everything to be very comfortable. I am not completely sold on the "discovering your wild side" theme. I prefer white robes over robes with animal prints. But after I got over the animal print, I found the robe very comforatable. I enjoyed my moring walk to the USPTO down King Street, which took me about 15 (fast NY walking) minutes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TamaraS
Business
Detroit, MI
Aug 10, 2012

Heart of the Action in Alexandria

Posh Hotel right in the heart of the action in Alexandria, VA! We loved our stay at the Monaco on King Street, just steps from everything. While we were in town for business, this place made us feel as comfortable as a resort property. Evening wine receptions, morning coffee in the cozy but posh lobby appointed like a large living room. Business folks, families and dogs all mingling like invited guests at a party. It was wonderful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top