$158 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 2, 2014 Check-out: Sep 3, 2014

Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
480 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
88 reviews
Amazing weekend getaway

This is my second time staying at this hotel and my sister and I love it. We have come to... See full review

  • happy camper 2014
  • Jun 9, 2014
Wonderful family holiday

Exceptional location. Luxurious hotel, Near shops and restaurants, easy transport with free rides... See full review

  • Nanoy
  • Apr 18, 2014
Old Town Alexandria hotel combines tradition and whimsy
Situated in the heart of historic Old Town Alexandria, the Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel draws from its surroundings to create a one-of-a-kind blend of American tradition and imaginative artistry. Jackson 20 restaurant serves pork chops and pot roast alongside a selection of craft beers. Guest rooms are dressed in bright, bold colors that make the Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel pleasantly unforgettable. National treasures such as The White House and National Mall are a short Metro ride away.
Highlights

  • Complimentary morning coffee and tea service
  • Hosted wine reception in the lobby every evening
  • Pets welcome at no additional charge
  • Indoor swimming pool, fitness center

Rooms

Vibrant combinations of color and pattern make guest rooms at the Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel come to life. Both whimsical and sophisticated, 241 rooms and suites set mocha-colored, leaf-patterned chaise lounges beside sunset-and-cream beds crowned with a playful sunburst mirror and decorative canopy.

 

These spirited spaces also feature 37-inch flat-panel TVs, large work spaces, iHome docking stations, Aveda bath amenities and animal print robes. Pets are always welcome at no additional charge. And if Fido is back at home, contact the front desk to request a goldfish companion.
Features
Make sure to hit the pool on Saturdays, when guests kick back on inflatable pool furniture and watch a movie at Dive-in Movie Night. The 24-hour fitness center at the Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel features Precor equipment including stair climbers, treadmills and a recumbent bike, as well as free weights, balance balls, hula hoops and yoga mats.
Dining
Adjacent to Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, Jackson 20 is an Old Town favorite. Try traditional tavern fare like chicken and dumplings with a craft beer or choose something from the impressive wine list.
Transportation

  • King Street Metro Station (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport (3.1 mi/5 km)
  • Washington Dulles International Airport (24 mi/38.6 km)
  • Complimentary shuttle service to Reagan National Airport (limited hours)

Attractions

  • Market Square (Across the street)
  • Arlington National Cemetery (4.8 mi/7.7 km)
  • National Mall (5.9 mi/9.5 km)
  • Walter E. Washington Convention Center (6.9 mi/11.2 km)

Business

  • 24-hour business center
  • 8,565 square feet of function space
  • Paris Ballroom accommodates up to 250 guests
  • Catering available
  • State-of-the-art audiovisual equipment

Hotel Map

38.8046 -77.0442
Nearby airports
Washington National Airport, (DCA), 2.00, MI, N; Washington Dulles International Airport, (IAD), 35.00, MI, NW; Baltimore/Washington International Airport, (BWI), 40.00, MI, NE;
Area description
Suburban

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5

Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

Accessible King Deluxe Room
Accessible King Deluxe Room 405 sq ft communication features avail iHome
Majestic Suite
1600 sq ft non-smoking parlor room can connect to one or two bedrooms Living and dining area
King Premier Room
King Premier Room with 1 king bed 430 sq ft oversized bathroom iHome flat panel TV
Accessible King Deluxe Roll-In
Accessible King Deluxe Room with Roll-In 405 sq ft communication features avail iHome
Accbl. Mediterranean Spa Suite
Accessible Mediterranean Spa Suite 800sqft 1 kng sep living room Fuji soak tub sofa bed
Queen Deluxe Room
Queen Deluxe Room with 1 Queen Bed 300 sq ft with oversized bath iHome
Double Double Deluxe Room
Double Double Deluxe Room with 2 double beds 420 sq ft with overszed bath iHome
King Deluxe Room
King Deluxe Room 405 sq ft oversized bath iHome docking station flat panel TV
Monte Carlo Terrace Room
Monte Carlo Terrace Room with 1 King Bed 405 sq ft outdoor balcony iHome docking station
Mediterranean Spa Suite
Mediterranean Spa Suite with 1 King Bed 800sqft separate living room Fuji soaking tub sofa bed
Monaco Loft Suite
Monaco Loft Suite 750 sq ft 2-level suite with king bed Fuji soaking tub separate living room

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
FAX
Conference facilities
Copy service
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
Turndown service
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Carlyle House: 0.1 mi
  • Athenaeum: 0.1 mi
  • Torpedo Factory Arts Center: 0.5 mi

Dining

Jackson 20 Restaurant
Named for President Andrew Jackson and his visage on the 20 dollar bill Jackson 20 honors its namesake by providing affordable and inspired food and drink in a uniquely hospitable setting.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (88)

Ratings and reviews for Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
6 out of 88
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.3

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Epifane
Chicago, IL
Oct 3, 2013

Great location for Old Town Alexandria Visitors

This is a unique hotel with steady guest traffic. Dogs are allowed and they are everywhere, so if you are a dog lover, this is the place to be. My room overlooked King street but was still quiet and very comfortable. A fun place to stay! The hotel is a convenient walk to the Potomac and harbours as well as many great restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
alexandriatraveller
Oklahoma, USA
Mar 25, 2012

Fine for vacation traveler

My experience at the Hotel Monaco was just what I expected--clean, professional, courteous. The staff was friendly, the free airport shuttle a plus, and the nightly wine reception delightful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

This hotel is 12 blocks from the nearest Metro station. There is a free King Street shuttle from the the hotel to the metro, so keep this in mind, especially if you plan to use the metro a lot. On the other hand, the hotel is very close to the waterfront area.

Review of Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kimpton fan
Alexandria, VA
Mar 8, 2011

Kimpton hotels rock

Why write endless words when I can simply say the hotel accommodations are excellent!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Madison Wisconsin
Jul 12, 2010

Not up to Kimpton standards

I have stayed at Kimpton hotels often and this is the only one that did not make the grade. Many other Alexandria hotels are by far superior! This property is a former Holiday Inn and it still unfortunately felt like it. I will stay at other hotels when I get back to Alexandria and will not consider this one. This is so far below the standards of the DuPont Circle Palomar that I was shocked. Unfortunately This will probably lead me to not consider other Kimpton hotels I have not seen before I stay at them. The hotel was way way overpriced for what it is. The chain needs to fix this one because it brings down the entire Kimpton reputation. They have a great King Street location but that is all. The hotel did not even offer free newspapers--inexcusable for the price. I left after one night and spent the next four nights in a nearby hotel that was everything this one was not--and I paid $100 a night less. This is a very poor excuse for a boutique hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
trvlr2
Berkshires,Massachusetts
Mar 15, 2010

Lovely hotel and fantastic location

The service was excellent. The free wine hour in the afternoon was lovely. The hotel staff well trained and efficient. I was there for a family wedding and many of the guests stayed here. It is within walking distance of dozens of ethnic restaurants,shops and the famous Torpedo Factory( where the weddiing was held). The room was large and had windows that opened. The bathroom was large as well and immaculate. It was a delightful experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Boo's Mo
Rockville, MD
Jun 28, 2009

Great location!

The staff is very friendly and helpful. The location is ideal. Close to the Strand. There's a bus stop on the block for a free shuttle that goes up and down King St., but everything is close by so you can walk if you don't want to wait for the bus. Only negative was that you could hear every sound in the hallway outside. If I wasn't traveling by myself, maybe I wouldn't have noticed the noise so much. I was by the elevators and could hear it ding as it went up and down; didn't matter if the elevator stopped on the floor or not.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top

Change search