$148 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 3, 2014

Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
480 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
88 reviews
Amazing weekend getaway

This is my second time staying at this hotel and my sister and I love it. We have come to... See full review

  • happy camper 2014
  • Jun 9, 2014
Wonderful family holiday

Exceptional location. Luxurious hotel, Near shops and restaurants, easy transport with free rides... See full review

  • Nanoy
  • Apr 18, 2014
Old Town Alexandria hotel combines tradition and whimsy
Situated in the heart of historic Old Town Alexandria, the Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel draws from its surroundings to create a one-of-a-kind blend of American tradition and imaginative artistry. Jackson 20 restaurant serves pork chops and pot roast alongside a selection of craft beers. Guest rooms are dressed in bright, bold colors that make the Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel pleasantly unforgettable. National treasures such as The White House and National Mall are a short Metro ride away.
Highlights

  • Complimentary morning coffee and tea service
  • Hosted wine reception in the lobby every evening
  • Pets welcome at no additional charge
  • Indoor swimming pool, fitness center

Rooms

Vibrant combinations of color and pattern make guest rooms at the Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel come to life. Both whimsical and sophisticated, 241 rooms and suites set mocha-colored, leaf-patterned chaise lounges beside sunset-and-cream beds crowned with a playful sunburst mirror and decorative canopy.

 

These spirited spaces also feature 37-inch flat-panel TVs, large work spaces, iHome docking stations, Aveda bath amenities and animal print robes. Pets are always welcome at no additional charge. And if Fido is back at home, contact the front desk to request a goldfish companion.
Features
Make sure to hit the pool on Saturdays, when guests kick back on inflatable pool furniture and watch a movie at Dive-in Movie Night. The 24-hour fitness center at the Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel features Precor equipment including stair climbers, treadmills and a recumbent bike, as well as free weights, balance balls, hula hoops and yoga mats.
Dining
Adjacent to Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, Jackson 20 is an Old Town favorite. Try traditional tavern fare like chicken and dumplings with a craft beer or choose something from the impressive wine list.
Transportation

  • King Street Metro Station (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport (3.1 mi/5 km)
  • Washington Dulles International Airport (24 mi/38.6 km)
  • Complimentary shuttle service to Reagan National Airport (limited hours)

Attractions

  • Market Square (Across the street)
  • Arlington National Cemetery (4.8 mi/7.7 km)
  • National Mall (5.9 mi/9.5 km)
  • Walter E. Washington Convention Center (6.9 mi/11.2 km)

Business

  • 24-hour business center
  • 8,565 square feet of function space
  • Paris Ballroom accommodates up to 250 guests
  • Catering available
  • State-of-the-art audiovisual equipment

Hotel Map

38.8046 -77.0442
Nearby airports
Washington National Airport, (DCA), 2.00, MI, N; Washington Dulles International Airport, (IAD), 35.00, MI, NW; Baltimore/Washington International Airport, (BWI), 40.00, MI, NE;
Area description
Suburban

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5

Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

Accessible King Deluxe Room
Accessible King Deluxe Room 405 sq ft communication features avail iHome
Majestic Suite
1600 sq ft non-smoking parlor room can connect to one or two bedrooms Living and dining area
King Premier Room
King Premier Room with 1 king bed 430 sq ft oversized bathroom iHome flat panel TV
Accessible King Deluxe Roll-In
Accessible King Deluxe Room with Roll-In 405 sq ft communication features avail iHome
Accbl. Mediterranean Spa Suite
Accessible Mediterranean Spa Suite 800sqft 1 kng sep living room Fuji soak tub sofa bed
Queen Deluxe Room
Queen Deluxe Room with 1 Queen Bed 300 sq ft with oversized bath iHome
Double Double Deluxe Room
Double Double Deluxe Room with 2 double beds 420 sq ft with overszed bath iHome
King Deluxe Room
King Deluxe Room 405 sq ft oversized bath iHome docking station flat panel TV
Monte Carlo Terrace Room
Monte Carlo Terrace Room with 1 King Bed 405 sq ft outdoor balcony iHome docking station
Mediterranean Spa Suite
Mediterranean Spa Suite with 1 King Bed 800sqft separate living room Fuji soaking tub sofa bed
Monaco Loft Suite
Monaco Loft Suite 750 sq ft 2-level suite with king bed Fuji soaking tub separate living room

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
FAX
Conference facilities
Copy service
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
Turndown service
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Carlyle House: 0.1 mi
  • Athenaeum: 0.1 mi
  • Torpedo Factory Arts Center: 0.5 mi

Dining

Jackson 20 Restaurant
Named for President Andrew Jackson and his visage on the 20 dollar bill Jackson 20 honors its namesake by providing affordable and inspired food and drink in a uniquely hospitable setting.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (88)

Ratings and reviews for Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
6 out of 88
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.5

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
0mako0
ny, ny
Sep 10, 2013

monaco

super cute hotel, friendly and helpful staff, and really comfy room. alexandria could not have been a more relaxing little weekend getaway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jackie CRNA
Vallejo, CA
Jan 24, 2013

A few surprises!

dogs in lobby and dry rotted tearing linen on bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Must eat at "The Wharf". Make sure to make reservations. Our hotel personel made our reservation, but when we arrived at the appointed time the hotel said they had never heard of us. so double check that you actually have a properly booked reservation.

Review of Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
awrs
Pennsylvania, USA
Jan 31, 2012

great spot

Have stayed here before and chose to return. The wine hour is always well attended. I went to the pool. While it is beautiful--it is way dark up there. More lights would be helpful My shower/tub faucet was a little cantankerous, but engineering showed up immediately to fix it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
St Louis, MO
Aug 26, 2010

Beautiful Hotel with wonderful service.

A wonderful hotel - would definitely stay there whenever we are in Alexandria again. Wonderful staff. We remarked that the first room was very far from the elevator, and they immediately moved us to a much nicer/larger room across from the elevator without question. I hope I am able to stay at a Kimpton Hotel on future trips.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Souderton, PA
May 24, 2010

Great hotel in a teriffic location, but.

The hotel overall was great, but just after 10PM I could smell a strong odor of weed (I cant use the actual name of the drug that was buring, since it appears that the comment program does not allow the word to be used, I guess the truth is not acceptable) coming from the hallway. I went out of my room and the hall was smokey. I reported this to the front desk, and they investigated it, but told me there was nothing they could do since they couldn't tell which room it was coming from. I had to stuff a towel under my door to try and keep the smell out, and it would have been nice if they would have atleast did something to vent the air in the hallway. Other then this incident, it is a beautiful hotel in a prime location. I just expected to actually enjoy my room for the money that I spent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Teacher in need of a vacation
Leesburg, Va
May 16, 2010

Perfect spot!

This was a fun, chic hotel in the perfect location for a night out on the Old Town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top

Change search