$128 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 19, 2014 Check-out: Dec 20, 2014

Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
480 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
90 reviews
Amazing weekend getaway

This is my second time staying at this hotel and my sister and I love it. We have come to... See full review

  • happy camper 2014
  • Jun 9, 2014
Wonderful family holiday

Exceptional location. Luxurious hotel, Near shops and restaurants, easy transport with free rides... See full review

  • Nanoy
  • Apr 18, 2014
Old Town Alexandria hotel combines tradition and whimsy
Situated in the heart of historic Old Town Alexandria, the Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel draws from its surroundings to create a one-of-a-kind blend of American tradition and imaginative artistry. Jackson 20 restaurant serves pork chops and pot roast alongside a selection of craft beers. Guest rooms are dressed in bright, bold colors that make the Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel pleasantly unforgettable. National treasures such as The White House and National Mall are a short Metro ride away.
Highlights

  • Complimentary morning coffee and tea service
  • Hosted wine reception in the lobby every evening
  • Pets welcome at no additional charge
  • Indoor swimming pool, fitness center

Rooms

Vibrant combinations of color and pattern make guest rooms at the Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel come to life. Both whimsical and sophisticated, 241 rooms and suites set mocha-colored, leaf-patterned chaise lounges beside sunset-and-cream beds crowned with a playful sunburst mirror and decorative canopy.

 

These spirited spaces also feature 37-inch flat-panel TVs, large work spaces, iHome docking stations, Aveda bath amenities and animal print robes. Pets are always welcome at no additional charge. And if Fido is back at home, contact the front desk to request a goldfish companion.
Features
Make sure to hit the pool on Saturdays, when guests kick back on inflatable pool furniture and watch a movie at Dive-in Movie Night. The 24-hour fitness center at the Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel features Precor equipment including stair climbers, treadmills and a recumbent bike, as well as free weights, balance balls, hula hoops and yoga mats.
Dining
Adjacent to Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, Jackson 20 is an Old Town favorite. Try traditional tavern fare like chicken and dumplings with a craft beer or choose something from the impressive wine list.
Transportation

  • King Street Metro Station (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport (3.1 mi/5 km)
  • Washington Dulles International Airport (24 mi/38.6 km)
  • Complimentary shuttle service to Reagan National Airport (limited hours)

Attractions

  • Market Square (Across the street)
  • Arlington National Cemetery (4.8 mi/7.7 km)
  • National Mall (5.9 mi/9.5 km)
  • Walter E. Washington Convention Center (6.9 mi/11.2 km)

Business

  • 24-hour business center
  • 8,565 square feet of function space
  • Paris Ballroom accommodates up to 250 guests
  • Catering available
  • State-of-the-art audiovisual equipment

Hotel Map

38.8046 -77.0442
Nearby airports
Washington National Airport, (DCA), 2.00, MI, N; Washington Dulles International Airport, (IAD), 35.00, MI, NW; Baltimore/Washington International Airport, (BWI), 40.00, MI, NE;
Area description
Suburban

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5

Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

Accessible King Deluxe Room
Accessible King Deluxe Room 405 sq ft communication features avail iHome
Majestic Suite
1600 sq ft non-smoking parlor room can connect to one or two bedrooms Living and dining area
King Premier Room
King Premier Room with 1 king bed 430 sq ft oversized bathroom iHome flat panel TV
Accessible King Deluxe Roll-In
Accessible King Deluxe Room with Roll-In 405 sq ft communication features avail iHome
Accbl. Mediterranean Spa Suite
Accessible Mediterranean Spa Suite 800sqft 1 kng sep living room Fuji soak tub sofa bed
Queen Deluxe Room
Queen Deluxe Room with 1 Queen Bed 300 sq ft with oversized bath iHome
Double Double Deluxe Room
Double Double Deluxe Room with 2 double beds 420 sq ft with overszed bath iHome
King Deluxe Room
King Deluxe Room 405 sq ft oversized bath iHome docking station flat panel TV
Monte Carlo Terrace Room
Monte Carlo Terrace Room with 1 King Bed 405 sq ft outdoor balcony iHome docking station
Mediterranean Spa Suite
Mediterranean Spa Suite with 1 King Bed 800sqft separate living room Fuji soaking tub sofa bed
Monaco Loft Suite
Monaco Loft Suite 750 sq ft 2-level suite with king bed Fuji soaking tub separate living room

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
FAX
Conference facilities
Copy service
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
Turndown service
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Carlyle House: 0.1 mi
  • Athenaeum: 0.1 mi
  • Torpedo Factory Arts Center: 0.5 mi

Dining

Jackson 20 Restaurant
Named for President Andrew Jackson and his visage on the 20 dollar bill Jackson 20 honors its namesake by providing affordable and inspired food and drink in a uniquely hospitable setting.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (90)

Ratings and reviews for Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
90 out of 90
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Madison Wisconsin
Jul 12, 2010

Not up to Kimpton standards

I have stayed at Kimpton hotels often and this is the only one that did not make the grade. Many other Alexandria hotels are by far superior! This property is a former Holiday Inn and it still unfortunately felt like it. I will stay at other hotels when I get back to Alexandria and will not consider this one. This is so far below the standards of the DuPont Circle Palomar that I was shocked. Unfortunately This will probably lead me to not consider other Kimpton hotels I have not seen before I stay at them. The hotel was way way overpriced for what it is. The chain needs to fix this one because it brings down the entire Kimpton reputation. They have a great King Street location but that is all. The hotel did not even offer free newspapers--inexcusable for the price. I left after one night and spent the next four nights in a nearby hotel that was everything this one was not--and I paid $100 a night less. This is a very poor excuse for a boutique hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Terri123
Business
Cincinnati, Ohio
Apr 1, 2013

Easter family weekend

Was told at front desk that only 1 floor was not designated for pets, and it was sold out. My room was on the 2nd floor, dog was left alone, barked, scratch on the door for an hour, before we called the front desk. Next day, moved to 3rd, radiator malfunction. Front desk told us that it could not be fixed, no refund, because we did not book with them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel is located in a good location

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Miss United States Judge
Business
Washington, DC
Jul 9, 2013

If the staff were on point, this would be a 4

Set in beautiful Old Town, the setting for this hotel is quite calming and as a dog-friendly establishment, bringing fido was another plus... however, all the outdoor beauty and stylish hotel esthetics cannot mask how awful our customer service/staff experience was. From requesting room service, or inquiring about an AC issue, nothing was timely. Most of the time we had to call back after 30 minutes to ask for service again otherwise it wouldn't have come!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
frequent DC traveler
Business
NYC
Oct 14, 2011

Not as good as past experiences...

I've stayed a number of times for business and enjoyed my stay. However, during my most recent stay the A/C wasnt working so I called for service...no one ever showed up and finally at 10pm with a meeting in the morning I went to bed- uncomforatble! Very dissapointed!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Dont order their food/room service. Many great restaurants nearby.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jackie CRNA
Business
Vallejo, CA
Jan 24, 2013

A few surprises!

dogs in lobby and dry rotted tearing linen on bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Must eat at "The Wharf". Make sure to make reservations. Our hotel personel made our reservation, but when we arrived at the appointed time the hotel said they had never heard of us. so double check that you actually have a properly booked reservation.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
FEB2013DCvisitor
Business
Central Missouri
Mar 2, 2013

Easily could have been better

I booked through this third-party site, paid extra for a room with a balcony & made a notation in the "notes" section that we'd like a roll-away bed for a child if it was available (the website said they were available on a first-come basis). When I arrived, without warning, the bellhop led us to a standard double room (the cheapest type, with no balcony). I explained to him that we'd reserved a room w/ a balcony, he called the front desk and they told him none was available. He handed the phone to me & I asked the girl on the other end if I could speak to a manager. He was rude, did not apologize for the situation, & flatly told me that because I had booked through a certain third-party reservation site, there was nothing he could do about the error. He eventually clarified that since I had booked a room with one bed (albeit a King), but had asked for a second bed, they simply changed the reservation to a double room. He said there was no way to notify me of this, because the third-party reservation company does not supply the names or phone numbers of people who make reservations. He had no explanation for how the hotel front-desk staff had been able to match my name & ID to a reservation. Anyway, he refused to refund the difference in the price of the room. He offered to put us in a room with a balcony the next day. He told me to start calling them the next day at about noon to see if one would be available. One eventually did come available the next day at 5 p.m. & we took it. It was too dark to even see the balcony (half the point of a balcony room was to have the extra sunlight). I complained about it long enough that an hour later, someone showed up with a free bottle of wine & an apology letter for the "miscommunication", but there was never a refund of the difference in the price of the rooms, & the bad customer service made the trip a little worse than it needed to be. Our first room on the 6th (top) floor had too little water pressure to take a good shower. Other than that, the hotel itself was perfectly nice. Hopefully the manager moves on. I may try it again next time I'm in the area, but I would not recommend booking this hotel through a discount hotel website.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Alejo Diaz
Business
Miami
Sep 1, 2013

Decent for the price

We have stayed at this hotel a few times on the past. Our most recent stay was somewhat disappointing. Quality of the sheets, towels, toilet paper used to be much better. However, the price was good for the location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

A couple of blocks from the hotel is located the most charming street in USA: Prince

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Souderton, PA
May 24, 2010

Great hotel in a teriffic location, but.

The hotel overall was great, but just after 10PM I could smell a strong odor of weed (I cant use the actual name of the drug that was buring, since it appears that the comment program does not allow the word to be used, I guess the truth is not acceptable) coming from the hallway. I went out of my room and the hall was smokey. I reported this to the front desk, and they investigated it, but told me there was nothing they could do since they couldn't tell which room it was coming from. I had to stuff a towel under my door to try and keep the smell out, and it would have been nice if they would have atleast did something to vent the air in the hallway. Other then this incident, it is a beautiful hotel in a prime location. I just expected to actually enjoy my room for the money that I spent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Westchester, NY
May 20, 2010

Nice but disapointed

It was very nice but the room [...] were not happy about the parking our only option was valet, there was no street parking unless you drove around searching and then u have to pay for the meter anyway. [...] Overall the hotel was nice but the bed was not what we were excpecting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Speedy K
Business
Toledo, Ohio
Mar 21, 2014

Excellent room & great service at value price

This hotel is located in Old Town, Alexandria, VA. It is a renovated older hotel but the rooms were quite nice with marble sink and tile in the bath and nicely done décor. The hotel offers free shuttle service from Reagan International, but it only runs every hour. However, if you call the hotel they will let you know where and when to meet the shuttle. They offer complementary coffee and tea each morning and a wine bar each evening although we did not use the latter. There are many restaurants near the hotel including a very nice French café next door. If you are a Kimpton rewards member, you can even receive a coupon good for $10 worth of items from the mini-bar in your room. The only negative was that the hotel is about a mile from the King St. Metro stop which provides the quickest and least expensive access to Washington, D.C. All things considered we would definitely consider staying there again during future visits.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

It turns out that there are many historic things to see in Old Town, Alexandria that we did not learn about until our shuttle driver pointed them out on our return to the airport e.g. Robert E. Lee's home,

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top