$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 6, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
View map of 480 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
87 reviews
Great experience

Stayed in the hotel to be close for the George Washington Parkway Ten Mile Classic. Great location... See full review

  • Chris
  • Jul 7, 2015
Great getaway with my love

The area of old town is awesome and very romantic. My girlfriend loved the area, water,... See full review

  • Future Soldier
  • Jun 3, 2015
Situated in the heart of historic Old Town Alexandria, the Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel draws from its surroundings to create a one-of-a-kind blend of American tradition and imaginative artistry. Jackson 20 restaurant serves pork chops and pot roast alongside a selection of craft beers. Guest rooms are dressed in bright, bold colors that make the Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel pleasantly unforgettable. National treasures such as The White House and National Mall are a short Metro ride away.
Dining
Adjacent to Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, Jackson 20 is an Old Town favorite. Try traditional tavern fare like chicken and dumplings with a craft beer or choose something from the impressive wine list.
Rooms

Vibrant combinations of color and pattern make guest rooms at the Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel come to life. Both whimsical and sophisticated, 241 rooms and suites set mocha-colored, leaf-patterned chaise lounges beside sunset-and-cream beds crowned with a playful sunburst mirror and decorative canopy.

 

These spirited spaces also feature 37-inch flat-panel TVs, large work spaces, iHome docking stations, Aveda bath amenities and animal print robes. Pets are always welcome at no additional charge. And if Fido is back at home, contact the front desk to request a goldfish companion.
Property features
Make sure to hit the pool on Saturdays, when guests kick back on inflatable pool furniture and watch a movie at Dive-in Movie Night. The 24-hour fitness center at the Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel features Precor equipment including stair climbers, treadmills and a recumbent bike, as well as free weights, balance balls, hula hoops and yoga mats.
Highlights

  • Complimentary morning coffee and tea service
  • Hosted wine reception in the lobby every evening
  • Pets welcome at no additional charge
  • Indoor swimming pool, fitness center

Nearby attractions

  • Market Square (Across the street)
  • Arlington National Cemetery (4.8 mi/7.7 km)
  • National Mall (5.9 mi/9.5 km)
  • Walter E. Washington Convention Center (6.9 mi/11.2 km)

Business

  • 24-hour business center
  • 8,565 square feet of function space
  • Paris Ballroom accommodates up to 250 guests
  • Catering available
  • State-of-the-art audiovisual equipment

Transportation

  • King Street Metro Station (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport (3.1 mi/5 km)
  • Washington Dulles International Airport (24 mi/38.6 km)
  • Complimentary shuttle service to Reagan National Airport (limited hours)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel also booked these hotels.

★★★★
$148
4.4 / 5 35 reviews
★★★★
$87
4.0 / 5 97 reviews
★★★
$119
4.1 / 5 50 reviews
★★★★
$101
4.6 / 5 18 reviews
★★★
$76
3.5 / 5 46 reviews
★★★★
$89
3.9 / 5 75 reviews

Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

King Premier Spa Room
King Premier Spa Room 1 king bed 430 sq ft oversized bathroom flatpanel TV
Mediterranean Spa Suite
Mediterranean Spa Suite with 1 King Bed 800sqft separate living room Fuji soaking tub sofa bed
Monaco Loft Suite
Monaco Loft Suite 750 sq ft 2-level suite with king bed Fuji soaking tub separate living room
Majestic Suite
1600 sq ft non-smoking parlor room can connect to one or two bedrooms Living and dining area
Accessible King Deluxe Roll-In
Accessible King Deluxe Room with Roll-In 405 sq ft communication features avail iHome
11. Eleanor Suite
629 sq ft non-smoking king bed suite with a separate parlor featuring a spacious vanity area
Accbl. Mediterranean Spa Suite
Accessible Mediterranean Spa Suite 800sqft 1 kng sep living room Fuji soak tub sofa bed
Accessible King Deluxe Room
Accessible King Deluxe Room 405 sq ft communication features avail iHome
Queen Deluxe Room
Queen Deluxe Room with 1 Queen Bed 300 sq ft with oversized bath iHome
Double Double Deluxe Room
Double Double Deluxe Room with 2 double beds 420 sq ft with overszed bath iHome
King Deluxe Room
King Deluxe Room 405 sq ft oversized bath iHome docking station flat panel TV
Monte Carlo Terrace Room
Monte Carlo Terrace Room with 1 King Bed 405 sq ft outdoor balcony iHome docking station

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
FAX
Conference facilities
Copy service
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
Turndown service
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Carlyle House: 0.1 mi
  • Athenaeum: 0.1 mi
  • Torpedo Factory Arts Center: 0.5 mi

Dining

Jackson 20 Restaurant
Named for President Andrew Jackson and his visage on the 20 dollar bill Jackson 20 honors its namesake by providing affordable and inspired food and drink in a uniquely hospitable setting.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
18 out of 87
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lonewolf 801
Family
Belton SC
Jul 20, 2014

Nice place and location

Was very impressed with the hotel, staff was very helpful. The King St. trolly goes right by the hotel every 15 min. and is free to ride, will take to to the water front or the Metro with several stops on the way. There were a lot of dogs in the motel but if I had not seen the dogs I would not have known they were there. Very quite and did not have a "dog" smell. The restaurant next to the hotel was a bit pricey but the waiter and waitress were very helpful with area information

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Trolly comes by every 15 min.

Review of Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
happy camper 2014
Family
New york, NY
Jun 9, 2014

Amazing weekend getaway

This is my second time staying at this hotel and my sister and I love it. We have come to Alexandria for 3 years as a weekend getaway from NYC. This hotel is perfectly located in the heart of town with easy access. The staff are all friendly and helpful. Not one complaint!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nanoy
Family
Australia
Apr 18, 2014

Wonderful family holiday

Exceptional location. Luxurious hotel, Near shops and restaurants, easy transport with free rides to Main Street and accessible to public transport. Tourist spots near the area. Guest service was exceptional. Hotel offered free use of gym and pool besides a beautiful place to go jogging outside.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Get a bus tour such as on board DC tours a 6 hour tour of thee main attraction in Washington.

Review of Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KCCW
Family
Seattle
Jul 29, 2013

Alexandria Hotel Monaco

I always stay at this hotel when I don't have to be in the center of DC. It is very accessible to DC via metro. 3 miles from Reagan National airport, and easy trip to most anywhere else via metro or car. The Monaco is in the center of restaurants and shops on King Street. The hotel is great- super nice staff, fun decor, comfortable rooms and bathrooms, only tiny negative is that their workout room is really small and limited, however, they DO have an indoor pool and there is a great running path along the river at the end of King Street. No in room coffee but complimentary coffee served in the lobby in the morning and wine in the afternoon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dewdot
Family
Southern Delaware
Jun 25, 2013

Family Trip

As always it was wonderful. My family and I are repeat visitors. We travel to Alexandria every year and prefer the Monaco above any other hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Fish Market for oysters.

Review of Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
hudjohnjen
Family
Hudson, Wi
Apr 3, 2013

Easter stay

We stayed over the past 3 day Easter weekend. Old Town Alexandria is a great area; nice restaurants, shopping atmosphere. Hotel was nice. Rooms were comfortable. Only problem was that the wet bar was locked every night when we came back. Both nights I called to have them unlock; the first night it took over 1 hour, the 2nd night almost 35 minutes. Other than that, pleasant stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Flying mama
Family
California
Apr 2, 2013

Great location

Fun, eclectic hotel. The staff is very helpful, but housekeeping was a bit uneven during my five night stay. Parking is expensive at $25 day, valet and hectic on the very busy King Street. The trade off is that your are in the heart of Old Town and a short walk to the Metro station for trips to D.C.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Terri123
Family
Cincinnati, Ohio
Apr 1, 2013

Easter family weekend

Was told at front desk that only 1 floor was not designated for pets, and it was sold out. My room was on the 2nd floor, dog was left alone, barked, scratch on the door for an hour, before we called the front desk. Next day, moved to 3rd, radiator malfunction. Front desk told us that it could not be fixed, no refund, because we did not book with them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel is located in a good location

Review of Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
FEB2013DCvisitor
Family
Central Missouri
Mar 2, 2013

Easily could have been better

I booked through this third-party site, paid extra for a room with a balcony & made a notation in the "notes" section that we'd like a roll-away bed for a child if it was available (the website said they were available on a first-come basis). When I arrived, without warning, the bellhop led us to a standard double room (the cheapest type, with no balcony). I explained to him that we'd reserved a room w/ a balcony, he called the front desk and they told him none was available. He handed the phone to me & I asked the girl on the other end if I could speak to a manager. He was rude, did not apologize for the situation, & flatly told me that because I had booked through a certain third-party reservation site, there was nothing he could do about the error. He eventually clarified that since I had booked a room with one bed (albeit a King), but had asked for a second bed, they simply changed the reservation to a double room. He said there was no way to notify me of this, because the third-party reservation company does not supply the names or phone numbers of people who make reservations. He had no explanation for how the hotel front-desk staff had been able to match my name & ID to a reservation. Anyway, he refused to refund the difference in the price of the room. He offered to put us in a room with a balcony the next day. He told me to start calling them the next day at about noon to see if one would be available. One eventually did come available the next day at 5 p.m. & we took it. It was too dark to even see the balcony (half the point of a balcony room was to have the extra sunlight). I complained about it long enough that an hour later, someone showed up with a free bottle of wine & an apology letter for the "miscommunication", but there was never a refund of the difference in the price of the rooms, & the bad customer service made the trip a little worse than it needed to be. Our first room on the 6th (top) floor had too little water pressure to take a good shower. Other than that, the hotel itself was perfectly nice. Hopefully the manager moves on. I may try it again next time I'm in the area, but I would not recommend booking this hotel through a discount hotel website.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SGPC
Family
Park City, UT
Jan 28, 2013

great hotel!

I enjoyed my stay. The decor was beautiful, the staff was friendly, and the wine hour was really nice!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top