$148 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 3, 2014

Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
480 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
88 reviews
Amazing weekend getaway

This is my second time staying at this hotel and my sister and I love it. We have come to... See full review

  • happy camper 2014
  • Jun 9, 2014
Wonderful family holiday

Exceptional location. Luxurious hotel, Near shops and restaurants, easy transport with free rides... See full review

  • Nanoy
  • Apr 18, 2014
Old Town Alexandria hotel combines tradition and whimsy
Situated in the heart of historic Old Town Alexandria, the Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel draws from its surroundings to create a one-of-a-kind blend of American tradition and imaginative artistry. Jackson 20 restaurant serves pork chops and pot roast alongside a selection of craft beers. Guest rooms are dressed in bright, bold colors that make the Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel pleasantly unforgettable. National treasures such as The White House and National Mall are a short Metro ride away.
Highlights

  • Complimentary morning coffee and tea service
  • Hosted wine reception in the lobby every evening
  • Pets welcome at no additional charge
  • Indoor swimming pool, fitness center

Rooms

Vibrant combinations of color and pattern make guest rooms at the Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel come to life. Both whimsical and sophisticated, 241 rooms and suites set mocha-colored, leaf-patterned chaise lounges beside sunset-and-cream beds crowned with a playful sunburst mirror and decorative canopy.

 

These spirited spaces also feature 37-inch flat-panel TVs, large work spaces, iHome docking stations, Aveda bath amenities and animal print robes. Pets are always welcome at no additional charge. And if Fido is back at home, contact the front desk to request a goldfish companion.
Features
Make sure to hit the pool on Saturdays, when guests kick back on inflatable pool furniture and watch a movie at Dive-in Movie Night. The 24-hour fitness center at the Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel features Precor equipment including stair climbers, treadmills and a recumbent bike, as well as free weights, balance balls, hula hoops and yoga mats.
Dining
Adjacent to Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, Jackson 20 is an Old Town favorite. Try traditional tavern fare like chicken and dumplings with a craft beer or choose something from the impressive wine list.
Transportation

  • King Street Metro Station (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport (3.1 mi/5 km)
  • Washington Dulles International Airport (24 mi/38.6 km)
  • Complimentary shuttle service to Reagan National Airport (limited hours)

Attractions

  • Market Square (Across the street)
  • Arlington National Cemetery (4.8 mi/7.7 km)
  • National Mall (5.9 mi/9.5 km)
  • Walter E. Washington Convention Center (6.9 mi/11.2 km)

Business

  • 24-hour business center
  • 8,565 square feet of function space
  • Paris Ballroom accommodates up to 250 guests
  • Catering available
  • State-of-the-art audiovisual equipment

Hotel Map

38.8046 -77.0442
Nearby airports
Washington National Airport, (DCA), 2.00, MI, N; Washington Dulles International Airport, (IAD), 35.00, MI, NW; Baltimore/Washington International Airport, (BWI), 40.00, MI, NE;
Area description
Suburban

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5

Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

Accessible King Deluxe Room
Accessible King Deluxe Room 405 sq ft communication features avail iHome
Majestic Suite
1600 sq ft non-smoking parlor room can connect to one or two bedrooms Living and dining area
King Premier Room
King Premier Room with 1 king bed 430 sq ft oversized bathroom iHome flat panel TV
Accessible King Deluxe Roll-In
Accessible King Deluxe Room with Roll-In 405 sq ft communication features avail iHome
Accbl. Mediterranean Spa Suite
Accessible Mediterranean Spa Suite 800sqft 1 kng sep living room Fuji soak tub sofa bed
Queen Deluxe Room
Queen Deluxe Room with 1 Queen Bed 300 sq ft with oversized bath iHome
Double Double Deluxe Room
Double Double Deluxe Room with 2 double beds 420 sq ft with overszed bath iHome
King Deluxe Room
King Deluxe Room 405 sq ft oversized bath iHome docking station flat panel TV
Monte Carlo Terrace Room
Monte Carlo Terrace Room with 1 King Bed 405 sq ft outdoor balcony iHome docking station
Mediterranean Spa Suite
Mediterranean Spa Suite with 1 King Bed 800sqft separate living room Fuji soaking tub sofa bed
Monaco Loft Suite
Monaco Loft Suite 750 sq ft 2-level suite with king bed Fuji soaking tub separate living room

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
FAX
Conference facilities
Copy service
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
Turndown service
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Carlyle House: 0.1 mi
  • Athenaeum: 0.1 mi
  • Torpedo Factory Arts Center: 0.5 mi

Dining

Jackson 20 Restaurant
Named for President Andrew Jackson and his visage on the 20 dollar bill Jackson 20 honors its namesake by providing affordable and inspired food and drink in a uniquely hospitable setting.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (88)

Ratings and reviews for Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
31 out of 88
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.4

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Speedy K
Toledo, Ohio
Mar 21, 2014

Excellent room & great service at value price

This hotel is located in Old Town, Alexandria, VA. It is a renovated older hotel but the rooms were quite nice with marble sink and tile in the bath and nicely done décor. The hotel offers free shuttle service from Reagan International, but it only runs every hour. However, if you call the hotel they will let you know where and when to meet the shuttle. They offer complementary coffee and tea each morning and a wine bar each evening although we did not use the latter. There are many restaurants near the hotel including a very nice French café next door. If you are a Kimpton rewards member, you can even receive a coupon good for $10 worth of items from the mini-bar in your room. The only negative was that the hotel is about a mile from the King St. Metro stop which provides the quickest and least expensive access to Washington, D.C. All things considered we would definitely consider staying there again during future visits.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

It turns out that there are many historic things to see in Old Town, Alexandria that we did not learn about until our shuttle driver pointed them out on our return to the airport e.g. Robert E. Lee's home,

Review of Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Falls Church Girl
Falls Church, VA
Oct 23, 2013

great location in heart of Old Town Alexandria

My overall experience was great. I loved the quirky decor. The 5pm wine reception was a nice touch. It was my birthday and they sent me a complimentary bottle of champagne and truffles. The room was very clean and the bed super comfortable. great hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Alejo Diaz
Miami
Sep 1, 2013

Decent for the price

We have stayed at this hotel a few times on the past. Our most recent stay was somewhat disappointing. Quality of the sheets, towels, toilet paper used to be much better. However, the price was good for the location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

A couple of blocks from the hotel is located the most charming street in USA: Prince

Review of Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SARFARAZ QUADRI
CHICAGO
May 9, 2013

MY STAY

THE STAFF IS CHEARFULL HELPFULL,HOUSE KEEPING IS A BIT OUT OF TOUCH ALLTOGETHER MY STAY WAS GOOD AND COMFORTABLE

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

SEA FOOD IS GOOD

Review of Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Zoe's Mom
Oakland, NJ, USA
Mar 14, 2013

GReat stay and great location

Beautiful Hotel - cozy room, nicely appointed and clean. Love the wine happy hour! Great location and friendly staff. Will definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mister B 5700
Phoenix, AZ
Dec 2, 2012

A memorable visit

This is a very nice hotel. It was quiet and comfortable. Althought old and well worn our room was comfortable. What made our stay memorable was the unfailing warmth, courtesy and consideration of the staff. We felt welcomed and cared for our entire stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gazingcrystalball
North Carolina
Oct 15, 2012

Great Stay...Again

We stayed at the Hotel Monaco this Saturday to attend a game at FedEx Field. This was our second time staying with the hotel and it was just as good as I remembered from two years ago. Unfortunately this stay much much shorter:(. We arrived just about when complementary wine hour began. Had just enough time to get to our room, freshen up and have a couple of glasses of vino. I enjoyed the merlot while my DH have the white (didn't notice what kind). The red was wonderful! Our room was nice and very clean. The only issue was the mini bar fridge wasn't working. After notifying the front desk, they sent someone right on it while we were out for dinner. Morning coffee is excellent, however I wish coffee was in the room for better convenience. Thank goodness I had someone willing to go downstairs and get some to bring back to the room. While staying, there were two weddings going on and lots of people dressed in suits and so on... I felt a little intimidated only because we weren't dressed to the nines. While sitting in wine hour, the lobby got very crowded and loud with the wedding parties but we were able to score a spot, find a place for dinner and do a little yuppie watching. All in all, this place is great! The location can't be beat and it's not too pretentious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Avoid valet parking charges by parking on the street or a garage close by ($7).

Review of Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Arvinder
valley stream, ny
Jul 13, 2012

Great Experience

Very Clean room. Great central location. You can pretty much walk to everything. Helpful and friendly staff ! It would've been great if they provide you microwave and refrigerator also.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Croth
Sullivan County, PA
Jul 9, 2012

Excellent choice

This was our first time at the Monaco. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The hotel is only a few blocks from the waterfrtont and King St. is lined with quaint shops. Our only complaints were that hotel staff did not, nor does the hotel's website offer options for parking other than the valet parking offered by the hotel (there were 3 parking garages within 2 blocks of the hotel) and the room temperature seemed warm compared to the temperature set on the thermostat--65. That said, all the staff we encountered were superb.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Three parking garages within two blocks of the hotel offered 24-hour parking for $2.00 a day compared to the valet parking charge of $25.00 a day.

Review of Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Leah B
Lake Anna, Virginia, USA
Apr 30, 2012

awesome stay

Super stay in Old Town. Hotel staff was very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top

Change search