$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 11, 2014 Check-out: Aug 14, 2014

Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
480 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
129 reviews
Amazing weekend getaway

This is my second time staying at this hotel and my sister and I love it. We have come to... See full review

  • happy camper 2014
  • Jun 9, 2014
Wonderful family holiday

Exceptional location. Luxurious hotel, Near shops and restaurants, easy transport with free rides... See full review

  • Nanoy
  • Apr 18, 2014
Old Town Alexandria hotel combines tradition and whimsy
Situated in the heart of historic Old Town Alexandria, the Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel draws from its surroundings to create a one-of-a-kind blend of American tradition and imaginative artistry. Jackson 20 restaurant serves pork chops and pot roast alongside a selection of craft beers. Guest rooms are dressed in bright, bold colors that make the Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel pleasantly unforgettable. National treasures such as The White House and National Mall are a short Metro ride away.
Highlights

  • Complimentary morning coffee and tea service
  • Hosted wine reception in the lobby every evening
  • Pets welcome at no additional charge
  • Indoor swimming pool, fitness center

Rooms

Vibrant combinations of color and pattern make guest rooms at the Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel come to life. Both whimsical and sophisticated, 241 rooms and suites set mocha-colored, leaf-patterned chaise lounges beside sunset-and-cream beds crowned with a playful sunburst mirror and decorative canopy.

 

These spirited spaces also feature 37-inch flat-panel TVs, large work spaces, iHome docking stations, Aveda bath amenities and animal print robes. Pets are always welcome at no additional charge. And if Fido is back at home, contact the front desk to request a goldfish companion.
Features
Make sure to hit the pool on Saturdays, when guests kick back on inflatable pool furniture and watch a movie at Dive-in Movie Night. The 24-hour fitness center at the Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel features Precor equipment including stair climbers, treadmills and a recumbent bike, as well as free weights, balance balls, hula hoops and yoga mats.
Dining
Adjacent to Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, Jackson 20 is an Old Town favorite. Try traditional tavern fare like chicken and dumplings with a craft beer or choose something from the impressive wine list.
Transportation

  • King Street Metro Station (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport (3.1 mi/5 km)
  • Washington Dulles International Airport (24 mi/38.6 km)
  • Complimentary shuttle service to Reagan National Airport (limited hours)

Attractions

  • Market Square (Across the street)
  • Arlington National Cemetery (4.8 mi/7.7 km)
  • National Mall (5.9 mi/9.5 km)
  • Walter E. Washington Convention Center (6.9 mi/11.2 km)

Business

  • 24-hour business center
  • 8,565 square feet of function space
  • Paris Ballroom accommodates up to 250 guests
  • Catering available
  • State-of-the-art audiovisual equipment

Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

Accessible King Deluxe Room
Accessible King Deluxe Room 405 sq ft communication features avail iHome
Majestic Suite
1600 sq ft non-smoking parlor room can connect to one or two bedrooms Living and dining area
King Premier Room
King Premier Room with 1 king bed 430 sq ft oversized bathroom iHome flat panel TV
Accessible King Deluxe Roll-In
Accessible King Deluxe Room with Roll-In 405 sq ft communication features avail iHome
Accbl. Mediterranean Spa Suite
Accessible Mediterranean Spa Suite 800sqft 1 kng sep living room Fuji soak tub sofa bed
Queen Deluxe Room
Queen Deluxe Room with 1 Queen Bed 300 sq ft with oversized bath iHome
Double Double Deluxe Room
Double Double Deluxe Room with 2 double beds 420 sq ft with overszed bath iHome
King Deluxe Room
King Deluxe Room 405 sq ft oversized bath iHome docking station flat panel TV
Monte Carlo Terrace Room
Monte Carlo Terrace Room with 1 King Bed 405 sq ft outdoor balcony iHome docking station
Mediterranean Spa Suite
Mediterranean Spa Suite with 1 King Bed 800sqft separate living room Fuji soaking tub sofa bed
Monaco Loft Suite
Monaco Loft Suite 750 sq ft 2-level suite with king bed Fuji soaking tub separate living room

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
FAX
Conference facilities
Copy service
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
Turndown service
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Sprinklers in rooms

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5

Hotel Map

38.8046 -77.0442
Nearby airports
Washington National Airport, (DCA), 2.00, MI, N; Washington Dulles International Airport, (IAD), 35.00, MI, NW; Baltimore/Washington International Airport, (BWI), 40.00, MI, NE;
Area description
Suburban

Nearby points of interest

  • Carlyle House: 0.1 mi
  • Athenaeum: 0.1 mi
  • Torpedo Factory Arts Center: 0.5 mi

Dining

Jackson 20 Restaurant
Named for President Andrew Jackson and his visage on the 20 dollar bill Jackson 20 honors its namesake by providing affordable and inspired food and drink in a uniquely hospitable setting.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (129)

Ratings and reviews for Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
129 out of 129
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BrodyInKC
Business
Kansas City, MO, USA
Oct 27, 2011

LOVED this hotel...will definitely stay there again.

Just stayed one night, but was very impressed. Literally nothing bad to say. The perfect little boutique hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

I ate a late dinner at the attached restaurant...can't remember the name of it, but I had an amazing seared trout with spinach and shrimp on top. I made a happy plate.

Review of Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
frequent DC traveler
Business
NYC
Oct 14, 2011

Not as good as past experiences...

I've stayed a number of times for business and enjoyed my stay. However, during my most recent stay the A/C wasnt working so I called for service...no one ever showed up and finally at 10pm with a meeting in the morning I went to bed- uncomforatble! Very dissapointed!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Dont order their food/room service. Many great restaurants nearby.

Review of Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
sioux falls, sd
Jun 5, 2011

weekend trip

fantastic. Very pet friendly and an awesome happy hour

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
sioux falls, sd
Jun 5, 2011

weekend trip

fantastic. Very pet friendly and an awesome happy hour

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Kansas City, MO
May 10, 2011

Beautiful hotel - DELICIOUS restaurant!

My husband and I had a lovely second anniversary stay at the Hotel Monaco. From the friendly doormen who greeted us to the detailed decorating in our clean and welcoming room, I felt like someone else had thought through the details for my stay so I could just relax and enjoy our vacation. If you visit, make sure to check out the accompanying restaurant, Jackson 20. We had the Eggs Chesapeake and the Tall Stack (pancakes, REAL maple syrup, bacon, and hash browns)... Both of which were incredibly delightful and satisfying. The best breakfast we've had while traveling for quite a while!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Make sure you take time to explore the waterfront (just a few blocks away) and all the little shops Old Town has to offer!

Review of Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Kansas City, MO
May 10, 2011

Beautiful hotel - DELICIOUS restaurant!

My husband and I had a lovely second anniversary stay at the Hotel Monaco. From the friendly doormen who greeted us to the detailed decorating in our clean and welcoming room, I felt like someone else had thought through the details for my stay so I could just relax and enjoy our vacation. If you visit, make sure to check out the accompanying restaurant, Jackson 20. We had the Eggs Chesapeake and the Tall Stack (pancakes, REAL maple syrup, bacon, and hash browns)... Both of which were incredibly delightful and satisfying. The best breakfast we've had while traveling for quite a while!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Make sure you take time to explore the waterfront (just a few blocks away) and all the little shops Old Town has to offer!

Review of Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Middletown, NJ
Apr 25, 2011

A Pleasant stay, definetly return.

Hotel is in a good location if traveling to DC. There is a free trolley service that runs in the early afternoon to the metro station. The rooms are comfortable, but they need to turn their mattresses over because if your in a King size bed you may find yourself sleeping in a "ditch". Our son slept in the lounge chair because of its novelty but the hotel provided us with a roll-away bed when we asked. The hotel pool on the third floor was fine but the only hiccup was that it is closed from 11-2pm. The area has a large selection of restaurants surrounding the hotel so no problem getting a bite to eat. Complementary morning coffee was a plus. A Good Choice for all type of travel, even if you bring your dog. Really enjoyed our trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A very good and reasonable seafood restaurant one block from the hotel; The Fish Market. We went twice during Holy Week and enjoyed our meals.

Review of Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kimpton fan
Alexandria, VA
Mar 8, 2011

Kimpton hotels rock

Why write endless words when I can simply say the hotel accommodations are excellent!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kimpton fan
Alexandria, VA
Mar 8, 2011

Kimpton hotels rock

Why write endless words when I can simply say the hotel accommodations are excellent!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Jan 11, 2011

Great experience

I really loved this hotel. There were wine tastings every night from 5pm-6pm. The decorations were incredible, the rooms were nice, sized just right for business. There were two robes wonderfully hanging in the closet and a flat screen tv with a great picture. I looked forward to going back to the room after a day of meetings.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top