$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 3, 2015 Check-out: Apr 6, 2015

Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
View map of 480 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
91 out of 91
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
awrs
Business
Pennsylvania, USA
Jan 31, 2012

great spot

Have stayed here before and chose to return. The wine hour is always well attended. I went to the pool. While it is beautiful--it is way dark up there. More lights would be helpful My shower/tub faucet was a little cantankerous, but engineering showed up immediately to fix it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Spring83
Business
Falls Church, VA, USA
Jan 8, 2012

Large comfy room, lovely marble bathroom

We stayed in a king deluxe room. The location is perfect. Many restaurants and bars within walking distance. 15-20 minute drive to DC. Hotel rooms are very clean and one of the biggest rooms I've stayed in. Bed was very comfortable. Large marble bathroom. The heated indoor swimming pool on the third floor was a major plus. Definitely check it out if you are bored of the "classic" hotel look.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
frequent DC traveler
Business
NYC
Nov 15, 2011

good

good experience. clean and comfortable. staff is very sweet and professional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BrodyInKC
Business
Kansas City, MO, USA
Oct 27, 2011

LOVED this hotel...will definitely stay there again.

Just stayed one night, but was very impressed. Literally nothing bad to say. The perfect little boutique hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

I ate a late dinner at the attached restaurant...can't remember the name of it, but I had an amazing seared trout with spinach and shrimp on top. I made a happy plate.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
frequent DC traveler
Business
NYC
Oct 14, 2011

Not as good as past experiences...

I've stayed a number of times for business and enjoyed my stay. However, during my most recent stay the A/C wasnt working so I called for service...no one ever showed up and finally at 10pm with a meeting in the morning I went to bed- uncomforatble! Very dissapointed!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Dont order their food/room service. Many great restaurants nearby.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
sioux falls, sd
Jun 5, 2011

weekend trip

fantastic. Very pet friendly and an awesome happy hour

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kansas City, MO
May 10, 2011

Beautiful hotel - DELICIOUS restaurant!

My husband and I had a lovely second anniversary stay at the Hotel Monaco. From the friendly doormen who greeted us to the detailed decorating in our clean and welcoming room, I felt like someone else had thought through the details for my stay so I could just relax and enjoy our vacation. If you visit, make sure to check out the accompanying restaurant, Jackson 20. We had the Eggs Chesapeake and the Tall Stack (pancakes, REAL maple syrup, bacon, and hash browns)... Both of which were incredibly delightful and satisfying. The best breakfast we've had while traveling for quite a while!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Make sure you take time to explore the waterfront (just a few blocks away) and all the little shops Old Town has to offer!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Middletown, NJ
Apr 25, 2011

A Pleasant stay, definetly return.

Hotel is in a good location if traveling to DC. There is a free trolley service that runs in the early afternoon to the metro station. The rooms are comfortable, but they need to turn their mattresses over because if your in a King size bed you may find yourself sleeping in a "ditch". Our son slept in the lounge chair because of its novelty but the hotel provided us with a roll-away bed when we asked. The hotel pool on the third floor was fine but the only hiccup was that it is closed from 11-2pm. The area has a large selection of restaurants surrounding the hotel so no problem getting a bite to eat. Complementary morning coffee was a plus. A Good Choice for all type of travel, even if you bring your dog. Really enjoyed our trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A very good and reasonable seafood restaurant one block from the hotel; The Fish Market. We went twice during Holy Week and enjoyed our meals.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kimpton fan
Business
Alexandria, VA
Mar 8, 2011

Kimpton hotels rock

Why write endless words when I can simply say the hotel accommodations are excellent!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Jan 11, 2011

Great experience

I really loved this hotel. There were wine tastings every night from 5pm-6pm. The decorations were incredible, the rooms were nice, sized just right for business. There were two robes wonderfully hanging in the closet and a flat screen tv with a great picture. I looked forward to going back to the room after a day of meetings.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top