$148 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 15, 2014 Check-out: Aug 18, 2014

Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
480 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
128 reviews
Amazing weekend getaway

This is my second time staying at this hotel and my sister and I love it. We have come to... See full review

  • happy camper 2014
  • Jun 9, 2014
Wonderful family holiday

Exceptional location. Luxurious hotel, Near shops and restaurants, easy transport with free rides... See full review

  • Nanoy
  • Apr 18, 2014
Old Town Alexandria hotel combines tradition and whimsy
Situated in the heart of historic Old Town Alexandria, the Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel draws from its surroundings to create a one-of-a-kind blend of American tradition and imaginative artistry. Jackson 20 restaurant serves pork chops and pot roast alongside a selection of craft beers. Guest rooms are dressed in bright, bold colors that make the Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel pleasantly unforgettable. National treasures such as The White House and National Mall are a short Metro ride away.
Highlights

  • Complimentary morning coffee and tea service
  • Hosted wine reception in the lobby every evening
  • Pets welcome at no additional charge
  • Indoor swimming pool, fitness center

Rooms

Vibrant combinations of color and pattern make guest rooms at the Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel come to life. Both whimsical and sophisticated, 241 rooms and suites set mocha-colored, leaf-patterned chaise lounges beside sunset-and-cream beds crowned with a playful sunburst mirror and decorative canopy.

 

These spirited spaces also feature 37-inch flat-panel TVs, large work spaces, iHome docking stations, Aveda bath amenities and animal print robes. Pets are always welcome at no additional charge. And if Fido is back at home, contact the front desk to request a goldfish companion.
Features
Make sure to hit the pool on Saturdays, when guests kick back on inflatable pool furniture and watch a movie at Dive-in Movie Night. The 24-hour fitness center at the Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel features Precor equipment including stair climbers, treadmills and a recumbent bike, as well as free weights, balance balls, hula hoops and yoga mats.
Dining
Adjacent to Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, Jackson 20 is an Old Town favorite. Try traditional tavern fare like chicken and dumplings with a craft beer or choose something from the impressive wine list.
Transportation

  • King Street Metro Station (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport (3.1 mi/5 km)
  • Washington Dulles International Airport (24 mi/38.6 km)
  • Complimentary shuttle service to Reagan National Airport (limited hours)

Attractions

  • Market Square (Across the street)
  • Arlington National Cemetery (4.8 mi/7.7 km)
  • National Mall (5.9 mi/9.5 km)
  • Walter E. Washington Convention Center (6.9 mi/11.2 km)

Business

  • 24-hour business center
  • 8,565 square feet of function space
  • Paris Ballroom accommodates up to 250 guests
  • Catering available
  • State-of-the-art audiovisual equipment

Hotel Map

38.8046 -77.0442
Nearby airports
Washington National Airport, (DCA), 2.00, MI, N; Washington Dulles International Airport, (IAD), 35.00, MI, NW; Baltimore/Washington International Airport, (BWI), 40.00, MI, NE;
Area description
Suburban

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5

Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

Accessible King Deluxe Room
Accessible King Deluxe Room 405 sq ft communication features avail iHome
Majestic Suite
1600 sq ft non-smoking parlor room can connect to one or two bedrooms Living and dining area
King Premier Room
King Premier Room with 1 king bed 430 sq ft oversized bathroom iHome flat panel TV
Accessible King Deluxe Roll-In
Accessible King Deluxe Room with Roll-In 405 sq ft communication features avail iHome
Accbl. Mediterranean Spa Suite
Accessible Mediterranean Spa Suite 800sqft 1 kng sep living room Fuji soak tub sofa bed
Queen Deluxe Room
Queen Deluxe Room with 1 Queen Bed 300 sq ft with oversized bath iHome
Double Double Deluxe Room
Double Double Deluxe Room with 2 double beds 420 sq ft with overszed bath iHome
King Deluxe Room
King Deluxe Room 405 sq ft oversized bath iHome docking station flat panel TV
Monte Carlo Terrace Room
Monte Carlo Terrace Room with 1 King Bed 405 sq ft outdoor balcony iHome docking station
Mediterranean Spa Suite
Mediterranean Spa Suite with 1 King Bed 800sqft separate living room Fuji soaking tub sofa bed
Monaco Loft Suite
Monaco Loft Suite 750 sq ft 2-level suite with king bed Fuji soaking tub separate living room

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
FAX
Conference facilities
Copy service
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
Turndown service
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Carlyle House: 0.1 mi
  • Athenaeum: 0.1 mi
  • Torpedo Factory Arts Center: 0.5 mi

Dining

Jackson 20 Restaurant
Named for President Andrew Jackson and his visage on the 20 dollar bill Jackson 20 honors its namesake by providing affordable and inspired food and drink in a uniquely hospitable setting.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (128)

Ratings and reviews for Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
128 out of 128
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Miss United States Judge
Business
Washington, DC
Jul 9, 2013

If the staff were on point, this would be a 4

Set in beautiful Old Town, the setting for this hotel is quite calming and as a dog-friendly establishment, bringing fido was another plus... however, all the outdoor beauty and stylish hotel esthetics cannot mask how awful our customer service/staff experience was. From requesting room service, or inquiring about an AC issue, nothing was timely. Most of the time we had to call back after 30 minutes to ask for service again otherwise it wouldn't have come!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dewdot
Southern Delaware
Jun 25, 2013

Family Trip

As always it was wonderful. My family and I are repeat visitors. We travel to Alexandria every year and prefer the Monaco above any other hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Fish Market for oysters.

Review of Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SARFARAZ QUADRI
CHICAGO
May 9, 2013

MY STAY

THE STAFF IS CHEARFULL HELPFULL,HOUSE KEEPING IS A BIT OUT OF TOUCH ALLTOGETHER MY STAY WAS GOOD AND COMFORTABLE

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

SEA FOOD IS GOOD

Review of Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
hudjohnjen
Hudson, Wi
Apr 3, 2013

Easter stay

We stayed over the past 3 day Easter weekend. Old Town Alexandria is a great area; nice restaurants, shopping atmosphere. Hotel was nice. Rooms were comfortable. Only problem was that the wet bar was locked every night when we came back. Both nights I called to have them unlock; the first night it took over 1 hour, the 2nd night almost 35 minutes. Other than that, pleasant stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Flying mama
California
Apr 2, 2013

Great location

Fun, eclectic hotel. The staff is very helpful, but housekeeping was a bit uneven during my five night stay. Parking is expensive at $25 day, valet and hectic on the very busy King Street. The trade off is that your are in the heart of Old Town and a short walk to the Metro station for trips to D.C.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Terri123
Cincinnati, Ohio
Apr 1, 2013

Easter family weekend

Was told at front desk that only 1 floor was not designated for pets, and it was sold out. My room was on the 2nd floor, dog was left alone, barked, scratch on the door for an hour, before we called the front desk. Next day, moved to 3rd, radiator malfunction. Front desk told us that it could not be fixed, no refund, because we did not book with them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel is located in a good location

Review of Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Zoe's Mom
Oakland, NJ, USA
Mar 14, 2013

GReat stay and great location

Beautiful Hotel - cozy room, nicely appointed and clean. Love the wine happy hour! Great location and friendly staff. Will definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jennifer1229
Philadelphia, PA
Mar 5, 2013

Awesome

Great experience. Will definitely stay here again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
FEB2013DCvisitor
Central Missouri
Mar 2, 2013

Easily could have been better

I booked through this third-party site, paid extra for a room with a balcony & made a notation in the "notes" section that we'd like a roll-away bed for a child if it was available (the website said they were available on a first-come basis). When I arrived, without warning, the bellhop led us to a standard double room (the cheapest type, with no balcony). I explained to him that we'd reserved a room w/ a balcony, he called the front desk and they told him none was available. He handed the phone to me & I asked the girl on the other end if I could speak to a manager. He was rude, did not apologize for the situation, & flatly told me that because I had booked through a certain third-party reservation site, there was nothing he could do about the error. He eventually clarified that since I had booked a room with one bed (albeit a King), but had asked for a second bed, they simply changed the reservation to a double room. He said there was no way to notify me of this, because the third-party reservation company does not supply the names or phone numbers of people who make reservations. He had no explanation for how the hotel front-desk staff had been able to match my name & ID to a reservation. Anyway, he refused to refund the difference in the price of the room. He offered to put us in a room with a balcony the next day. He told me to start calling them the next day at about noon to see if one would be available. One eventually did come available the next day at 5 p.m. & we took it. It was too dark to even see the balcony (half the point of a balcony room was to have the extra sunlight). I complained about it long enough that an hour later, someone showed up with a free bottle of wine & an apology letter for the "miscommunication", but there was never a refund of the difference in the price of the rooms, & the bad customer service made the trip a little worse than it needed to be. Our first room on the 6th (top) floor had too little water pressure to take a good shower. Other than that, the hotel itself was perfectly nice. Hopefully the manager moves on. I may try it again next time I'm in the area, but I would not recommend booking this hotel through a discount hotel website.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SGPC
Park City, UT
Jan 28, 2013

great hotel!

I enjoyed my stay. The decor was beautiful, the staff was friendly, and the wine hour was really nice!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top