$85 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 10, 2014 Check-out: Aug 11, 2014

Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites ALEXANDRIA-HISTORIC DISTRICT

3 stars
625 FIRST STREET, ALEXANDRIA, VA 22314
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
69 reviews
Great Stay

We had just stayed staying 8 nights in another chain, and we were very disappointed in the room.... See full review

  • Four old fools traveling
  • May 31, 2013
Washinton Visit

Excellent location. Friendly staff. Good Washington visitor information available. Reasonable price. See full review

  • Kwanja
  • Jan 31, 2013
Welcome to Our Old Town Alexandria Hotel! Located in the heart of Alexandria, the Holiday Inn® Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Historic District is convenient to Old Town and Washington, D.C. and is 100% Non-Smoking . Our hotel is near Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport and all local and DC monuments and attractions. Walk outside the hotel and be at the historic waterfront or the Torpedo Factory Art Center in just minutes. Or, visit the monuments and museums of Washington DC which are a short drive away. If you're a collector, the exclusive art galleries, antique shops and boutiques make visiting Alexandria's Old Town area a must. Enjoy the large indoor/outdoor pool or have a great workout in the Fitness Center. Government travelers appreciate our Alexandria, VA address, which puts you close to Capitol Hill, Department of Defense and the Pentagon. Additionally, the state-of-the-art Business Center and meeting facilities offer the perfect solutions for your corporate needs. Whether business or pleasure brings you to Alexandria this hotel is definitely the "Smart Choice" . Our free high-speed Internet access keeps you connected with friends and family. And, we offer free shuttles to National Airport, METRO and King Street. Remember to satisfy your hunger at Bistro On First, our delightful on-site restaurant and lounge. We look forward to being your home away from home in Alexandria .

Hotel Map

38.8151 -77.0436
Nearby airports
Washington Dulles International Airport, (IAD), 31.00, MI, E; Baltimore-Washington International, (BWI), 37.00, MI, N; Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport, (DCA), 2.50, MI, S;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites ALEXANDRIA-HISTORIC DISTRICT also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Temperature control
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Carlyle House: 0.7 mi
  • Athenaeum: 0.8 mi
  • Torpedo Factory Arts Center: 1.1 mi

Dining

Bistro On First Restaurant
Traditional American cuisine in a bistro setting. Enjoy a terrific buffet breakfast with a wide selection of all of your morning favorites. From healthy choices to Eggs Benedict, Bistro On First has it all in the morning. Or visit the restaurant for di
King Street Blues
Southern cooking with live music
Gadsby's Tavern
Located in Alexandria service lunch and dinner
The Royal Restaurant
Serving home cooked treats for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Cafe Monaco
Cafe Monaco is conveniently located in the hotel. Enjoy fresh and delicious gourmet sandwiches, salads, sweets and Pizza prepared to order. Dine in the café in one of the comfortable seating areas or enjoy the outdoor patio which is a relaxing spot afte

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (69)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites ALEXANDRIA-HISTORIC DISTRICT

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
24 out of 69
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.5

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites ALEXANDRIA-HISTORIC DISTRICT

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
D.C. History Buff
Nebraska
Jun 7, 2014

Good hotel, IF you get a good price,otherwise no.

The location is mixed, only about a ten minn. shuttle ride to Regan National Airport, with lots of hotel shuttle runs.It is about eight blocks from Old-town Alexandra, ok if you have a car, but after days of on the go walking it is too far away,so that is not convenient. Not a lot of food options within walking distance, except a grocery store is located just across the street from the hotel, so you can stock up and have lunch with you when sightseeing.The hotel cafe is just inches from it's bar, and we had problems with a loud, obnoxious drunk swearing in the bar, and we were seated well within hearing distance in the cafe with a child.The menu is limited as well.The best thing about the hotel for us was the great front desk staff, they always went out of there way to help, especially Mo. I would stay again only if I got a really good price, otherwise I would look elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

It is great if you do like we did and stock up on food from a grocery store near your hotel, food is expensive in the D.C. area, and you can save a great deal of money by making your own lunches and taking them with you.

Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites ALEXANDRIA-HISTORIC DISTRICT

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
travelernic26
Miami, Fl
May 14, 2014

VA/DC

The hotel was nice ...though you have to pay for parking. considering there is no gate and just anyone can park there with easy access to the hotels rooms is not that comforting. other than that the hotel was nice and had a great location ...not too far from either DC or the Airport which was amazing. The price was great too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites ALEXANDRIA-HISTORIC DISTRICT

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
j smokey
Port Huron, MI.
Apr 18, 2014

Adult family adventure

Free shuttle bus to metro and downtown alexandria. All rooms have refrigeraters. The only negative would be the cost of the breakfast buffet for adults, but free for kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites ALEXANDRIA-HISTORIC DISTRICT

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KimberlyH
Pittsburgh
Mar 6, 2014

We stay here oftem on for a mix of business and pleasure.

Our family travels often here and we bring along our two family pets as well. We once got a room upgrade cause we are club members. Since we just signed up for perks, I hope that happens more, will report back, This is like our second home, we love it here! the staff are really nice, helpful and I never once had any rude experiences. Their is a grocery store across the street and they make our daughter the best homemade macaroni and cheese! They even had made extra cause I requested it, the store has everything you will need. There is a trader joes up the street and the shuttle is great, and its free, many hotels in the area don't have that, and you have to pay for a cab, so that is really a nice plus. Any issues that I did had were minor and I was always comped for my time or distress. I had to ask but still, it was nice to do that, many hotels in this area wont do that. We are going back this Sunday and I cant wait! Its a great value and its my fave one in the area, I been to many in this area. Kimberly H

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

walk to the end of asaph st and your in old town in 15 mintues! and its a beautiful walk! Go to the Royal Rest for breakfast, its really good!

Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites ALEXANDRIA-HISTORIC DISTRICT

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Douglas A
Akron, Ohio
Aug 15, 2013

staff needs some training

Very nice hotel in town and convenient to everything. I had 2 rooms of which one was not cleaned well. Smelled of cat litter. Really nice exercise and pool. Shuttle to Metro. Staff needs serious training: location of restaurants, convenience store, where to find ____? Hint: You can pick up the metro right downtown. You don't have to shuttle all the way to the airport. Great restaurants are everywhere off King Street so when you get off the Metro there you can walk to a great dinner. Staff did not seem to know any of this. They need to get their heads out of the computer and KNOW the answers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

You can pick up the metro right downtown. You don't have to shuttle all the way to the airport. Great restaurants are everywhere off King Street so when you get off the Metro there you can walk to a great dinner. Staff did not seem to know any of this. They need to get their heads out of the computer and KNOW the answers.

Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites ALEXANDRIA-HISTORIC DISTRICT

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
leuggie
Cincinnati, Ohio
Jul 4, 2013

Wonderful experience

Only complaint was the shuttle from the airport. We waited about an hour for the shuttle. Going was no problem. The breakfast buffet was substandard but edible. Everything else was wonderful. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

King St., is the place to go for dinner or shopping. Not a bad walk.

Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites ALEXANDRIA-HISTORIC DISTRICT

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Minnesota Nice
Minnesota
Jul 4, 2013

First trip to D.C area.

Holiday Inn at Old Town was great. The rooms were clean and quiet. The shuttle service the hotel provided was excellent and the drivers were all very helpful in giving us tips on where to eat, etc. Grocery store across the street was very convenient. Our only complaint was the pool area. The hot tub was converted into a planter. After a long day of touring DC it would have been nice to relax in the hot tub. The outdoor lounge area was locked up some of the time and closed at 9:00. That is way too early. It also seemed a little neglected. The coffee shop/pizza place near the main elevators is a joke. The guy running it did not know how to smile, did not have napkins, cup lids, change for your payment. I would avoid that place. However the hotel staff were great! We would definitely stay here again. Just.....get that hot tub back in commission!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of excellent and unique dining spots on and around King Street. We ate at King Street Blues....excellent food, quirky place, lots of character!

Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites ALEXANDRIA-HISTORIC DISTRICT

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bob's DC Trip
Eveleth, MN
May 28, 2013

Family Vacation

We thought the hotel for the most part was very nice. Our only complaint was that the pool area was very dirty. We could tell from the band aids and the garbage left by the pool that it had not been cleaned any time recent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites ALEXANDRIA-HISTORIC DISTRICT

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
J. F. Twist
Northern Virginia
May 7, 2013

Very nice hotel, fairly convenient location

Nice-sized standard room (1 king bed with small seating area) at a reasonable cost for the DC area. Very clean & well-lighted. Large, well-furnished lobby with in-hotel bar and grill. Extremely convenient to Washington National (Reagan) Airport (less than 10 minutes along parkway; only 1 traffic light). Good, upscale residential neighborhood a little over a mile from Old Town Alexandria

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites ALEXANDRIA-HISTORIC DISTRICT

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dolphin0285
Miami,fl
Apr 6, 2013

Everything you need

My experience was great! The hotel was extremely close to the airport. The only complain I have is that the internet in the room was super slow but other than that this hotel was all I needed and the fronk desk staff members were very nice and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Take advantage of the free shuttle offered by the hotel to go to king street every day. You have plenty of restaurants to go to.

Back to menu Return to top