$84 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Feb 5, 2015 Check-out: Feb 8, 2015

Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites ALEXANDRIA-HISTORIC DISTRICT

3 stars
625 First Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
60 reviews
Staycation

The hotel was in a perfect location in between DC and Arlington and the airport. It was around some... See full review

  • AshBryant112
  • Jan 21, 2015
Great New Years Eve Stay

We had a great time, the room was spacious and the shuttle was great. No complementary breakfast... See full review

  • Getaway Chic
  • Jan 7, 2015
Welcome to Our Old Town Alexandria Hotel! Located in the heart of Alexandria, the Holiday Inn® Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Historic District is convenient to Old Town and Washington, D.C. and is 100% Non-Smoking . Our hotel is near Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport and all local and DC monuments and attractions. Walk outside the hotel and be at the historic waterfront or the Torpedo Factory Art Center in just minutes. Or, visit the monuments and museums of Washington DC which are a short drive away. If you're a collector, the exclusive art galleries, antique shops and boutiques make visiting Alexandria's Old Town area a must. Enjoy the large indoor/outdoor pool or have a great workout in the Fitness Center. Government travelers appreciate our Alexandria, VA address, which puts you close to Capitol Hill, Department of Defense and the Pentagon. Additionally, the state-of-the-art Business Center and meeting facilities offer the perfect solutions for your corporate needs. Whether business or pleasure brings you to Alexandria this hotel is definitely the "Smart Choice" . Our free high-speed Internet access keeps you connected with friends and family. And, we offer free shuttles to National Airport, METRO and King Street. Remember to satisfy your hunger at Bistro On First, our delightful on-site restaurant and lounge. We look forward to being your home away from home in Alexandria .

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites ALEXANDRIA-HISTORIC DISTRICT also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Temperature control
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Carlyle House: 0.7 mi
  • Athenaeum: 0.8 mi
  • Torpedo Factory Arts Center: 1.1 mi

Dining

Bistro On First Restaurant
Traditional American cuisine in a bistro setting. Enjoy a terrific buffet breakfast with a wide selection of all of your morning favorites. From healthy choices to Eggs Benedict, Bistro On First has it all in the morning. Or visit the restaurant for di
King Street Blues
Southern cooking with live music
Gadsby's Tavern
Located in Alexandria service lunch and dinner
The Royal Restaurant
Serving home cooked treats for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Cafe Monaco
Cafe Monaco is conveniently located in the hotel. Enjoy fresh and delicious gourmet sandwiches, salads, sweets and Pizza prepared to order. Dine in the café in one of the comfortable seating areas or enjoy the outdoor patio which is a relaxing spot afte

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (60)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites ALEXANDRIA-HISTORIC DISTRICT

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
8 out of 60
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.8

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites ALEXANDRIA-HISTORIC DISTRICT

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
BusTraveler
Business
Ohio
Apr 16, 2014

Thinks too highly of itself

Parking. not free. average breakfast - not free. Service was quite weak at breakfast and someone knocked on our door to clean the room at 8:00 am. we were up because we had to leave earliy but if was sleeping I would have been livid. Also the parking is the worst design for an underground garage. It was hard to maneuver my little Scion XB

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

If you must stay at this place, do not pay for parking for a Friday, Saturday, or Sunday night stay. park on the street and save.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites ALEXANDRIA-HISTORIC DISTRICT

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GLindy
Business
Columbus, Ohio
Oct 15, 2013

Convenient access to Reagan Airport & D.C. Metro

I booked this hotel to have comfortable, convenient access to the D.C. metro system and Reagan Natl. Airport. The room was clean, spacious, and quiet. The airport shuttle arrived on time. One pork of this location is that a grocery store is located directly across the street for grabbing food or forgotten items.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites ALEXANDRIA-HISTORIC DISTRICT

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy Tim
Business
Chicago
Oct 6, 2013

Great value for a weekend stay

Weekend prices are great at this hotel. It's a mere10 block walk to downtown waterfront. We have had the same check in host three Fridays in a row and she is wonderful. She went out of her way to get us a great resturaunt with a disccount coupon and each time has been very friendly. We stay here everytime we are in Alexandria!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

The lady at the front desk got us priority seating and a discount at the Chart House restaraunt on the riverfront.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites ALEXANDRIA-HISTORIC DISTRICT

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Old Town lover
Business
Youngstown OH
May 20, 2013

Still nice, but not as good as I expected.

One of the key reasons I chose this hotel was the shuttle service to airport, Metro, and King street. It turned out only the airport loop is regularly scheduled; the other two have to be arranged in advance. My first floor room had a nice view into a courtyard that had been freshly planted. However, the room had a mildew smell which I believe came from the heat pump coils. The room had a recycling basket, but the only regular waste can was in the bathroom; I was always walking between rooms to throw stuff away. The business center was just a computer and copier, but was really fast, faster than in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Can get to Arlington and Crystal City by walking 14 minutes to the Metro at Braddock Road, and taking a 10 minutes ride. Much cheaper than staying at the hotels there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites ALEXANDRIA-HISTORIC DISTRICT

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sodexo Alyce
Business
Spartanburg, SC
Aug 16, 2012

Holiday Inn in Alexandria, VA

Very great location! grocery store across the street was great. The staff that greeted me and checked me in were very helpful, informative and ready to help me in any way.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites ALEXANDRIA-HISTORIC DISTRICT

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
cincygirl74
Business
Cincinnati, OH, USA
Jan 27, 2012

Average

The location was great; however, the reason I booked is b/c complimentary shuttle was promoted. However, that was the case if I had a cute southern accent. They did this for others in the hotel. They would not accomodate me at all and I had to walk back to the hotel. Next time I will pay more to get more. Plus the last night teenagers took over hotel. I know there is only so much one can do...but they were so loud...and for a crack of dawn wake up call...not a fun night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites ALEXANDRIA-HISTORIC DISTRICT

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MD86
Business
Alexandria, VA, USA
Dec 5, 2011

Good for Business or Leisure

The location is excellent, centrally located in beautiful historic Old Town Alexandria, just a few minutes to National Airport, downtown Washington, DC and the National Harbor in Maryland. Lots of restaurants and shops nearby. The hotel was very clean and the rooms modern and comfortable with flat-screen TVs and nice bedding. Plenty of parking. Great value!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites ALEXANDRIA-HISTORIC DISTRICT

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jun 5, 2009

Staff and rooms exceeded expectations

I spent a week in Alexandria to kick off a meeting with a client. Check in was nice and easy and the front desk person was ridiculously nice to me. I had dinner with a friend the second day and the same person helped me find the metro station. The room I had was the one with the king size bed. Nice in-wall AC unit, and very clean and modern. Can I emphasize clean? This is a complete departure from the Travelodge I stayed at closer to King and Columbus which was a disaster in every way possible. For the price, I can't recommend this hotel enough. You will feel as if you have made a smart choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the Majestic restaurant. Anyone will be able to tell you where it is. Fantastic food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top