$90 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jun 6, 2015 Check-out: Jun 7, 2015

Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites ALEXANDRIA-HISTORIC DISTRICT

3 stars
View map of 625 First Street, Alexandria, VA 22314

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites ALEXANDRIA-HISTORIC DISTRICT

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
64 out of 64
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites ALEXANDRIA-HISTORIC DISTRICT

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy Tim
Business
Chicago
Oct 6, 2013

Great value for a weekend stay

Weekend prices are great at this hotel. It's a mere10 block walk to downtown waterfront. We have had the same check in host three Fridays in a row and she is wonderful. She went out of her way to get us a great resturaunt with a disccount coupon and each time has been very friendly. We stay here everytime we are in Alexandria!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

The lady at the front desk got us priority seating and a discount at the Chart House restaraunt on the riverfront.

Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites ALEXANDRIA-HISTORIC DISTRICT

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
B.T.
Business
Font Royal Virginia
Oct 2, 2013

Comfortable Stay

The room was clean and had the nice touch of iron & ironing board. The only drawback was the unexpected $20 charge for parking overnight. It does not change my opinion of the hotel; but would it hurt to have known about this policy ahead of time? Overall the stay was satisfactory.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites ALEXANDRIA-HISTORIC DISTRICT

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Douglas A
Business
Akron, Ohio
Aug 15, 2013

staff needs some training

Very nice hotel in town and convenient to everything. I had 2 rooms of which one was not cleaned well. Smelled of cat litter. Really nice exercise and pool. Shuttle to Metro. Staff needs serious training: location of restaurants, convenience store, where to find ____? Hint: You can pick up the metro right downtown. You don't have to shuttle all the way to the airport. Great restaurants are everywhere off King Street so when you get off the Metro there you can walk to a great dinner. Staff did not seem to know any of this. They need to get their heads out of the computer and KNOW the answers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

You can pick up the metro right downtown. You don't have to shuttle all the way to the airport. Great restaurants are everywhere off King Street so when you get off the Metro there you can walk to a great dinner. Staff did not seem to know any of this. They need to get their heads out of the computer and KNOW the answers.

Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites ALEXANDRIA-HISTORIC DISTRICT

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
leuggie
Business
Cincinnati, Ohio
Jul 4, 2013

Wonderful experience

Only complaint was the shuttle from the airport. We waited about an hour for the shuttle. Going was no problem. The breakfast buffet was substandard but edible. Everything else was wonderful. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

King St., is the place to go for dinner or shopping. Not a bad walk.

Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites ALEXANDRIA-HISTORIC DISTRICT

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Minnesota Nice
Business
Minnesota
Jul 4, 2013

First trip to D.C area.

Holiday Inn at Old Town was great. The rooms were clean and quiet. The shuttle service the hotel provided was excellent and the drivers were all very helpful in giving us tips on where to eat, etc. Grocery store across the street was very convenient. Our only complaint was the pool area. The hot tub was converted into a planter. After a long day of touring DC it would have been nice to relax in the hot tub. The outdoor lounge area was locked up some of the time and closed at 9:00. That is way too early. It also seemed a little neglected. The coffee shop/pizza place near the main elevators is a joke. The guy running it did not know how to smile, did not have napkins, cup lids, change for your payment. I would avoid that place. However the hotel staff were great! We would definitely stay here again. Just.....get that hot tub back in commission!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of excellent and unique dining spots on and around King Street. We ate at King Street Blues....excellent food, quirky place, lots of character!

Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites ALEXANDRIA-HISTORIC DISTRICT

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Four old fools traveling
Business
Sacrament, CA 95827
May 31, 2013

Great Stay

We had just stayed staying 8 nights in another chain, and we were very disappointed in the room. The laundry was a life saver. You cannot wash things out in D.C. and have them dry in a day. The lobby was beautiful and the bed was wonderful. Thank you!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Good food everywhere

Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites ALEXANDRIA-HISTORIC DISTRICT

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bob's DC Trip
Business
Eveleth, MN
May 28, 2013

Family Vacation

We thought the hotel for the most part was very nice. Our only complaint was that the pool area was very dirty. We could tell from the band aids and the garbage left by the pool that it had not been cleaned any time recent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites ALEXANDRIA-HISTORIC DISTRICT

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Old Town lover
Business
Youngstown OH
May 20, 2013

Still nice, but not as good as I expected.

One of the key reasons I chose this hotel was the shuttle service to airport, Metro, and King street. It turned out only the airport loop is regularly scheduled; the other two have to be arranged in advance. My first floor room had a nice view into a courtyard that had been freshly planted. However, the room had a mildew smell which I believe came from the heat pump coils. The room had a recycling basket, but the only regular waste can was in the bathroom; I was always walking between rooms to throw stuff away. The business center was just a computer and copier, but was really fast, faster than in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Can get to Arlington and Crystal City by walking 14 minutes to the Metro at Braddock Road, and taking a 10 minutes ride. Much cheaper than staying at the hotels there.

Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites ALEXANDRIA-HISTORIC DISTRICT

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
J. F. Twist
Business
Northern Virginia
May 7, 2013

Very nice hotel, fairly convenient location

Nice-sized standard room (1 king bed with small seating area) at a reasonable cost for the DC area. Very clean & well-lighted. Large, well-furnished lobby with in-hotel bar and grill. Extremely convenient to Washington National (Reagan) Airport (less than 10 minutes along parkway; only 1 traffic light). Good, upscale residential neighborhood a little over a mile from Old Town Alexandria

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites ALEXANDRIA-HISTORIC DISTRICT

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dr. Grape
Business
Santa Rosa, CA
Apr 10, 2013

Holiday Inn in Alexandria VA.

Shuttle too and from the airport/Metro very convenient and frequent. They also supply an afternoon/evening shuttle into Alexandria. The hotel is very quiet and the beds were very comfortable. Breakfasts were good but the dinner menu is only fair. The room had a microwave and small refrigerator. There is a market directly across the street. My wife complained about the lighting for applying makeup but overall the room was quite comfortable. The room came with a desk and a chair with an ottoman. It also had free wi-fi to access the internet. Bottom line, we would sty there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top