$76 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 9, 2015 Check-out: Jan 11, 2015

Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites ALEXANDRIA-HISTORIC DISTRICT

3 stars
625 First Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
57 reviews
great value

If you won't mind walking 4 blocks to where everything is happening in Old Town, it's great.... See full review

  • harvey c
  • Aug 4, 2014
Nice

We had a very large, comfortable room in an excellent location with a very nice breakfast included.... See full review

  • MooseXxxxx
  • Jul 27, 2014
Welcome to Our Old Town Alexandria Hotel! Located in the heart of Alexandria, the Holiday Inn® Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Historic District is convenient to Old Town and Washington, D.C. and is 100% Non-Smoking . Our hotel is near Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport and all local and DC monuments and attractions. Walk outside the hotel and be at the historic waterfront or the Torpedo Factory Art Center in just minutes. Or, visit the monuments and museums of Washington DC which are a short drive away. If you're a collector, the exclusive art galleries, antique shops and boutiques make visiting Alexandria's Old Town area a must. Enjoy the large indoor/outdoor pool or have a great workout in the Fitness Center. Government travelers appreciate our Alexandria, VA address, which puts you close to Capitol Hill, Department of Defense and the Pentagon. Additionally, the state-of-the-art Business Center and meeting facilities offer the perfect solutions for your corporate needs. Whether business or pleasure brings you to Alexandria this hotel is definitely the "Smart Choice" . Our free high-speed Internet access keeps you connected with friends and family. And, we offer free shuttles to National Airport, METRO and King Street. Remember to satisfy your hunger at Bistro On First, our delightful on-site restaurant and lounge. We look forward to being your home away from home in Alexandria .

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites ALEXANDRIA-HISTORIC DISTRICT also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Temperature control
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Carlyle House: 0.7 mi
  • Athenaeum: 0.8 mi
  • Torpedo Factory Arts Center: 1.1 mi

Dining

Bistro On First Restaurant
Traditional American cuisine in a bistro setting. Enjoy a terrific buffet breakfast with a wide selection of all of your morning favorites. From healthy choices to Eggs Benedict, Bistro On First has it all in the morning. Or visit the restaurant for di
King Street Blues
Southern cooking with live music
Gadsby's Tavern
Located in Alexandria service lunch and dinner
The Royal Restaurant
Serving home cooked treats for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Cafe Monaco
Cafe Monaco is conveniently located in the hotel. Enjoy fresh and delicious gourmet sandwiches, salads, sweets and Pizza prepared to order. Dine in the café in one of the comfortable seating areas or enjoy the outdoor patio which is a relaxing spot afte

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (57)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites ALEXANDRIA-HISTORIC DISTRICT

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
57 out of 57
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites ALEXANDRIA-HISTORIC DISTRICT

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
BusTraveler
Business
Ohio
Apr 16, 2014

Thinks too highly of itself

Parking. not free. average breakfast - not free. Service was quite weak at breakfast and someone knocked on our door to clean the room at 8:00 am. we were up because we had to leave earliy but if was sleeping I would have been livid. Also the parking is the worst design for an underground garage. It was hard to maneuver my little Scion XB

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

If you must stay at this place, do not pay for parking for a Friday, Saturday, or Sunday night stay. park on the street and save.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites ALEXANDRIA-HISTORIC DISTRICT

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
WhyDoIHaveToHaveOne
Business
East coast
Mar 13, 2014

Good location, average room

Room has a strong musty smell. We kept the window open to get rid of it, but in the morning garbage trucks were sooo noisy! Also, bathrooms are very, very small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites ALEXANDRIA-HISTORIC DISTRICT

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KimberlyH
Business
Pittsburgh
Mar 6, 2014

We stay here oftem on for a mix of business and pleasure.

Our family travels often here and we bring along our two family pets as well. We once got a room upgrade cause we are club members. Since we just signed up for perks, I hope that happens more, will report back, This is like our second home, we love it here! the staff are really nice, helpful and I never once had any rude experiences. Their is a grocery store across the street and they make our daughter the best homemade macaroni and cheese! They even had made extra cause I requested it, the store has everything you will need. There is a trader joes up the street and the shuttle is great, and its free, many hotels in the area don't have that, and you have to pay for a cab, so that is really a nice plus. Any issues that I did had were minor and I was always comped for my time or distress. I had to ask but still, it was nice to do that, many hotels in this area wont do that. We are going back this Sunday and I cant wait! Its a great value and its my fave one in the area, I been to many in this area. Kimberly H

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

walk to the end of asaph st and your in old town in 15 mintues! and its a beautiful walk! Go to the Royal Rest for breakfast, its really good!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites ALEXANDRIA-HISTORIC DISTRICT

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GW Dad
Business
Massachusetts
Oct 22, 2013

Weekend getaway

The hotel was fine. Room was spacious and clean. No problems. You can avoid the $20 per night parking on weekends by parking on surrounding streets. The hotel shuttle to Reagan allows you to get into DC fairly quickly. Supermarket right across the street so you can load up the fridge in your room. We will definitely stay here again when we visit the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Park on the street on weekends to avoid $20 a night hotel charge.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites ALEXANDRIA-HISTORIC DISTRICT

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GLindy
Business
Columbus, Ohio
Oct 15, 2013

Convenient access to Reagan Airport & D.C. Metro

I booked this hotel to have comfortable, convenient access to the D.C. metro system and Reagan Natl. Airport. The room was clean, spacious, and quiet. The airport shuttle arrived on time. One pork of this location is that a grocery store is located directly across the street for grabbing food or forgotten items.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites ALEXANDRIA-HISTORIC DISTRICT

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy Tim
Business
Chicago
Oct 6, 2013

Great value for a weekend stay

Weekend prices are great at this hotel. It's a mere10 block walk to downtown waterfront. We have had the same check in host three Fridays in a row and she is wonderful. She went out of her way to get us a great resturaunt with a disccount coupon and each time has been very friendly. We stay here everytime we are in Alexandria!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

The lady at the front desk got us priority seating and a discount at the Chart House restaraunt on the riverfront.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites ALEXANDRIA-HISTORIC DISTRICT

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
B.T.
Business
Font Royal Virginia
Oct 2, 2013

Comfortable Stay

The room was clean and had the nice touch of iron & ironing board. The only drawback was the unexpected $20 charge for parking overnight. It does not change my opinion of the hotel; but would it hurt to have known about this policy ahead of time? Overall the stay was satisfactory.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites ALEXANDRIA-HISTORIC DISTRICT

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Douglas A
Business
Akron, Ohio
Aug 15, 2013

staff needs some training

Very nice hotel in town and convenient to everything. I had 2 rooms of which one was not cleaned well. Smelled of cat litter. Really nice exercise and pool. Shuttle to Metro. Staff needs serious training: location of restaurants, convenience store, where to find ____? Hint: You can pick up the metro right downtown. You don't have to shuttle all the way to the airport. Great restaurants are everywhere off King Street so when you get off the Metro there you can walk to a great dinner. Staff did not seem to know any of this. They need to get their heads out of the computer and KNOW the answers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

You can pick up the metro right downtown. You don't have to shuttle all the way to the airport. Great restaurants are everywhere off King Street so when you get off the Metro there you can walk to a great dinner. Staff did not seem to know any of this. They need to get their heads out of the computer and KNOW the answers.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites ALEXANDRIA-HISTORIC DISTRICT

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
leuggie
Business
Cincinnati, Ohio
Jul 4, 2013

Wonderful experience

Only complaint was the shuttle from the airport. We waited about an hour for the shuttle. Going was no problem. The breakfast buffet was substandard but edible. Everything else was wonderful. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

King St., is the place to go for dinner or shopping. Not a bad walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites ALEXANDRIA-HISTORIC DISTRICT

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Minnesota Nice
Business
Minnesota
Jul 4, 2013

First trip to D.C area.

Holiday Inn at Old Town was great. The rooms were clean and quiet. The shuttle service the hotel provided was excellent and the drivers were all very helpful in giving us tips on where to eat, etc. Grocery store across the street was very convenient. Our only complaint was the pool area. The hot tub was converted into a planter. After a long day of touring DC it would have been nice to relax in the hot tub. The outdoor lounge area was locked up some of the time and closed at 9:00. That is way too early. It also seemed a little neglected. The coffee shop/pizza place near the main elevators is a joke. The guy running it did not know how to smile, did not have napkins, cup lids, change for your payment. I would avoid that place. However the hotel staff were great! We would definitely stay here again. Just.....get that hot tub back in commission!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of excellent and unique dining spots on and around King Street. We ate at King Street Blues....excellent food, quirky place, lots of character!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top