$59 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 31, 2014 Check-out: Nov 3, 2014

Days Inn Alexandria South

2 stars
6100 Richmond Hwy/I-95, Alexandria, VA 22303
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
84 reviews
Great value, location and comfort!

Only negative that disappointed me was the fact that pool did not open until 4:00. Sun went behind... See full review

  • Realtor of the Year
  • Aug 16, 2014
overall

it was relaxing when it wasn't noisy sometimes . I enjoyed that there was soda machines on each... See full review

  • sha zam
  • Mar 13, 2014
The Days Inn Alexandria South prides itself on service. With so many hotels from which to choose, just providing dollar value is not enough. We are located just minutes from the capital of the US, Washington, DC. We are also a convenient 1.5 mile walk from the closest Metro, DCs subway system--the cleanest and safest in the world. We offer all the first class attention you want and deserve. Take advantage of free Internet access, guest laundry facilities, seasonal outdoor pool and free parking for any size vehicle. Some rooms feature microwaves and refrigerators, and handicapped-accessible and non-smoking accommodations are available.

Hotel Map

38.7855 -77.0711
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Days Inn Alexandria South also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
Wake-up service
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Torpedo Factory Arts Center: 1.5 mi
  • Athenaeum: 2 mi
  • Carlyle House: 2.1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (84)

Ratings and reviews for Days Inn Alexandria South

Overall score

2.6 / 5
5.01.0
21 out of 84
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.1
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3.1
Value:
3.3

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Days Inn Alexandria South

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Todd James
Business
Mason City, Iowa
Apr 2, 2014

Great Value

This hotel was exactly as advertised. It has basic amenities, its clean, and relatively quiet. It is exactly worth the price no more, no less. I got a single room with a king bed. The room was big- it also had a couch, coffee table, fridge, and microwave. It didn't smell like smoke or anything. I was barely was there and when i was it was fine. The subway ride was only 30 min to downtown D.C. and only two stops from old town Alexandria- King Street which was incredibly charming and full of bars and caf'e's. If you are in D.C. to get out and about this place will do it. If you are "high maintenance" person and will be spending lots of time at the Hotel and need lots of services look somewhere else. Lets face it you only get so much with a $70 hotel and this is good value in that regard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

take metro to King Street

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Alexandria South

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JimAL
Business
Tampa, Fl
Oct 6, 2013

Good overall

Good value for price. An old hotel that is clean and well run. Staff was friendly and there is a shuttle that runs hourly to the metro station Okay breakfast. Five Guys up the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

!5 minute walk to Metro.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Alexandria South

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Gypsie25
Business
Washington, DC
Sep 17, 2012

Value for its Buck

The stay is exceptionally great considering the location and cleansliness of the room. I expected worse, but they proved me wrong.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If your plans are to visit the Capitol, I suggest taking the metro because parking is wayy too expensive, not to add a hassle to even find!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Alexandria South

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Washingtonian
Business
Washington, DC, USA
Nov 11, 2011

Convenient location but could be cheaper

Free Internet in your room, free continental breakfast (your basics: variety of cold cereals, English muffins, muffins, toast, fruit juice), free shuttle service to the metro station (alert them at least 15 minutes in advance)...some rooms even have microwaves & fridges. You can also walk to the metro station or catch a bus. Wal-mart, Target, & a few shops are within walking distance, as well as many pizza & fast food eateries. The downside is the noise. If you're a light sleeper, don't get a room in the front of the hotel OR by the elevator. You can hear other hotel guests if they're outside but it's still bearable...just something to consider & that's why the price would be more reasonable if it were about $10-15 less per night. See if you can haggle if you notice a lot of vacancies...it won't hurt to try!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Wal-Mart Superstore is approx. a 10 minute walk away so if you want healthier and/or cheaper dining options without going to a restaurant, they've got everything from gourmet salads & produce to a warm-food deli (fried chicken, mac n' cheese, potato wedges), to hearty microwavable entrees that you can take back to your room.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Alexandria South

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Traveling solo
Business
Virginia, USA
Sep 30, 2011

Not good...

My room was somewhat clean but the bedspread was filthy. I asked for a quiet room and was placed in the far back of the hotel on the first floor of the hotel with windows starting at knee level. Traveling as a single woman this was very uncomfortable. The pool was closed with a tarp over it in mid-September. I should have gone with my original intent which was to stay at the Red Roof down the road. I stopped by and it seemed like a much safer environment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Alexandria South

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Thellonious
Business
CA
Sep 23, 2011

Don't stay here

cockroaches in the room, incessant smoking, misleading area. Horrible hotel and experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Alexandria South

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Jul 16, 2011

Days Inn Alexandria South

We're a blues band that travels about 200 days out of the year and we've had to stay in a lot of different hotels/motels all around the country as well as Europe and just recently, Brazil.This particular Days Inn in Alexandria was one of the worst experiences that we've had. There was a big roach in one of the beds and we had to change rooms. The night staff was extremely grumpy and wasn't helpful at all. It took me a little over 2 hrs on the phone with [...]to make the reservations for 3 singles and 3 doubles and they still got it wrong. It was not an enjoyable stay, to say the least and we do not recommend staying there at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Alexandria South

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
CAtoDC
Business
Los Angeles, CA
May 13, 2011

Will Not Be Returning

My stay at Days Inn Alexandria was less than desirable. The room I stayed in had a toilet that ran 24/7 and pipes coming out of the ceiling and walls. The advertised wireless internet access was non-existent in my room the entire week I was there and intermittently worked in the hotel lobby which made it difficult to look for jobs and apartments, which was the entire reason I was in Virginia. The hotel staff was not helpful in answering questions or resolving problems. I will not be returning to this hotel nor recommending it to anyone I know.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Alexandria South

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Alexandria, Va
Feb 14, 2011

Great Value for the Money

I had been staying at the Holiday Inn on Eisenhower Eve. just North of Days Inn. The rooms at Days Inn were comparable and the price much less. Close to Huntington Metro (walk 15 min) or take local bus. Only negative was breakfast bar which left a lot to desire. The overall value far exceeds the breakfast. Staff very friendly and helpful. Highly recommend unless you have money to burn elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Alexandria South

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Just across the river.
Business
Dallas Texas
Oct 15, 2010

Days Inn Alexandria South

Traveled on Business. The rate was exceptional. The room was clean. The bath was well maintained and clean. The hotel staff was responsive and knowledgable. Older structure that is showing it's years but clearly being maintained.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top