$60 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 1, 2015 Check-out: Apr 2, 2015

Days Inn Alexandria South

2 stars
View map of 6100 Richmond Hwy/I-95, Alexandria, VA 22303

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
92 reviews
Great staff,location and clean

IT was a great location. The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was very clean and a nice... See full review

  • marc b.
  • Jan 5, 2015
Great value, location and comfort!

Only negative that disappointed me was the fact that pool did not open until 4:00. Sun went behind... See full review

  • Realtor of the Year
  • Aug 16, 2014
The Days Inn Alexandria South prides itself on service. With so many hotels from which to choose, just providing dollar value is not enough. We are located just minutes from the capital of the US, Washington, DC. We are also a convenient 1.5 mile walk from the closest Metro, DCs subway system--the cleanest and safest in the world. We offer all the first class attention you want and deserve. Take advantage of free Internet access, guest laundry facilities, seasonal outdoor pool and free parking for any size vehicle. Some rooms feature microwaves and refrigerators, and handicapped-accessible and non-smoking accommodations are available.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Days Inn Alexandria South also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
Wake-up service
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Torpedo Factory Arts Center: 1.5 mi
  • Athenaeum: 2 mi
  • Carlyle House: 2.1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (92)

Ratings and reviews for Days Inn Alexandria South

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
92 out of 92
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.5

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Days Inn Alexandria South

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
danvenz
Business
woodside, queens, new york
Sep 6, 2012

Not so good stay

On my 3 nights of stay, i saw roaches in the bathtub, and on the floor. Pillow covers don't look like they were not changed, as well as the bath towels. The room doesn't seem to smell some fresh air. Everytime I flush the toilet, i have to uncover the lid of the tank and pull open the lever that holds the water in order to bring out the water to flush. The aircon was doing alright.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Alexandria South

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
John 82352
Business
Lexington NC
Jan 20, 2013

Run Down in need of upgrade

First night heater in room ran all night suffocated. Second night heater fan locked up and screaming. Had to move to new room which only one light bulb worked. I switched bulbs from first room to be able to see in second room. Breakfast consist of waffle iron and some frozen fake eggs. Went to McDonalds after first morning. Staff was very considerate and understanding, but not my favorite experience at Days Inn.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If riding Metro you can walk behind the Hotel to the Huntington Station. Half Mile through park and remember to bring flashlight.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Alexandria South

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
B1G BANK
Business
Salt Lake City,Utah
Dec 16, 2010

I'll never do that again!!!!!

On Dec 12th 2010 I went to Washington with a friend to see the Redskins play[...]. The Days Inn, [...] it promised breakfast, oh it had breakfast, although they failed to mention that it was days I mean DAYS old! Begals so hard you can't eat them, waffles if thats what they were, and I can't even talk about the bread for tost it was hard enough to already have been toast. And with my own eyes I wached the old man of this family owned business close down breakfast and put this old garbage in a fridge to serve the next day.In finishing I want to say thanks for the shower with the fluctuating water tempature burning one minute, freezing the next cause it made the two hours of rain that I was in at the football game the best part of my trip.....So you decide, did I have a great trip?????????? PS.Heater is hot or cold no in between..........

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Ask Questions, alot of questions!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Alexandria South

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jessica James
Business
Waipahu, HI
May 14, 2009

Not a value at $90

Not a very good location nor a good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the bus to the metro. The bus stop is close and the metro is a mile and a half.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Alexandria South

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Thellonious
Business
CA
Sep 23, 2011

Don't stay here

cockroaches in the room, incessant smoking, misleading area. Horrible hotel and experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Alexandria South

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle
May 28, 2009

Very bad and sad

The staff was very unfriendly, the hotel was dirty and many people on drugs walk around the halls of the hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Alexandria South

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Traveling solo
Business
Virginia, USA
Sep 30, 2011

Not good...

My room was somewhat clean but the bedspread was filthy. I asked for a quiet room and was placed in the far back of the hotel on the first floor of the hotel with windows starting at knee level. Traveling as a single woman this was very uncomfortable. The pool was closed with a tarp over it in mid-September. I should have gone with my original intent which was to stay at the Red Roof down the road. I stopped by and it seemed like a much safer environment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Alexandria South

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Stevie "G"
Business
New York
Nov 16, 2009

Not too good!!!

I guess I should have known by the price ($150 for 2 nights) that this place was going to be dump. The hotel is old, the decor is old, the TV reception horrible. No hair conditioner, tiny bathroom, dirty microwave, and the list goes on. For an extra few bucks, STAY SOMEWHERE ELSE, especially if your traveling with kids (of any age). My son called it the crusty hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Stay On KINGS Street in OLDE TOWN, trust me!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Alexandria South

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
CAtoDC
Business
Los Angeles, CA
May 13, 2011

Will Not Be Returning

My stay at Days Inn Alexandria was less than desirable. The room I stayed in had a toilet that ran 24/7 and pipes coming out of the ceiling and walls. The advertised wireless internet access was non-existent in my room the entire week I was there and intermittently worked in the hotel lobby which made it difficult to look for jobs and apartments, which was the entire reason I was in Virginia. The hotel staff was not helpful in answering questions or resolving problems. I will not be returning to this hotel nor recommending it to anyone I know.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Alexandria South

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Jul 16, 2011

Days Inn Alexandria South

We're a blues band that travels about 200 days out of the year and we've had to stay in a lot of different hotels/motels all around the country as well as Europe and just recently, Brazil.This particular Days Inn in Alexandria was one of the worst experiences that we've had. There was a big roach in one of the beds and we had to change rooms. The night staff was extremely grumpy and wasn't helpful at all. It took me a little over 2 hrs on the phone with [...]to make the reservations for 3 singles and 3 doubles and they still got it wrong. It was not an enjoyable stay, to say the least and we do not recommend staying there at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top