$61 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 22, 2014 Check-out: Oct 25, 2014

Days Inn Alexandria South

2 stars
6100 Richmond Hwy/I-95, Alexandria, VA 22303
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
85 reviews
Great value, location and comfort!

Only negative that disappointed me was the fact that pool did not open until 4:00. Sun went behind... See full review

  • Realtor of the Year
  • Aug 16, 2014
overall

it was relaxing when it wasn't noisy sometimes . I enjoyed that there was soda machines on each... See full review

  • sha zam
  • Mar 13, 2014
The Days Inn Alexandria South prides itself on service. With so many hotels from which to choose, just providing dollar value is not enough. We are located just minutes from the capital of the US, Washington, DC. We are also a convenient 1.5 mile walk from the closest Metro, DCs subway system--the cleanest and safest in the world. We offer all the first class attention you want and deserve. Take advantage of free Internet access, guest laundry facilities, seasonal outdoor pool and free parking for any size vehicle. Some rooms feature microwaves and refrigerators, and handicapped-accessible and non-smoking accommodations are available.

Hotel Map

38.7855 -77.0711
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Days Inn Alexandria South also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
Wake-up service
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Torpedo Factory Arts Center: 1.5 mi
  • Athenaeum: 2 mi
  • Carlyle House: 2.1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (85)

Ratings and reviews for Days Inn Alexandria South

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
85 out of 85
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.5

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Days Inn Alexandria South

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
vewyscawy
Business
New Brunssick, NJ
May 15, 2012

Works perfectly for a night or two!

I was spending one night in the hotel while visiting my sister, and this hotel worked perfectly for that purpose. The staff was friendly and the room was perfectly clean. The breakfast was great- more than I'd expect for a "continental breakfast." All in all, I'd recommend if you're just planning on spending a night or two.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Breakfast kept me full until lunch- enjoy it!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Alexandria South

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ham Operator QSL
Business
The Real South Jersey
May 8, 2012

Good Bang for the Buck

Two complaints, bed was like a pad on a rock, shower area needs better cleaning (musty smell). Plus was the free breakfast, free internet, and the parking area was very bringhtly lit. Minutes out of downtown, minutes from Wally World and Target if you forgot something.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Both sides of the road minutes away

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Alexandria South

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mister M
Business
Pittsburgh, PA, EUA
Apr 17, 2012

Two cockroaches!

The hotel was no so bad, but in two nights I need to kill two cockroaches inside the room. It was disappointing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Fogo de Chão Brazilian SteakHouse

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Alexandria South

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Massmainer
Business
Boston MA
Apr 3, 2012

Hotel stuck in the 1960s

The Good points.. Beds were nice, Rooms were clean, and the location is good.. The bad points.. Hotel is stuck in the 1960s, Windows rattle and are very thin, security was questionable at best. The outside of the hotel felt old, and worn out.. Felt like a 1960s dorm, with all cement walls. The people at the registration desk were not very friendly at all, and just appeared to just work there because its a job. The breakfast was below what you could find at a seven eleven store. It was disappointing at best. The best thing for this hotel would be to rebuild. The good news it was quiet and clean,.. But that's it. Basic room for a low cost.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Alexandria South

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Carmen V
Business
Hollywood, FL, USA
Mar 18, 2012

Just what I needed

The hotel was in a great location, just a mile away from the Metro station. It was clean and comfortable. It suited my needs perfectly, which was a place to sleep after spending the day sightseeing in D.C..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Alexandria South

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Washingtonian
Business
Washington, DC, USA
Nov 11, 2011

Convenient location but could be cheaper

Free Internet in your room, free continental breakfast (your basics: variety of cold cereals, English muffins, muffins, toast, fruit juice), free shuttle service to the metro station (alert them at least 15 minutes in advance)...some rooms even have microwaves & fridges. You can also walk to the metro station or catch a bus. Wal-mart, Target, & a few shops are within walking distance, as well as many pizza & fast food eateries. The downside is the noise. If you're a light sleeper, don't get a room in the front of the hotel OR by the elevator. You can hear other hotel guests if they're outside but it's still bearable...just something to consider & that's why the price would be more reasonable if it were about $10-15 less per night. See if you can haggle if you notice a lot of vacancies...it won't hurt to try!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Wal-Mart Superstore is approx. a 10 minute walk away so if you want healthier and/or cheaper dining options without going to a restaurant, they've got everything from gourmet salads & produce to a warm-food deli (fried chicken, mac n' cheese, potato wedges), to hearty microwavable entrees that you can take back to your room.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Alexandria South

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Lewfromtheu
Business
Warren, MI, USA
Oct 26, 2011

DC Trip

My room was next to elevator & I could hear it groan everytime someone rode it. Ice machine was out of service - had to get ice from desk. Room access was outside - unsafe. Room temp was haed to maintain - need actual temp controller on HVAC system.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Alexandria South

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
good one
Business
Washington, DC, USA
Oct 26, 2011

Mini vacation with grandchildren

Not what I expected, the bathroom needs updating, carpet area, love seat for comfort instead of using the beds. Kid friendly as my granddaughter suggested in the lobby area. Work out area- my grandson input.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Very helpful with location to Washington and Baltimore great sites, events, dining. As a family the trip was well worth it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Alexandria South

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Traveling solo
Business
Virginia, USA
Sep 30, 2011

Not good...

My room was somewhat clean but the bedspread was filthy. I asked for a quiet room and was placed in the far back of the hotel on the first floor of the hotel with windows starting at knee level. Traveling as a single woman this was very uncomfortable. The pool was closed with a tarp over it in mid-September. I should have gone with my original intent which was to stay at the Red Roof down the road. I stopped by and it seemed like a much safer environment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Alexandria South

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Thellonious
Business
CA
Sep 23, 2011

Don't stay here

cockroaches in the room, incessant smoking, misleading area. Horrible hotel and experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top