$85 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 12, 2014 Check-out: Dec 13, 2014

Crowne Plaza OLD TOWN ALEXANDRIA

3 stars
901 North Fairfax Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
41 reviews
Shuttle and Customer Service, Fantastic!

Great free shuttle service to airport and King Street. Staff was friendly and knowledgeable. Room... See full review

  • TAT RDT
  • Jun 8, 2014
fantastic family getaway

Excelent hotel.very clean .good service Nice location Iove it See full review

  • clary happy
  • May 28, 2014
Welcome to our Old Town Alexandria hotel! You'll enjoy a convenient location and top-quality amenities when you stay at the Crowne Plaza Old Town Alexandria . Our hotel is only two miles from Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport and less than six miles to Washington, DC. We are located near all major attractions and monuments. Guests will enjoy spectacular views of the Potomac River and city from many rooms, a large fitness center, and the Sleep Advantage Program with comfortable beds. We're only a few minutes walk to the shops and historic homes on Alexandria's revitalized waterfront. Walking tours of the historic area and River Cruises of the national monuments begin just minutes from our hotel. We offer complimentary shuttles to DCA/Reagan Airport, Metro/Subway and King Street . Our 100% non-smoking hotel near Washington, DC is ideal for business travelers as we are a few minutes from corporations such as Robbins-Gioia, Deloitte, the Pentagon and the many museums, bureaus and government offices of Washington, DC. We also offer the convenience of eight meeting rooms, a 24-hour business center and wireless high speed Internet access. For family and fine dining visit Chequers for an amazing buffet breakfast and visit the exciting Railstop Gastropub for lunch and dinner. Close to everything , a convenient stay awaits you at the Crowne Plaza.

Hotel Map

38.8141 -77.0402
Nearby airports
Balitmore Washington International Airport, (BWI), 41.00, MI, N; WASHINGTON DULLES INTERNATIONAL, (IAD), 31.00, MI, E; RONALD REAGAN WASHINGTON NATL AIRPORT, (DCA), 2.50, MI, S;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crowne Plaza OLD TOWN ALEXANDRIA also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Carlyle House: 0.6 mi
  • Athenaeum: 0.7 mi
  • Torpedo Factory Arts Center: 1.1 mi

Dining

Chequers Restaraunt
Come and enjoy a nice hot breakfast in our Chequers Restaurant on the second floor of the hotel. This delicious first meal of the day will get you onto a great start. We have a breakfast menu of all the great breakfast foods that will satisfy your best a
Railstop Gastropub
Already One of the Hottest Restaurants in Alexandria....Railstop Gastropub! Blending the relaxed, easygoing spirit of the classic English pub with upscale gastronomic cuisine. Stop in for imaginative menu items, watch sports on flatscreens, and indulge in

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (41)

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza OLD TOWN ALEXANDRIA

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
41 out of 41
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4
Value:
3.5

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza OLD TOWN ALEXANDRIA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveler without children
Business
New Hampshire
Aug 12, 2014

After wedding adventure

We stayed at this hotel to experience the DC area after a friend's wedding. The staff was extremely friendly and everything was clean. Using the off site pool was fairly easy but I wish they had their own. We did not use the bike borrow they have available but it looked super easy and they provide a helmet and lock too. It is a decent walk to downtown Alexandria but we loved spending time there. The hotel is not convenient to a metro stop but the free shuttle to the airport which does have a metro stop made it very easy to access the Metro and we only had to walk the mile from the closest stop once. The restaurant at the hotel was alright and the only food there I would suggest was the grilled wings but they do come naked with dipping sauces so be prepared for that. Overall a wonderful stay for the price and I would go back and recommend to a friend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Lots of fantastic food in Alexandria without having to make reservations or have a super long wait like in DC

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza OLD TOWN ALEXANDRIA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
E'Diddy
Business
Austin, TX
Jul 28, 2014

Good location and nice hotel

Great location, close to Old Town. I come for business all the time. Walking distance to many restaurants and stores. Normally stay here when I am in Alexandria, clean hotel and good cost for location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza OLD TOWN ALEXANDRIA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Needles1951
Business
West Chester, PA
Jul 21, 2014

Strengths and weaknesses

Hotel has a wonderful location right on the Potomac. Several good restaurants are within less than a block. Staff was friendly and helpful. Room was clean and bed comfortable. Heating/air conditioning system needs an upgrade! Either freezing or hot. Took 5 full minutes for water to get hot. Sometimes water pressure dropped severely. Restaurant is a bust. No service. Meeting troom facilities were very nice and well run. Temp pretty comfortable. Would stay here again if the price was right.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Extra Perks and Royal Thai are very good and well run! Perks for breakfast or lunch. Thai for dinner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza OLD TOWN ALEXANDRIA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TAT RDT
Business
Madison, WI
Jun 8, 2014

Shuttle and Customer Service, Fantastic!

Great free shuttle service to airport and King Street. Staff was friendly and knowledgeable. Room was clean and comfy with a great view. Can't wait to visit again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Use the shuttle to get to the metra station at the airport. Quick and hassle free way to visit downtown DC

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza OLD TOWN ALEXANDRIA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
clary happy
Business
alexandria.va
May 28, 2014

fantastic family getaway

Excelent hotel.very clean .good service Nice location Iove it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza OLD TOWN ALEXANDRIA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bridesmaid2
Business
Phoenix, Arizona
May 6, 2014

Sunday stay

The facilities were ok, but the staff was kind of rude and in the morning when I had to leave early there wasn't any hot water.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza OLD TOWN ALEXANDRIA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ShermLouis
Business
Oregon
Apr 8, 2014

Good Value

This hotel has friendly staff, clean and comfortable rooms, and a nice fitness center. The complimentary shuttle service is also great. I highly recommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza OLD TOWN ALEXANDRIA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Twomonkeytown
Business
Richmond, va
Sep 7, 2013

Good hotel

It's exactly what you would expect. Clean rooms, sort of stiff bed but the regularly cleaned duvet covers which is nice. The bathrooms are not bad. Granite countertops and updated hardware but the tile is still outdated. The staff is great and the workout room is perfect for a business trip. Location is great. Right on the river and very close to the airport. You have to take a shuttle to old town restaurants but there are plenty of good spots within walking distance for a quick bite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

High end restaurant: Bastille. Great ambiance and wine list Casual: Thai royal (fantastic Thai food), a la Lucia (fantastic Italian) Take out: perfect pita right next door is delicious!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza OLD TOWN ALEXANDRIA

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
phdhldy
Business
old town alexandria va
Jul 18, 2013

never stay here again when in the area

$20 a night parking, absolutely no amenities in the room, no frig, no micro, no pool, no bathroom on main floor, only one electrical outlet in the room, staff to busy to help. was traveling with three other people, wouldn't bother to look for rooms available on the same floor, maid came to the room after 4p every day to clean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza OLD TOWN ALEXANDRIA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tired Reviewer
Business
Jacksonville FL
May 20, 2013

Comfortable Weekend Stay

Friendly staff, very comfortable room, within walking distance of King Street in Old Town Alexandria.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

La Madeleine Country Buffet. Good food, good atmosphere, reasonable pricing. Then Lavender Moon Cupcakery on Royal St. for dessert.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top