$94 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2014 Check-out: Aug 31, 2014

Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria

2 stars
5716 S. Van Dorn St., Alexandria, VA 22310
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
50 reviews
Outstanding Stay

The Hotel and staff was really great. I came in late around 2:30 a. m. and they still kept my room.... See full review

  • john wanamaker
  • Nov 13, 2013
Excellent place to stay

This hotel, though rated 2 stars, has all the basic needs and then some. The room was very clean,... See full review

  • Mommy Jane
  • Jun 9, 2013
Visit our newly remodeled hotel now featuring FREE wireless high speed internet. FREE deluxe continental breakfast. Complimentary shuttle to Van Dorn Street Metro Station. Fitness room, business center and gift shop on property. Business Suites and Whirlpool Suites are available. Free local calls. Wireless internet service available in the meeting room. So take advantage of the comforts of home while away from home! Optional safe charge of 1.50 USD plus tax per night. Pet accommodations: 25.00 USD per day per pet includes gift bag for pet. Pet limit: max 2 pets per room, up to 30 pounds per pet.

Hotel Map

38.7949 -77.1374
Nearby airports
Ronald Reagan National Arpt, (DCA), 8.00, MI, NE; Dulles Int'l Airport, (3WB), 25.00, MI, W; Baltimore / Wash. Intl Arpt, (BWI), 45.00, MI, N;
Area description
Suburban, Exit 173 @ I-495

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
FAX
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Brailled elevators
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
In room movies
Iron

Nearby points of interest

  • Torpedo Factory Arts Center: 4.7 mi
  • Athenaeum: 5.2 mi
  • Carlyle House: 5.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (50)

Ratings and reviews for Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
50 out of 50
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.8

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Gary N
Business
Seattle
Apr 23, 2012

Poor Quality

The rooms need some work. The air conditioner was very noisy like it hadn't been run in some time. The shower never did get warm but was cold. The toilet seat wouldn't stay up. Overall not a quality hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jun 13, 2007

comfy beds.

If you are here to visit D.C this hotel is too far away. At least 35 min by metro. Nothing around but Red Lobster to eat at. Hotel very dirty no maintence on rooms. Flowers outside were nice but needs cleanliness inside. Great shuttle to Metro after 9:30.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
detriot MI
Apr 9, 2010

Discomfort Inn

It is important to read all the customer reviews for this hotel. The negative comments all have a common story; rooms that were in need of a MAJOR renovation and that the location of this hotel is very undesirable. I did not find the shuttle close by or convenient, especially during peak hours after breakfast. The shuttle could only seat 7 passengers and we typically had to wait 2 or 3 trips before getting on. This additional delay could add up to a half hour to a 30 minute metro ride to the monuments. I would never stay so far out of the city again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Too far out!

Review of Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego
Jul 16, 2010

Should Change Name to Discomfort Inn

Staff was unfreindly. I booked through Orbitz and the guy said he was changing my room. I don't know why he did. However I booked a non-smoking room and ended up with a smoking room. I could tell it was a smoking room, becasue it smelled like an ash tray. It was late so I just decided to go to sleep instead of complainng that night. I woke up to an Ice Cold Shower despite haveing the nob turned all the way to hot. I tried the other direction and found that yes the water coould actually get colder. Even after letting it run on hot for 10 minutes it was still cold. The sink had hot water just very little water pressure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Sep 26, 2007

Unpleasant experience

We were assigned to Rm 619 and 609. The plate for the room number 609 was missing and the room number was written by hand in ink. This should have been a warning sign of a potential problem. Indeed, room 609 had a very strong urine odor while the room 619 was fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

excellent hotel continental breakfast

Review of Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Houston
Jun 11, 2010

Very disappointed

Admission clerk was surly. This is 8 story building it had only 2 elevators for everyone, including housekeeping, one elevator broke down. There was peeling wallpaper, the plastic surround in tub was coming apart and corner seams were discolored. Just needs generalized face lift. Only one computer in lobby, had to wait in line to print boarding passes. Have stayed at other Comfort Inns and was surprised at condition of this inn.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new jersey
May 6, 2010

good location

i had hoped that the fitness center offered free weights

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Midland, MI
Jul 22, 2008

Problem Hotel

The first problem encountered was access. This property is located on a very busy road with difficult access and even more difficult egress---hidden fast traffic approach. The check in staff were fine but the restaurant and the pool are both closed on Sundays. We had to request a refrigerator for our room and it was provided in a very churlish manner. The morning newspaper was never delivered and on enquiry we were told that is available to frequent visitors---to the chain---only. All-in-all a less than satisfying experience

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Excellent Landmark Mall

Review of Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Carolese
Atlanta, GA
Jul 10, 2007

older hotel needs updating

The Comfort Inn Alexandria is an older hotel which needs updating. The room was a standard room with 2 full-size beds. The carpet appeared older and the room looked very basic. It would be nice to have queen-size beds. We found numerous hairs on the bathroom floor our 1st. night. The shower was nice with a good shower-head. The hotel staff were not friendly. Coming in each night, after sightseeing, we would say, Good evening. Never once did any of the staff look up and acknowledge us and we were there for 5 nights! Neither did the day staff speak. The continental breakfast was very basic except for the fresh waffles you could cook for yourself. The only fruit was apples every day. The staff never interacted or spoke to the many guests eating. The most troublesome aspect of the mornings was the staff taking up the food 5 minutes prior to the ending time even with many people still present and eating! There was always food still present, but that did not stop any of the morning staff from QUICKLY ending our breakfast time! They acted like we were a bother to them. Hotel staff would come in and eat, also and converse with each other, but never with the guests. I would not recommend this hotel until it is upgraded. It's in a good location for driving or catching the metro, but staying there was not a fun experience. We did not feel appreciated as guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Old Town Alexandria within about 5-10 minutes. Many restaurants, stores, etc. Great place to eat, shop, and visit.

Review of Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Haltom City
Jun 17, 2008

Apology would be nice

I love to stay at Comfort Inn. They are usually very friendly and the breakfast options are wonderful. However...this particular stay was something to call home about. When I arrived...there were poorly supervised teens running amuck. The one employee working behind the desk was not just a little bit frazzled. The key I was given did not work. When I came back, he fixed my key to fit room 215 (which is the room number written down on the key folder). As I returned with my luggage to room 215 and entered...I was surprised to see that I had awakened the person sleeping in that room. I returned to the front desk...luggage in tow to explain my new problem to the front desk clerk. Without an apology, he explained his frustration at the employee that had made the mistake and written 215 on the folder instead of 512, which is what the computer listed as my reserved room. I was too tired to argue, but I would appreciate an apology at the least for the inconvenience I received and I imagine the client I disturbed would deserve an apology as well. In contrast, the employee that works the front desk every morning I've been there is very professional and kind.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top

Change search