$75 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 24, 2014

Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria

2 stars
5716 S. Van Dorn St., Alexandria, VA 22310
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
52 reviews
Outstanding Stay

The Hotel and staff was really great. I came in late around 2:30 a. m. and they still kept my room.... See full review

  • john wanamaker
  • Nov 13, 2013
A pleasant stay while visiting family.

The room we had was on the eighth floor overlooking the front of the hotel and South Van Dorn... See full review

  • Meldavey
  • Dec 1, 2014
Visit our newly remodeled hotel now featuring FREE wireless high speed internet. FREE deluxe continental breakfast. Complimentary shuttle to Van Dorn Street Metro Station. Fitness room, business center and gift shop on property. Business Suites and Whirlpool Suites are available. Free local calls. Wireless internet service available in the meeting room. So take advantage of the comforts of home while away from home! Optional safe charge of 1.50 USD plus tax per night. Pet accommodations: 25.00 USD per day per pet includes gift bag for pet. Pet limit: max 2 pets per room, up to 30 pounds per pet.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Brailled elevators
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
In room movies

Nearby points of interest

  • Torpedo Factory Arts Center: 4.7 mi
  • Athenaeum: 5.2 mi
  • Carlyle House: 5.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (52)

Ratings and reviews for Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
52 out of 52
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.8

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Roswell
Nov 19, 2008

quick and easy

The room was kinda crammed with the large bed and the table, but it wasn't that big of an inconvenience. this hotel wasn't too far away, was kept very clean, and even had free wireless internet and continental breakfast. if i was ever in the alexandria area again, i would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wayne
Sep 23, 2008

Good For The Business Traveler

The Comfort Inn was ideal for the business traveler. The ammenities were ideal for the traveler who is on the go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The continental breakfast was convenient

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Drums
Sep 19, 2008

Bad location

This is a older hotel that needs a face lift. It is on an extremely busy street with no traffic lights which makes it very difficult to get into and out of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

There is a nice strip mall about 9 blocks from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Midland, MI
Jul 22, 2008

Problem Hotel

The first problem encountered was access. This property is located on a very busy road with difficult access and even more difficult egress---hidden fast traffic approach. The check in staff were fine but the restaurant and the pool are both closed on Sundays. We had to request a refrigerator for our room and it was provided in a very churlish manner. The morning newspaper was never delivered and on enquiry we were told that is available to frequent visitors---to the chain---only. All-in-all a less than satisfying experience

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Excellent Landmark Mall

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ottawa
Jun 26, 2008

family friendly

We stayed in a suite with a king bed and a pull out sofa in a separate room. It was a nice set up especially with two restroom! There was a mini refrigerator, which also was nice. I was rather surprised to see the pool had a lifeguard, which is unusual for hotels. The hotel was at a nice location for us to visit some family in Alexandria. The hotel said there was free shuttle to the Metro, but we didn't use that because the family we knew showed us around. Great Stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The breakfast the hotel had available was nice. There was muffins, bagels, and the waffles that you can make yourself.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Haltom City
Jun 17, 2008

Apology would be nice

I love to stay at Comfort Inn. They are usually very friendly and the breakfast options are wonderful. However...this particular stay was something to call home about. When I arrived...there were poorly supervised teens running amuck. The one employee working behind the desk was not just a little bit frazzled. The key I was given did not work. When I came back, he fixed my key to fit room 215 (which is the room number written down on the key folder). As I returned with my luggage to room 215 and entered...I was surprised to see that I had awakened the person sleeping in that room. I returned to the front desk...luggage in tow to explain my new problem to the front desk clerk. Without an apology, he explained his frustration at the employee that had made the mistake and written 215 on the folder instead of 512, which is what the computer listed as my reserved room. I was too tired to argue, but I would appreciate an apology at the least for the inconvenience I received and I imagine the client I disturbed would deserve an apology as well. In contrast, the employee that works the front desk every morning I've been there is very professional and kind.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
May 27, 2008

Good, Comfortable Hotel for a affordable price

Comfort Inn was very comfortable room, the room has a king size bed and a nice bath. It has its own place to hang my clothes and other stuff. It was dependable to have a shuttle that picks me up and drops me off at the train station whenever I want to go to downtown. It has its own gym, store, and a pool which is a plus. However, the location is not as convenient as the other hotels I have been to. You may need to ask the shuttle to drop you off at the station and then you can go wherever you want to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Hotel has nice choices for free breakfast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jan 27, 2008

quiet clean comfortable

The Comfort Inn in Alexandria Virginia is conveniently located near the bowling center and we were there for a bowling tournament. We had a little difficulty locating the hotel and unfortunately, while the clerk led us in the right direction, he was a bit unfamiliar with the roads closest to the hotel. We were told that the property was across the street from Landmark Mall and it's not. My only disappointments was that the heat was not on in our room (which in January meant it took over an hour for the room to warm up). We also weren't really impressed with the pillows; they were a little too soft for our taste. However, the room was very clean, the bed was very comfortable. I would stay there again overall and for a longer stay without question.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 26, 2007

Unpleasant experience

We were assigned to Rm 619 and 609. The plate for the room number 609 was missing and the room number was written by hand in ink. This should have been a warning sign of a potential problem. Indeed, room 609 had a very strong urine odor while the room 619 was fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

excellent hotel continental breakfast

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 27, 2007

good

i ws happy with my room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top