$103 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 28, 2014 Check-out: Sep 29, 2014

BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn

3 stars
1101 N Washington Street, Alexandria, VA 22314-5352
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
36 reviews
Good Hotel Expirence

Went on a work trip and the room was quiet and clean. It was also 95 outside but the A/C really... See full review

  • BPosey
  • Jul 22, 2013
Good location Friendly staff

Rooms were on the smaller side but very comfortable.Had great pillows. Location great . Free... See full review

  • Maumee OH
  • Jun 29, 2013
Welcome to BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn! Guests at this select-service Alexandria hotel enjoy convenient access to local and Washington DC attractions, such as the Cherry Blossom Festival. When staying near Washington DC and Old Town Alexandria, the best of the region is at your doorstep from the famous King Street in Alexandria to the monuments in DC. Here, guests enjoy unsurpassed customer service and quality accommodations, as well as being about ten minutes away from the metro. A service shuttle to the metro and Ronald Reagan Airport, as well as King Street, makes travel easy. Located minutes away from the nations capital in Northern Virginia, our Alexandria hotel features 49 non-smoking guest rooms. Visit the old town area for a rich cultural treat, or head to the Capital Childrens Museum for a family-friendly attraction. The National Zoological Park or Six Flags® America offers an exciting getaway. Located less than ten miles from major universities like Georgetown University and Howard University, we specialize in group travel. Whether guests are here for an event at George Washington University or to tour the Potomac River Waterfront area, access is easy. Begin each morning with a complimentary hot breakfast before sightseeing or indulging in a workout in the state of the art fitness room. The many museums are a must-see, and Mount Vernon cant be missed. History buffs revel in the DC sights from Arlington Cemetery to the Vietnam Memorial. Schedule a tour of the Capital Building or simply relax in your spacious room. This Alexandria hotel features a boutique experience in Colonial style with free parking, free high speed Internet and cable satellite television. Our friendly staff can help you with anything you need and promises a memorable stay full of great memories and experiences. Book your DC stay at BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn where location is everything!

Hotel Map

38.8195 -77.0441
Area served
Baltimore,, Arlington, Washington,
Nearby airports
(DCA), 4.00, MI, N;
Area description
Airport

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5

BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn Rooms

2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,NSMK,HI SPEED,COFMKR,32LCD W DVD PLAYER,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,HI SPEED,COFMKR,32LCD W DVD PLAYER,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACC,COMMASSIST,BATHTUB,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,MOBILITY ACC,COMMASSIST,BATHTUB,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Audio visual equipment
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Room
DVD player
Television with cable
Radio
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Electronic door locks
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Carlyle House: 1 mi
  • Athenaeum: 1.1 mi
  • Torpedo Factory Arts Center: 1.4 mi

Dining

The Warehouse bar & grill
1 mile(s) from The Warehouse bar & grill, Full Service, Steak House, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Chart House Restaurant
1 mile(s) from Chart House Restaurant, Bar/Lounge, American, Open for: lunch, dinner,

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (36)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
36 out of 36
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.1

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chciago, IL
Nov 4, 2010

Best Western Old Colony Inn

No Heat, Staff walked in my room unanounced, Room was cleaned on day of checkout before checkout time and they threw away my tooth brush.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Waterfront

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
LEVANT
California, MD
Jan 28, 2013

Wifi was broken

Old hotel. No elevator. Wifi was broken. It was a Saturday night. I could not use my laptop at all. I had to go back out again to rent a DVD from a redbox location. It was not cool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Business Traveler Expert
Business
San Antonio, Texas
Jun 20, 2013

Updated Review

Readers beware! This hotel has changed hands and any review prior to May 2013 should be disregarded. The price is now way too high - compare for yourself, the famed snack room is gone, the hotel is old and run down, there is no elevator, and the price has increased 100 percent in recent months with no improvements.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
printerman
Business
Concord, Virginia
Jun 24, 2013

Good location. Helpful staff.

I stay here when I'm working in the D.C. area and it's a convenient location. The rate is usually less than downtown D.C. and is away from the worst of the traffic and yet close enough to commute around. The staff are friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Travel Brother
Michigan
Jun 27, 2012

DC Trip

It's a rather unique hotel. The snack room was a bonus and treat. The water and juices were especially helpful in the DC heat. The shuttle service to and from the subway station was very reliable and timely. It was nice to just park the car. Of the three hotels we stayed at on our trip, the Old Colony's was by far, the best breakfast. The staff did a fine job of keeping up with the food and drink supply. The front desk staff was very warm and helpful. As previous reviewers have noted, the hallway and stair carpets need cleaning ( or replacing if they can't be cleaned).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are a couple of restaurants nearby including two Italian. The one recommended by the staff was very good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LarDog
Huntington Beach, CA
Oct 9, 2011

Location

Great location with D.C. within easy access via shuttle and Metro. Very good breakfast is included in room price. Wonderful, unexpected amenity of free snacks and beverages. Staff is very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Villa Di Este is an awesome Italian restaurant. 818 N. St.Asasph St.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
jackson, ms
Mar 31, 2011

Good value, Friendly staff

Pretty good room for the price, clean, good location and super nice staff. The free shuttle and snack kitchen were very convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Jul 20, 2011

Mixed Emotions

Our trip was primarily to visit a college and see the sights in Washington, DC. After our 10 hour drive to Alexandria we looked forward to watching a movie on the advertised DVD player in the room. The player did not work. After calling the front desk a staff member was there to check it fairly quickly. Unfortunately he could not fix the DVD player. I had to suggest to him that he could take one from an unoccupied room which he did. That one worked, but there was no remote control. Very disappointing to not be able to watch a movie with my family after a long day of walking in DC. On the up side, the staff was very friendly and accommodating. The driver of the complementary shuttle driver was great! He was personable and talkative. He asked about our stay and what we would be seeing. The breakfast was good and the complimentary snack room was wonderful. They had chips, candy, cookies, coffee, soda and even Ooddles of Noodles, and microwave popcorn. The drinks could have been stocked better. There is never enough diet soda. The snacks are on an "honor" system and we did enjoy it, but I fear my family took advantage when I wasn't looking. We have not traveled using a hotel in quite a while and chose this one due to its price. Overall, I worked for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Royal Restaurant! It got high ratings on a phone app and we were not disappointed. Everything we ate there was excellent including the dessert. They have a really great rice pudding. We went 2 nights in a row. It was nice to know that we would get a good meal at the end of a long day of sight seeing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ms. Maack
Missouri
Jul 14, 2011

Short DC Trip

Went to DC. Nothing was missing the room could've been a little more up to date. A great thing about this hotel was the fact that you are provided with a great hot breakfast and a 24 hour snack bar loaded with pop, water, juice, coffee,milk, cereal bars, noodles, chips, candy, yogurt, etc. This is a full mini kitchen up on the 2nd floor with a microwave and it is super nice! We stayed in Virginia Beach and paid $222 a night and all we received from them was a breakfast so this hotel in Alexandria is definitely a place to stay if you are wanting to see DC. P.S. they also shuttle you to the metro or anywhere within 3 miles of your hotel for free!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
J. F. Twist
Northern Virginia
May 4, 2013

Decent value for discounted price; good location

Bottom line: this hotel provided a decent, average value (by D.C. area standards) for its discounted price but would be questionable at a higher rate. Location is fairly convenient to both Washington National/Reagan airport, Old Town Alexandria (about 1.5 mi.), and downtown D.C., at a significantly lower cost than those areas. Like many facilities in these mid-range chains, this motel is showing its age. The reception area is small and budget-chain bland. (Nothing like the pictures!) But there was new carpeting throughout, and the room was very clean and neat. (Exception: doesn’t anyone ever clean the edges of the carpet next to the wall, where the vacuum cleaner’s carpet sweeper doesn’t reach?) On the other hand, the room was surprisingly plain and, like most hotels in this price range, dimly lit with very cheap lamps. (BTW, the lamps had all been switched off, so the wall switch just inside the door didn’t turn any of them on.) Decent flat-screen TV with a separate DVD player. Adequate breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search