$52 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 19, 2015 Check-out: Sep 21, 2015

Royal Garden Inn

2 stars
View map of 154 West 600 South, Salt Lake City, UT 84101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Royal Garden Inn

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
292 out of 292
Amenities:
2.7
Cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
2.9
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.3

60% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Garden Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
i love poke
Business
honolulu, hawaii
Sep 24, 2014

Well worth the money

The room we stayed in was very clean, spacious, and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Garden Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
luv2trvl8
Family
Washington
Sep 22, 2014

Not very clean

There were stains on the furniture, cheerios on the carpet and smears on the walls as well as a whole lot of fruit flies in our room. The pool was closed even though it was still in the 90's during the day and the "free breakfast" was all carbs and not even any fruit. We were there for 6 nights and every other night we would get back late and our keys would not work, so we would have to trek to the office for new keys. It was convenient to downtown and inexpensive, but I would not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Royal Garden Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NanHu
Couples
State College
Sep 19, 2014

Great Location in SLC!

Only a mile away from the Temple Square, and the room rate is less than $60. Breakfast was great as well :) Only thing needs to be mentioned is that there were some bugs on the wall near the door. In general, it's OK for 1-night stay with limited budget.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Royal Garden Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
KDeLano
Family
Detroit, Michigan
Sep 17, 2014

Awful. just awful. If I could give a I would.

Our FIRST room was disgusting. There was mold everywhere, the bathroom sink was fall apart. The carpet was stained beyond any amount I've ever seen. There was knife cuts in the chair. The door had been kicked in before and did not lock. The air conditioning did not work either. There was some questionable substance smeared all over one of the walls. As soon as we walked in my husband went to the front desk to either get a refund or a new room. They did not seem to care or apologize at all for any of the problems in the room. We were switched to a new room. Which seemed to have been updated. But yet not as clean as a hotel room should be for a new family to stay in. I will never stay here again and do not recommend it to anyone! Also! In the bathroom in the banquet room where the breakfast is there was blood all over the bathroom stalls. So disturbing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Royal Garden Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jamesgr
Couples
St George, Utah
Sep 17, 2014

Bed Bugs

I have stayed here 3 other times before with no problems. This time I got 52 bed bug bites! When I nicely went to the manager and showed him the bites he immediately got defensive and said, "Just so you know, we did not bring the bugs, they come from others." He showed no remorse for what happened. I begrudgingly gave me a refund. Also the heater did not work and it was cold at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Royal Garden Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Melissa0701
Family
Salt Lake City
Sep 12, 2014

Exactly what we expected

This hotel was inexpensive but nice enough. It could stand to be updated but the room was clean and nice. I was impressed with the breakfast, it was more than I expected. Would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Royal Garden Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ardent
Friends
Rialto, CA
Sep 9, 2014

Not fancy but its best price

Understand is not the best hotel to look at but service was fast and the price is good. Only bug downside was the WiFi didn't work properly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Royal Garden Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
T Joe
Business
Salt Lake City Ut
Sep 5, 2014

???

The room was clean but the outside walkway was not. The bathroom had experienced a water leak and the room smelled musty. We could see where they had worked on the plumbing and not yet restored the wall and wallpaper. The remote for the tv was missing and was replaced by maintenance. He also sprayed Frebreeze in the room when we told him about the smell. Did not partake in the breakfast as we had to be at the hospital at 6 a.m.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Garden Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
royal b
Couples
slc, utah
Sep 5, 2014

a stay away from home

I love the royal garden never have had any problems until this last time with a misunderstanding.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Royal Garden Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MobileMom
Family
West Hartford, CT
Sep 2, 2014

Explore other options

My kids and I were there during a busy time (outdoor retailers convention). All my other hotel choices were booked and I decided it was more important to choose this convenient location despite reading unfavorable reviews. The AC unit was leaking so the carpet was soaked. I told management but no one came to look or service. Rooms desperately need updating. Kids liked the pool and free breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Eat at The Red Iguana...... Go early to minimize the wait!

Back to menu Return to top