$54 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 24, 2014 Check-out: Jul 26, 2014

Royal Garden Inn

2 stars
154 West 600 South, Salt Lake City, UT 84101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.7
out of 5
287 reviews
family getaway

It was great employees were friendly and courteous and is very easy to book online. See full review

  • courtz1986
  • Apr 28, 2014
good deal

Good Location next to everything next to hwy nice staff great deal will stay again:) See full review

  • bananiz
  • Feb 9, 2014
Our beautiful six-acre garden complex, located in the heart of downtown Salt Lake City, is your stepping stone into all the Salt Lake Valley has to offer. With full service amenities such as 6500 square feet of convention room space for meetings up to 500+ people, one of the largest outdoor pools in the city, fitness center, gift shop, sundry area, free airport shuttle service and free on-site parking,Free Hot Buffet Breakfast, we have something for everyone. We look forward to serving you!

Hotel Map

40.7581 -111.896
Area served
Salt Lake City, UT
Nearby airports
Salt Lake International Airport
Area description
We are within walking distance of the Salt Palace Convention Center, Delta Center (home of the Utah Jazz), Temple Square, Genealogical Library, Utah Symphony, local art galleries, museums, Imax Theater and for major shopping centers; including the amazing new Gateway Plaza complex. We are located within the Trax free fare zone, so you can catch our train that will take you anywhere throughout the downtown Salt Lake area at no-charge.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Royal Garden Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Royal Garden Inn Rooms

Deluxe Room
This deluxe room features one king or two queen beds.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Capitol Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • The Leonardo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Salt Palace Convention Center: 0.7 mi
  • Clark Planetarium: 0.7 mi
  • EnergySolutions Arena: 0.8 mi
  • Energy Solutions Arena: 0.8 mi
  • Abravanel Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Family History Library: 0.8 mi
  • Joseph Smith Memorial Building: 0.9 mi
  • Salt Lake Temple: 0.9 mi
  • Beehive House: 0.9 mi
  • Temple Square: 1 mi
  • LDS Confrence Center: 1 mi
  • Cathedral of the Madeleine: 1.1 mi
  • Pioneer Memorial Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Capitol Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • The Leonardo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Salt Palace Convention Center: 0.7 mi
  • Clark Planetarium: 0.7 mi
  • EnergySolutions Arena: 0.8 mi
  • Energy Solutions Arena: 0.8 mi
  • Abravanel Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Family History Library: 0.8 mi
  • Joseph Smith Memorial Building: 0.9 mi
  • Salt Lake Temple: 0.9 mi
  • Beehive House: 0.9 mi
  • Temple Square: 1 mi
  • LDS Confrence Center: 1 mi
  • Cathedral of the Madeleine: 1.1 mi
  • Pioneer Memorial Museum: 1.3 mi
  • City Creek Canyon: 1.3 mi
  • Capitol Buidling: 1.4 mi
  • Gilgal Gardens: 1.4 mi
  • Governor's Mansion: 1.4 mi
  • Liberty Park: 1.4 mi
  • The Tracy Aviary: 1.5 mi
  • Memory Grove Park: 1.8 mi
  • Rice-Eccles Stadium: 2.5 mi
  • Ensign Peak Park: 2.5 mi
  • Jon M. Huntsman Center: 3 mi
  • Sugarhouse Park: 3.4 mi
  • Red Butte Garden: 3.8 mi
  • Natural History Museum of Utah: 3.8 mi
  • Utah's Hogle Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • Utah Symphony: 6.3 mi
  • Mill Creek Canyon: 7.8 mi
  • Big Cottonwood Canyon: 18.3 mi
  • Solitude Mountain: 18.6 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Our 6,500 square foot Convention Center can handle sit-down dinners and meetings from 15 to 300 guests with ample breakout rooms. We have a wide array of audiovisual options available to our guests and are licensed to serve alcohol for any function. Choose from our pre-set catering menus or create your own. We are happy to work up a price for your creative menu selections. Whether your next event is a business meeting, birthday party, seminar, wedding or reunion, the Royal Garden Inn is the place to be. Call our catering department at 801-325-5308 to ask about options for 15 people or less; meetings available for any size group up to 500.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (287)

Ratings and reviews for Royal Garden Inn

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
287 out of 287
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.1
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.4

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Garden Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Travel on a budget w Fam
Idaho Falls, Idaho
Mar 23, 2014

Trip for Medical Reasons

Hotel needs updated. Free breakfast area needed to be cleaned.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Royal Garden Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mik em220
salt lake city, ut
Mar 22, 2014

great short stay hotel

Stayed here one night in the remodeled wing. Room was clean, quiet location. I would recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Royal Garden Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Utah Tiffani
Utah
Mar 17, 2014

In Town for Concert

My husband and I were in town for an evening to attend a concert. I booked this hotel because it was cheap and basically I got what I paid for. The hotel is old and the room furnishings are out of date. It smelled like stale cigarette smoke even though it was a non-smoking room. The door had kind of a gap in it and opened into the parking lot, so I didn't feel super secure, but we didn't have any problems. I probably wouldn't stay here again, but for a place to sleep after a late night at a concert, it was fine. The front desk staff was friendly and the place was quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I recommend dining at Squatters if you're in SLC. It's a short walk from this hotel and they have great food!

Review of Royal Garden Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
averydisgruntledtraveler
Business
Dublin, PA
Mar 10, 2014

Not the cleanest..

The first night my room was unclean, so for the second night I was able to switch to a different room. Unfortunately this one was not any cleaner, so I decided to switch to a different hotel for the remainder of my stay. Due to the cleanliness issue I would not recommend this hotel. The staff at the hotel was great though. They were very accommodating, and gave me a full refund with no cancellation fees.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Garden Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Qingdaoi
Northern Utah
Mar 4, 2014

One night stay

Room clean and quiet... could not get Internet connection... outside is VERY dirty including VERY wornout outdoor carpet... AWFUL... Breakfast very lacking...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Always exercise...

Review of Royal Garden Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Roy Hobbs
Business
Salt Lake City, Utah
Mar 1, 2014

Horrible Visit

I requested non-smoking, but it was completely apparent that there had been smoking by the overwhelming smell. A ceiling tile was hanging near the wash basin exposing the inside of the ceiling. The T.V. did not work, although I called the front desk and they did replace, however there were more channels of the same infomercial than channels with real shows. I put in a wake up call and did not get one. When I called the front desk, after waking up late, to see why I did not get one, I was told: "well, you're awake now!" Terrible place and would not recommend. Stayed there a year ago and had a pleasant experience. Now, I will never go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Garden Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
John who has no nickname
Business
Ohio
Feb 18, 2014

Cheap Hotel

This hotel is fine for a budget. Everything about it is a little bit funky. The tv is an antique, and the wifi could easily be rivaled by most dial-up connections, however the hotel is about as cheap as possible for a bed and roof over your head. As of now there was nothing really wrong with the hotel, but in general, everything will need an update soon or risk falling apart.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Garden Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
wow traveller
utah
Feb 18, 2014

Gd and cheap rest point

Fantastic and spacious. The room is gd and clean and toilet is gd

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Royal Garden Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bananiz
florida
Feb 16, 2014

great deal

Good Value next to hey Close To food Free muffin And milk good price for tThe money can't complain

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dennys wendys McDonald

Review of Royal Garden Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Batgirl89
Sandy, Utah
Feb 16, 2014

Stay-castion

This hotel looked nice on the outside, but when we got to the room it smelled really bad of stale smoke and there was no way to air the room out. There was water damage in the bathroom area and when you get ice you have to walk down a covered hallway outside which didn't feel safe. The breakfast in the morning didn't taste very great. Overall it was an unsatisfactory stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Area 51 is a short distance from this hotel, they make great drinks and its a great bar.

Back to menu Return to top