$75 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 16, 2014 Check-out: Nov 17, 2014

Plaza Hotel at Temple Square

3 stars
122 West South Temple, Salt Lake City, UT 84101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
151 reviews
Verry good hotel

Clean room, friendly and helpfull staff, great situation next to the temple and city centre. See full review

  • Doan59
  • Aug 31, 2014
Enjoyable Vacation

The location was central to all the downtown activities; very convenient. Having the restaurant on... See full review

  • Spooley
  • Jul 29, 2014
The full-service Plaza Hotel is a 13 story high rise decorated with provincial cherry wood furnishings and offers Salt Lake City's Dream downtown location-directly across the street from historic Temple Square, Salt Palace Convention Center and Symphony Hall (Abravenal Hall). We are next door to the world's largest Genealogy Library where you can research your roots for free and adjacent to Salt Lake's 3 largest malls. Our hotel amenities include complimentary airport shuttle service (a $30 value!), outdoor pool, indoor Jacuzzi, covered parking, unique western theme gift shop, exercise room, conference rooms to accommodate up to 300, and JB's Restaurant offering room service. You will enjoy the luxury of our oversized, beautiful appointed guestrooms, which include, in-room pay-per-view movies, Nintendo, computer data ports, high speed WiFi Internet access, voice mail, coffee makers, hair dryers, safes and beautiful views. This property is smoke-free.

Hotel Map

40.7697 -111.8947
Area served
Salt Lake City, UT
Nearby airports
Salt Lake International Airport
Area description
Salt Lake's Dream location in the city center and across from Temple Square

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Plaza Hotel at Temple Square also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Plaza Hotel at Temple Square Rooms

Deluxe Doubles or King
Experience remodeled, large, comfortable room with two queen size Simmons Beauty Rest pillow top mattresses or a King bed with a sofa bed. Room has complimentary Wi-Fi, two tables, ergonomic business chair, easy chair, mini-fridge, microwave, TV with cable, safe, in room coffee, hair dryer, and iron & ironing board.
Standard Room
Guest room with one queen bed
Standard Room
Guest room with two queen beds

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Abravanel Hall: 0 mi
  • Family History Library: 0 mi
  • Salt Palace Convention Center: 0.1 mi
  • Salt Lake Temple: 0.2 mi
  • Joseph Smith Memorial Building: 0.2 mi
  • LDS Confrence Center: 0.2 mi
  • Temple Square: 0.3 mi
  • Beehive House: 0.3 mi
  • EnergySolutions Arena: 0.3 mi
  • Energy Solutions Arena: 0.4 mi
  • Clark Planetarium: 0.5 mi
  • Capitol Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Pioneer Memorial Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Capitol Buidling: 0.6 mi
  • City Creek Canyon: 0.7 mi
  • Abravanel Hall: 0 mi
  • Family History Library: 0 mi
  • Salt Palace Convention Center: 0.1 mi
  • Salt Lake Temple: 0.2 mi
  • Joseph Smith Memorial Building: 0.2 mi
  • LDS Confrence Center: 0.2 mi
  • Temple Square: 0.3 mi
  • Beehive House: 0.3 mi
  • EnergySolutions Arena: 0.3 mi
  • Energy Solutions Arena: 0.4 mi
  • Clark Planetarium: 0.5 mi
  • Capitol Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Pioneer Memorial Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Capitol Buidling: 0.6 mi
  • City Creek Canyon: 0.7 mi
  • Cathedral of the Madeleine: 0.7 mi
  • The Leonardo Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Governor's Mansion: 1.1 mi
  • Memory Grove Park: 1.1 mi
  • Gilgal Gardens: 1.5 mi
  • Ensign Peak Park: 1.7 mi
  • Liberty Park: 2 mi
  • The Tracy Aviary: 2.1 mi
  • Rice-Eccles Stadium: 2.5 mi
  • Jon M. Huntsman Center: 3 mi
  • Red Butte Garden: 3.7 mi
  • Natural History Museum of Utah: 3.8 mi
  • Sugarhouse Park: 4 mi
  • Utah's Hogle Zoo: 4.4 mi
  • Utah Symphony: 7 mi
  • Mill Creek Canyon: 8.3 mi
  • Big Cottonwood Canyon: 18.7 mi
  • Solitude Mountain: 19 mi

Dining

JB's Restaurant
JB's Restaurant offers family style dining and room service

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
conference room can accommodate up to 300

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (151)

Ratings and reviews for Plaza Hotel at Temple Square

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
16 out of 151
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Plaza Hotel at Temple Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kate111
Business
Ann Arbor, MI.
Jun 9, 2014

Very pleased.

The hotel location was excellent for shopping, restaurants, Temple Square and public transportation. The staff was very helpful and friendly and my room was comfortable and clean! I would definitely return to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Hotel at Temple Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Marlins
Business
Salt Lake City, UT, USA
Mar 21, 2014

good location

The room I had was on the 10th floor, and I had a nice view. The bed was comfortable and it was fairly clean. I would rate the Pros, as average. For the Cons: the parking garage has no stairs or elevator. you have to walk down or up depending where you parked. My room smelled like smoke, and I alerted the front desk. They told me someone would be up within the hour to investigate. no one came, I wasn't offered a different room, or anything else. I wouldn't stay here again. it's worth an extra $20 to stay somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Hotel at Temple Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
PimmyTan
Business
Bangkok, Thailand
Jan 3, 2014

Was here for a night

The staff was so nice on the phone when I called for the airport shuttle. I stay alone for a night during new year holiday. And I really like the arrangement of the room, I feel cosy. They have fridge and coffee maker in the room, perfect for the weather! (Some hotels gave me nothing to eat or drink and it was winter!) They also have full-body mirror. And the view was so nice. The heater works very well I didn't feel any cold at any time. But it was just a night so I haven't tried the food around the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Look out through the windows. The view around the hotel is so nice.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Hotel at Temple Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
kaybob
Business
colorado
Nov 24, 2013

Research trip

Excellent location for anyone researching family history - Family History Library right next door. My particular room this time was a little odd - tucked in between two elevator banks. Was actually surprised there wasn't more noise from elevators but did seem to hear everything else including the ice machine right across the hall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Hotel at Temple Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gypsyiam
Business
NC
Nov 13, 2013

Great spot right smack downtown

I picked this place from others reviews. Its not a fancy hotel but accommodated me perfectly. The room was comfortable and clean. I had a wonderful view of the city. Its right across from the temple square and a big nice shopping area. You can walk to many attractions. Parking was just $5 bucks (for 24 hrs) compared to other hotels downtown that was like $19! There is a little diner attached to it you can have meals at. I didn't try that though. I just needed a room for one night. I would recommend it to others. Staff at the desk was helpful and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Hotel at Temple Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vesper22
Business
Saint George, UT
Sep 2, 2013

Great place, great price, great location.

Very fair all the way around. Can see Temple Square, right across the street. Don't expect the lap of luxury. However, all of your needs will be met you will be very happy with the location. Easy, easy to get around downtown. Grid system, N/S/E/W.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The JB's inside the Hotel had a breakfast buffet for $9, it was well kept & good food. Beware as the Large OJ was about $4.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Hotel at Temple Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RichRichRich
Business
Sacramento, CA
Jun 25, 2013

Good place

Room was small, but nice. Overall good place, but the AC was one of those big wall units and was very noisy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Hotel at Temple Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sun Traveler
Business
Mesa, AZ
Apr 17, 2013

Plaza SLC

The Plaza offers great proximity to Temple Square as it is within walking distance. Parking was $5 per day in the garage. Staff were friendly and helpful. Room was clean upon arival. Good value for a downtown location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Temple Square is right across the street. I walked to everything which saved the hassle of finding parking spaces.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Hotel at Temple Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kuns
Business
Kekaha, HI
Oct 9, 2012

Clean, Convenient & Comfortable

Hotel location and cleanliness was superb. Location was important for the reason I came to Salt lake City.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Hotel at Temple Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Stephanie in LA
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jan 19, 2012

Great location, great hotel

Next door to the Family History Library, across the street from Temple Square, the Plaza is the place to stay in Salt Lake City. Very clean with friendly and helpful staff, comfortable beds, a microwave and refrigerator in each room, and free wireless internet (although it is rather slow). I wouldn't stay anywhere else!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The UTA TRAX train stop is across the street from the hotel and is free of charge to destinations in the downtown area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top