$75 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 29, 2014 Check-out: Nov 30, 2014

Plaza Hotel at Temple Square

3 stars
122 West South Temple, Salt Lake City, UT 84101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
151 reviews
Verry good hotel

Clean room, friendly and helpfull staff, great situation next to the temple and city centre. See full review

  • Doan59
  • Aug 31, 2014
Enjoyable Vacation

The location was central to all the downtown activities; very convenient. Having the restaurant on... See full review

  • Spooley
  • Jul 29, 2014
The full-service Plaza Hotel is a 13 story high rise decorated with provincial cherry wood furnishings and offers Salt Lake City's Dream downtown location-directly across the street from historic Temple Square, Salt Palace Convention Center and Symphony Hall (Abravenal Hall). We are next door to the world's largest Genealogy Library where you can research your roots for free and adjacent to Salt Lake's 3 largest malls. Our hotel amenities include complimentary airport shuttle service (a $30 value!), outdoor pool, indoor Jacuzzi, covered parking, unique western theme gift shop, exercise room, conference rooms to accommodate up to 300, and JB's Restaurant offering room service. You will enjoy the luxury of our oversized, beautiful appointed guestrooms, which include, in-room pay-per-view movies, Nintendo, computer data ports, high speed WiFi Internet access, voice mail, coffee makers, hair dryers, safes and beautiful views. This property is smoke-free.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Plaza Hotel at Temple Square also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Plaza Hotel at Temple Square Rooms

Deluxe Doubles or King
Experience remodeled, large, comfortable room with two queen size Simmons Beauty Rest pillow top mattresses or a King bed with a sofa bed. Room has complimentary Wi-Fi, two tables, ergonomic business chair, easy chair, mini-fridge, microwave, TV with cable, safe, in room coffee, hair dryer, and iron & ironing board.
Standard Room
Guest room with one queen bed
Standard Room
Guest room with two queen beds

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Abravanel Hall: 0 mi
  • Family History Library: 0 mi
  • Salt Palace Convention Center: 0.1 mi
  • Salt Lake Temple: 0.2 mi
  • Joseph Smith Memorial Building: 0.2 mi
  • LDS Confrence Center: 0.2 mi
  • Temple Square: 0.3 mi
  • Beehive House: 0.3 mi
  • EnergySolutions Arena: 0.3 mi
  • Energy Solutions Arena: 0.4 mi
  • Clark Planetarium: 0.5 mi
  • Capitol Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Pioneer Memorial Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Capitol Buidling: 0.6 mi
  • City Creek Canyon: 0.7 mi
  • Abravanel Hall: 0 mi
  • Family History Library: 0 mi
  • Salt Palace Convention Center: 0.1 mi
  • Salt Lake Temple: 0.2 mi
  • Joseph Smith Memorial Building: 0.2 mi
  • LDS Confrence Center: 0.2 mi
  • Temple Square: 0.3 mi
  • Beehive House: 0.3 mi
  • EnergySolutions Arena: 0.3 mi
  • Energy Solutions Arena: 0.4 mi
  • Clark Planetarium: 0.5 mi
  • Capitol Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Pioneer Memorial Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Capitol Buidling: 0.6 mi
  • City Creek Canyon: 0.7 mi
  • Cathedral of the Madeleine: 0.7 mi
  • The Leonardo Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Governor's Mansion: 1.1 mi
  • Memory Grove Park: 1.1 mi
  • Gilgal Gardens: 1.5 mi
  • Ensign Peak Park: 1.7 mi
  • Liberty Park: 2 mi
  • The Tracy Aviary: 2.1 mi
  • Rice-Eccles Stadium: 2.5 mi
  • Jon M. Huntsman Center: 3 mi
  • Red Butte Garden: 3.7 mi
  • Natural History Museum of Utah: 3.8 mi
  • Sugarhouse Park: 4 mi
  • Utah's Hogle Zoo: 4.4 mi
  • Utah Symphony: 7 mi
  • Mill Creek Canyon: 8.3 mi
  • Big Cottonwood Canyon: 18.7 mi
  • Solitude Mountain: 19 mi

Dining

JB's Restaurant
JB's Restaurant offers family style dining and room service

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
conference room can accommodate up to 300

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (151)

Ratings and reviews for Plaza Hotel at Temple Square

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
12 out of 151
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.8
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.5

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Plaza Hotel at Temple Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shiglet
Business
Idaho
Jul 9, 2013

Great hotel, okay service

I stayed here over the Independence Day holiday and I loved the location (right across from Temple Square!) and room and quality of the hotel! My only real complaint is that housekeeping started knocking on the door at 8:15 in the morning. Knowing that I'd be up and gone around 9, I didn't think to put out the "Do Not Disturb" sign, but apparently I was wrong. I felt they were almost trying to push me out so they could make it home for the holiday...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

City Creek Shopping Center is just on the other side of Temple Square- it's the best shopping in Salt Lake!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Hotel at Temple Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vero the traveler
Business
Southern California
May 29, 2013

Fantastic Hotel

Great location in downtown Salt Lake City. Walking distance to local attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Hotel at Temple Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MissLiss99
Business
Utah
May 26, 2013

Plaza Temple Square

The staff who checked us in was only okay. The guy at the desk acted like I was an idiot when I had a question about parking which I didn't appreciate. The bathroom shower was not very clean, but the beds were very comfortable. Great location near the mall, Temple Square, and restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Garden on the 10th floor of the Joseph Smith building was excellent! Try the fettuccine!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Hotel at Temple Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
tomorjerry
Business
muncie,in
Feb 16, 2013

Good!

Walking distance to downtown. Enjoyed the pool in a hot summer!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Hotel at Temple Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
tomorjerry
Business
muncie,in
Aug 7, 2011

good

good location. at reasonable price. i like viewing the Temple Square from the swimming pool inside it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

not a long distance walk. two malls from the hotel, just a few minutes walking

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Hotel at Temple Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brigham City, Utah
May 30, 2011

nice

o.k.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Hotel at Temple Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
strack2001
Business
Wisconsin
Mar 25, 2011

everything we needed

Older, clean hotel in close proximity to the arena where we saw a concert, next door to the Mormon temple grounds and family search library, and within walking distance of a nice bar/brewery. We very much enjoyed the attached restaurant and their prices. Our room had a great mountain view, and the free wifi was much appreciated. The staff was friendly and informative, and the airport shuttle was great!! Salt Lake City is great, and we wouldn't hesitate to stay at the Plaza again!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are interested in a show at Energy Solutions arena, this is a great place to stay! We walked about 15 min, and didn't have to be concerned about parking, traffic, or our safety.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Hotel at Temple Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hoodsport.Wa.
Nov 22, 2010

GREAT Weeks trip

Everything was great, The people, the service, it was clean and the food in the rest. was good and priced right. Had a great week

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Hotel at Temple Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Three Midwesterners
Business
Chicago, IL
May 5, 2010

Excellent Location, Comfy Room

Within walking distance to lots of things so we utilized the complimentary shuttle and returned are rental car to the airport a day early. Room was very clean, well set-up, with comfy beds and linens. There is some construction/upgrading going on at the hotel but it was not bothersome at all. Nice lobby including a TV room and computer stations. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Hotel at Temple Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Clan's Mom
Business
Salt Lake City, Utah
Aug 13, 2009

The Hotel Plaza

The Hotel was great but we noticed that the room service dishes stayed out in the hallway all day both days we were there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Temple Square

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top