$89 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jun 8, 2015 Check-out: Jun 9, 2015

Plaza Hotel at Temple Square

3 stars
View map of 122 West South Temple, Salt Lake City, UT 84101

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
173 reviews
Plaza SLC

Staff was very friendly, free airport shuttle is so convenient and arrives fairly quickly once the... See full review

  • tripleM
  • Mar 22, 2015
Good business trip

Good hotel. Great location. Room at a good size. I recommend to vacation also. Near great tourist... See full review

  • Carlos M.
  • Feb 9, 2015
The full-service Plaza Hotel is a 13 story high rise decorated with provincial cherry wood furnishings and offers Salt Lake City's Dream downtown location-directly across the street from historic Temple Square, Salt Palace Convention Center and Symphony Hall (Abravenal Hall). We are next door to the world's largest Genealogy Library where you can research your roots for free and adjacent to Salt Lake's 3 largest malls. Our hotel amenities include complimentary airport shuttle service (a $30 value!)from 6:30 am from the hotel till 11:00 pm from the airport, outdoor pool, indoor Jacuzzi, covered parking, unique western theme gift shop, exercise room, conference rooms to accommodate up to 300, and JB's Restaurant offering room service. You will enjoy the luxury of our oversized, beautiful appointed guestrooms, which include, in-room pay-per-view movies, Nintendo, computer data ports, high speed WiFi Internet access, voice mail, coffee makers, hair dryers, safes and beautiful views. This property is smoke-free.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Plaza Hotel at Temple Square also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Plaza Hotel at Temple Square Rooms

Deluxe Doubles or King
Experience remodeled, large, comfortable room with two queen size Simmons Beauty Rest pillow top mattresses or a King bed with a sofa bed. Room has complimentary Wi-Fi, two tables, ergonomic business chair, easy chair, mini-fridge, microwave, TV with cable, safe, in room coffee, hair dryer, and iron & ironing board.
Standard Room
Guest room with one queen bed
Standard Room
Guest room with two queen beds

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Abravanel Hall: 0 mi
  • Family History Library: 0 mi
  • Salt Palace Convention Center: 0.1 mi
  • Salt Lake Temple: 0.2 mi
  • Joseph Smith Memorial Building: 0.2 mi
  • LDS Confrence Center: 0.2 mi
  • Temple Square: 0.3 mi
  • Beehive House: 0.3 mi
  • EnergySolutions Arena: 0.3 mi
  • Energy Solutions Arena: 0.4 mi
  • Clark Planetarium: 0.5 mi
  • Capitol Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Pioneer Memorial Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Capitol Buidling: 0.6 mi
  • City Creek Canyon: 0.7 mi
  • Abravanel Hall: 0 mi
  • Family History Library: 0 mi
  • Salt Palace Convention Center: 0.1 mi
  • Salt Lake Temple: 0.2 mi
  • Joseph Smith Memorial Building: 0.2 mi
  • LDS Confrence Center: 0.2 mi
  • Temple Square: 0.3 mi
  • Beehive House: 0.3 mi
  • EnergySolutions Arena: 0.3 mi
  • Energy Solutions Arena: 0.4 mi
  • Clark Planetarium: 0.5 mi
  • Capitol Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Pioneer Memorial Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Capitol Buidling: 0.6 mi
  • City Creek Canyon: 0.7 mi
  • Cathedral of the Madeleine: 0.7 mi
  • The Leonardo Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Governor's Mansion: 1.1 mi
  • Memory Grove Park: 1.1 mi
  • Gilgal Gardens: 1.5 mi
  • Ensign Peak Park: 1.7 mi
  • Liberty Park: 2 mi
  • The Tracy Aviary: 2.1 mi
  • Rice-Eccles Stadium: 2.5 mi
  • Jon M. Huntsman Center: 3 mi
  • Red Butte Garden: 3.7 mi
  • Natural History Museum of Utah: 3.8 mi
  • Sugarhouse Park: 4 mi
  • Utah's Hogle Zoo: 4.4 mi
  • Utah Symphony: 7 mi
  • Mill Creek Canyon: 8.3 mi
  • Big Cottonwood Canyon: 18.7 mi
  • Solitude Mountain: 19 mi

Dining

JB's Restaurant
JB's Restaurant offers family style dining and room service

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
conference room can accommodate up to 300

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Plaza Hotel at Temple Square

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
48 out of 173
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Plaza Hotel at Temple Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Gabriela F.
Business
Williamsburg
Apr 6, 2015

Not bad for the price

I got a good deal for staying here. The hotel is a bit dated but otherwise was sufficient for my needs. The hotel is convenient to the shops and dining on main street as well as Temple Square. Once I parked in their garage I didn't need the car again until I checked out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Plaza Hotel at Temple Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
tripleM
Business
N/A
Mar 22, 2015

Plaza SLC

Staff was very friendly, free airport shuttle is so convenient and arrives fairly quickly once the front desk is notified. Excellent location if you are exploring downtown SLC. Clean and cozy rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Plaza Hotel at Temple Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Carlos M.
Business
N/A
Feb 9, 2015

Good business trip

Good hotel. Great location. Room at a good size. I recommend to vacation also. Near great tourist points. Recommend buy food on market. In hotel can be really expensive. They cannot sell alcoholic beverages because of the mormon church. So you have to buy on market and drink in your room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Plaza Hotel at Temple Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Comic Con Patron 1233
Business
Provo
Sep 9, 2014

Not for the price...

Went for Comic Con. Prices where comparable to good hotels ,like the Marriott and such, so we figured it would be of similar quality; wrong. Pros: Close to the convention center. Cheap 24-hour parking. Amazing German Bakery 5 blocks SW. Cons: Price. Rock like beds. Bathtub permanently drains. Issues with AC (easy fix.. but no one likes walking into a 80 degree room) Location (right next to tram station, yes it runs long into the night) Fridge made noises.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Get reservations in advance for anything at the Joseph Smith Memorial Building. All good.

Review of Plaza Hotel at Temple Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Doan59
Business
St-Nicolas, Quebec
Aug 31, 2014

Verry good hotel

Clean room, friendly and helpfull staff, great situation next to the temple and city centre.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Plaza Hotel at Temple Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chanev
Business
Park City, UT
Jul 3, 2014

The best location in Salt Lake

The hotel is not luxorious or something but the location is excellent - right next to temple square and city creek and also the genealogic library. Rooms are clean, didn't have the chance to try the jaccuzi and the pool but the water was cristal clear. Again, not luxorious, but perfectly fine for the price you pay. The staff is also friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Plaza Hotel at Temple Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
biz trip traveler
Business
Golden, CO
Mar 18, 2014

Close to downtown.

Average hotel for price. Convenient location, but everything else average.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Plaza Hotel at Temple Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pivata
Business
Solitude Utah
Jan 23, 2014

Great overnight hotel

Next to shopping, tram at front door, great shuttle service, excellent value for money

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

City creek Centre

Review of Plaza Hotel at Temple Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
a hobby farmer's wife
Business
Wyoming
Jan 2, 2014

Fantastic New Year's Eve

My husband and I spent New Year's Eve in Salt Lake and stayed at the Plaza Hotel. Everything was perfect. The attendant at the front desk gave us the perfect room to watch the firework celebration!! We were wihtin walking distance of everything that was going on downtown for New Yea's, we didn't have to deal with parking or with traffic. It was wonderful!! I hope that we can make this a yearly tradition.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Plaza Hotel at Temple Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
2browneyes
Business
California
Oct 14, 2013

Great Location for Temple Square

IF you want to visit Temple Square this hotel is right across the street. I was disappointed that my hotel room smelled of Cigarette smoke, when I took a shower it got worse. I had to shut the bathroom door it smelled so bad. I don't know if its an older hotel that has old smells or someone smoked in it before we got there. If it wasn't so late we would have asked to switch rooms. The staff was very friendly when we told them and thanked us for letting them know. The manager even gave us a jump to our car when our battery was dead. The bed was very comfortable but I think it needs to be renovated a little bit more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Temple Square and City Creek Mall are all in a short walking distance. Plus, the Metro is right across the street.

Back to menu Return to top