$75 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 3, 2015 Check-out: Jan 4, 2015

Plaza Hotel at Temple Square

3 stars
122 West South Temple, Salt Lake City, UT 84101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
152 reviews
Verry good hotel

Clean room, friendly and helpfull staff, great situation next to the temple and city centre. See full review

  • Doan59
  • Aug 31, 2014
Enjoyable Vacation

The location was central to all the downtown activities; very convenient. Having the restaurant on... See full review

  • Spooley
  • Jul 29, 2014
The full-service Plaza Hotel is a 13 story high rise decorated with provincial cherry wood furnishings and offers Salt Lake City's Dream downtown location-directly across the street from historic Temple Square, Salt Palace Convention Center and Symphony Hall (Abravenal Hall). We are next door to the world's largest Genealogy Library where you can research your roots for free and adjacent to Salt Lake's 3 largest malls. Our hotel amenities include complimentary airport shuttle service (a $30 value!), outdoor pool, indoor Jacuzzi, covered parking, unique western theme gift shop, exercise room, conference rooms to accommodate up to 300, and JB's Restaurant offering room service. You will enjoy the luxury of our oversized, beautiful appointed guestrooms, which include, in-room pay-per-view movies, Nintendo, computer data ports, high speed WiFi Internet access, voice mail, coffee makers, hair dryers, safes and beautiful views. This property is smoke-free.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Plaza Hotel at Temple Square also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Plaza Hotel at Temple Square Rooms

Standard Room
Guest room with one queen bed
Standard Room
Guest room with two queen beds
Deluxe Doubles or King
Experience remodeled, large, comfortable room with two queen size Simmons Beauty Rest pillow top mattresses or a King bed with a sofa bed. Room has complimentary Wi-Fi, two tables, ergonomic business chair, easy chair, mini-fridge, microwave, TV with cable, safe, in room coffee, hair dryer, and iron & ironing board.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Abravanel Hall: 0 mi
  • Family History Library: 0 mi
  • Salt Palace Convention Center: 0.1 mi
  • Salt Lake Temple: 0.2 mi
  • Joseph Smith Memorial Building: 0.2 mi
  • LDS Confrence Center: 0.2 mi
  • Temple Square: 0.3 mi
  • Beehive House: 0.3 mi
  • EnergySolutions Arena: 0.3 mi
  • Energy Solutions Arena: 0.4 mi
  • Clark Planetarium: 0.5 mi
  • Capitol Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Pioneer Memorial Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Capitol Buidling: 0.6 mi
  • City Creek Canyon: 0.7 mi
  • Abravanel Hall: 0 mi
  • Family History Library: 0 mi
  • Salt Palace Convention Center: 0.1 mi
  • Salt Lake Temple: 0.2 mi
  • Joseph Smith Memorial Building: 0.2 mi
  • LDS Confrence Center: 0.2 mi
  • Temple Square: 0.3 mi
  • Beehive House: 0.3 mi
  • EnergySolutions Arena: 0.3 mi
  • Energy Solutions Arena: 0.4 mi
  • Clark Planetarium: 0.5 mi
  • Capitol Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Pioneer Memorial Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Capitol Buidling: 0.6 mi
  • City Creek Canyon: 0.7 mi
  • Cathedral of the Madeleine: 0.7 mi
  • The Leonardo Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Governor's Mansion: 1.1 mi
  • Memory Grove Park: 1.1 mi
  • Gilgal Gardens: 1.5 mi
  • Ensign Peak Park: 1.7 mi
  • Liberty Park: 2 mi
  • The Tracy Aviary: 2.1 mi
  • Rice-Eccles Stadium: 2.5 mi
  • Jon M. Huntsman Center: 3 mi
  • Red Butte Garden: 3.7 mi
  • Natural History Museum of Utah: 3.8 mi
  • Sugarhouse Park: 4 mi
  • Utah's Hogle Zoo: 4.4 mi
  • Utah Symphony: 7 mi
  • Mill Creek Canyon: 8.3 mi
  • Big Cottonwood Canyon: 18.7 mi
  • Solitude Mountain: 19 mi

Dining

JB's Restaurant
JB's Restaurant offers family style dining and room service

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
conference room can accommodate up to 300

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (152)

Ratings and reviews for Plaza Hotel at Temple Square

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
42 out of 152
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Plaza Hotel at Temple Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Comic Con Patron 1233
Business
Provo
Sep 9, 2014

Not for the price...

Went for Comic Con. Prices where comparable to good hotels ,like the Marriott and such, so we figured it would be of similar quality; wrong. Pros: Close to the convention center. Cheap 24-hour parking. Amazing German Bakery 5 blocks SW. Cons: Price. Rock like beds. Bathtub permanently drains. Issues with AC (easy fix.. but no one likes walking into a 80 degree room) Location (right next to tram station, yes it runs long into the night) Fridge made noises.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Get reservations in advance for anything at the Joseph Smith Memorial Building. All good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Hotel at Temple Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Doan59
Business
St-Nicolas, Quebec
Aug 31, 2014

Verry good hotel

Clean room, friendly and helpfull staff, great situation next to the temple and city centre.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Hotel at Temple Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chanev
Business
Park City, UT
Jul 3, 2014

The best location in Salt Lake

The hotel is not luxorious or something but the location is excellent - right next to temple square and city creek and also the genealogic library. Rooms are clean, didn't have the chance to try the jaccuzi and the pool but the water was cristal clear. Again, not luxorious, but perfectly fine for the price you pay. The staff is also friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Hotel at Temple Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
biz trip traveler
Business
Golden, CO
Mar 18, 2014

Close to downtown.

Average hotel for price. Convenient location, but everything else average.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Hotel at Temple Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pivata
Business
Solitude Utah
Jan 23, 2014

Great overnight hotel

Next to shopping, tram at front door, great shuttle service, excellent value for money

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

City creek Centre

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Hotel at Temple Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
a hobby farmer's wife
Business
Wyoming
Jan 2, 2014

Fantastic New Year's Eve

My husband and I spent New Year's Eve in Salt Lake and stayed at the Plaza Hotel. Everything was perfect. The attendant at the front desk gave us the perfect room to watch the firework celebration!! We were wihtin walking distance of everything that was going on downtown for New Yea's, we didn't have to deal with parking or with traffic. It was wonderful!! I hope that we can make this a yearly tradition.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Hotel at Temple Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
2browneyes
Business
California
Oct 14, 2013

Great Location for Temple Square

IF you want to visit Temple Square this hotel is right across the street. I was disappointed that my hotel room smelled of Cigarette smoke, when I took a shower it got worse. I had to shut the bathroom door it smelled so bad. I don't know if its an older hotel that has old smells or someone smoked in it before we got there. If it wasn't so late we would have asked to switch rooms. The staff was very friendly when we told them and thanked us for letting them know. The manager even gave us a jump to our car when our battery was dead. The bed was very comfortable but I think it needs to be renovated a little bit more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Temple Square and City Creek Mall are all in a short walking distance. Plus, the Metro is right across the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Hotel at Temple Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
retired roamer
Business
Albany, New York
Sep 22, 2013

Clean, comfortable, convenient

We were pleased with the attention of the staff, the cleanliness and comfort of the room, the breakfast menu, and the location within walking distance of the sites we were most interested in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Hotel at Temple Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
keith b nj
Business
new jersey
Aug 22, 2013

great location

good value, with a great location. rooms are clean, staff is helpful and friendly. I would stay thier again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Hotel at Temple Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
PumpkinKoot
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Jun 27, 2013

Basic

Older hotel with basic amenities. The room was tiny but clean and right in the center of town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top