$75 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 1, 2015 Check-out: Jan 3, 2015

Plaza Hotel at Temple Square

3 stars
122 West South Temple, Salt Lake City, UT 84101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
152 reviews
Verry good hotel

Clean room, friendly and helpfull staff, great situation next to the temple and city centre. See full review

  • Doan59
  • Aug 31, 2014
Enjoyable Vacation

The location was central to all the downtown activities; very convenient. Having the restaurant on... See full review

  • Spooley
  • Jul 29, 2014
The full-service Plaza Hotel is a 13 story high rise decorated with provincial cherry wood furnishings and offers Salt Lake City's Dream downtown location-directly across the street from historic Temple Square, Salt Palace Convention Center and Symphony Hall (Abravenal Hall). We are next door to the world's largest Genealogy Library where you can research your roots for free and adjacent to Salt Lake's 3 largest malls. Our hotel amenities include complimentary airport shuttle service (a $30 value!), outdoor pool, indoor Jacuzzi, covered parking, unique western theme gift shop, exercise room, conference rooms to accommodate up to 300, and JB's Restaurant offering room service. You will enjoy the luxury of our oversized, beautiful appointed guestrooms, which include, in-room pay-per-view movies, Nintendo, computer data ports, high speed WiFi Internet access, voice mail, coffee makers, hair dryers, safes and beautiful views. This property is smoke-free.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Plaza Hotel at Temple Square also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Plaza Hotel at Temple Square Rooms

Deluxe Doubles or King
Experience remodeled, large, comfortable room with two queen size Simmons Beauty Rest pillow top mattresses or a King bed with a sofa bed. Room has complimentary Wi-Fi, two tables, ergonomic business chair, easy chair, mini-fridge, microwave, TV with cable, safe, in room coffee, hair dryer, and iron & ironing board.
Standard Room
Guest room with one queen bed
Standard Room
Guest room with two queen beds

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Abravanel Hall: 0 mi
  • Family History Library: 0 mi
  • Salt Palace Convention Center: 0.1 mi
  • Salt Lake Temple: 0.2 mi
  • Joseph Smith Memorial Building: 0.2 mi
  • LDS Confrence Center: 0.2 mi
  • Temple Square: 0.3 mi
  • Beehive House: 0.3 mi
  • EnergySolutions Arena: 0.3 mi
  • Energy Solutions Arena: 0.4 mi
  • Clark Planetarium: 0.5 mi
  • Capitol Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Pioneer Memorial Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Capitol Buidling: 0.6 mi
  • City Creek Canyon: 0.7 mi
  • Abravanel Hall: 0 mi
  • Family History Library: 0 mi
  • Salt Palace Convention Center: 0.1 mi
  • Salt Lake Temple: 0.2 mi
  • Joseph Smith Memorial Building: 0.2 mi
  • LDS Confrence Center: 0.2 mi
  • Temple Square: 0.3 mi
  • Beehive House: 0.3 mi
  • EnergySolutions Arena: 0.3 mi
  • Energy Solutions Arena: 0.4 mi
  • Clark Planetarium: 0.5 mi
  • Capitol Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Pioneer Memorial Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Capitol Buidling: 0.6 mi
  • City Creek Canyon: 0.7 mi
  • Cathedral of the Madeleine: 0.7 mi
  • The Leonardo Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Governor's Mansion: 1.1 mi
  • Memory Grove Park: 1.1 mi
  • Gilgal Gardens: 1.5 mi
  • Ensign Peak Park: 1.7 mi
  • Liberty Park: 2 mi
  • The Tracy Aviary: 2.1 mi
  • Rice-Eccles Stadium: 2.5 mi
  • Jon M. Huntsman Center: 3 mi
  • Red Butte Garden: 3.7 mi
  • Natural History Museum of Utah: 3.8 mi
  • Sugarhouse Park: 4 mi
  • Utah's Hogle Zoo: 4.4 mi
  • Utah Symphony: 7 mi
  • Mill Creek Canyon: 8.3 mi
  • Big Cottonwood Canyon: 18.7 mi
  • Solitude Mountain: 19 mi

Dining

JB's Restaurant
JB's Restaurant offers family style dining and room service

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
conference room can accommodate up to 300

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (152)

Ratings and reviews for Plaza Hotel at Temple Square

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
152 out of 152
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Plaza Hotel at Temple Square

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dark horse
Business
Denver
May 19, 2012

This hotel should be and motel8

Very disappointing !! Did I say very disappointing that's and understatement.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Hotel at Temple Square

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
O8932147uu
Business
California
Oct 8, 2012

Room

In a 13-floor, slow mid-week hotel, I was given a tiny room around the corner at the end of the hallway by the exit door on the 12th floor the size of the maid's broom closet. It was a funky room! Never again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Hotel at Temple Square

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Az...LDS
Business
Mesa AZ
Apr 8, 2013

Housekeeping

My family and i went there for LDS conference from AZ. Conference was at 10am and checkout was 11am. I called front desk to see if we could checkout after conference was over at noon, so we could change clothes and head back to AZ.His response was: housekeeping said no late checkout today. Since when do housekeeping are in chaege of hotel?? It was just and hour!! So we got our suitcase and things at 9 am. And on elevator we saw housekeeping, she asked what room are you from so i can go and clean. My mom responded: we leave at 11 am!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Hotel at Temple Square

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Tattoo wife
Business
St. George, UT
Feb 21, 2011

Good trip gone wrong

We went for a Tattoo Convention held across the street. We were treated badly the looks we got were really awful. By the way the rooms do not look like the pictures. We felt like sardines in a can.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Hotel at Temple Square

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pocatello, Idaho
Feb 1, 2010

Not the best

Room reservation was not correct, did not have the right number of beds. They "upgraded" to a room that was supposed to comparable, however, it was not. We asked for two queen beds and they gave us one queen bed and a couch bed that was not very uncomfortable. Also the shower was in the living room. Also, access to the hotel from the parking garage can only be gained from the ground floor so you have to walk aound the garage levels to enter the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Hotel at Temple Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland, OR
May 24, 2009

Good and Bad

I stayed there for two night. It was definitely unpleasant. At the first night, I was woke up by the itch on my shoulders and my hand. I turn on the light, and there was a few tiny bugs running on the pillow. I called the front desk, all they did was to send a security guy to my room and handed me a key for another room. The security guy didn't even know what was going on. As the matter of fact, he even told me that he was not working there. So I had to move to another room two o,clock in the morning without any assistant from the hotel. The next morning, when I talk to the front desk again, they didn't even know what happened in my room for that night. The guy I talked to in the morning said the manager will refund my money for that night. I told him that I was there not for the money, but for an apology. If not the manager, at least whoever I talked to should apologize to me in the first place. But NONE of them did that. The bugs had five bites on my shoulders and one bite on my hand. They are still itchy like hell now. If they think one night refund will make me happy, they are totally wrong. They could make me happier by the manager's personal apology, but they didn't. The manager has never shown up in front of me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel located next to the Temple Square.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Hotel at Temple Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, Ca
Jan 3, 2011

Good Location

The reason we stayed at the Plaza hotel is because we wanted to do 3 days of Skiing at Alta and Deer Valley. Because the slopes are all close to the city we decided to stay downtown the location of the hotel was great but the hotel well was borining. The hotel was like a Courtyard Marriott nothing special just a clean bed and a shower. Given that my husband and I payed for the whole trip for both my mother and sister thus the price was just right. Location is accross from the temple and parking is only $5 and there are many resturants near by. This is a 3 star hotel for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The temple is across the street

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Hotel at Temple Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Not Returning Hotel Guest
Business
Sacramento, CA
May 4, 2013

Nice But Be Careful

Balcony sliding door did not lock and created a loud breeze that kept us awake most of the night. Our car was side swiped in the parking lot, with no note left. Found out that their are no cameras in the parking lot which is not maintained by the hotel. Great location across from Temple Square. Nice size room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Hotel at Temple Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
2browneyes
Business
California
Oct 14, 2013

Great Location for Temple Square

IF you want to visit Temple Square this hotel is right across the street. I was disappointed that my hotel room smelled of Cigarette smoke, when I took a shower it got worse. I had to shut the bathroom door it smelled so bad. I don't know if its an older hotel that has old smells or someone smoked in it before we got there. If it wasn't so late we would have asked to switch rooms. The staff was very friendly when we told them and thanked us for letting them know. The manager even gave us a jump to our car when our battery was dead. The bed was very comfortable but I think it needs to be renovated a little bit more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Temple Square and City Creek Mall are all in a short walking distance. Plus, the Metro is right across the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Hotel at Temple Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
PimmyTan
Business
Bangkok, Thailand
Jan 3, 2014

Was here for a night

The staff was so nice on the phone when I called for the airport shuttle. I stay alone for a night during new year holiday. And I really like the arrangement of the room, I feel cosy. They have fridge and coffee maker in the room, perfect for the weather! (Some hotels gave me nothing to eat or drink and it was winter!) They also have full-body mirror. And the view was so nice. The heater works very well I didn't feel any cold at any time. But it was just a night so I haven't tried the food around the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Look out through the windows. The view around the hotel is so nice.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top