$79 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Feb 1, 2015 Check-out: Feb 2, 2015

Plaza Hotel at Temple Square

3 stars
122 West South Temple, Salt Lake City, UT 84101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
153 reviews
Verry good hotel

Clean room, friendly and helpfull staff, great situation next to the temple and city centre. See full review

  • Doan59
  • Aug 31, 2014
Enjoyable Vacation

The location was central to all the downtown activities; very convenient. Having the restaurant on... See full review

  • Spooley
  • Jul 29, 2014
The full-service Plaza Hotel is a 13 story high rise decorated with provincial cherry wood furnishings and offers Salt Lake City's Dream downtown location-directly across the street from historic Temple Square, Salt Palace Convention Center and Symphony Hall (Abravenal Hall). We are next door to the world's largest Genealogy Library where you can research your roots for free and adjacent to Salt Lake's 3 largest malls. Our hotel amenities include complimentary airport shuttle service (a $30 value!), outdoor pool, indoor Jacuzzi, covered parking, unique western theme gift shop, exercise room, conference rooms to accommodate up to 300, and JB's Restaurant offering room service. You will enjoy the luxury of our oversized, beautiful appointed guestrooms, which include, in-room pay-per-view movies, Nintendo, computer data ports, high speed WiFi Internet access, voice mail, coffee makers, hair dryers, safes and beautiful views. This property is smoke-free.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Plaza Hotel at Temple Square also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Plaza Hotel at Temple Square Rooms

Standard Room
Guest room with one queen bed
Standard Room
Guest room with two queen beds
Deluxe Doubles or King
Experience remodeled, large, comfortable room with two queen size Simmons Beauty Rest pillow top mattresses or a King bed with a sofa bed. Room has complimentary Wi-Fi, two tables, ergonomic business chair, easy chair, mini-fridge, microwave, TV with cable, safe, in room coffee, hair dryer, and iron & ironing board.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Abravanel Hall: 0 mi
  • Family History Library: 0 mi
  • Salt Palace Convention Center: 0.1 mi
  • Salt Lake Temple: 0.2 mi
  • Joseph Smith Memorial Building: 0.2 mi
  • LDS Confrence Center: 0.2 mi
  • Temple Square: 0.3 mi
  • Beehive House: 0.3 mi
  • EnergySolutions Arena: 0.3 mi
  • Energy Solutions Arena: 0.4 mi
  • Clark Planetarium: 0.5 mi
  • Capitol Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Pioneer Memorial Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Capitol Buidling: 0.6 mi
  • City Creek Canyon: 0.7 mi
  • Abravanel Hall: 0 mi
  • Family History Library: 0 mi
  • Salt Palace Convention Center: 0.1 mi
  • Salt Lake Temple: 0.2 mi
  • Joseph Smith Memorial Building: 0.2 mi
  • LDS Confrence Center: 0.2 mi
  • Temple Square: 0.3 mi
  • Beehive House: 0.3 mi
  • EnergySolutions Arena: 0.3 mi
  • Energy Solutions Arena: 0.4 mi
  • Clark Planetarium: 0.5 mi
  • Capitol Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Pioneer Memorial Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Capitol Buidling: 0.6 mi
  • City Creek Canyon: 0.7 mi
  • Cathedral of the Madeleine: 0.7 mi
  • The Leonardo Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Governor's Mansion: 1.1 mi
  • Memory Grove Park: 1.1 mi
  • Gilgal Gardens: 1.5 mi
  • Ensign Peak Park: 1.7 mi
  • Liberty Park: 2 mi
  • The Tracy Aviary: 2.1 mi
  • Rice-Eccles Stadium: 2.5 mi
  • Jon M. Huntsman Center: 3 mi
  • Red Butte Garden: 3.7 mi
  • Natural History Museum of Utah: 3.8 mi
  • Sugarhouse Park: 4 mi
  • Utah's Hogle Zoo: 4.4 mi
  • Utah Symphony: 7 mi
  • Mill Creek Canyon: 8.3 mi
  • Big Cottonwood Canyon: 18.7 mi
  • Solitude Mountain: 19 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
conference room can accommodate up to 300

Dining

JB's Restaurant
JB's Restaurant offers family style dining and room service

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (153)

Ratings and reviews for Plaza Hotel at Temple Square

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
153 out of 153
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Plaza Hotel at Temple Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Library nut
Business
Idaho
Jun 3, 2013

Great Location

If you are a compulsive Genealogy nut this is the place for you. Right next door to the Family History Library. Unfortunately the library was closed for "security reasons" on our second day, however with the agreement of the hotel we wererefunded our hotel so we could head home early. Long trip for one day but...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Hotel at Temple Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vero the traveler
Business
Southern California
May 29, 2013

Fantastic Hotel

Great location in downtown Salt Lake City. Walking distance to local attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Hotel at Temple Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MissLiss99
Business
Utah
May 26, 2013

Plaza Temple Square

The staff who checked us in was only okay. The guy at the desk acted like I was an idiot when I had a question about parking which I didn't appreciate. The bathroom shower was not very clean, but the beds were very comfortable. Great location near the mall, Temple Square, and restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Garden on the 10th floor of the Joseph Smith building was excellent! Try the fettuccine!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Hotel at Temple Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Eddie Rickenbacher
Business
Price UT
May 22, 2013

We got lucky

There was a bit of confusion with our registration, which the front desk staff member ironed out quickly once I had pulled up and printed my room confirmation on their computer/printer. As a result, the staff member upgraded us to a suite on the top (13th floor). It was one of the nicer rooms my girlfriend and I have ever stayed in, with a large jacuzzi tub and a bedroom apart from the rest of the suite. Very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Hotel at Temple Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Momma AN
Business
Huntingdon, PA
May 22, 2013

Great hotel

Hotel very good, great view of Temple Square. A convenient restaurant with good food and service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Hotel at Temple Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Casey Marty
Business
Los Angeles
May 20, 2013

Late night partiers, but comfy room

Great, I would stay again!close to the Salt Lake Temple. No vending machines. That was unpleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Hotel at Temple Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Gerilyn Wife of 23 years
Business
Clinton, Utah
May 13, 2013

Romantic Get Away

The Hotel was fine, but they did not have us as having a reservation through your reservation system. I was not happy about that!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

City Creek Shopping Center is awesome!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Hotel at Temple Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Not Returning Hotel Guest
Business
Sacramento, CA
May 4, 2013

Nice But Be Careful

Balcony sliding door did not lock and created a loud breeze that kept us awake most of the night. Our car was side swiped in the parking lot, with no note left. Found out that their are no cameras in the parking lot which is not maintained by the hotel. Great location across from Temple Square. Nice size room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Hotel at Temple Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sun Traveler
Business
Mesa, AZ
Apr 17, 2013

Plaza SLC

The Plaza offers great proximity to Temple Square as it is within walking distance. Parking was $5 per day in the garage. Staff were friendly and helpful. Room was clean upon arival. Good value for a downtown location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Temple Square is right across the street. I walked to everything which saved the hassle of finding parking spaces.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Hotel at Temple Square

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Az...LDS
Business
Mesa AZ
Apr 8, 2013

Housekeeping

My family and i went there for LDS conference from AZ. Conference was at 10am and checkout was 11am. I called front desk to see if we could checkout after conference was over at noon, so we could change clothes and head back to AZ.His response was: housekeeping said no late checkout today. Since when do housekeeping are in chaege of hotel?? It was just and hour!! So we got our suitcase and things at 9 am. And on elevator we saw housekeeping, she asked what room are you from so i can go and clean. My mom responded: we leave at 11 am!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top