$64 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 23, 2014 Check-out: Dec 25, 2014

Peery Hotel

3 stars
110 West 300 South, Salt Lake City, UT 84101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
90 reviews
Nice place

The room was beautiful, and the location was very central. A few negative reviews I read complained... See full review

  • Cees
  • Nov 19, 2014
Perfect!

The Peery hotel was quiet clean and the staff very nice and helpful. The Peery in a lovely old... See full review

  • USANA Conference
  • Aug 31, 2014
Salt Lake City hotel built in 1910 features Macaroni Grill restaurant
For more than a century, the Peery Hotel has welcomed guests with personalized service and elegant spaces that continue to make the hotel a unique option in downtown Salt Lake City. Nods to tradition include rich damask fabrics, a grand lobby staircase and crisp, clean guest rooms with canopied beds. Spend an evening by the lobby fireplace, where period furnishings bring the feel of an upscale early 20th-century home. The Peery Hotel accommodates modern lifestyles with a 24-hour fitness center and Wi-Fi Internet access (fees apply).
Highlights

  • Utah's only hotel listed on the National Register of Historic Places
  • 24-hour fitness center
  • In-room spa services available
  • Meeting and banquet facilities, full-service business center
  • Walking distance to Salt Palace Convention Center, Temple Square and Energy Solutions Arena

Rooms
Guest rooms and suites at the Peery Hotel are furnished with triple-sheeted Tempur-Pedic beds for ultimate comfort. Wi-Fi Internet access (fees apply), iPod docking stations, coffee-makers and private voicemail provide some comforts of home, while pedestal sinks and Gilchrist and Soames bath amenities provide hints of an earlier time. Pets are welcome (fees apply). Weekday newspapers are complimentary. Terrycloth robes are available upon request.
Features
Guests are welcomed in a grand lobby featuring soaring ceilings and refined conversation areas to relax and enjoy complimentary Starbucks coffee or Tazo tea. Keep up with a fitness routine at the complimentary 24-hour fitness center. In-room spa services at the Peery Hotel include signature treatments like the brown sugar massage.
Dining
The nationally known Romano's Macaroni Grill is located on-site at the Peery Hotel. Exposed stone walls and archways and strolling opera singers give the restaurant an authentic Tuscan feel. Across the street from the Peery Hotel, Ruth's Chris Steak House is another popular choice in downtown Salt Lake City.
Transportation

  • Light rail stop (one block)
  • Salt Lake City Intermodal Hub (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Salt Lake City International Airport (4.7 mi/7.6 km)

Attractions

  • Rose Wagner Performing Arts Center (Adjacent)
  • Calvin L. Rampton Salt Palace Convention Center (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Energy Solutions Arena (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Temple Square (0.6 mi/0.9 km)  
  • Utah State Capitol (1 mi/1.6 km) 

Business

  • Business center with high-speed Internet access
  • 4,200 square feet of function space
  • 8 meeting rooms and grand historic ballroom

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Peery Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Peery Hotel Rooms

Classic King
Room with one King Tempur-Pedic Bed, Wireless internet access, 27-inch cable TV, voice mail, coffee maker with Starbucks coffee, hairdryer, bath & body works bath products, bathrobe, iron/ironing board and complimentary weekday newspaper, non smoking.
King Suite
Room with one King Tempur-Pedic Bed and sofa bed includes premium mattress, period furnishings, desk, wireless internet access, 27-inch cable TV, voice mail, coffeemaker with starbucks coffee, hairdryer, bath & body works bath products, bathrobe, iron/ironing board and complimentary weekday newspaper, non smoking.
Queen Suite
Room with one Queen Tempur-Pedic bed and sofa bed includes premium mattress, period furnishings, desk, Wireless internet access, 27-inch cable TV, voice mail, coffeemaker with starbucks coffee, hairdryer, bath & body works bath products, bathrobe, iron/ironing board and complimentary weekday newspaper, non smoking.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Capitol Theatre: 0 mi
  • Salt Palace Convention Center: 0.3 mi
  • Abravanel Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Family History Library: 0.5 mi
  • EnergySolutions Arena: 0.5 mi
  • Energy Solutions Arena: 0.5 mi
  • Joseph Smith Memorial Building: 0.5 mi
  • Clark Planetarium: 0.5 mi
  • Salt Lake Temple: 0.5 mi
  • Beehive House: 0.6 mi
  • The Leonardo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Temple Square: 0.6 mi
  • LDS Confrence Center: 0.7 mi
  • Cathedral of the Madeleine: 0.8 mi
  • Pioneer Memorial Museum: 1 mi
  • Capitol Theatre: 0 mi
  • Salt Palace Convention Center: 0.3 mi
  • Abravanel Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Family History Library: 0.5 mi
  • EnergySolutions Arena: 0.5 mi
  • Energy Solutions Arena: 0.5 mi
  • Joseph Smith Memorial Building: 0.5 mi
  • Clark Planetarium: 0.5 mi
  • Salt Lake Temple: 0.5 mi
  • Beehive House: 0.6 mi
  • The Leonardo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Temple Square: 0.6 mi
  • LDS Confrence Center: 0.7 mi
  • Cathedral of the Madeleine: 0.8 mi
  • Pioneer Memorial Museum: 1 mi
  • City Creek Canyon: 1 mi
  • Capitol Buidling: 1.1 mi
  • Governor's Mansion: 1.2 mi
  • Gilgal Gardens: 1.3 mi
  • Memory Grove Park: 1.5 mi
  • Liberty Park: 1.6 mi
  • The Tracy Aviary: 1.7 mi
  • Ensign Peak Park: 2.2 mi
  • Rice-Eccles Stadium: 2.4 mi
  • Jon M. Huntsman Center: 2.9 mi
  • Sugarhouse Park: 3.6 mi
  • Red Butte Garden: 3.7 mi
  • Natural History Museum of Utah: 3.7 mi
  • Utah's Hogle Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • Utah Symphony: 6.6 mi
  • Mill Creek Canyon: 8 mi
  • Big Cottonwood Canyon: 18.4 mi
  • Solitude Mountain: 18.7 mi

Dining

Romano's Macaroni Grill
A chain of restaurants run by chefs. Exposed stone walls and archways, crisp white linen and strolling opera singers are the hallmarks of this very successful restaurant. Serving authentic Italian cuisine with only the freshest ingredients.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting room facilities are available. Please contact the Sales Department for more information.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (90)

Ratings and reviews for Peery Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
90 out of 90
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Peery Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
bmwdreemin
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Mar 7, 2012

Consider another hotel unless you like "OLD"

The lobby is pretty and that's about it! This is a very old hotel and yes a historic landmark. If you like this type of hotel...just to warn you..No hot water for a shower for two days. The TV had on station. My room had no hairdryer. The toilet made a flushing type of noise every 1/2 hr. You hear the street/outside noise at night. The room was the size of a closet. The smallest room I have ever been in for a hotel. The bathroom was tiny and the sink was lop sided. I could not place anything on the sink because it would slide right off. The hotel was completely sold out so I was not able to change rooms. I woud never stay here again and I wish I didn't prepay because I would have checked out and found a better hotel. There was also broken glass on the floor of the bathroom. I've been camping and have had better accomodations than this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Peery Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
JuneB
Business
Escalante, UT
Mar 4, 2013

Moldy room, no parking, poor service

The Peery Hotel is lovely, the staff is very nice, and the location is excellent, but I wouldn't stay there again. Our room had a distinctly moldy smell and there were no amenities, like a refrigerator or microwave. There is no free parking, so we had to pay $10 extra per day to park. The hotel and city security lights shone directly into our room and were not completely blocked by the older shades (no curtains). Still, we were perfectly happy. However, on our second day, my husband didn't feel well and wanted to take a short nap at noon. We went to our room to find that the sheets had been stripped from the bed, but not replaced. The front desk reassured us that the room would be finished in 30 minutes, so we waited in the lobby. We checked every 30 minutes and finally gave up after 2-1/2 hours. The hotel staff did not apologize or make any attempt to contact us or compensate us for the inconvenience. We often go to SLC, but we won't stay at the Peery.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Peery Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Unimpressed2014
Business
Colorado
Jan 18, 2014

Rather sleep w the homeless

One of the worst hotels I have EVER stayed. Staff provided misinformation twice! Food was just awful, good thing Olive Garden was near by. Rooms smelled. Sheets were dirty, hair all over pillows and bathtub. I brought my own bedding and even my own sanitizing supplies and it was a good thing I did. I don't recommend this place and wouldn't even allow my dogs to stay there. Worst expierence ever.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping centers a few blocks. Also a short walk to beautiful Temple Square.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Peery Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Jun 1, 2010

Utah Visit

No room service, poor house keeping, no breakfast, lousy pillows, poor air condinioning heat,no coffee in room, maybe in the lobby on and on

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Peery Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
HelloImJohn
Business
California
Sep 8, 2014

Not a good hotel.

When we got there the staff was very nice and everything look beautiful but things started to go down hill from there one of the staff told me they don't own a parking lot! So I had to drive around for almost an hour to find a place that was two blocks away and not only that they charge you $10 for 12 hours witch was kinda okay for me. Our room was okay it was smaller than I thought. I really didn't like it also we could here the people next to us and it got really annoying. Later that day my family wanted to go and eat somewhere nice so we walked all the to the parking lot left and ate and came back noticed that someone took my parking space and so here we go again looking for a freaking place to park. After another I had it. I went back to my room got our stuff and left , stayed somewhere else. Came in the next morning and checked out. I bought the room for 3 days 2 nights and I left the first day! Very disappointed get a parking lot! What a waste of $300. Never again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Peery Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sparrow
Business
Orange County, Caifornia
Nov 10, 2009

Great location. That's all!

I thought the location was great. The Hotel was very marginal. I would not stay there again. The bathroom was awful. There ws no room to even turn around. No where to put any of my stuff i.e. hair dryer, makeup, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Peery Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Aventura, FL
Aug 10, 2010

What a stench!

Leave it to the staff of the Peery Hotel. They've done a great job with marketing. Judging from the website, their hotel looks like a classy old-world historic hotel with elegance and tons of amenities. The truth is that it is an old, stale hotel with very few amenities and an incompetent staff. When we walked in, we were greated by a putrid stench that made me wonder who had died there recently. The staff acted as if nothing was wrong until WE brought up the smell. Apparently, is was caused by an over-flowing grease trap at the next door Christopher's restaurant, and it premeated the entire building, including our sencond floor room. We had an amazing view from our window of one of the ugliest parking lots. The only thing that kept me from vomiting was my concern that I would add to the already sickening stench in the hotel. In fairness, to the Peery Hotel, the bed was extremely comfortable, and the location was unbeatable, withing walking distance to the Temple Square, and close to Squatter's pub, where we ate dinner. For a one-night stay it wasn't bad, but definitely not worth the $130 per night we paid. We should have stayed at the Radisson or Hilton, in retrospect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Peery Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
pj07
Business
casper wy
Aug 7, 2012

Stunning hotel, NO A/C

On my way home from a trip to Reno for a business convention, I contacted this travel site and had them set me up with a King suite in the hotel. This is a beautiful old place and I would have given it 4 stars except for this: after checking in, and going to our room, I set the air conditioning to high. Hours later it was still horribly hot in there, and I called to the front desk to tell them it wasn't working. The desk clerk said that, yes, the air conditioning in the entire building was out, and that the maintenance crew had worked on it but that we would just have to deal with it that night..I asked if there were any fans available, and they said no, they were all being used by other customers. Having had no sleep, my business partner and I asked for a refund the next morning and were told we had to speak with management. **I upgraded from one star to two because management did call today to offer her apologies and offer a complementary nights stay for my business partner and myself. She was very pleasant and concerned. I will do another review after my next stay.***

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Good luck finding the entrance to the Macaroni Grill, which is attached to the hotel. We gave up and went down the block to Squatters, which had good burgers and beer.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Peery Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
SLC, Utah
Jul 9, 2011

Good eating close by.

The sink leaked every time you turned it on. The A/C was so loud, it was hard to sleep. Housekeeping actually came around at 8:30 AM and had to be told to come back later. I had a hard enough time sleeping and finally get to sleep and then get woke up! The temper-pedic bed was nice, but not enough to justify the price. We went to dinner at a very nice restaurant for my birthday. We were not told upon check in that coffee is no longer served after 10 AM in the lobby. I will not stay there again. It simply wasn't worth it. One redeeming quality the hotel had, it is in walking distance to several nice restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Peery Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Scottsdale, AZ
Jul 14, 2011

definitely old-world

The hotel smelled musty when I entered the front door. the elevator was broken and there was not Bell Service at the time of my check in. I am recovering from a surgery and have one arm in a sling and I had to lift my luggage up three flights of stairs to get to my room. the bed and bedding was very comfortable. The towels felt like sand paper. The winsow appeared as if it had not been washed in several years leaving me to keep the shade drawn. There were no outlets to plug my phone charger, except for sink, which was too far away to hear alarm in the morning. The morning coffee service in the lobby was not well maintained; the creamer empty, no lids for travel from hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top