$99 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2014 Check-out: Aug 25, 2014

Peery Hotel

3 stars
110 West 300 South, Salt Lake City, UT 84101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
84 reviews
great place

The staff was helpful the location was actually perfect for getting around and very near the train.... See full review

  • man child
  • Jun 21, 2014
Beautiful Hotel to return to again and again

The atmosphere and ambiance of the hotel was wonderful. The lobby was decorated with antique pieces... See full review

  • SC Smith
  • May 21, 2014
Salt Lake City hotel built in 1910 features Macaroni Grill restaurant
For more than a century, the Peery Hotel has welcomed guests with personalized service and elegant spaces that continue to make the hotel a unique option in downtown Salt Lake City. Nods to tradition include rich damask fabrics, a grand lobby staircase and crisp, clean guest rooms with canopied beds. Spend an evening by the lobby fireplace, where period furnishings bring the feel of an upscale early 20th-century home. The Peery Hotel accommodates modern lifestyles with a 24-hour fitness center and Wi-Fi Internet access (fees apply).
Highlights

  • Utah's only hotel listed on the National Register of Historic Places
  • 24-hour fitness center
  • In-room spa services available
  • Meeting and banquet facilities, full-service business center
  • Walking distance to Salt Palace Convention Center, Temple Square and Energy Solutions Arena

Rooms
Guest rooms and suites at the Peery Hotel are furnished with triple-sheeted Tempur-Pedic beds for ultimate comfort. Wi-Fi Internet access (fees apply), iPod docking stations, coffee-makers and private voicemail provide some comforts of home, while pedestal sinks and Gilchrist and Soames bath amenities provide hints of an earlier time. Pets are welcome (fees apply). Weekday newspapers are complimentary. Terrycloth robes are available upon request.
Features
Guests are welcomed in a grand lobby featuring soaring ceilings and refined conversation areas to relax and enjoy complimentary Starbucks coffee or Tazo tea. Keep up with a fitness routine at the complimentary 24-hour fitness center. In-room spa services at the Peery Hotel include signature treatments like the brown sugar massage.
Dining
The nationally known Romano's Macaroni Grill is located on-site at the Peery Hotel. Exposed stone walls and archways and strolling opera singers give the restaurant an authentic Tuscan feel. Across the street from the Peery Hotel, Ruth's Chris Steak House is another popular choice in downtown Salt Lake City.
Transportation

  • Light rail stop (one block)
  • Salt Lake City Intermodal Hub (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Salt Lake City International Airport (4.7 mi/7.6 km)

Attractions

  • Rose Wagner Performing Arts Center (Adjacent)
  • Calvin L. Rampton Salt Palace Convention Center (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Energy Solutions Arena (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Temple Square (0.6 mi/0.9 km)  
  • Utah State Capitol (1 mi/1.6 km) 

Business

  • Business center with high-speed Internet access
  • 4,200 square feet of function space
  • 8 meeting rooms and grand historic ballroom

Hotel Map

40.7629 -111.8944
Area served
Salt Lake City
Nearby airports
Salt Lake International Airport - 7 miles (15 minutes).
Area description
Centrally located in the downtown heart of Salt Lake City's cultural, shopping and corporate districts, the restored grace of the historic. This luxurious boutique hotel's just 7 miles east of the Salt Lake City International Airport. Just 1 block away from the Convention Center, the performing arts center and more, Ski resorts of international renown are just 30 minutes away by car or shuttle van service. The Peery Hotel is within walking distance to the state's largest mall and lies in the hub of the downtown business and restaurant district. Nearby attractions include Temple Square, home of the Mormon Tabermacle Choir and the family history archives; the EnergySolutions Arena home of the Utah Jazz; The Gateway Mall; Symphony Hall; and the Capitol Theatre. Also close by are the children's Museum of Utah, the Utah Museum of National History, the Utah Museum of Fine Arts, the Red Butte Garden and Arborelum and Utah's Hogle Zoo, Tracy Aviary and the Clerk Planetarium.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Peery Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Peery Hotel Rooms

King Suite
Room with one King Tempur-Pedic Bed and sofa bed includes premium mattress, period furnishings, desk, wireless internet access, 27-inch cable TV, voice mail, coffeemaker with starbucks coffee, hairdryer, bath & body works bath products, bathrobe, iron/ironing board and complimentary weekday newspaper, non smoking.
Queen Suite
Room with one Queen Tempur-Pedic bed and sofa bed includes premium mattress, period furnishings, desk, Wireless internet access, 27-inch cable TV, voice mail, coffeemaker with starbucks coffee, hairdryer, bath & body works bath products, bathrobe, iron/ironing board and complimentary weekday newspaper, non smoking.
Classic King
Room with one King Tempur-Pedic Bed, Wireless internet access, 27-inch cable TV, voice mail, coffee maker with Starbucks coffee, hairdryer, bath & body works bath products, bathrobe, iron/ironing board and complimentary weekday newspaper, non smoking.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Capitol Theatre: 0 mi
  • Salt Palace Convention Center: 0.3 mi
  • Abravanel Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Family History Library: 0.5 mi
  • EnergySolutions Arena: 0.5 mi
  • Energy Solutions Arena: 0.5 mi
  • Joseph Smith Memorial Building: 0.5 mi
  • Clark Planetarium: 0.5 mi
  • Salt Lake Temple: 0.5 mi
  • Beehive House: 0.6 mi
  • The Leonardo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Temple Square: 0.6 mi
  • LDS Confrence Center: 0.7 mi
  • Cathedral of the Madeleine: 0.8 mi
  • Pioneer Memorial Museum: 1 mi
  • Capitol Theatre: 0 mi
  • Salt Palace Convention Center: 0.3 mi
  • Abravanel Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Family History Library: 0.5 mi
  • EnergySolutions Arena: 0.5 mi
  • Energy Solutions Arena: 0.5 mi
  • Joseph Smith Memorial Building: 0.5 mi
  • Clark Planetarium: 0.5 mi
  • Salt Lake Temple: 0.5 mi
  • Beehive House: 0.6 mi
  • The Leonardo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Temple Square: 0.6 mi
  • LDS Confrence Center: 0.7 mi
  • Cathedral of the Madeleine: 0.8 mi
  • Pioneer Memorial Museum: 1 mi
  • City Creek Canyon: 1 mi
  • Capitol Buidling: 1.1 mi
  • Governor's Mansion: 1.2 mi
  • Gilgal Gardens: 1.3 mi
  • Memory Grove Park: 1.5 mi
  • Liberty Park: 1.6 mi
  • The Tracy Aviary: 1.7 mi
  • Ensign Peak Park: 2.2 mi
  • Rice-Eccles Stadium: 2.4 mi
  • Jon M. Huntsman Center: 2.9 mi
  • Sugarhouse Park: 3.6 mi
  • Red Butte Garden: 3.7 mi
  • Natural History Museum of Utah: 3.7 mi
  • Utah's Hogle Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • Utah Symphony: 6.6 mi
  • Mill Creek Canyon: 8 mi
  • Big Cottonwood Canyon: 18.4 mi
  • Solitude Mountain: 18.7 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting room facilities are available. Please contact the Sales Department for more information.

Dining

Romano's Macaroni Grill
A chain of restaurants run by chefs. Exposed stone walls and archways, crisp white linen and strolling opera singers are the hallmarks of this very successful restaurant. Serving authentic Italian cuisine with only the freshest ingredients.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (84)

Ratings and reviews for Peery Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
84 out of 84
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Peery Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles, CA
Dec 30, 2009

Nice experience

I had read some unfavorable reviews of this hotel before I stayed and was a bit apprehensive, however I was pleasantly surprised. The staff was very friendly and helpful, the reviews are right the rooms are small, but we liked it, we also had a room on the parking side and it was very quiet except the last night when there was a battle of the cover bands in the parking outside our window!! Figures its the one night when we have to wake up @ 3am for an early flight!! The bed was huge and a memory foam mattress, I thought it was really comfy but some people don't like them. Parking is extra the lot is close so self-parking is probably better, we opted for valet which was very nice and prompt, in snowy weather this was great to have, they even brought the car around at 4am and had it running and warm! Regular parking is $10 a night and valet is $14. Coming from LA where hotels charge 20+ this was reasonable to me. Overall we enjoyed our stay very much!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Squatters across the street had some tasty beers, it's one of the first microbreweries in SLC. Market Street Oyster bar had some really tasty food but was more on the pricier side, nice for a romantic dinner out though!

Review of Peery Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ephraim, Utah
Dec 13, 2009

Very Classy Hotel, great location

We were in town for a wedding, and found the Peery the perfect home away from home. The bed was very comfortable, and the room was very nice. The check-out time was noon, and that was nice for us too, because we got to sleep in. The staff was professional and helpful, and the restaurant (Christphers Steak House) was delicious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Peery Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
G. White
Business
Gilbert, AZ
Dec 10, 2009

Perfect Stay

Luxury accomodations, top notch staff. Extremely friendly and very helpful since I did not know the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Peery Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
YeK
Florida
Nov 29, 2009

good location good price good service

hotel has a very good location. staff was very nice. parking is not a problem there are lots of public parking near the hotel some of them was free. the only problem is the small rooms but this doesnt bother me. I really recommend Peery Hotel to everyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The Gateway is the most beautiful place for shopping dining or even for entertainment. and it is very close to hotel. There are also a lot of good restaurants near hotel in walking distance.

Review of Peery Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Utah
Nov 16, 2009

Great Beds, not so great smell

This is the second time I stayed in this hotel. Great beds, nice decor. Wish they could fix that icky smell.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Capitol Theatre close to this Hotel.

Review of Peery Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sparrow
Orange County, Caifornia
Nov 10, 2009

Great location. That's all!

I thought the location was great. The Hotel was very marginal. I would not stay there again. The bathroom was awful. There ws no room to even turn around. No where to put any of my stuff i.e. hair dryer, makeup, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Peery Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Paradise, CA
Oct 29, 2009

Very convenient

A convenient location, within walking distance of Morman Square and many great restaurants and pubs. Being a couple blocks out of downtown is a plus, especially with all the building and road construction going on now in the downtown area. The staff is exceptionally helpful and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Squatters (across the street) and Red Rock Pub both have great pub menus with a few dishes out of the ordinary (e.g., ahi tacos), the Market Street Grill (a half block away) has a great breakfast menu, surprisingly inexpensive, freshly squeezed orange and grapefruit juice, and an expansive oyster menu! Walking is good, because SLC taxi service can be slow.

Review of Peery Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shoequeen
Crawfordville, FL
Oct 4, 2009

History & Antique buffs' delight

This was a quaint old hotel, situated in downtown Salt Lake City. We were within walking distance of Temple Square, downtown shopping, & several restaurants. The bed was very comfortable & we got a good night's sleep after each day of sightseeing. However, being there for a week, it would have been a great convenience to have a coffee maker, and microwave in the room. We rented a refrigerator for $10/day, along with paid parking for $10/day. Overall, we were quite satisfied with our stay and would recommend it to other couples. Not really a place for kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Peery Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Graceful Traveler
Indianapolis, Indiana
Oct 3, 2009

A pretty and unique, but small hotel

We spent one night at the hotel and didn't have time to check out the amenities much. We just needed a quiet place to unwind between stops on our trip. It is a pretty and romantic hotel and was good for a couple without children like us. My only complaint is that the room was so small that we could hardly move around the King size bed. It overwhelmed the room. The bed was very comfortable -- the best we slept in during our two-week trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Peery Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Union City, CA
Sep 21, 2009

Cute hotel

Cute boutique hotel only a block away from the Salt Palace Convention Center. Only 1 old elevator that can only handle maybe up to 4 passengers. Room was clean, but the floors were creaking. Overall it worked for me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Besides the steakhouse and Macaroni Grill downstairs, you are in downtown so plenty of places to eat within a few blocks, including the Gateway Mall and Farmer's Market (on Saturday).

Back to menu Return to top

Change search