$73 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 27, 2015 Check-out: Apr 28, 2015

Peery Hotel

3 stars
View map of 110 West 300 South, Salt Lake City, UT 84101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Peery Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
93 out of 93
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Peery Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Aventura, FL
Aug 10, 2010

What a stench!

Leave it to the staff of the Peery Hotel. They've done a great job with marketing. Judging from the website, their hotel looks like a classy old-world historic hotel with elegance and tons of amenities. The truth is that it is an old, stale hotel with very few amenities and an incompetent staff. When we walked in, we were greated by a putrid stench that made me wonder who had died there recently. The staff acted as if nothing was wrong until WE brought up the smell. Apparently, is was caused by an over-flowing grease trap at the next door Christopher's restaurant, and it premeated the entire building, including our sencond floor room. We had an amazing view from our window of one of the ugliest parking lots. The only thing that kept me from vomiting was my concern that I would add to the already sickening stench in the hotel. In fairness, to the Peery Hotel, the bed was extremely comfortable, and the location was unbeatable, withing walking distance to the Temple Square, and close to Squatter's pub, where we ate dinner. For a one-night stay it wasn't bad, but definitely not worth the $130 per night we paid. We should have stayed at the Radisson or Hilton, in retrospect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Peery Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Aug 8, 2010

Great downtown location

The lobby and furnishings looks great, the beds are incredibly comfortable. The room we had was very small without a view. The bathroom light and light in the ceiling outside the bathroom door are on the same switch so when someone gets up to use the bathroom during the night the whole room lights up. For the cost, a continental breakfast should have been included. The only offering was coffee and black tea - not even herbal tea or cocoa was available. Good price for valet parking and the staff was very friendly. Nice workout room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of great choices for restaurants all within a block or two. Market Street Grill, Benihana, Blue Iguana, Macaroni Grill, Olive Garden. The Trax/train is a block away and in the free zone, there is also a big outdoor mall and planetarium in walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Peery Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Queen Bun
Business
Tucson AZ
Jun 14, 2010

Small, elegant, friendly

Very slightly off the beaten track but still in range of many fine eateries and attractions. The "European" term did refer to the small size of my room, which true to type, had the basin in the room proper, and the shower/toilet in a separate space behind an old fashioned door. All was spotless, the bed comfortable, the radio had a dock for my iPod, lots of TV options and strong clear WiFi signal throughout. Fitness center small but well appointed with individual TV screens, lobby elegant with complimentary coffee--no tea bags alas. Not all rooms overlook a view; I got a rooftop. The staff is absolutely first-class. Be aware that you will be charged a $15.00 "restoration fee" each night; to me the ambiance is well worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is flanked by two restaurants; one is a chain, the other an independent. Tried the latter and it is very good indeed. Across the street is an outstanding, ecologically sensitive pub with delicious food that is locally grown and produced. Other fine independents are close by along with a lot of the upscale chains.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Peery Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Jun 1, 2010

Utah Visit

No room service, poor house keeping, no breakfast, lousy pillows, poor air condinioning heat,no coffee in room, maybe in the lobby on and on

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Peery Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
layton, utah
May 3, 2010

Romance

This was a very romantic getaway in a great location. There were many restaurants and activities within walking distance. Suggest going to a piano bar called Keys on Main. A very fun time. Not really a hotel for kids!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Peery Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Grand Junction, Co
Apr 16, 2010

Great place to stay

Very Friendly and helpful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Peery Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco
Mar 31, 2010

My Experience

Nice place, wonderful historical building, but very basic with regards to amenities. They lock the doors at 12:00 midnight and they are slow to come open the door. Not much warning about that. Also, there is no food service whatsoever in the morning for at least a block and a half away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Peery Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
WSM
Business
Denver, CO
Mar 30, 2010

The Peery Downtown

a

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Peery Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Mar 5, 2010

Small room but good location

This is a nicely renovated period hotel near the center of things not far from the airport. The staff was friendly and helpful. The discounted rooms we booked through [...] were so small that we could barely turn around in them to get dressed and they looked out onto a roof towards another wing of the building. We therefore did not see the light of day. We saw other rooms that had more space and I would stay here again but not through [...]. You get what you pay for sometimes. The TV was old, there was no frig or snack bar. The free Wi-Fi worked very nicely though. We did not need to spend any time in the room as we went to the mountains every day to ski.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many of the city's best restaurants are within a short walk from this hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Peery Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Colorado
Mar 1, 2010

Central location

Great location. We had late nights and looked forward to sleeping in a bit - beds were very comfortable and the hotel was quiet. Front desk staff was less than enthusiatic regarding suggestions for breakfast. They didn't even mention there was coffee available in the lobby. Luckily another employee came up and told us about Market Street Grill. Budget for the historical preservation fee per night (was printed on our [...] sheet) and the nightly parking fee. We parked along the next street for no charge and just walked a block to the hotel - very safe. The rooms are a bit small but when one only sleeps there, it is a non-issue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For breakfast be sure to go to the Market Street Grill as well as Squatters, just across the street. Squatters is also a good place to go in the evening for a late dinner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top