$66 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 15, 2014 Check-out: Dec 16, 2014

Peery Hotel

3 stars
110 West 300 South, Salt Lake City, UT 84101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
89 reviews
Nice place

The room was beautiful, and the location was very central. A few negative reviews I read complained... See full review

  • Cees
  • Nov 19, 2014
Perfect!

The Peery hotel was quiet clean and the staff very nice and helpful. The Peery in a lovely old... See full review

  • USANA Conference
  • Aug 31, 2014
Salt Lake City hotel built in 1910 features Macaroni Grill restaurant
For more than a century, the Peery Hotel has welcomed guests with personalized service and elegant spaces that continue to make the hotel a unique option in downtown Salt Lake City. Nods to tradition include rich damask fabrics, a grand lobby staircase and crisp, clean guest rooms with canopied beds. Spend an evening by the lobby fireplace, where period furnishings bring the feel of an upscale early 20th-century home. The Peery Hotel accommodates modern lifestyles with a 24-hour fitness center and Wi-Fi Internet access (fees apply).
Highlights

  • Utah's only hotel listed on the National Register of Historic Places
  • 24-hour fitness center
  • In-room spa services available
  • Meeting and banquet facilities, full-service business center
  • Walking distance to Salt Palace Convention Center, Temple Square and Energy Solutions Arena

Rooms
Guest rooms and suites at the Peery Hotel are furnished with triple-sheeted Tempur-Pedic beds for ultimate comfort. Wi-Fi Internet access (fees apply), iPod docking stations, coffee-makers and private voicemail provide some comforts of home, while pedestal sinks and Gilchrist and Soames bath amenities provide hints of an earlier time. Pets are welcome (fees apply). Weekday newspapers are complimentary. Terrycloth robes are available upon request.
Features
Guests are welcomed in a grand lobby featuring soaring ceilings and refined conversation areas to relax and enjoy complimentary Starbucks coffee or Tazo tea. Keep up with a fitness routine at the complimentary 24-hour fitness center. In-room spa services at the Peery Hotel include signature treatments like the brown sugar massage.
Dining
The nationally known Romano's Macaroni Grill is located on-site at the Peery Hotel. Exposed stone walls and archways and strolling opera singers give the restaurant an authentic Tuscan feel. Across the street from the Peery Hotel, Ruth's Chris Steak House is another popular choice in downtown Salt Lake City.
Transportation

  • Light rail stop (one block)
  • Salt Lake City Intermodal Hub (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Salt Lake City International Airport (4.7 mi/7.6 km)

Attractions

  • Rose Wagner Performing Arts Center (Adjacent)
  • Calvin L. Rampton Salt Palace Convention Center (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Energy Solutions Arena (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Temple Square (0.6 mi/0.9 km)  
  • Utah State Capitol (1 mi/1.6 km) 

Business

  • Business center with high-speed Internet access
  • 4,200 square feet of function space
  • 8 meeting rooms and grand historic ballroom

Hotel Map

40.7629 -111.8944
Area served
Salt Lake City
Nearby airports
Salt Lake International Airport - 7 miles (15 minutes).
Area description
Centrally located in the downtown heart of Salt Lake City's cultural, shopping and corporate districts, the restored grace of the historic. This luxurious boutique hotel's just 7 miles east of the Salt Lake City International Airport. Just 1 block away from the Convention Center, the performing arts center and more, Ski resorts of international renown are just 30 minutes away by car or shuttle van service. The Peery Hotel is within walking distance to the state's largest mall and lies in the hub of the downtown business and restaurant district. Nearby attractions include Temple Square, home of the Mormon Tabermacle Choir and the family history archives; the EnergySolutions Arena home of the Utah Jazz; The Gateway Mall; Symphony Hall; and the Capitol Theatre. Also close by are the children's Museum of Utah, the Utah Museum of National History, the Utah Museum of Fine Arts, the Red Butte Garden and Arborelum and Utah's Hogle Zoo, Tracy Aviary and the Clerk Planetarium.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Peery Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Peery Hotel Rooms

King Suite
Room with one King Tempur-Pedic Bed and sofa bed includes premium mattress, period furnishings, desk, wireless internet access, 27-inch cable TV, voice mail, coffeemaker with starbucks coffee, hairdryer, bath & body works bath products, bathrobe, iron/ironing board and complimentary weekday newspaper, non smoking.
Queen Suite
Room with one Queen Tempur-Pedic bed and sofa bed includes premium mattress, period furnishings, desk, Wireless internet access, 27-inch cable TV, voice mail, coffeemaker with starbucks coffee, hairdryer, bath & body works bath products, bathrobe, iron/ironing board and complimentary weekday newspaper, non smoking.
Classic King
Room with one King Tempur-Pedic Bed, Wireless internet access, 27-inch cable TV, voice mail, coffee maker with Starbucks coffee, hairdryer, bath & body works bath products, bathrobe, iron/ironing board and complimentary weekday newspaper, non smoking.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Capitol Theatre: 0 mi
  • Salt Palace Convention Center: 0.3 mi
  • Abravanel Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Family History Library: 0.5 mi
  • EnergySolutions Arena: 0.5 mi
  • Energy Solutions Arena: 0.5 mi
  • Joseph Smith Memorial Building: 0.5 mi
  • Clark Planetarium: 0.5 mi
  • Salt Lake Temple: 0.5 mi
  • Beehive House: 0.6 mi
  • The Leonardo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Temple Square: 0.6 mi
  • LDS Confrence Center: 0.7 mi
  • Cathedral of the Madeleine: 0.8 mi
  • Pioneer Memorial Museum: 1 mi
  • Capitol Theatre: 0 mi
  • Salt Palace Convention Center: 0.3 mi
  • Abravanel Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Family History Library: 0.5 mi
  • EnergySolutions Arena: 0.5 mi
  • Energy Solutions Arena: 0.5 mi
  • Joseph Smith Memorial Building: 0.5 mi
  • Clark Planetarium: 0.5 mi
  • Salt Lake Temple: 0.5 mi
  • Beehive House: 0.6 mi
  • The Leonardo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Temple Square: 0.6 mi
  • LDS Confrence Center: 0.7 mi
  • Cathedral of the Madeleine: 0.8 mi
  • Pioneer Memorial Museum: 1 mi
  • City Creek Canyon: 1 mi
  • Capitol Buidling: 1.1 mi
  • Governor's Mansion: 1.2 mi
  • Gilgal Gardens: 1.3 mi
  • Memory Grove Park: 1.5 mi
  • Liberty Park: 1.6 mi
  • The Tracy Aviary: 1.7 mi
  • Ensign Peak Park: 2.2 mi
  • Rice-Eccles Stadium: 2.4 mi
  • Jon M. Huntsman Center: 2.9 mi
  • Sugarhouse Park: 3.6 mi
  • Red Butte Garden: 3.7 mi
  • Natural History Museum of Utah: 3.7 mi
  • Utah's Hogle Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • Utah Symphony: 6.6 mi
  • Mill Creek Canyon: 8 mi
  • Big Cottonwood Canyon: 18.4 mi
  • Solitude Mountain: 18.7 mi

Dining

Romano's Macaroni Grill
A chain of restaurants run by chefs. Exposed stone walls and archways, crisp white linen and strolling opera singers are the hallmarks of this very successful restaurant. Serving authentic Italian cuisine with only the freshest ingredients.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting room facilities are available. Please contact the Sales Department for more information.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (89)

Ratings and reviews for Peery Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
89 out of 89
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Peery Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ggn231
Business
Salt Lake City, UT
Jul 31, 2012

Good hotel

Great, hotel, good ambiance, would stay here again. Beds are very comfortable, room was clean and staff was friendly. Only downside is internet is $10/day, come on, this is 2012.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Peery Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
bmwdreemin
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Mar 7, 2012

Consider another hotel unless you like "OLD"

The lobby is pretty and that's about it! This is a very old hotel and yes a historic landmark. If you like this type of hotel...just to warn you..No hot water for a shower for two days. The TV had on station. My room had no hairdryer. The toilet made a flushing type of noise every 1/2 hr. You hear the street/outside noise at night. The room was the size of a closet. The smallest room I have ever been in for a hotel. The bathroom was tiny and the sink was lop sided. I could not place anything on the sink because it would slide right off. The hotel was completely sold out so I was not able to change rooms. I woud never stay here again and I wish I didn't prepay because I would have checked out and found a better hotel. There was also broken glass on the floor of the bathroom. I've been camping and have had better accomodations than this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Peery Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pleased in SLC
Business
McPherson, KS 67460, USA
Jan 14, 2012

Very nice place to stay and right downtown

It was just an awesome place to spend our Christmas get away. Beautifully decorated and on the historic register. Only issue is paying $10 a day for internet. The $10 a day for parking was worth it for the convenience. So very close to everything with its downtown location. Overall just great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Peery Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BobH
Business
Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
Dec 5, 2011

Historic hotel

The guest at the Peery Hotel is welcomed into a large, comfortable, historic lobby with a grand staircase and blazing fireplace. Fresh water and coffee are provided in the lobby. Staff are friendly and helpful, eager to please. The decorations are all Old Style Western. The room was comfortable and quiet. One small complaint would be the size of the bathroom. I had to squeeze between the sink and the toilet to reach the shower. But that's a minor inconvenience. They promise that a pub will soon open off the lobby, so it will only get better!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Peery Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Scottsdale, AZ
Jul 14, 2011

definitely old-world

The hotel smelled musty when I entered the front door. the elevator was broken and there was not Bell Service at the time of my check in. I am recovering from a surgery and have one arm in a sling and I had to lift my luggage up three flights of stairs to get to my room. the bed and bedding was very comfortable. The towels felt like sand paper. The winsow appeared as if it had not been washed in several years leaving me to keep the shade drawn. There were no outlets to plug my phone charger, except for sink, which was too far away to hear alarm in the morning. The morning coffee service in the lobby was not well maintained; the creamer empty, no lids for travel from hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Peery Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
SLC, Utah
Jul 9, 2011

Good eating close by.

The sink leaked every time you turned it on. The A/C was so loud, it was hard to sleep. Housekeeping actually came around at 8:30 AM and had to be told to come back later. I had a hard enough time sleeping and finally get to sleep and then get woke up! The temper-pedic bed was nice, but not enough to justify the price. We went to dinner at a very nice restaurant for my birthday. We were not told upon check in that coffee is no longer served after 10 AM in the lobby. I will not stay there again. It simply wasn't worth it. One redeeming quality the hotel had, it is in walking distance to several nice restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Peery Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hudson, MA
Jul 4, 2011

Good location, enjoyed our stay.

We used this as the base for the beginning and end of our trip. Went to Salt Lake and went to the Mormon Temple and heard the choir practice. Bed comfortable. Only thing we didn't like, was the squeaky floor, but considering it's an older building, that's okay. Good time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Nice to be able to walk to places close by.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Peery Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
rexburg, ID
Mar 7, 2011

A fun experience

We stayed here for one night and was our second time staying in a hotel in Salt lake. We simply wanted a fun place to stay that would be something different but nice. The hotel does have an excellent location and staff was very helpful. Our room was quaint, and very nice - fitting perfect with an antique style hotel. We slept great on our king tempurpedic mattress. Cons included that there were wet spots in the carpet and our bedding was slightly damp. I'm sure the staff would have taken care of this immediately had we asked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Or perhaps a long walk to Vintos wood fire pizza and italian. This was a fun place and had great food and style.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Peery Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Dec 30, 2010

Fun and Fancy Free!

I didn't check beforehand to see if there was a swimming pool, which was my fault. :( But we were bummed there wasn't one. Our room was FREEZING when we first got there, but seemed to warm up fairly quickly. LOVED the atmosphere and enjoyed being there without kids!!! ;O)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check with the Macaroni Grill before you order! They were out of EVERYTHING that night!!! :o)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Peery Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Encinitas, CA
Dec 19, 2010

Ask to See the Room First

We have stayed at many hotels in downtown SLC and thought we'd give The Peery a try because some of the wedding party was staying there. Our room was very tiny; you walked right into the bed upon entering. The only sink was in the room. There was no heat in the bathroom. The TV cable was not attached and we had to move the heavy armoire to reach the cable wire and attach it to the TV.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top