$59 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 7, 2015 Check-out: May 10, 2015

Prospector Accommodations

2 stars
View map of Check-In: 1485 Empire Avenue, Located at 1940 Prospector Avenue, Park City, UT 84060

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.7
out of 5
30 reviews
Great temp housing

It was easy to self-check in and out. It was close to shopping and dining. Very resonable pricing... See full review

  • Michiganders
  • Nov 5, 2011
family time

we rented two condos so that 2 adult children and their families could join us. The accommodations... See full review

  • ouida
  • Aug 6, 2010
Three condo-style lodges in Prospector Square on city’s free bus route

Prospector Accommodations features three lodging options within one mile of Park City Mountain and historic Main Street. The Prospector Square Lodge has hotel and mini studio suites, and New Claim Condominiums and Suncreek Condominiums both have two-bedroom condos. Winter guests receive two one-time use passes per reservation to the adjacent Silver Mountain Sport Club and Spa. Prospector Square Lodge has an outdoor pool and hot tub.

Highlights
  • The slopes are minutes away and easily accessible via Park City's free bus system
  • Winter guests receive two free one-time-use passes to Silver Mountain Sport Club and Spa
  • Daily housekeeping at Prospector Square Lodge, mid-week housecleaning at New Claim Condominiums and Suncreek Condominiums
Rooms
Each condo at Prospector Accommodations is individually owned, and the decor varies by unit. The standard hotel rooms and studios at Prospector Lodge (daily housekeeping) offer free local calls, cable, VCR, and coffee makers. Studio units there have balconies, mini-refrigerators and microwaves. Two bedroom units at New Claim Condominiums and SSuncreek Condominiums (mid-week housekeeping) offer full-sized kitchen, living and dining area, free local calls, cable and VCR.
Features
The hotel and mini suites at Prospector Square Lodge can sleep two to four, and the two bedrooms at New Claim and Suncreek can sleep up to six. Guests of Prospector Accommodations receive free passes from Nov. 15 through April 15 to the nearby Silver Mountain Sports Club and Spa. Guests may also purchase discounted passes to Silver Mountain Sport Club and Spa year-round. Prospector Square Lodge has an outdoor pool and hot tub. Prospector Accommodations are located on the free citywide bus route.
Transportation
  • Amtrak (34.8 mi/56 km)
  • Salt Lake City International Airport (35.1 mi/56.5 km)
Attractions
  • Eccles Center (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • ZipRider (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Historic Main Street (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Egyptian Theatre Company (1.8 mi/2.8 km)
  • Red Pine Adventures (3.6 mi/5.7 km)
  • Tanger Outlet Mall (7.1 mi/11.4 km)
  • Utah Olympic Park (7.8 mi/12.5 km)
  • Gorgoza Park (12.8 mi/20.5 km)
Policies and fees
Guests check in at the Carriage House, which is located within one block of each property

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Prospector Accommodations also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Prospector Accommodations Rooms

2-Bedroom Condominium - Standard
This amply appointed condominium, approximately 700-900 square feet, features a spacious living room with a cozy gas fireplace, dining area, fully equipped kitchen, private washer and dryer, a large balcony, two private bedrooms, and two full bathrooms. Bedding varies but typically consists of one king or queen bed in the master bedroom, one queen or two twin beds in the second bedroom, and a sleeper sofa. Sleeps up to 6.
2-Bedroom Condominium - Premium
This amply appointed condominium, approximately 700-900 square feet, features a spacious living room with a cozy gas fireplace, dining area, fully equipped kitchen, private washer and dryer, a large balcony, two private bedrooms, and two full bathrooms. Bedding varies but typically consists of one king or queen bed in the master bedroom, one queen or two twin beds in the second bedroom, and a sleeper sofa. Sleeps up to 6.
Hotel Room - Standard
This room, approximately 315 square feet, features typical hotel amenities like cable TV, a coffee maker, iron/ironing board, and a hair dryer, private balcony, and one full bathroom. Bedding consists of two queen beds. Sleeps up to 4.
Studio Suite - Standard
This suite, approximately 350 square feet, features a kitchenette facility, private balcony, desk, cable TV, coffee maker, iron/ironing board, and a hair dryer, and one full bathroom. Bedding varies but includes either two queen beds or one queen bed and a sleeper sofa. Sleeps up to 4.

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Services
Conference facilities
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Nacho Mamas
Great Mexican restaurant located within walking distance.
Off Main Cafe and Bakery
Adjacent cafe and bakery serving fresh pastries and coffees.
Blind Dog- Restaurant and Sushi Bar
A local favorite, Blind Dog features a perfect blend of ingredients: fresh fish flown in daily and hand cut prime meats. Located in Prospector, Blind Dog offers an escape from Main Street crowds and excellent food. Within walking distance.
Grub Steak Restaurant
The popular Grub Steak Restaurant serves great food and features live entertainment on weekends. Located within walking distance.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Prospector Accommodations

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
11 out of 30
Amenities:
2.2
Cleanliness:
3.1
Hotel staff:
2.4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.4

55% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Prospector Accommodations

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Poppag
Business
Great Salt Lake, Utah, USA
Oct 23, 2011

Confusion

The hotel was under construction. The rooms are owned by individual people that choose who runs their unit. We arrived at the prospector with reservation in hand and were told that we didn't have a reservation. After some calling around we had to check in at another property. Then when we got to the prospector saw that the paint was peeling from the building and the door that we were supposed to enter was inaccessible. After finding a way in while towing our luggage we found the room to be dingy. If I didn't have a wonderful girlfriend the weekend would have been a bust!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Prospector Accommodations

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Squeaky
Business
Pennsylvania
Oct 20, 2011

Great for the Price

There was nobody at any desk when we arrived and had to check in by telephone. Our room did not have a refridgerator so they upgraded us to a room with one. The hot tub was down almost the entire time we were there. Overall however it was a great value based upon the price that we paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Prospector Accommodations

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Totally Anonymous
Business
SLC, Utah
Aug 25, 2011

Alone time with my Wife, escape from the kids.

The room was Great, Very beautiful! The beds have very nice mattress and plenty of soft comfortable pillows. The Pool and Hot Tub were not easy to find, but was very nice and enjoyable once we were able to get in. The exercise room looked very nice but since we were only there for one night we did not get a chance to use it. If we would have stayed longer we definitely would have enjoyed the up to date equipment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Prospector Accommodations

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Anaheim, CA
Feb 23, 2011

Great Value

We booked to stay at the Prospector Accommodations for 4 nights and was a little nervous from the number of negative reviews. [...] Overall, it was much better than expected. However, there were one potentially big problem. We got into Park City at midnight and went to the Carriage House, however, we didn't have the door code to get in. When we called the front desk phone number, we could hear the phone ringing inside, but no one answer. Luckily, a tenant arrived and opened the door for us. We were then able to use the phone in the lobby to call the after-hour number to get the keys and instruction to our room. Apparently, they had forgotten to forward the front desk phone to the after-hour service number. Nevertheless, we were able to quickly get to our room without any other hitch.The room was decent and was fully equiped with kitchenette, extra towels, hair dryer, ironing board, etc. The heater and hot water works well. Housekeeping emptied the trash and replaced towels on a daily basis. Parking was ample and very close to our front door. There are two bus stops right in front of the property and we used them to get to/from PCMR. Overall, it was a great value for $100 a night on Presidents Day weekend. We would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We dined at Wahso Asian Grill on Main Street and it was out of this world!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Prospector Accommodations

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Jackson Hole
Oct 26, 2009

OK for the price!

We like to visit Park City. The location of these accomidations are perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Prospector Accommodations

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
SLC, Ut
Sep 6, 2009

Prospector Accommadations

I did not receive any instructions for arriving after the front desk closed. We got there fifteen minutes after it had closed, and I could not contact anyone on a wall phone. Got a recorded message with instructions to try a code for a safe on the wall and to go to another hotel if it didn't work or call a certain number. The combo did not work, I did not know where that other hotel was, and when I tried the phone number (using my cell phone, because the wall phone had no key pad) I got the same message machine. After eating dinner, we stopped at another hotel, and the person at the front desk was kind enough to dial a number and get me in contact with a person. I went back and was able to unlock the safe and get my room keys, but was never told to read the instructions on the back of the little folder that had the keys. We went to what we thought was our room in the building we were in and the keys did not fit in the key hole. Called from the wall phone again and someone came over to see why the keys didn't fit in the keyhole. After I explained the situation he pointed out that the back of the folder showed how to find the building we were actually staying in. After all of that, the only other problem was not enough towels, which we didn't ralize until we were getting ready for bed. Please lease don't get me wrong. The whole situation wasn't all bad -- when we did talk with a person, they were very helpful, friendly and accomadating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

The restaurants "Good Karma Off of Main" (a few blocks away from where we were) and "The Grub Steak Restaurant" (just around the corner from where we were)were excellant dining facilities. Don't let the name Good Karma fool you. I thought my wife was dragging me to a vegetarian place, but I was very pleased with my breakfast (both times we went).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Prospector Accommodations

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bobsy
Business
Bountiful, Utah USA
Jul 27, 2009

Prospector Square Lodge

Room was not well lighted, Pool was two bocks away. Shower did not work and there was no desk service

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Prospector Accommodations

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
tucson, az
Jul 24, 2009

dump

I check in and they gave me a map to find my building after looking for the right building for 1 1/2 hours and asking people if they could help I finally got someone to come to the office which closes at 5:00. The person in the Office didn't even know where it was. I am 78 years old and sure didn't need to stay in a place like this. Very unfriendly staff if you can find any. DON'T STAY HERE. I will never book threw Orbiz again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Prospector Accommodations

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jerry the Curmudgeon
Business
Detroit, MI
Apr 23, 2009

Great Location, fair quality but good va

Location was great for getting into Park City and the Park City and Deer Valley ski areas. We could take bus (free) to those locations although we had rented a car which made timing better. The rooms were OK just for sleeping, no extras but we got what we paid for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Many good restaurants in downtown Park City

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Prospector Accommodations

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta
Nov 23, 2008

Their check-in desk ...

Their check-in desk closes around 6 so if you want to check in later they just leave keys out for you in a drop box. The keys they left for us did not work the door to the room we were staying in so we had to wait about 45 minutes til some one could show up to get us into our room. The room was fine although the building was pretty old and there are no amenities. Also, there's a bus stop right outside the hotel for a free shuttle that'll drive you the 1 mile to Main Street but the bus stops running at 10.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top