$59 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 26, 2015 Check-out: Jul 28, 2015

Prospector Accommodations

2 stars
View map of Check-In: 1485 Empire Avenue, Located at 1940 Prospector Avenue, Park City, UT 84060

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.7
out of 5
31 reviews
Great temp housing

It was easy to self-check in and out. It was close to shopping and dining. Very resonable pricing... See full review

  • Michiganders
  • Nov 5, 2011
family time

we rented two condos so that 2 adult children and their families could join us. The accommodations... See full review

  • ouida
  • Aug 6, 2010

Prospector Accommodations features three lodging options within one mile of Park City Mountain and historic Main Street. The Prospector Square Lodge has hotel and mini studio suites, and New Claim Condominiums and Suncreek Condominiums both have two-bedroom condos. Winter guests receive two one-time use passes per reservation to the adjacent Silver Mountain Sport Club and Spa. Prospector Square Lodge has an outdoor pool and hot tub.

Rooms
Each condo at Prospector Accommodations is individually owned, and the decor varies by unit. The standard hotel rooms and studios at Prospector Lodge (daily housekeeping) offer free local calls, cable, VCR, and coffee makers. Studio units there have balconies, mini-refrigerators and microwaves. Two bedroom units at New Claim Condominiums and SSuncreek Condominiums (mid-week housekeeping) offer full-sized kitchen, living and dining area, free local calls, cable and VCR.
Property features
The hotel and mini suites at Prospector Square Lodge can sleep two to four, and the two bedrooms at New Claim and Suncreek can sleep up to six. Guests of Prospector Accommodations receive free passes from Nov. 15 through April 15 to the nearby Silver Mountain Sports Club and Spa. Guests may also purchase discounted passes to Silver Mountain Sport Club and Spa year-round. Prospector Square Lodge has an outdoor pool and hot tub. Prospector Accommodations are located on the free citywide bus route.
Highlights
  • The slopes are minutes away and easily accessible via Park City's free bus system
  • Winter guests receive two free one-time-use passes to Silver Mountain Sport Club and Spa
  • Daily housekeeping at Prospector Square Lodge, mid-week housecleaning at New Claim Condominiums and Suncreek Condominiums
Nearby attractions
  • Eccles Center (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • ZipRider (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Historic Main Street (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Egyptian Theatre Company (1.8 mi/2.8 km)
  • Red Pine Adventures (3.6 mi/5.7 km)
  • Tanger Outlet Mall (7.1 mi/11.4 km)
  • Utah Olympic Park (7.8 mi/12.5 km)
  • Gorgoza Park (12.8 mi/20.5 km)
Transportation
  • Amtrak (34.8 mi/56 km)
  • Salt Lake City International Airport (35.1 mi/56.5 km)
Policies
Guests check in at the Carriage House, which is located within one block of each property

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Prospector Accommodations also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Prospector Accommodations Rooms

Hotel Room - Standard
This room, approximately 315 square feet, features typical hotel amenities like cable TV, a coffee maker, iron/ironing board, and a hair dryer, private balcony, and one full bathroom. Bedding consists of two queen beds. Sleeps up to 4.
Studio Suite - Standard
This suite, approximately 350 square feet, features a kitchenette facility, private balcony, desk, cable TV, coffee maker, iron/ironing board, and a hair dryer, and one full bathroom. Bedding varies but includes either two queen beds or one queen bed and a sleeper sofa. Sleeps up to 4.
2-Bedroom Condominium - Standard
This amply appointed condominium, approximately 700-900 square feet, features a spacious living room with a cozy gas fireplace, dining area, fully equipped kitchen, private washer and dryer, a large balcony, two private bedrooms, and two full bathrooms. Bedding varies but typically consists of one king or queen bed in the master bedroom, one queen or two twin beds in the second bedroom, and a sleeper sofa. Sleeps up to 6.
2-Bedroom Condominium - Premium
This amply appointed condominium, approximately 700-900 square feet, features a spacious living room with a cozy gas fireplace, dining area, fully equipped kitchen, private washer and dryer, a large balcony, two private bedrooms, and two full bathrooms. Bedding varies but typically consists of one king or queen bed in the master bedroom, one queen or two twin beds in the second bedroom, and a sleeper sofa. Sleeps up to 6.

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Services
Conference facilities
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Blind Dog- Restaurant and Sushi Bar
A local favorite, Blind Dog features a perfect blend of ingredients: fresh fish flown in daily and hand cut prime meats. Located in Prospector, Blind Dog offers an escape from Main Street crowds and excellent food. Within walking distance.
Grub Steak Restaurant
The popular Grub Steak Restaurant serves great food and features live entertainment on weekends. Located within walking distance.
Nacho Mamas
Great Mexican restaurant located within walking distance.
Off Main Cafe and Bakery
Adjacent cafe and bakery serving fresh pastries and coffees.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Prospector Accommodations

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
31 out of 31
Amenities:
2.4
Cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
2.5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.3

55% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Prospector Accommodations

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Poppag
Business
Great Salt Lake, Utah, USA
Oct 23, 2011

Confusion

The hotel was under construction. The rooms are owned by individual people that choose who runs their unit. We arrived at the prospector with reservation in hand and were told that we didn't have a reservation. After some calling around we had to check in at another property. Then when we got to the prospector saw that the paint was peeling from the building and the door that we were supposed to enter was inaccessible. After finding a way in while towing our luggage we found the room to be dingy. If I didn't have a wonderful girlfriend the weekend would have been a bust!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Prospector Accommodations

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Helena, MT
May 31, 2009

Prospector Poor Farm

The room had ants all over, the shower would not work at all, the grounds were littered and the hallway was covered in mud. I would not ever stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Prospector Accommodations

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
tucson, az
Jul 24, 2009

dump

I check in and they gave me a map to find my building after looking for the right building for 1 1/2 hours and asking people if they could help I finally got someone to come to the office which closes at 5:00. The person in the Office didn't even know where it was. I am 78 years old and sure didn't need to stay in a place like this. Very unfriendly staff if you can find any. DON'T STAY HERE. I will never book threw Orbiz again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Prospector Accommodations

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Salt Lake City, UT
Aug 22, 2009

Imaginary hotel?

Where is this place? First they tell you to check in at one hotel...where your keys are in a safe. Make sure you know the code! Where do you get the code? Who knows? Then, you take your keys, which say "room 308" and go on a multi hotel search to find out just which one you are staying at. The staff then tells you that room 308 doesn't exist. When you call the hotel "courtesy phone" and dial "8" for after hours help, they will tell you they are now closed and to call back tomorrow. Hmmm...that doesn't really help. You will eventually give up (unless you like scavenger hunts), and stay in a completely different hotel with a normal lobby and friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Prospector Accommodations

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
I Got What I Paid For
Business
Seattle, WA
Jan 18, 2011

Cheapo Ski Dorm

I needed a cheap room with kitchenette for a 3-night/4-day ski trip. I got that and not an ounce more. The correct building was difficult to find, the hallways smelled like weed, and the walls were paper thin. It was like staying in a college dorm. Every time my neighbor used the toilet the water system was so loud I literally could not hear the TV. There was no way to adjust the heat in the room. The fan came on, the fan went off. On whose schedule I don't know, and it was as loud as a jet engine. Checkout was a pain. I had to call an after-hours number to get the code to open the door to the lobby where I could drop off my key (an actual key) into a locked box. Really? That's the state of technology in Utah.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a few good restaurants within a short walk and plenty within a 5-min drive. Location is about the only good thing I can say about this place, but there are other options in town with as good or better location.

Review of Prospector Accommodations

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
P and G
Business
Logan, Ut
Aug 24, 2010

the good, the bad, and the really ugly

Your [...] ad specified a pool. NO POOL! The daytime temperature was in the mid 90's with NO AIR CONDITIONING! With poor ventilation the sleeping temperature never got below 80. The [...] ad had a list of bed choices but provided no place to specify our choice. We contacted the hotel 4 days before our arrival to specify our choice. They told us we would get what was available and they could not guarantee our request. At that point we would have liked to cancel our reservation but the cancellation would result in an $80 penalty. WE HAVE VERY GOOD REASON TO BE ANGRY at both [...] and the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Prospector Accommodations

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix
Aug 23, 2008

Don't Stay Here

The hotel is located in a great place to take the free shuttle into historic Main Street. But the room floors were dirty, the furniture was falling apart and the walk-way out side the room was very dirty with paper on the floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Prospector Accommodations

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 2, 2007

Poor housing at any price

The Prospector Accommodations, PARK CITY, UT is like a dormitory built in the 1970's. It has not been updated since that time and the wear shows. It is mostly full time residents. The hallways are shabby, beds are soft, and the bathroom is sparce and dated. There was no hot water one morning, and because it is a managed facility, there was not even anyone to call for a fix. I travel extensively, and this hotel has cured me of my qwest for economy prices.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Prospector Accommodations

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Colorado
Aug 26, 2010

Prospector Accomodaations, New Claim

TV did not get a signaal, staff said maintenence could help but they were gone, NO HELP. WiFi internet was poor and phone in room was dead. Poor directions to Check-in

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Prospector Accommodations

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington D.C.
May 28, 2009

Shady...

The day before we left, I called the management office to discuss the check-in process. Since we would not arrive until 10 p.m. and the office closes at 5:00 p.m., I was given instructions of how to pick-up the keys to the room from a safe. Unfortunately I was not given the code to get into the building where the safe was located! Luckily someone let us in, and we were quickly greated by a man (no uniform or name tag) who gave us our key. A little confusing since the office was "closed." I requested a second key and was told one would be sent over (that never happened). We quickly found our property (Sun Creek). The unit resembled a college apt.(random furnishings) and was not very clean (toilets and carpets). We were in town visiting family, so luckily we did not spend much time in the condo. I had to call the management office the following evening because house keeping did not stop by during the day. Someone was sent over and took out the trash and replaced the towels. After our third night the beds were finally made. I am assuming that the service would be much better during the high season. However, I would not take the risk of staying in this property again. In the future I will put out a little more money and hope to stay in a better managed property.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

My family and I had an amazing meal at the Grub Steak. Amazing service and food. If you visit Park City during the spring time make sure to eat early. During the week all of the food venues close at 9 p.m.

Back to menu Return to top