$36 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 28, 2015 Check-out: Sep 30, 2015

Super 8 Waco University Area

2 stars
View map of 1320 S Jack Kultgen Frwy, Waco, TX 76706-2151

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
43 reviews
Quick place to rest my head for the night

My kids and I were coming home from Oklahoma after a softball tournament and I got pretty sleepy.... See full review

  • Val
  • Jul 15, 2015
visit daughter at baylor

comfortable place to stay for the night close to baylor See full review

  • Milagros Paula D.
  • Feb 10, 2015
Welcome to the Super 8 Waco, home of Baylor University. Ideally located between Dallas and Austin, our interior corridor hotel is easily accessible from I-35. Kick back and relax in our rooms offering Free Wi-Fi. A complimentary SuperStart Breakfast is available every day from 6am - 9am. A Business Center, free parking, Accessible rooms, Coffee makers, hair dryers, free iron/iron board upon request, copy and fax service, 24 hour front desk, free Daily Newspaper and 24 Hour Coffee is located in the lobby. Free Pass to Golds Gym, located nearby. Downtown Waco, Shopping, Restaurants and all Area Attractions are within minutes from our convenient location. Stay with us and you will see that our hotel in the Waco University area is truly a destination Super 8.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Super 8 Waco University Area also booked these hotels.

★★★
$67
3.1 / 5 30 reviews
★★
$45
2.9 / 5 33 reviews
★★
$50
3.3 / 5 9 reviews
★★
$81
2.4 / 5 23 reviews
★★★
$69
3.7 / 5 22 reviews
★★
$49
2.5 / 5 23 reviews
★★
$89
4.2 / 5 6 reviews
★★
$59
3.5 / 5 22 reviews
★★
$41
1.5 / 5 2 reviews

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
General
Air conditioned
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Ramp access to buildings
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
TV remote control

Nearby points of interest

  • Ferrell Center: 1.4 mi
  • Floyd Casey Stadium: 1.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Super 8 Waco University Area

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
43 out of 43
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.8

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Super 8 Waco University Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Past Thru
Business
US
Mar 16, 2013

Quick stay, that's about it.

Room was clean, mattress was worn out. Good ole tube TV with snowy channels. Advertised free Internet, but I was not able to connect on two different devices. Staff advised router problems, but were unable to assist further. If you just want a clean room an shower, look no further. If you have other needs, better spend your money elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Easy access to I-35

Review of Super 8 Waco University Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Big B from Big D
Family
Dallas, TX
Apr 29, 2013

Why did I Choose . . .

Why did I choose this hotel, and why did I choose Or bitz to book this hotel? I didn't expect a 5-star hotel, but then again I also didn't expect a dive either. We were placed on the 2nd floor in a non-smoking room. The smell of smoke was thick in the hall leading up to my room. Although my room didn't reek of smoke, the smell came in every time I opened the door. The staff was fine, and my room wasn't dirty. But for $49.99 a night (and on a major highway), I expected it to be just a tad nicer. I could have stayed down the road (on the same highway) for $36 a night. I think I would have gotten the same level of accommodations for that rate also. Finally, I booked the room on Or bitz. I would have thought I would be getting a discount, but the advertised price (on a big sign out front), and the price from Or bitz was the same. This, actually, may be my biggest disappointment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Super 8 Waco University Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
DFW, TX
Jun 12, 2011

You get what you pay for.

Location was great for needing to visit Baylor University, but the clientele was shady at best. Really rough looking individuals coming in and out, and certainly "eye-ing" us when we walked in around 10:00 PM. If I as a female had been traveling alone, I'd have immediately turned around and left. Asked to cancel the reservation, and was told it was not a possibility. The room itself was reasonably clean. I would describe it dark, damp, and dank. But the sheets were clean, and there was no evidence of bedbugs. Considering it was the least expensive lodging option in the area, I would definitely say you get what you pay for. Lodgers beware.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Super 8 Waco University Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
SicEmBears
Couples
Houston, Tx
Nov 15, 2010

Nightmare at the Super 8

First impression was the hotel looks like new from the outside but the interior, while not bad per se, could use some renovation. The room looked clean but smelled of odor hiding chemicals and the carpet looked pretty worn. Apparently this is one of the only hotels in Waco to allow pets, so that is understandable. As a bit of perspective, generally speaking my philosophy is that so long as a place is clean, I'm just looking for a place to get some sleep. Overall, the Super 8 looked like what I would expect from a motel at this price point. After the game/dinner we got back to the hotel at about midnight, and that is when the nightmare began. First thing I notice upon entering the lobby is four women who looked like prostitutes lounging in the lobby with a male who looked like he was the boss. I figure no big deal, just keep walking, just here to sleep. My wife and I walk up the stairs to the second floor and the first thing we see is a guy walking out of a room zipping his fly as he walked down the hall. All he had on was shorts. Three more women who looked like prostitutes were congregated outside our room. I made the first call to the front desk at 2:00am. The room across the hall from us had been a revolving door about every 10 to 15 minutes. The deadbolt was thrown (to keep the door from locking when it shut) and I was able hear EVERYONE who came and went. The front desk's response was that they would send up the security guard, call Waco Police, and evict if necessary. I made the second call to the front desk at 4:00am. This time following countless visitors, who had come and gone, a fight had broken out in the room across the hall. It sounded like the walls were coming down. This time the frond desk said there was nothing they could do, that Waco PD was not responding to their calls, and that I could thank Baylor University for the whole mess because it was Baylor Universities' fault that this was happening. I said "excuse me?" "How is that again?" To which the front desk responded "Apparently this is happening all over town tonight and all these people are here because of Baylor University." It was apparent that the Super 8 was either in concert with the activity taking place, or unwilling to do anything about it! Had it not been for the fact that we were traveling with another couple who was staying somewhere on the third floor, my wife and I would have packed up and driven back to Houston immediately. I have never written a negative review of a hotel in my life but thought that this one warranted a write up. I don't want to see anyone else experience what I would describe as an unsafe and unsettling hotel stay. Consider yourself put on notice of how awful this place is and I highly recommend that you seek accommodations elsewhere. Trust me; I would happily have paid twice the $70 to not have put my wife and myself into that situation. From now on, I will bite the bullet, shell out the extra money, and just stay at the Hilton.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Super 8 Waco University Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Holland, MI
Dec 1, 2009

Not Good

I was passing thru this town so the location was great, right off the highway. However I'm pretty sure there were fleas in the bed because I was awake all night itching and feeling like there was something crawling all over me. I was not able to sleep at all which caused delays in my trip. Took a long time to get in touch with a manager to try to rectify the situation. Continental breakfast consisted of cold eggs and bread with no toaster. Not a good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Super 8 Waco University Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Clinical Nurse
Business
Fort Worth, Tx
Nov 1, 2010

Horrible

Dirty room. hard bed. rude service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Super 8 Waco University Area

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
BU Grad
Couples
Dallas, tx
Nov 25, 2011

Good for a one night atay

The hotel was what you pay for. Good for a single night stay. The first room stink and didn't have a working AC so we had to change rooms. Upgraded to a bigger room for free.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Super 8 Waco University Area

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
hotrich
Single
Austin, TX, USA
Aug 19, 2012

crickets everywhere

my last stay at this hotel was a nightmare. A huge hole in the door of room 101. As a matter of fact there is a huge opening left when the door closes. I woke up several times at night because crickets were jumping all over me while i was trying to sleep. House keeper who could not speak english placed sheets and bed covers on the dirty floor before placing them back on the bed. There were crickets on the floor, in the bathroom. nobody should have to pay for a place to stay and have to experience that. horrible!!!!!. Hotel administration should do something, Imagine snakes taking the place of these crickets? think of the possible outcomes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Single

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

not a whole lot. Groceries such as HEB i guess

Review of Super 8 Waco University Area

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
lincoln, ne
Oct 23, 2009

Super 8 Waco

This super 8 was fine - nothing special, but decently priced for a quick weekend trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Super 8 Waco University Area

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Dallas/Ft worth TX
Feb 2, 2011

clean and quiet for price

Compared to other hotel/motel prices in the area-this motel was clean, quiet,and great for the price and for a 1night stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Back to menu Return to top