$41 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 12, 2015 Check-out: Mar 13, 2015

Super 8 Waco University Area

2 stars
View map of 1320 S Jack Kultgen Frwy, Waco, TX 76706-2151

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
54 reviews
visit daughter at baylor

comfortable place to stay for the night close to baylor See full review

  • Milagros Paula D.
  • Feb 10, 2015
Great basic accomodations

Given some of the online reviews, I was surprised that this motel was as good as it was. A storm... See full review

  • Mr.Dave
  • Oct 4, 2014
Welcome to the Super 8 Waco, home of Baylor University. Ideally located between Dallas and Austin, our interior corridor hotel is easily accessible from I-35. Kick back and relax in our rooms offering Free Wi-Fi. A complimentary SuperStart Breakfast is available every day from 6am - 9am. A Business Center, free parking, Accessible rooms, Coffee makers, hair dryers, free iron/iron board upon request, copy and fax service, 24 hour front desk, free Daily Newspaper and 24 Hour Coffee is located in the lobby. Free Pass to Golds Gym, located nearby. Downtown Waco, Shopping, Restaurants and all Area Attractions are within minutes from our convenient location. Stay with us and you will see that our hotel in the Waco University area is truly a destination Super 8.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Super 8 Waco University Area also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
General
Air conditioned
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
TV remote control

Nearby points of interest

  • Ferrell Center: 1.4 mi
  • Floyd Casey Stadium: 1.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (54)

Ratings and reviews for Super 8 Waco University Area

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
54 out of 54
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Super 8 Waco University Area

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
not again next time
Business
Arlington, Texas
Aug 29, 2011

Wrong Room??

When I checked in they gave me the key card to my room. When I went up and opened the door, the chain was locked and there was someone in the room who got (understandably) upset. I went down stairs to the frontdesk and explained what had happened the clerk at the front desk called the room then spent a long time appologizing to the man in the room. It made me feel very uncomfortable. The clerk gave me a key card to another room. Not once did she appologize to me for putting me in that situation. The breakfast in the morning was very poor. Mostly cold cereal or frozen waffles and there was only one small toaster that everyone was waiting for. At least the coffee was hot, because that is all that I had.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Waco University Area

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
short visit
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Aug 19, 2011

Nice Stay

Hotel is convenient and clean and was well suited to the need of a clean an inexpensive place to stay while in Waco to take a class. Walls are thin and I could hear the people in the room above mine. This was the only draw back. Otherwise everything else was very satisfactory.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Excellent bar-b-que restaurant and a must visit.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Waco University Area

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
houston, texas
Jun 27, 2011

Decent.

decent hotel. i got what i paid for, nothing more, nothing less. i only stayed 1 night and i didn't what to pay ridiculous money for a few hours of sleep. can't beat $45 on [...](tax and fees included). rooms were clean, a/c turned on before i got there was a plus, and the staff was very polite. no complaints from me, but if you're looking for an updated hotel with all the bells and whistles, you better look elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Texas sports hall of fame is only a short drive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Waco University Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
DFW, TX
Jun 12, 2011

You get what you pay for.

Location was great for needing to visit Baylor University, but the clientele was shady at best. Really rough looking individuals coming in and out, and certainly "eye-ing" us when we walked in around 10:00 PM. If I as a female had been traveling alone, I'd have immediately turned around and left. Asked to cancel the reservation, and was told it was not a possibility. The room itself was reasonably clean. I would describe it dark, damp, and dank. But the sheets were clean, and there was no evidence of bedbugs. Considering it was the least expensive lodging option in the area, I would definitely say you get what you pay for. Lodgers beware.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Waco University Area

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Temple, TX
Apr 29, 2011

Great location for price

We had absolutely no problems on this trip. Room was comfortable, fridge was nice-sized. No microwave in room but was downstairs in lobby area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Waco University Area

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas/Ft worth TX
Feb 2, 2011

clean and quiet for price

Compared to other hotel/motel prices in the area-this motel was clean, quiet,and great for the price and for a 1night stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Waco University Area

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Corpus Christi, Texas
Dec 19, 2010

Great for the price

Hotel was actually really good. Room was clean, pets were allowed and they had a better than average complimentary breakfast. Overall we were very pleased with our stay at Super 8.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Well we went there for a graduation and we did not get much time to shop, however we did do some shopping before we got to Waco, there are so many outlet malls just about an hour away. Baylor University is very beautiful and distinguished.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Waco University Area

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Town Bluff, Texas
Dec 4, 2010

Grand time

Had a very enjoyable time, and was a very relaxing time. Was very near the Grand Lodge of Texas, for which I was in town for the annual convoctation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Waco University Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
SicEmBears
Business
Houston, Tx
Nov 15, 2010

Nightmare at the Super 8

First impression was the hotel looks like new from the outside but the interior, while not bad per se, could use some renovation. The room looked clean but smelled of odor hiding chemicals and the carpet looked pretty worn. Apparently this is one of the only hotels in Waco to allow pets, so that is understandable. As a bit of perspective, generally speaking my philosophy is that so long as a place is clean, I'm just looking for a place to get some sleep. Overall, the Super 8 looked like what I would expect from a motel at this price point. After the game/dinner we got back to the hotel at about midnight, and that is when the nightmare began. First thing I notice upon entering the lobby is four women who looked like prostitutes lounging in the lobby with a male who looked like he was the boss. I figure no big deal, just keep walking, just here to sleep. My wife and I walk up the stairs to the second floor and the first thing we see is a guy walking out of a room zipping his fly as he walked down the hall. All he had on was shorts. Three more women who looked like prostitutes were congregated outside our room. I made the first call to the front desk at 2:00am. The room across the hall from us had been a revolving door about every 10 to 15 minutes. The deadbolt was thrown (to keep the door from locking when it shut) and I was able hear EVERYONE who came and went. The front desk's response was that they would send up the security guard, call Waco Police, and evict if necessary. I made the second call to the front desk at 4:00am. This time following countless visitors, who had come and gone, a fight had broken out in the room across the hall. It sounded like the walls were coming down. This time the frond desk said there was nothing they could do, that Waco PD was not responding to their calls, and that I could thank Baylor University for the whole mess because it was Baylor Universities' fault that this was happening. I said "excuse me?" "How is that again?" To which the front desk responded "Apparently this is happening all over town tonight and all these people are here because of Baylor University." It was apparent that the Super 8 was either in concert with the activity taking place, or unwilling to do anything about it! Had it not been for the fact that we were traveling with another couple who was staying somewhere on the third floor, my wife and I would have packed up and driven back to Houston immediately. I have never written a negative review of a hotel in my life but thought that this one warranted a write up. I don't want to see anyone else experience what I would describe as an unsafe and unsettling hotel stay. Consider yourself put on notice of how awful this place is and I highly recommend that you seek accommodations elsewhere. Trust me; I would happily have paid twice the $70 to not have put my wife and myself into that situation. From now on, I will bite the bullet, shell out the extra money, and just stay at the Hilton.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Waco University Area

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
cleveland, oh
Nov 13, 2010

Nice staff

the staff was super friendly and everything looked clean. i only had one complaint and that is there was a weird smell on the third floor and that i could smell a hint of cigarettes in my non-smoking room. i'm guessing that's from washing smoking and non smoking sheets together. it wasn't strong but after staying a few nights i noticed it more and more. i enjoyed my stay though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

bangkok royal - good thai food. yum

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top