Clarion Inn Near Baylor University

3 stars
801 South 4th Street, Waco, TX 76706
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
23 reviews
clean

needs updating a bit. I thought it looked really nice on website. See full review

  • charlotte man
  • Apr 28, 2013
Lovely place

I drove from DFW and called the Claron just before I arrived in WAco. The staff was very helpful... See full review

  • Fan Club traveller
  • May 29, 2010
The Clarion Inn Near Baylor University is located immediately off of intestate 35 directly across from Baylor University. This full service hotel offers a full breakfast buffet, a full dinner menu through the on-site bar and lounge, exciting game room, fitness center, business center and complimentary shuttle to and from the Waco Regional Airport. The hotel is unlike any other in Waco with the indoor heated pool in the beautiful two story tropical atrium which also serves as a beautiful space for banquets or weddings. All of the spacious rooms are equipped with all of the amenities that you expect: coffee makers, hair dryers, microwave and refrigerators etc. We also provide excellent customer service to all of our guests. Cash paying guest required 100.00 deposit orcredit card at check in for incidentals. Pets allowed, 25.00USD per pet, per night.

Hotel Map

31.5521 -97.1244
Nearby airports
Waco Munic. Arpt., (ACT), 10.00, MI, NW; Dallas/Ft. Worth Int'l Arpt, (DFW), 97.00, MI, N; Austin-Bergstrom Int'l Arpt., (AUS), 85.00, MI, S;
Area description
City Center, Form. QI/BaylorU

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Clarion Inn Near Baylor University also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Activities
Indoor pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Lounge
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Ramp access to buildings
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Iron

Nearby points of interest

  • Ferrell Center: 1.1 mi
  • Floyd Casey Stadium: 2.1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (23)

Ratings and reviews for Clarion Inn Near Baylor University

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
23 out of 23
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.6

65% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Clarion Inn Near Baylor University

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
charlotte man
texas
Apr 28, 2013

clean

needs updating a bit. I thought it looked really nice on website.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

it was centrally located.

Review of Clarion Inn Near Baylor University

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Baylor guest
Durango, CO, USA
Mar 28, 2012

Would not recommend

Cheap toilet paper, flat pillows, rough sheets, dirty room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Clarion Inn Near Baylor University

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
The South
Jun 18, 2011

Disappointed in all but customer service

I arrived late on a Sunday night, to begin my corporate training for a franchise I'm opening. I stayed an entire week. When I got to the room, I decided to unpack so I'd be ready early in the morning. The drawers under the TV looked out of whack, and when I pulled one out to put my clothes in, it fell on the floor nearly missing my feet. I fixed the drawer as best I could. Then I checked the coffee pot to figure out how to get coffee made in the AM, and the pot was filthy. I decided to get the coffee at the hotel's breakfast bar instead. The next morning, I plugged my flat iron in the bathroom wall outlet and it kept shorting out. I told the front desk all of this before I left and the woman was extremely nice and apologetic, saying they would fix it that day. I returned to my room to find the drawers mostly fixed, but the outlet still didn't work and the coffee pot was just as dirty as when I left. I took it to the front desk and asked them to wash it. I went back to my room and decided I was going to order pizza. I decided to make sure the fridge worked before I had leftovers in my room. I opened the fridge and it was warm inside. I checked the back and it was plugged in. I opened it again to make sure it was on and I saw mold all around the middle area of the fridge. I called downstairs and they said they would be happy to move me across the hall. They again were very nice about it. I moved across the hall, and checked the fridge. It worked, even though the temp guage was missing. I checked the coffee pot and it appeared clean. The outlet also worked. I decided to run water through the coffee pot to make sure it was clean. I poured four cups in and it would only fill a cup at a time... and it took hours. I told the front desk and they sent someone up with a replacement. It worked! The silly thing about this room was, you couldn't open the bathroom door all the way because the shower curtain bowed out and it stuck out too far for the door. I noticed also in this room that the air conditioning had to be set at 62 to make it even comfortable in there. Full disclosure: I do like my house at 72 so I do like it a bit cooler. The next day I came back to my room and I was locked out. They re-programmed my key. I was staying on the opposite end of the front desk, so after running down for other reasons this week so far, this was just an aggravation after a few long days if mishaps at the room. The amenities were not good. You don't get a free breakfast here. The "cold" bar is $4.99 and you get some cereal choices, yogurt, some unripened bananas and small apples and oranges. The hot bar is a typical hot bar at a hotel and is $7.99. In these days of Drury Inns and others giving that type of bar for free, this was a huge disappointment. Also, the offerings were not nearly as good as other hotels. They did have coffee, juice, and milk that I believe was free. I stopped going after the first day so I'm not sure. The pool was only open from 10am-9pm which may seem good for vacationers but for a person in town on business, I didn't get a chance to take a dip once. It was 100+ degrees all week. I will say, every single person that worked there was very nice. It was more that the hotel was extremely run-down and amenities weren't there. If I knew what I know now, I would have spent the extra $20 a night to stay at the Hilton in town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There is an old warehouse converted into a shopping/dinning destination. I don't know the name of it, but it has a cafe called The Olive Branch and a shopping mall called Spice that are both fantastic!!

Review of Clarion Inn Near Baylor University

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle WA
Jan 19, 2011

WACO

Below average hotel. Had to pay for breakfast and it was also well below average.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Rudy's BBQ is great

Review of Clarion Inn Near Baylor University

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dallas, TX
Jan 11, 2011

An OK place to stop

On the plus side, we enjoyed the free hot breakfast, small refridgerator, internet service, and the friendly staff. On the not so positive side, the water for the shower never got warm, the pool was closed, and while there are several rooms on the inside of the building, we were given one that has a door to the parking lot and had to walk outside to get to the breakfast and lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Clarion Inn Near Baylor University

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Antonio
Dec 20, 2010

Pool Out of Order

After 2 hours of Googling Waco Hotels, I chose the Clarion hotel because of Heated Indoor Pool for our kids to enjoy. According to [...], whom I spoke to at the Clarion Friday @ 7:00pm, she said "of course the pool was up & running and people were swimming as we spoke". When I checked in Saturday 12/18/10 @ 3:00pm. I was told at check-in that their Pool was & had been OUT OF ORDER until this coming Tue 12/21/10. Again, After I Googled 18 other Waco hotels, the indoor Pool was THE deciding factor in choosing the Clarion. Huge disappointment for us! I had Booked 2 adjoingng dbl rooms POOLSIDE for my wife & I, plus 4 of my children. Lady at check in said SHE would throw in free FULL breakfasts to make up for it. Wow! I showed her my [...]confirmation that showed that I ALREADY HAD FREE BREAKFASTS FROM [...]!!!! I would NOT have booked the Clarion if I had know that pool was NOT in use.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Clarion Inn Near Baylor University

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
PA
Jul 5, 2010

Nice place, however wouldn't return

The staff was very friendly. We were disappointed though in the fact that the airport shuttle service they offer came with restriction that were not advertised on their website. The beds we extremely uncomfortable for us, during the six night stay, after the 2nd sleepless night we purchase inflatable pool floating rafts and put them under our sheets to get a good nights rest. The atrium is beautiful and the facility is very neat and well maintained.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Mammoth Site is Awesome, definitely a must see.

Review of Clarion Inn Near Baylor University

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Cypress, TX
Jun 15, 2010

great location for university events

we were in waco for Baylor orientation. Hotel was close to campus and served our purpose. Although, there was nothing glaringly wrong, the hotel was definitely no frills.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Clarion Inn Near Baylor University

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fan Club traveller
Everett, Wa
May 29, 2010

Lovely place

I drove from DFW and called the Claron just before I arrived in WAco. The staff was very helpful directing me off the freeway to the hotel. All the staff was friendly and competent. [...] was particulary helpful and friendly. I did not have any time to eat or enjoy the pool, but loved the experience of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Clarion Inn Near Baylor University

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sun Valley, ca
May 24, 2010

Good for the price

I stayed here for just one night. I only dealt with two people and they were very nice. The "complimentary continental breakfast" is $5. The hotel and my room were clean. Also, my AC was on when I got into the room which was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top

Change search