$30 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 24, 2014 Check-out: Jul 27, 2014

Howard Johnson Texarkana

2 stars
5401 N State Line Ave Bldg B, Texarkana, TX 75503
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
77 reviews
peace and contentment beautiful and helpful desk clerks

I arrived late because my planes were cancelled twice due to inclement weather. The desk clerks... See full review

  • B.mathews
  • Dec 14, 2013
Very pleased

This was a cheaper hotel so I was very pleased with it when we saw how good it was. Had hairdryer,... See full review

  • ManDeee
  • Jun 23, 2014
Be happy at this Howard Johnson Texarkana conveniently located off Interstate 30 near downtown, museums, and Texarkana Regional Airport with complimentary shuttle service. Take the family to The Childrens Discovery Center for interactive exhibits. Start each day with a complimentary Rise and Dine continental breakfast, swim in the seasonal outdoor pool, and enjoy complimentary parking to make travel easy. Unwind in your comfortable guest room with complimentary wireless Internet access, and TV with HBO. Smoke-free and handicapped-accessible rooms are also available. There is no charge for children 17 and under with an adult.

Hotel Map

33.4759 -94.0432
Area description
Downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Texarkana also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Wake-up service
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Over sized rooms
Cribs available
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (77)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Texarkana

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
10 out of 77
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.9
Value:
4

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Texarkana

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Smerz
Portsmouth, RI
May 22, 2014

Good breakfast

This motel is perfectly adequate, and a good value for the price. Had I not booked through a booking service, I would have paid even less.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Howard Johnson Texarkana

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Whitlot
Searcy, AR
Jan 28, 2014

Disappoinrws

I have always been happy, but this time the room door at 9 pm was not closed and a light was on. I almost didn't go in. Alone and a woman is scary. The staff didn't seem too concerned. The floors were a mess - trashy. They were working on a room across the hall and the smell and noise was before 8 am. I will not be going back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Howard Johnson Texarkana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Whitlot
Searcy, AR
Dec 31, 2013

Good for a night's sleep

I only am there at bedtime. The staff is great and I feel comfortable being by myself.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Howard Johnson Texarkana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
B.mathews
cypress,ca
Dec 14, 2013

peace and contentment beautiful and helpful desk clerks

I arrived late because my planes were cancelled twice due to inclement weather. The desk clerks were so hospitable and helpful . The breakfast was great and the coffee was even greater. THANK YOU FOR THE CARE AND HOSPITALITY TAKEN BY YOUR HOTEL. The time I spent there was outstanding. I will be back. HAPPY HOLIDAYS TO YOU ALL. PEACE.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Howard Johnson Texarkana

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Whitlot
Texarkana
Aug 5, 2013

Use for sleep only

For me it is ideal as I just use it to sleep. My only problem is that there is no plug for bathtub or sink. I paid a $1 got one and take it with me. For the price, it is clean and they are friendly. Stayed there about 5 times and am comfortable and it is close to where I want to be.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Howard Johnson Texarkana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Whitlot
Texarkana
May 20, 2013

Just needed a bed

It was clean everyone was accomadating and I felt safe. Will use it everytime it need to be in Texarkana with a motel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Howard Johnson Texarkana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
brandon47240
Greensburg, Indiana
May 1, 2013

Great for the money

Was great for the money just needed better beds. Nice clean bathrooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Howard Johnson Texarkana

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MSU33SPARTY
Michigan, USA
May 1, 2012

Smokey in a smoke free

Upon arrival the concierge was taking with a coworker, didn't acknowledge my presence until I spoke up. I asked for a non smoking room and it still reaked of smokers. She claimed to be new and said there was nothing she could do, I put up with the smell after being on the road all day. Spend the extra money go somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to the shell station.

Review of Howard Johnson Texarkana

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Carol78
Lafayette, LA
Jan 20, 2010

Good Hotel, Good Staff

The first impression was great. Good size room, everything looked clean, until I opened the sheets in the bed, and I found some tiny dead bugs. That triggered a deeper research, and I found bed bugs! It was an infestation, as they were alive. I called teh reception, and they moved me to a new room. The new room had some dead bugs,a better sign then live ones, but I still decided to go for a room where I could not find any. The third room WAS PERFECT! Clean and comfortable. I suggested that they better spray all the rooms, before all of them become infested. Maybe before making your researvation, ask to make sure they have sprayed. It is a good place to stay overnight.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Howard Johnson Texarkana

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Carol78
Lafayette, LA
Jan 20, 2010

Good Hotel, Good Staff

The first impression was great. Good size room, everything looked clean, until I opened the sheets in the bed, and I found some tiny dead bugs. That triggered a deeper research, and I found bed bugs! It was an infestation, as they were alive. I called teh reception, and they moved me to a new room. The new room had some dead bugs,a better sign then live ones, but I still decided to go for a room where I could not find any. The third room WAS PERFECT! Clean and comfortable. I suggested that they better spray all the rooms, before all of them become infested. Maybe before making your researvation, ask to make sure they have sprayed. It is a good place to stay overnight.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top