$29 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 23, 2014 Check-out: Dec 26, 2014

Howard Johnson Texarkana

2 stars
5401 N State Line Ave Bldg B, Texarkana, TX 75503
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
52 reviews
peace and contentment beautiful and helpful desk clerks

I arrived late because my planes were cancelled twice due to inclement weather. The desk clerks... See full review

  • B.mathews
  • Dec 14, 2013
Very pleased

This was a cheaper hotel so I was very pleased with it when we saw how good it was. Had hairdryer,... See full review

  • ManDeee
  • Jun 23, 2014
Be happy at this Howard Johnson Texarkana conveniently located off Interstate 30 near downtown, museums, and Texarkana Regional Airport with complimentary shuttle service. Take the family to The Childrens Discovery Center for interactive exhibits. Start each day with a complimentary Rise and Dine continental breakfast, swim in the seasonal outdoor pool, and enjoy complimentary parking to make travel easy. Unwind in your comfortable guest room with complimentary wireless Internet access, and TV with HBO. Smoke-free and handicapped-accessible rooms are also available. There is no charge for children 17 and under with an adult.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Texarkana also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Wake-up service
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Over sized rooms
Cribs available
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (52)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Texarkana

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
20 out of 52
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.7
Value:
4

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Texarkana

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
brandy guest
Business
Dallas
Jun 12, 2014

nasty place

No towels our reservations were not complete by the time we got there TV did not work refrigerator was leaking water all over the place no bedding on the beds were not attentive to our needs I would not recommend this place to anyone traveling to Texarkana to stay..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Texarkana

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Gracie Lou 1212
Business
Tennessee
Sep 3, 2013

A little nap

We booked this hotel for one night but didn't arrive until 5 in the morning. We knew all we booked it for was a nap and a shower after traveling all night. The hotel staff was great to let us have a late check-out. (noon). The beds were a little small but we were so tired we didn't care. Didn't get a chance to get in the pool but it looked very clean. Overall good short stay for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Texarkana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
T.T. super mom
Business
Texas
Sep 1, 2013

GREAT

Beds are comfortable....staff was great...i would recommend this location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Texarkana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Carrizo Springs,TX 78834
Aug 2, 2011

Great Price

Great price. I have stayed in this hotel now 3 times over the coarse of 2 years,I will keep going back. Friendly staff & Clean rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Texarkana

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Texas
Jul 15, 2011

Worst Hotel Ever!

This hotel smelled like smoke and mildew as soon as I entered the lobby to check in. There was loud music in the hallway and several guest room doors were open with some kind of party going on. I went in the room and knew immediately that I could not stay. The smell was unbearable and there was black mold around the tub. Some of the baseboards were off and mold was growing there as well and the bathroom counter was stained. I left immediately and went to a different hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Texarkana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Iberia, Louisiana
Jun 15, 2011

Great Deal For The Money

Rooms were very clean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Texarkana

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Thinkithru
Business
Clarksville, Tennessee
Jun 8, 2011

Acceptable

Howard Johnson Texarcana was clean, updated and quiet. The room and bathroom were larger than average. The bed was comfortable and the AC was cold. The location was not seedy and was near places to eat. Breakfast was bagels, toast and juice. My only complaint was the hallways and rooms had that old hotel smell--like air freshener mingled with old smoke. We were supposed to have a nonsmoking room, but the room had obviously been smoked in b/c cigarette butt burns were on the bathroom counter. I would stay there again, if just stopping for the night, because it was cheap, had decent beds, and was fairly clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Texarkana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wells, TX.
Apr 30, 2011

Great place to stay!

Nice room, friendly staff. Very comfortable. Centrally located.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Texarkana

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin, TX
Jan 1, 2011

Nice for the price

Very nice staff, clean room. Walls were thin so we could hear our neighbors. We stayed 4 nights while dealing with parents' estate. Appreciated the price, as we had quite a few other costly expenses. A bonus is it is pet friendly!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Skip the complimentary breakfast; Starbucks is two exits away. This town seems to have nothing but chain restaurants, which was disappointing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Texarkana

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Vermonters
Business
S Royalton, Vermont
Nov 29, 2010

Texarkana 2010 with Ray & Kris & Kids

horrible. rooms were dirty, graffiti on bathroom mirror, shortage on pillows and towels. next day room service was late and not complete. air conditioner/heater noisy and water ran in the toilet all the time

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top