$29 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 9, 2015 Check-out: Jul 12, 2015

Howard Johnson Texarkana

2 stars
View map of 5401 N State Line Ave Bldg B, Texarkana, TX 75503

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Texarkana

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
57 out of 57
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.8

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Texarkana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Keithsr5
Business
Lyndonville, NY
Apr 10, 2013

one nighter

It was okay for a night stay but would like for long term vacation stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Texarkana

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Resigned
Business
Kansas
Feb 19, 2013

Won't return

The second room we were given was clean and restful until 9pm when the fire alarm was pulled in the hall. The desk wouldn't respond to our inquires. The sirens were seemingly for the party in the parking lot. At 3 am a women was knocking on doors and yelling. We did not recieve our wake up call and coffee was not ready a half hour after the breakfast room opened. Check out was worse than any" professional "expierence we have encountered.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Texarkana

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pregnant mommy
Business
San diego
Dec 22, 2012

Cross country

It was ok. Smells musty. Had to change rooms 3 times but the front desk gave me a discount in the end so it was ok. You get what you pay for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Texarkana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
PJ Moran
Business
Texarkana, TX
Oct 29, 2012

Everything about this place is great. I will stay everytime I come to town.

This hotel has all that I wanted and more. Thank you so much for a great place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

walking distance to a variety of eating places

Review of Howard Johnson Texarkana

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Spider45
Business
Texarkana
Aug 3, 2012

: )

:Nice and quite. Relaxed the whole week I stayed there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Texarkana

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
G Mo
Business
Arkansas
May 7, 2012

Worst Experience Ever

The hotel is in a bad location. To get to the lobby you have to enter through a side door. The front desk clerk was sitting outside smoking a cigarette with several men when I walked into the lobby. The sheets, pillow cases and the blankes all had stains. When I went to report it to the front desk clerk, I had to go outside and interrupt the woman from her gathering. I showed her one of the pillows and she said she could change my room. The other room was worst. One of the pillows had a red stain and and the blanket had a huge hole as if it was burned with a cigarette, and everything had stains as well. I didn't feel comfortable even sitting on the bed. The only reason I rented a room was for a bed; and the room didn't even provide that. I couldn't sleep all night and only waited for day light to check out. Since I was not familiar with the area, I didn't want to be driving alone at night in search for a hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Waffle House is a few feet away.

Review of Howard Johnson Texarkana

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MSU33SPARTY
Business
Michigan, USA
May 1, 2012

Smokey in a smoke free

Upon arrival the concierge was taking with a coworker, didn't acknowledge my presence until I spoke up. I asked for a non smoking room and it still reaked of smokers. She claimed to be new and said there was nothing she could do, I put up with the smell after being on the road all day. Spend the extra money go somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to the shell station.

Review of Howard Johnson Texarkana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
martinmonday
Business
Denton, TX, USA
Mar 21, 2012

Average hotel with extaordinary price!

Great place to stay and very close to St. Michael's hospital

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Texarkana

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
donwonquan
Business
columbia, south carolina
Mar 4, 2012

out to get this money...

I got on a plane for the first time in my LIFE to texarkana, TX .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

just have fun!

Review of Howard Johnson Texarkana

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ItsJustMe
Business
Texas, USA
Oct 25, 2011

good for a night out if you only need a cheap place to crash

We only planned on being there to go out with friends. Its not a hotel you relax in by any means. Mold/peeling wallpaper in the bathroom, your feet stick to the carpet, no working phone, and so on. For the price its good if you expect minimum but doable and would NOT bring my children.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

The Chute is very friendly and welcoming

Back to menu Return to top