$28 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 13, 2014 Check-out: Dec 16, 2014

Howard Johnson Texarkana

2 stars
5401 N State Line Ave Bldg B, Texarkana, TX 75503
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
52 reviews
peace and contentment beautiful and helpful desk clerks

I arrived late because my planes were cancelled twice due to inclement weather. The desk clerks... See full review

  • B.mathews
  • Dec 14, 2013
Very pleased

This was a cheaper hotel so I was very pleased with it when we saw how good it was. Had hairdryer,... See full review

  • ManDeee
  • Jun 23, 2014
Be happy at this Howard Johnson Texarkana conveniently located off Interstate 30 near downtown, museums, and Texarkana Regional Airport with complimentary shuttle service. Take the family to The Childrens Discovery Center for interactive exhibits. Start each day with a complimentary Rise and Dine continental breakfast, swim in the seasonal outdoor pool, and enjoy complimentary parking to make travel easy. Unwind in your comfortable guest room with complimentary wireless Internet access, and TV with HBO. Smoke-free and handicapped-accessible rooms are also available. There is no charge for children 17 and under with an adult.

Hotel Map

33.4759 -94.0432
Area description
Downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Texarkana also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Wake-up service
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Over sized rooms
Cribs available
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (52)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Texarkana

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
52 out of 52
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.8

65% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Texarkana

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
G Mo
Business
Arkansas
May 7, 2012

Worst Experience Ever

The hotel is in a bad location. To get to the lobby you have to enter through a side door. The front desk clerk was sitting outside smoking a cigarette with several men when I walked into the lobby. The sheets, pillow cases and the blankes all had stains. When I went to report it to the front desk clerk, I had to go outside and interrupt the woman from her gathering. I showed her one of the pillows and she said she could change my room. The other room was worst. One of the pillows had a red stain and and the blanket had a huge hole as if it was burned with a cigarette, and everything had stains as well. I didn't feel comfortable even sitting on the bed. The only reason I rented a room was for a bed; and the room didn't even provide that. I couldn't sleep all night and only waited for day light to check out. Since I was not familiar with the area, I didn't want to be driving alone at night in search for a hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Waffle House is a few feet away.

Review of Howard Johnson Texarkana

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MSU33SPARTY
Business
Michigan, USA
May 1, 2012

Smokey in a smoke free

Upon arrival the concierge was taking with a coworker, didn't acknowledge my presence until I spoke up. I asked for a non smoking room and it still reaked of smokers. She claimed to be new and said there was nothing she could do, I put up with the smell after being on the road all day. Spend the extra money go somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to the shell station.

Review of Howard Johnson Texarkana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
martinmonday
Business
Denton, TX, USA
Mar 21, 2012

Average hotel with extaordinary price!

Great place to stay and very close to St. Michael's hospital

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Texarkana

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
donwonquan
Business
columbia, south carolina
Mar 4, 2012

out to get this money...

I got on a plane for the first time in my LIFE to texarkana, TX .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

just have fun!

Review of Howard Johnson Texarkana

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ItsJustMe
Business
Texas, USA
Oct 25, 2011

good for a night out if you only need a cheap place to crash

We only planned on being there to go out with friends. Its not a hotel you relax in by any means. Mold/peeling wallpaper in the bathroom, your feet stick to the carpet, no working phone, and so on. For the price its good if you expect minimum but doable and would NOT bring my children.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

The Chute is very friendly and welcoming

Review of Howard Johnson Texarkana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Carrizo Springs,TX 78834
Aug 2, 2011

Great Price

Great price. I have stayed in this hotel now 3 times over the coarse of 2 years,I will keep going back. Friendly staff & Clean rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Texarkana

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Texas
Jul 15, 2011

Worst Hotel Ever!

This hotel smelled like smoke and mildew as soon as I entered the lobby to check in. There was loud music in the hallway and several guest room doors were open with some kind of party going on. I went in the room and knew immediately that I could not stay. The smell was unbearable and there was black mold around the tub. Some of the baseboards were off and mold was growing there as well and the bathroom counter was stained. I left immediately and went to a different hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Texarkana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Iberia, Louisiana
Jun 15, 2011

Great Deal For The Money

Rooms were very clean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Texarkana

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Thinkithru
Business
Clarksville, Tennessee
Jun 8, 2011

Acceptable

Howard Johnson Texarcana was clean, updated and quiet. The room and bathroom were larger than average. The bed was comfortable and the AC was cold. The location was not seedy and was near places to eat. Breakfast was bagels, toast and juice. My only complaint was the hallways and rooms had that old hotel smell--like air freshener mingled with old smoke. We were supposed to have a nonsmoking room, but the room had obviously been smoked in b/c cigarette butt burns were on the bathroom counter. I would stay there again, if just stopping for the night, because it was cheap, had decent beds, and was fairly clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Texarkana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wells, TX.
Apr 30, 2011

Great place to stay!

Nice room, friendly staff. Very comfortable. Centrally located.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top