$26 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 5, 2015 Check-out: Mar 6, 2015

Windwater Magnuson Hotel

2 stars
View map of 5701 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.7
out of 5
141 reviews
Skeptical... At first

Well, of course I was skeptical because of the previous reviews but in reality it wasn't all that... See full review

  • Josue N Alyssa
  • Jun 8, 2014
ummmmm

Well my kids and I had a lot of fun while we were at the beach. The down sides of the hotel were... See full review

  • mommy of three kiddos
  • Jun 7, 2014
Budget accommodations with free breakfast and outdoor pool
A budget hotel just two blocks from the beach, the WindWater Hotel and Resort is conveniently located two blocks from the beach. Guests will stay entertained with the array of outdoor activities, including golf, hiking or walking, horseback riding, windsurfing as well as a number of museums and nature centers. Lounge around the on-site outdoor pool and hot tub. WindWater Hotel and Resort guests can save some money for the attractions by cooking a few meals in the kitchen in their suite -- one way to make vacation more affordable.
Highlights
  • Outdoor pool and hot tub
  • Business center
  • Free wireless Internet access
Location
WindWater Hotel and Resort is located on the north end of South Padre Island, on the Bay side, two blocks from the beach.
Rooms
Rooms at the WindWater Hotel and Resort have colorful decor and pillow top mattresses. Travelers that want to keep in touch with the outside world have complimentary wireless Internet. For extra space, guests can book one of the condominiums or king suite, with a separate bedroom, a spacious living area, a full kitchen and a huge balcony, many overlooking the water.
Features
Guests who stay at the WindWater Hotel and Resort can request to borrow fishing equipment and fish off the hotel. For those who are not quite up for catching and cooking dinner, there are plenty of restaurants nearby as well as a complimentary breakfast served in the hotel every morning. Walk two blocks to hit the beach, or relax in the on-site pool or hot tub.
Transportation
  • Brownsville/South Padre Island International Airport (22 mi/36 km)
  • Valley International Airport (31 mi/50 km)
Attractions
  • South Padre Island Convention Center (0.8 mi/1.4 km)
  • Schlitterbahn Beach Waterpark (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Port Isabel Lighthouse (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
  • South Padre Island Dolphin Research and Sea Life Nature Center (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
  • Treasures of the Gulf Museum (4.2 mi/6.9 km)
  • Laguna Atascosa National Wildlife Refuge (17 mi/27 km)
Business
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
  • Business center offering photocopying and facsimile services

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Windwater Magnuson Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Windwater Magnuson Hotel Rooms

2 Queen Beds Nonsmoking
2 Queen Bed Nonview Nonsmoking. Free wireless internet access, cable TV with extra stations, electronic door locks, air conditioning, free local calls, hairdryer, alarm clock radio, iron and board, microwave and mini fridge.
Bay View Suite
1 King Suite with Sofabed, Balcony, and Bay Side View. Free wireless internet access, cable TV with extra stations, electronic door locks, air conditioning, balcony, free local calls, hairdryer, alarm clock radio, iron and board, microwave and mini fridge.
1 Queen Bed Nonsmoking
1 Queen Bed Nonview Nonsmoking. Free wireless internet access, cable TV with extra stations, electronic door locks, air conditioning, free local calls, hairdryer, alarm clock radio, iron and board, microwave and mini fridge.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Wheel chair access
Handicapped parking

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (141)

Ratings and reviews for Windwater Magnuson Hotel

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
19 out of 141
Amenities:
2.5
Cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
2.9
Comfort:
2.7
Location:
3.1
Value:
2.9

42% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Windwater Magnuson Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mroach17
Business
Dallas, texas
Aug 9, 2014

Wasn't a bad place to stay'

The reviews makes it sound like a horrible place. WHICH IT IS NOT! They cleaned the room daily. The room was in prettygood shape over all. For the price we payed it was really good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Horseback riding is something no one that goes to south padre should miss. I was wonderful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Windwater Magnuson Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mercadis
Business
Leonard Texas
Mar 16, 2014

ABSOLUTELY THE WORST!!!!

This is ranked in my personal experience the WORST stay I have EVER had at a hotel. I caught a bacterial infection from the pillows or bed, I woke up with a completely swollen face, my eyes swollen shut!! The WORST customer service I've EVER RECEIVED! I booked our hotel room and had forgotten to book the last day so I called and added a day and gave my credit card information. We stayed Tuesday-Friday, and on Saturday they told us to check out and I said we still have one night I've added it already, so I went to check out what happened at the front desk, a girl who could hardly speak English told me they hadn't charged my card yet, however when I called two weeks earlier it was taken care of. So they were trying to charge me another 450 dollars because their employee messed up and didn't get the expiration date from me two weeks ago. I didn't bring an extra 450 dollars with me!!!! That's not chump change!! So I said how is that my fault she didn't do her job right, the lady was so rude raised her voice at me, and kept cutting me off as I was speaking. Didn't offer to comp us I'm ANY way. So we were stuck in padre without a place to stay because THEIR employee didn't do HER JOB right! I will NEVER book with Windwater EVER AGAIN! I've never hated a vacation more in my life than this one!!! DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME! 1800 dollars down the drain and I didn't even get to stay for my whole vacation. I CAN NOT STRESS ENOUGH ABOUT NOT GOING HERE! It's more like a 1 star hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Windwater Magnuson Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
valo
Business
Houston, TX, USA
Sep 19, 2011

so so

it seems to be old, elevator without AC and floor look like dirty, i definetly donot will be there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Windwater Magnuson Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin, TX
Aug 1, 2011

windwater motel

good location on the north side, even though it's on the bay side, and the cheapest hotel on the island when I booked. The pictures on the website are misleading, and I'm not sure why they can call it a "hotel & resort" when it's clearly just a motel with a very warm pool. The free breakfast was not even worth going to...they didn't even have orange juice, instead they had some cheap sugary orange citrus punch that made me sick. Basically it was the cheapest place on the island and we got what we payed for, but we didn't spend much time in the hotel anyways so it didn't really matter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Louie's is the most popular place at night. it's only 2 miles away, so it's a little too long to walk but it's a pretty cheap cab ride.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Windwater Magnuson Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Antonio, TX
Mar 23, 2011

Not too shabby..

My friends and I were wanting to take a quick little trip to the beach and wanted to make it as inexpensive as possible. Windwater Hotel was one of the cheaper hotels I found on the island, with walking distance to the beach. The bayside location was perfect for fishing. We caught something everyday we were there! The hotel room itself was a pleasant surprise. To be honest, I expected it to be a hole in the wall, for the price we paid, but it was clean and had all of the necesstities, ie refrigerator, microwave, table and two chairs, etc. The room and the grounds were kept up, even the swimming pool was nice and clean. I'd say this hotel is ideal for a quick, inexpensive trip to the beach. I'd definitely book it again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is also in a convenient location for dining and shopping. Almost everything is in walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Windwater Magnuson Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
mexico
Aug 30, 2010

Good price

Good price, good location, the only bad thing is the smell in the rooms and in the elevator

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Windwater Magnuson Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Edinburg, TX
Aug 30, 2010

Unbeatable Price for a Vacation Getaway

Had a great time, it was my first vacation and the hotel was great. Be on the beach all day come back to the room, it was clean and had its own pier to fish and a pool to get refreshed. Had a awesome and relaxing time at the location were the hotel was at.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Windwater Magnuson Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
LoFlo
Business
San Antonio, TX
Jul 4, 2010

Didn't spend much time in the hotel.

The room was spacious for two. I did not like the restroom at all. The fixtures were not fully installed, a light was burnt out in the room, and the iron did not work. The walls were very thin and could hear the neighbors. I expected more for the price. We did not spend much time in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Windwater Magnuson Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jsysvtzbwodnc
Business
Corpus Christi, TX
Jun 12, 2010

Not too much to say...

The lamps didn't work, there was not a coffee maker, towels were small and old. I suppose the balcony was what we paid for because it was the nicest thing our room had to offer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Windwater Magnuson Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tx
May 24, 2010

great weekend getaway

It was just a relaxing getaway. We stayed in and enjoyed the jacuzzi & great weather!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top