Windwater Magnuson Hotel

2 stars
5701 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.7
out of 5
141 reviews
Skeptical... At first

Well, of course I was skeptical because of the previous reviews but in reality it wasn't all that... See full review

  • Josue N Alyssa
  • Jun 8, 2014
ummmmm

Well my kids and I had a lot of fun while we were at the beach. The down sides of the hotel were... See full review

  • mommy of three kiddos
  • Jun 7, 2014
Budget accommodations with free breakfast and outdoor pool
A budget hotel just two blocks from the beach, the WindWater Hotel and Resort is conveniently located two blocks from the beach. Guests will stay entertained with the array of outdoor activities, including golf, hiking or walking, horseback riding, windsurfing as well as a number of museums and nature centers. Lounge around the on-site outdoor pool and hot tub. WindWater Hotel and Resort guests can save some money for the attractions by cooking a few meals in the kitchen in their suite -- one way to make vacation more affordable.
Highlights
  • Outdoor pool and hot tub
  • Business center
  • Free wireless Internet access
Location
WindWater Hotel and Resort is located on the north end of South Padre Island, on the Bay side, two blocks from the beach.
Rooms
Rooms at the WindWater Hotel and Resort have colorful decor and pillow top mattresses. Travelers that want to keep in touch with the outside world have complimentary wireless Internet. For extra space, guests can book one of the condominiums or king suite, with a separate bedroom, a spacious living area, a full kitchen and a huge balcony, many overlooking the water.
Features
Guests who stay at the WindWater Hotel and Resort can request to borrow fishing equipment and fish off the hotel. For those who are not quite up for catching and cooking dinner, there are plenty of restaurants nearby as well as a complimentary breakfast served in the hotel every morning. Walk two blocks to hit the beach, or relax in the on-site pool or hot tub.
Transportation
  • Brownsville/South Padre Island International Airport (22 mi/36 km)
  • Valley International Airport (31 mi/50 km)
Attractions
  • South Padre Island Convention Center (0.8 mi/1.4 km)
  • Schlitterbahn Beach Waterpark (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Port Isabel Lighthouse (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
  • South Padre Island Dolphin Research and Sea Life Nature Center (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
  • Treasures of the Gulf Museum (4.2 mi/6.9 km)
  • Laguna Atascosa National Wildlife Refuge (17 mi/27 km)
Business
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
  • Business center offering photocopying and facsimile services

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Windwater Magnuson Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Windwater Magnuson Hotel Rooms

2 Queen Beds Nonsmoking
2 Queen Bed Nonview Nonsmoking. Free wireless internet access, cable TV with extra stations, electronic door locks, air conditioning, free local calls, hairdryer, alarm clock radio, iron and board, microwave and mini fridge.
Bay View Suite
1 King Suite with Sofabed, Balcony, and Bay Side View. Free wireless internet access, cable TV with extra stations, electronic door locks, air conditioning, balcony, free local calls, hairdryer, alarm clock radio, iron and board, microwave and mini fridge.
1 Queen Bed Nonsmoking
1 Queen Bed Nonview Nonsmoking. Free wireless internet access, cable TV with extra stations, electronic door locks, air conditioning, free local calls, hairdryer, alarm clock radio, iron and board, microwave and mini fridge.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Wheel chair access
Handicapped parking

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (141)

Ratings and reviews for Windwater Magnuson Hotel

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
60 out of 141
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.8

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Windwater Magnuson Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Urdafaux
Business
Elkhart
Jun 20, 2014

Vacay stay

For an economical stay near the beach this was perfect for us. The room was "used" but clean and every thing worked. No funky smells, no stains - just a clean basic room. Back porch is very nice on the canal. 5 minute walk to the public access beach. Tile floors inside the room are appropriate. We will stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Kelly's bar across the street was a nice local pub

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Windwater Magnuson Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Josue N Alyssa
Business
The Valley
Jun 8, 2014

Skeptical... At first

Well, of course I was skeptical because of the previous reviews but in reality it wasn't all that bad. I actually enjoyed my stay here. My husband and I are planning on returning to this place :). The showers could use some work; the paint is chipped but other than that they were functional. The towels need replacing but we took our own from home. We also took our own comforter and pillows (but we do that in every trip). Breakfast is good, we had no problems with the front desk and the cleaning staff was great. The pool is descent and you get to fish off the patio (located behind the hotel). One thing I didn't like was the smell when we opened our door - it was gross but it didn't seep into our room. The hotel is closer to the access beaches. For the price, it's good! We will for sure be back :).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Windwater Magnuson Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
torr20
Business
south padre isaland
Jun 7, 2014

good alone time

Good hotel just needs maintenance. Needs ice machines and vending mcachines.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Windwater Magnuson Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mandy S
Business
Houston Tx
Jun 2, 2014

memorial day weekend

Everything was perfect. Convenient to the beach & attractions. The island even offers free public transportation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything is very close 2 the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Windwater Magnuson Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mr. LD
Business
Iowa
Apr 27, 2014

weekend getaway

easy fast checkin, pleasant staff, pool could have been a little warmer but was okay, like the location,parking was tight but I think the hotel was full.overall good value will stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

If you like karoke check out the Coral Reef , 2 blocks south

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Windwater Magnuson Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alma Garcia
Business
Weslaco
Apr 7, 2014

Great Deal

I am definitely staying here again. The view from the patio is great! Definitely recommend...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Windwater Magnuson Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chowmac orignal
Business
San Antonio, TX
Jun 3, 2013

Service is good, but the motel (not hotel) seems old

Staff seems friendly, fixed the key lock (battery low) at check-in. We rented a King suite with a "view". It's actually looking at other people house with ship dock. It's ok, but not exactly a great view. The room is spacious with a living room. The room seems old, but it's expected of a 2-star place. Parking is limited. Free breakfast is ok, but the room is very small - can only seat a dozen. Good location, in walking distance to the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Windwater Magnuson Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ericab21
Business
Rio grande, tx
Jun 3, 2013

getaway

Room was nice but I thought location was too far in, overall it was great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Windwater Magnuson Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nune Ray
Business
Texas
Nov 1, 2012

Get away

It was good for the price and location. Very nice balcony by the water.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Windwater Magnuson Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Rained out!
Business
Missouri
Aug 1, 2011

Horrible!

Attempted to cancel or reschedule this reservation based on a tropical storm. Hotel was not willing even though I made the call within the 24 hour window.[...] I will never make a reservation with this hotel [...] again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top