$32 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 25, 2014 Check-out: Sep 26, 2014

Windwater Magnuson Hotel

2 stars
5701 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.7
out of 5
141 reviews
Skeptical... At first

Well, of course I was skeptical because of the previous reviews but in reality it wasn't all that... See full review

  • Josue N Alyssa
  • Jun 8, 2014
ummmmm

Well my kids and I had a lot of fun while we were at the beach. The down sides of the hotel were... See full review

  • mommy of three kiddos
  • Jun 7, 2014
Budget accommodations with free breakfast and outdoor pool
A budget hotel just two blocks from the beach, the WindWater Hotel and Resort is conveniently located two blocks from the beach. Guests will stay entertained with the array of outdoor activities, including golf, hiking or walking, horseback riding, windsurfing as well as a number of museums and nature centers. Lounge around the on-site outdoor pool and hot tub. WindWater Hotel and Resort guests can save some money for the attractions by cooking a few meals in the kitchen in their suite -- one way to make vacation more affordable.
Highlights
  • Outdoor pool and hot tub
  • Business center
  • Free wireless Internet access
Location
WindWater Hotel and Resort is located on the north end of South Padre Island, on the Bay side, two blocks from the beach.
Rooms
Rooms at the WindWater Hotel and Resort have colorful decor and pillow top mattresses. Travelers that want to keep in touch with the outside world have complimentary wireless Internet. For extra space, guests can book one of the condominiums or king suite, with a separate bedroom, a spacious living area, a full kitchen and a huge balcony, many overlooking the water.
Features
Guests who stay at the WindWater Hotel and Resort can request to borrow fishing equipment and fish off the hotel. For those who are not quite up for catching and cooking dinner, there are plenty of restaurants nearby as well as a complimentary breakfast served in the hotel every morning. Walk two blocks to hit the beach, or relax in the on-site pool or hot tub.
Transportation
  • Brownsville/South Padre Island International Airport (22 mi/36 km)
  • Valley International Airport (31 mi/50 km)
Attractions
  • South Padre Island Convention Center (0.8 mi/1.4 km)
  • Schlitterbahn Beach Waterpark (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Port Isabel Lighthouse (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
  • South Padre Island Dolphin Research and Sea Life Nature Center (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
  • Treasures of the Gulf Museum (4.2 mi/6.9 km)
  • Laguna Atascosa National Wildlife Refuge (17 mi/27 km)
Business
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
  • Business center offering photocopying and facsimile services

Hotel Map

26.1287 -97.1711
Area served
Notable nearby attractions include the South Padre Island Convention Center; Sea Turtle Inc, the Light House at Port Isabel, and the Laguna Atascosa National Wildlife Refuge.
Nearby airports
South Padre Island International is 26 miles.
Area description
Located on South Padre Island, the WindWater Magnuson Hotel is just minutes to Brownsville.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Windwater Magnuson Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Windwater Magnuson Hotel Rooms

2 Queen Beds Nonsmoking
2 Queen Bed Nonview Nonsmoking. Free wireless internet access, cable TV with extra stations, electronic door locks, air conditioning, free local calls, hairdryer, alarm clock radio, iron and board, microwave and mini fridge.
Bay View Suite
1 King Suite with Sofabed, Balcony, and Bay Side View. Free wireless internet access, cable TV with extra stations, electronic door locks, air conditioning, balcony, free local calls, hairdryer, alarm clock radio, iron and board, microwave and mini fridge.
1 Queen Bed Nonsmoking
1 Queen Bed Nonview Nonsmoking. Free wireless internet access, cable TV with extra stations, electronic door locks, air conditioning, free local calls, hairdryer, alarm clock radio, iron and board, microwave and mini fridge.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Wheel chair access
Handicapped parking

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (141)

Ratings and reviews for Windwater Magnuson Hotel

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
141 out of 141
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
3.1
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.3

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Windwater Magnuson Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Stacy, Isalnd lover
Combine, TX
Jul 12, 2009

Don't risk it!

The place was awful! The first room they gave us had holes in the wall, a big spot of white paint on a tan wall, purple paint dripping down the door, and smelled like mildew. The second room appeared to be in better shape, but the toilet ran all night long, and there was a large gap at the bottom of the door letting out all of the a/c. Finally, on the second day we got a better room, but it just felt dingy and run down. The breakfast was only 2 kinds of cold cereal, bread for toast, and mini muffins (which they did not replenish when gone). The walls were so thin that we could hear the next room's conversations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Eat at Pier 19. Great food all day, and reasonable price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Windwater Magnuson Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Scared in South Padre
Brownsville,Texas
Aug 6, 2009

Avoid at all costs!

Although I wasn't expecting a five star hotel I did at least think this place would be clean and friendly for the outrageous price we were paying a night. However I was sadly mistaken. This place was a complete dump. The pool was small and filled with screaming teenagers till 4 in the morning. The rooms were dirty and had exposed wires and electrical outlets. Our air conditioning broke in the middle of the night and was replaced incorrectly by a rude and unhelpful manager, which caused our room to become flooded when we woke up the next morning. When we spoke to the manager about the conditions he basically told us that we could go stay somewhere else if we didn't like it, and that his hotel is the cheapest on the island and so we should just accept it. So needless to say I would not recommend this place and highly advise you to pay a little extra and stay somewhere else. I don't know what constitutes a place as a "resort" but apparently the standards are pretty low.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Windwater Magnuson Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
HARLINGEN TEXAS
Jun 8, 2009

VERY DISAPPOINTED

I SHOULD OF KNOWN IT WAS TOO GOOD A PRICE TO BE TRUE. THE PICTURE ON INTERNET LOOKED NOTHING LIKE WHAT WE DROVE UP INTO. IT NEVER REALLY SAYS IT IS BY BEACH BUT THE PICTURE SHOWS IT IS BY WATER. THE SLIDE SHOW OF PICTURES IS JUST OF THE SUITES NOT THE 2 QUEEN BED ROOMS SO YOU THINK IT HAS KITCHENETTE AND IT IS ALL VERY MISLEADING.THE SIGN ON OFFICE SAID IT OPENED AT 8 A.M. I WENT SEVERAL TIMES TO ASK FOR INFORMATION AND THE LAST ATTEMPT WAS AT 9:30 AND NO ONE WAS IN OFFICE. THEY DIDN'T GIVE YOU ANY INFORMATION OF WHERE THE LAUNDRY ROOM,IF BREAKFAST WAS SERVED OR CHANGE FOR LAUNDRY ROOM ETC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Windwater Magnuson Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Antonio, TX
Jul 27, 2011

Fixer Upper

The first clue should have been the 2" gap under the door. The shower handle easily pulled away from the wall when you tried to turn the water on or off. There was no strainer in the sink. The toilet was loose so it rocked when sat upon and on and on!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Windwater Magnuson Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Saynotowindwaterandresort
Tx
Oct 17, 2010

Terrible

The hotel room was absolutely disgusting. The bed sheets had cigaret burn marks in them, the towels that are supposed to be white had brownish stains on them. The toilet didn't work half the time. The name of the hotel should be changed because it is very deceiving and it doesn't even come close to resembling a resort in any way. I've been to south padre many times and this was by far the worst motel I've stayed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Windwater Magnuson Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mercadis
Leonard Texas
Mar 16, 2014

ABSOLUTELY THE WORST!!!!

This is ranked in my personal experience the WORST stay I have EVER had at a hotel. I caught a bacterial infection from the pillows or bed, I woke up with a completely swollen face, my eyes swollen shut!! The WORST customer service I've EVER RECEIVED! I booked our hotel room and had forgotten to book the last day so I called and added a day and gave my credit card information. We stayed Tuesday-Friday, and on Saturday they told us to check out and I said we still have one night I've added it already, so I went to check out what happened at the front desk, a girl who could hardly speak English told me they hadn't charged my card yet, however when I called two weeks earlier it was taken care of. So they were trying to charge me another 450 dollars because their employee messed up and didn't get the expiration date from me two weeks ago. I didn't bring an extra 450 dollars with me!!!! That's not chump change!! So I said how is that my fault she didn't do her job right, the lady was so rude raised her voice at me, and kept cutting me off as I was speaking. Didn't offer to comp us I'm ANY way. So we were stuck in padre without a place to stay because THEIR employee didn't do HER JOB right! I will NEVER book with Windwater EVER AGAIN! I've never hated a vacation more in my life than this one!!! DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME! 1800 dollars down the drain and I didn't even get to stay for my whole vacation. I CAN NOT STRESS ENOUGH ABOUT NOT GOING HERE! It's more like a 1 star hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Windwater Magnuson Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Unhappy customer from Dallas
Dallas, Texas
Sep 4, 2010

You get what you pay for

The hotel staff do not turn the air conditioner on until you get there, and when it is 97+ degrees out, it doesn't cool very fast. Front desk moved me to another room, but the room was dirty. Ceiling tiles over bathtub had toilet paper hanging from them, and were cracked in several places. Refrigerator was not plugged in, and never cooled while there. Breakfast was cereals.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Windwater Magnuson Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mr & Mrs Leisure time gone wrong
South Padre Island, Texas
May 3, 2010

The night we had to drive home @ 2 a.m.

We waited in the lobby most of the time we spent there, due to the problems we were having. We got down graded to a room without promise of discount. We had to wait for maintence for the a/c, if we wanted it fixed. We were baracaided in our room by the police due to hotel brawls. We were asked to move rooms at 1 in the morning. We had to wait to speak with a manger til 2 in the morning. And his response to our inconviences was,"So?" And ultimatley were left w/o a room @ 2 in the morning with no option, other than to drive home. Did I mention we lived a few hours away? Horrible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Windwater Magnuson Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
kiteboarder
austin, tx
Apr 6, 2010

this hotel SUCKED

old hotel, holes in comforter, holes in blankets, tile floors were dirty, no carpet. seriously - do not stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

brewery is good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Windwater Magnuson Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Jun 27, 2011

Very Disappointed and Upset

The Hotel advertsies it is newly remodeled well I sure did not see anythiing new at all. To put it mildly the place is a dump. In my 2 rooms the phones did not work - The shower head fell off in the one the outlets did not work in another - The place was dirty and broken glass int he elevator - The pool was dirty the grounds were dirty the A/C did not work in one romm and the staff was less than helpful. I would never recomend this place to anyone ever.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search